Review Cats stone Crows with 19 point win

Smith surprised me tonight. Racked up the possessions (no pun intended), but he has been doing that most games. What surprised me was the burst out of stoppage. I don’t think we have seen that in Geelong colours before. Maybe he is getting more confident in his knee? If that is a thing that stays in his game, he has far more upside than I imagined. Very good signs.

Can we all please agree that fit Stanley is our best ruckman by a mile. Nurse him through the season to keep him fresh (and his knee in functioning order) and then let him go from August onwards.
He’s had a good two weeks.

If he can pull that out in patches through the year, I’m happy. But I am wary of the consistency.

They should investigate the old drunk buffoon hanging over the rail and screaming "f you" at all the Geelong players walking past for a good minute. That sort of thing is not on. A lot worse than one of the Cats guys finally turning around and flipping him the bird. But Sooky McNarcface on twitter doesn't care about that.

The crows fans were pretty feral last night. Relentless all night - every decision by the umps that went our way resulted in heckling and booing. Apparently the umps got every decision wrong! Every perceived free, that they thought the umps missed-they went to town. Dangerfield got booed a lot from the start, and really, whilst it’s a bit of theatre, it’s nearly 10 years now - get over it willya. And heaps did not stay till the end of the game -it was very collingwoodesque. Bailey is feisty on the field I noticed last night- something I hadn’t realised before and those fans were no doubt giving danger heaps then. Smith will probably get a fine and he earned it, but good on him.
After the game, the crows fans calmed down and were very nice of course. A couple of them said good luck etc. Its a beautiful ground, great views, good chips, easy to get to and fun place to watch a game of footy. Had a great time.
I have refused a couple of opportunities to go to see games at AO because the crowd is atrocious.

"I don’t usually do this … we really like Bailey and Max was good as well, but they weren’t as good as Tom Atkins, that was a really special game," that's a big endorsement from CS.
Yeah, it was really good. The clearance work in the first half in particular was excellent.

I think Baz in particular had a better-rounded performance than Atkins - but that's not to take away from how good he was in the phonebox.

Certainly was a clear top 4 players on the ground for us… could put them in any order.

Smith, Atkins, Danger and Holmes.

17 contested possessions for Smith + his non stop run all game got him my votes.

17 would have to be a career high for him.

Amazing signs for a guy some doggies people have called soft.

We got a couple of soft ones in our side… they can’t all be Selwood, but Smith ain’t of them.

Ever since the days of Adelaide fans chanting, "Cheat, cheat, cheat", there's been a difference about them. I mean, Collingwood (and when they were relevant, Essendon) fans deliberate whip up confected outrage; but that's about trying to lift the team.

Adelaide? They believe the conspiracy is real, and take it personally.

1744326380679.png
1744326421962.png
source: The Age 1991 & 1993

Neale did his part. He attacked every contest, beat ROB in the ruck a fair few times, and even floated back to take a vital defensive mark.

Henry shirked every single contest, made horrible decisions, and directly resulted in a couple of goals going up the other end. He does not deserve to stay in the team on that performance.
That backline mark kind of shocked me. Want expecting him to be there. Neither were the crows players

Neale did his part. He attacked every contest, beat ROB in the ruck a fair few times, and even floated back to take a vital defensive mark.

Henry shirked every single contest, made horrible decisions, and directly resulted in a couple of goals going up the other end. He does not deserve to stay in the team on that performance.
Wiltshire

That backline mark kind of shocked me. Want expecting him to be there. Neither were the crows players

Yeah I didn't know who it was at first, given they were tall but didn't have blonde hair :tearsofjoy:

He also won a lot of ruck contests, and got involved around the ground. Very different type of game from him I thought, and looked like part of a directive to just clear it out and let Danger and Jez be the focal points up forward.

Wiltshire

Yep my pick as well. It's his time. Either Henry has something going on mentally (my guess is what's happening with his best mate as I've alluded to before), or he can't play in the same forwardline with Danger - much like he couldn't play in the same forwardline with Rohan - or a mixture of both.

Regardless, he needs a stint in the twos to find his mojo, and learn how to contribute better. Wiltshire is killing it, and has earned his spot.

I agree with the ‘not 15’ calls being increasingly policed. The rule was brought in to get rid of dinky kicks breaking up the flow and was not being adjudicated well. Still needs more consistency from the umps though.
I think they just need to be transparent about it and officially change it to 20m

One comment on the crows review board made me lol.

“ you know your going to F it up when the last chain in the hand passes is Riley O’Brien trying to steam thru the middle”
There's definitely a joke about steaming piles of something but I'm too hung over to think it through

When’s the last time we had 2 midfielders crack 30 touches in the same game?

Round 17, 2023 vs North. Miers had 32 possessions and Mitch Duncan had 30.

Review Cats stone Crows with 19 point win