Changes for GWS

• Thread starter Thread starter Andre

I don't get to see much SANFL and basically only see scores and stats (plus the learned opinions from this board).
Have White or Krak done anywhere near enough to be mentioned as possible ins?
I think unfortunately White may be past his best and I think Krak looks almost lazy at times.
I think Amon and S Gray might miss out this week for Pittard and either Atley or AhChee.

I don't get to see much SANFL and basically only see scores and stats (plus the learned opinions from this board).
I think unfortunately White may be past his best and I think Krak looks almost lazy at times.
I think Amon and S Gray might miss out this week for Pittard and either Atley or AhChee.

White didn't play, hard to know. Krak was meh.

White hasn't played in 2 weeks, Was solid vs Sturt before that but probs needs to have another game in the SANFL.
Krak was pretty much average vs Glenelg this week so that's not good enough to get called up IMO.

Knight ought to play soccer for the French World Cup team.

And they say its not creeping into our code...... pigs arse.... its been happening for a while now....

I will duck my head as I close the door behind me....

And they say its not creeping into our code...... pigs arse.... its been happening for a while now....

I will duck my head as I close the door behind me....
Like Cripps Broken Jaw or Martins Cracked Cheek, if thats the case work place safety should rule them unfit... It would happen at any other place of employment

I'm really starting to dislike Westhoff as a Port Adelaide player. He papers over cracks in the back half that really should be fixed while robbing us of a genuine Key forward. He isn't kicking goals anymore, and isn't taking enough marks around the ground to justify his 'utility' role. We need to start thinking about replacing him, or even just forcing him to play as a forward.

The kind of player who lacks consistency, and great sides can't carry that kind of player imo

What system? - when he's on the bench it's bombs away, when he's on we see space & leading patterns.
He is starting quarters on the bench, Ken prefers to go with 1 KPF in Dixon and can't bring himself to trust Eddy and give a fair dinkum go!
What I wanna know is whatever happened to full forwards spending 90%+ TOG? Was sad to see our direct entries into f50 and their long bombs under pressure forward in the first quarter basically swap in the last three quarters, no doubt hindered by the fact we didn't leave anyone playing out of the goalsquare when we most needed it.

I think Westhoff has been... well just OK. this is the guy who has clever footy smarts.

Can someone grab the highlights of some of his goals.... granted there hasn't been too many last year.

I reckon he would have been close to being BOG in the 1st qtr last night, then has to drop back due the ascendancy of the Crers in the 2nd, from there he played down back for the rest of the night with only glimpses in the forward line.

What I wanna know is whatever happened to full forwards spending 90%+ TOG? Was sad to see our direct entries into f50 and their long bombs under pressure forward in the first quarter basically swap in the last three quarters, no doubt hindered by the fact we didn't leave anyone playing out of the goalsquare when we most needed it.
Could Ah Che play the Utility role??

Interesting concept, has the medium forward build described earlier in the thread and the ability to take a contested mark necessary for the role. Seems to be going backwards at the rate of knots at the moment so could be the reinvention he needs otherwise I reckon it's curtains for him at the end of the year. Disappointing player considering late 2015 when him and s gray absolutely dominated for those couple of games and we all thought he was the next big thing.

May want to check how he went on the weekend mate, He put on too much weight last year. Looks far more functional this year and has started well.

Yes my bad, promising signs but somewhat expected of a guy in his 5th year on the list. Here's hoping he takes his chance when he gets it next, still rate him and reckon he has the skills necessary to make it at the next level, either for us or the Gold Coast..

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-04-...agues-whos-starring-in-your-clubs-second-tier

Returning defender Jasper Pittard collected 16 disposals in his first game back from a hamstring injury against Glenelg at Gliderol Stadium.

Pittard, who was the only Power player to make the All Australian squad of 40 last year, was solid defensively across half-back.

The 26-year-old hurt his left hamstring in the JLT Community Series against Richmond.

Big-bodied midfielder Brendon Ah Chee was Port's standout. He picked up 30 disposals and booted three goals, with his work in stoppage situations impressive.

Exciting draftee Todd Marshall had 15 disposals and kicked two goals in a promising display in attack. At 198cm, Marshall looms as a key forward for the future.

Tough onballer Joe Atley had 23 disposals and 11 tackles and worked hard, and a couple of decision-making errors were a minor blemish on an otherwise sound game.

Westhoff, Broady, s.gray out
Pittard, Atley, krak in

I want Ken to make a statement that losing is unacceptable. Drop the Hoff

I think Eddy is a clear out. We need a small to replace him and Westhoff to spend more time forward. For me that means AhChee in for Eddy. AhChee can play forward and in the middle.

Then I think the next call is a tough one. Houston's first half was horrible but his last half was good. I couldn't however feel that with a more penetrating player like Pittard our rebound would've been more damaging so for mine the other call is Houston out for Pittard.

Amon, Impey and S Gray to be on notice with White and Atley needing a full SANFL game this week to press their cases for a call up. Krakouer and Johnson need to have a big week in the SANFL too, to put some pressure on those small forward spots.

I think Eddy is a clear out. We need a small to replace him and Westhoff to spend more time forward. For me that means AhChee in for Eddy. AhChee can play forward and in the middle.

Then I think the next call is a tough one. Houston's first half was horrible but his last half was good. I couldn't however feel that with a more penetrating player like Pittard our rebound would've been more damaging so for mine the other call is Houston out for Pittard.

Amon, Impey and S Gray to be on notice with White and Atley needing a full SANFL game this week to press their cases for a call up. Krakouer and Johnson need to have a big week in the SANFL too, to put some pressure on those small forward spots.
Westhoff wont spend much time playing forward under Ken's plans. Trengove has to play down back as they are tall and Austin isn't playing well enough to be picked. So Eddy has to play because I don't want a forward line of one tall and 4 smalls. If Ryder gets suspended it strengthens Eddy's selection argument.

Warning: Janus's account has been hacked. Change your password now.

That's actually his mo. Be worried if he says 'think the game plan is a bit suspect despite the best efforts of the players, not sure about Ken tbh'

Sent from mTalk

Whatever Ken decides is fine with me.

Warning: Janus's account has been hacked. Change your password now.

wat

Half the fun of this board is Janus defending every decision Hinkley makes as if he's been assigned that side of the argument in a high school debate.

Sounds like Ah Chee had a good game, great news. Pittard should come in for Gray, but he might be able to squeeze in somewhere.

I'm completely stumped as to what i'd do if Ryder goes out. Lobbe hasn't earned a spot, and with Hombsch out we really need Trengove in defence. Maybe that's the solution to the Westhoff role problem, just play him first ruck.