Review Cats thump Power to the tune of 88 points

Being a muso and a diehard means that you are the absolute last target market for the post-goal songs, though.

They're aimed at new-ish middle of the road fans, not people with strong feelings about either of footy or music.
They used to play a yidaki ('didgeridoo') sound sometimes when a goal was kicked. I liked that. Still brought some fun energy but was really atmospheric and special, in my opinion.

It's the kind of thing that goes down well with the kind of people who read the Music section in the Guardian (I should know, I am one) - but the reality is that Joe Public isn't going to bop along to a didgeridoo.

I know that we decry it, but as someone who now lives in non-AFL territory... this kind of shit works, especially for families. When Charlie Cameron kicks a goal, people get up for Country Roads, kids love the motorbike celebration. I know we used to give Akermanis shit for his handstands, but the gimmicks have a point.

It's the kind of thing that goes down well with the kind of people who read the Music section in the Guardian (I should know, I am one) - but the reality is that Joe Public isn't going to bop along to a didgeridoo.

I know that we decry it, but as someone who now lives in non-AFL territory... this kind of shit works, especially for families. When Charlie Cameron kicks a goal, people get up for Country Roads, kids love the motorbike celebration. I know we used to give Akermanis shit for his handstands, but the gimmicks have a point.

Looking at the goal song "celebrations" at Geelong, when Rattling Bog played after a Tuohy or the odd O'Connor goal, it did get the crowd involved, and should Mullin kick a goal at KP we know that will be blaring over the speakers

It's totally gimmicky, but the crowd does seem to enjoy that one and getting behind our Irish lads & lasses after a goal

Looking at the goal song "celebrations" at Geelong, when Rattling Bog played after a Tuohy or the odd O'Connor goal, it did get the crowd involved, and should Mullin kick a goal at KP we know that will be blaring over the speakers

It's totally gimmicky, but the crowd does seem to enjoy that one and getting behind our Irish lads & lasses after a goal
Yeah I'm not a huge fan of the after goal music but it's better than the alternative (dead noise) and the poor fan experience at some Geelong games in the past. Important that we cater for the next generation of fans coming through, and the club will be fully aware that crowd numbers and memberships will drop unless they do something to improve fan engagement.

Not sure there's much more we can do, but maybe it's worth just having a closer look at what other sports around the world do. I'm sure they have.

Yeah I'm not a huge fan of the after goal music but it's better than the alternative (dead noise) and the poor fan experience at some Geelong games in the past. Important that we cater for the next generation of fans coming through, and the club will be fully aware that crowd numbers and memberships will drop unless they do something to improve fan engagement.

Not sure there's much more we can do, but maybe it's worth just having a closer look at what other sports around the world do. I'm sure they have.
I must admit it really does work well at the Gabba with the Charlie Cameron - John Denver combo, though Charlie is not scoring as many as he used to.

Anyone know whether the players themselves choose the songs?

If they do, I think it's a decent way of generating engagement between fans and players.

I must admit it really does work well at the Gabba with the Charlie Cameron - John Denver combo, though Charlie is not scoring as many as he used to.

Anyone know whether the players themselves choose the songs?

If they do, I think it's a decent way of generating engagement between fans and players.
I hope the players are not choosing their own songs. If they are then it does raise quite a few concerning questions.

If Jack Bowes chose that Taylor Swift song he needs to be traded. If Jack Martin chose the macarena then he's made the coach very unhappy.

I hope the players are not choosing their own songs. If they are then it does raise quite a few concerning questions.

If Jack Bowes chose that Taylor Swift song he needs to be traded. If Jack Martin chose the macarena then he's made the coach very unhappy.
I know right! But I assumed they must, as that's what the Lions players do. And tbh otherwise the concept is dumb.

One of the better pre game things I saw was the drums at the G when the Tigers were at their peak. Was very loud - and very tribal. Still reckon to this day that it rattled Geelong at the start of one of those finals. Never heard a pre game sound like it and it whipped the masses into a feral frenzy.

I still think one of the challenges at GMHBA is that the crowd are very laid back (like the town) and don't really go too nuts. If the club could find something to build that cauldron like atmosphere then it would help. Then something throughout the game to fire up the crowd. Maybe something like firing real cats out of rocket launchers into the crowd or burning a replica opposition mascot just before the ball is bounced. Whether the real person is inside the mascot at the time would be something the club would need to seek legal advice on.

The lights going out before night games and the strobe effect when the team runs out is actually not bad. Problem during day games or twilight games is that it doesn't have the same impact.

One of the better pre game things I saw was the drums at the G when the Tigers were at their peak. Was very loud - and very tribal. Still reckon to this day that it rattled Geelong at the start of one of those finals. Never heard a pre game sound like it and it whipped the masses into a feral frenzy.

It also confused the umpires into thinking we were the away side in the 2017 Qualifying Final.

Yeah but if they play aussie songs you know its only going to be pub rock or pop songs from ex neigbours actors.
It'd be great to hear work by local acts. There are some great bands and artists to have come out of the Geelong region. Goanna, Magic Dirt, Chrissy Amphlett from the Divinyls, etc.

The music isnt for the fans. Its for the partners of fans who have little interest in the game but sometimes come along and worsen the atmosphere with their lack of interest, standing up for beer runs mid quarter, chit chatting in the middle of the game and now dancing to the awful music when goals are kicked. The afl is trying to get these people to games with gimmicks cos it boosts ticket sales and dont care that it worsens the experience for the actual fans.

Review Cats thump Power to the tune of 88 points