Review Cats stone Crows with 19 point win

Henry shirked every single contest, made horrible decisions, and directly resulted in a couple of goals going up the other end. He does not deserve to stay in the team on that performance.
Honestly I thought he went pretty hard at the footy, especially in terms of making aerial contests. I haven't been happy with some of his efforts in other games, but this was pretty decent.

agree but the issue is stanley cant go week in week out. the guy wanted to retire two years ago.
Yep, play him week after week and you will wind up in a situation like last year where he gets subbed before half time.

IMO rest him next week - Hawthorn don't have an amazing array of tall forwards requiring SDK to play back.

Yep my pick as well. It's his time. Either Henry has something going on mentally (my guess is what's happening with his best mate as I've alluded to before), or he can't play in the same forwardline with Danger - much like he couldn't play in the same forwardline with Rohan - or a mixture of both.

Regardless, he needs a stint in the twos to find his mojo, and learn how to contribute better. Wiltshire is killing it, and has earned his spot.
What about Polkinghorne? Still think he may be our next diamond.

Plenty of positives from that second half. The Cats have some serious belief in their ability to stay in games and give themselves a chance.

Ollie Henry (as others have said) is a real worry. That's as bad a 4 weeks he's served up since being recruited. O'Connor was very shaky early and cost a couple of goals with turnovers, but got better as the game wore on. Miers is off a bit but I think he'll work into the season ok. Biggest watch on him is that I reckon he's shirking a few contests - that's a worry.

Highlight for me is watching Holmes and Smith run opposition sides of their feet. Smith's running ability and getting to multiple contests is elite. Even Holmes said post match that he has Smith covered for speed - but on gut running and distance efforts Smith is miles ahead of him.

What about Polkinghorne? Still think he may be our next diamond.

He looks decent, but he hasn't been BOG or close to BOG, like Wiltshire has been in 3 out of the 4 games he's played. Definitely got one there, but he's further down the pecking order and not a positional need right now, with Danger playing as a true Centre-half-forward now.

When surrounded by players, Bailey Smith has the ability to pick up the ball and get his boot to it. It doesn’t always result in a great kick but it clears the ball and is better than a tap or ineffectual handball that a lot of players do. It probably is a factor in criticism about his kicking effectiveness but to me it gets the ball moving to our advantage.

Honestly I thought he went pretty hard at the footy, especially in terms of making aerial contests. I haven't been happy with some of his efforts in other games, but this was pretty decent.

I want to agree, but there were just passages where I was yelling at my screen saying 'we have to get Henry off the ground, he's going to lose us this game.' I never do that, but last night was something else. He competed, but everything he did when he had the ball/oppo had the ball, was just to our detriment. He had 1 or 2 good passages, but then he cancelled those out with several selfish passages, that ultimately gifted the ball back to the Crows.

Again, this is very unusual for me, as I'm generally someone who just backs our players in and finds the good points. Ollie though, he's just not earning his spot right now.

I notice Crows fans keep calling it "the Queensland heat" as if that is a special kind of hot. It was 25.8 degrees, ffs.

And when a 5 day break plays a 6 day break? Exactly 50% win/loss since 2022 (and much higher last year).

And we played the reigning Premiers in actual insane humidity at the Gabba.
The ball was a bar of soap and we still nearly pinched it only playing a half of footy.

Just seems like a poor excuse, especially being up nearly 50 points at one stage

COS got beaten a few times last night, I was so impressed with his follow up work though! If a contest was halved or lost he would pop up 30 meters away from that contest either getting the ball or laying a tackle. The wide shots were amazing, I loved his competitiveness and have never seen someone playing kpp put in that much effort after a 1 on 1.

While I do agree we have a really large SA Cats fanbase, this comment is insanity to say it was a Cats Home game lol
It was packed full of pissed off Crows fans who thought they were gonna roll us….

Just shows that we have fans everywhere with how loud and vocal they were, the 90k+ members number isn’t something to shake your head at.

We turn up even in Away games.

Would recommend starting it at the exact time that David King said the Crows might put ten goals on Geelong here.

Reminds me of that Richmond game a few years back where we were 9 points down at half time and King said it was a "long 9 points". We came out and kicked 13 goals to 2 in the 2nd half and won by 63 points. 🤣

Scott sends the runner out to relay David King's comments
Best motivation material, used to spur a big comeback...Duh!

I’ll thought Henry competed pretty hard in the air, people need to realise Danger has taken his preferred position and he is struggling to adapt.

Maybe it is worth trying Wiltshire as a different look at some stage but I think Henry has a role. 4 goals in a Prelim is worth something to me.
OHenry needs to learn that assists are just as good as a goal.

As much as he played poorly, it was the 3-4 clear times he burnt team mates who were in better positions. He did dish off to Danger once and it resulted in a goal - but generally I think he tends to be very selfish around goal. Not helped at present with him knowing he's struggling and searching for a way to impact the game.

He's the most likely to go out but I think if it's dry on Easter Monday he plays on the MCG given his aerial ability and still requiring a decent match up with a Hawks defender. Reckon he's close to our most frustrating player in the hoops.

Henry's such an interesting watch in the coming years. He has brilliant hands for his rather short stature (6ft'2). James Sicily was always a similar overhead mark.
Is there any chance he could make a move into defense because he is a good kick, athletic and reads the flight of the ball so well.

Playing in the back half can really free a player up. I guess the issue would be who to move as Mullin & Guthrie are locks for the meantime while Stewart is an automatic inclusion on return.

Review Cats stone Crows with 19 point win