Changes for Round 7 V Melbourne

• Thread starter Thread starter kane249

I'll have a second go:

IN: Kennedy, Naitanui, Swift, Houilhan
OUT: Hansen, Staker, Butler, Nicoski

:thumbsu: No chance of that happening, but I love it. Embley is lucky he managed to get those 2 goals, he's had a shocking year and should be the next senior player on the chopping block.

In: Kennedy
Out: Hansen

It wasn't our ability today it was our mindset in the second half and bad kicking on goal in our first half.

OUT: Hansen (I liked his forward pressure today, but he is not kicking goals or doing enough to warrant selection again), Staker (One good game followed by two pathetic ones is not good enough. Should be sent back to the WAFL)

Hansen only laid two tackles today. Every other time he just chased the opposition around like a headless chook. He is this years Gardiner of 2005.

I think that this season Woosh seems to be very much thinking about the future. He does not drop players straight after a bad game and does not bring them in straight after a single good one either.

But I think that once one of the older players (Fletcher, Stinga) gets dropped, its likely that they would not come back for the rest of the year.

Its just a matter of trying to find the right mix. Not just focusing on this season.

Totally agree

IN: Stenglein Swift Houlihan
OUT: Staker Hansen Butler

lewigie said:
If we think we can comfortably beat Melbourne - I wouldn't mind seeing Cox and Kerr rested. It would be good for them, but we'd have to be pretty confident in winning.
No way

Playing with fire...

If we think we can comfortably beat Melbourne - I wouldn't mind seeing Cox and Kerr rested. It would be good for them, but we'd have to be pretty confident in winning.

That's the thing, IF we think we can. After yesterday's atrocity that confidence is not as high as it was.

Cox IS struggling a bit with his kicking and Kerr cramped up anyway. At least, I hope that's all it was.

If not we might lose him anyway next week.

If a week off would benefit Cox then I say then give him the week off and bring in Seaby. Melbourne's ruck department isn't anything to fear.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,25421893-5018851,00.html

Meanwhile, Eagles premiership forward Ashley Hansen in in danger of losing his place in the side for Sunday's clash with Melbourne at Subiaco Oval.

Hansen, who has booted just five goals in six games this season, was kept goalless against the Dockers and collected just 10 possessions."It doesn't matter about being a senior player, it's form, and his form isn't as good as it can be, therefore there's pressure on him," Worsfold said.

Former Blue Josh Kennedy, who was kept out of WAFL action on the weekend with an eye injury, could replace Hansen in the side.

"He was certainly in the mix for this week except for his injury," Worsfold said.

"We've certainly got a lot of kids in good form (in the WAFL) and if we believe they can offer more or they deserve their chance to be in the side then they'll be in."

Brent Staker is in doubt for the clash with Melbourne after injuring his thumb

I wouldn't mind seeing this :D

B: David Wirrpanda, Darren Glass, Eric Mackenzie
HB: Scott Selwood, Mitch Brown, Adam Selwood
C: Andrew Embley, Adam Cockie, T.Houlihan
HF: W.Schofield, Josh Kennedy, Shannon Hurn
F: Ben McKinley, Quinten Lynch, Mark LeCras
Foll: Dean Cox, Daniel Kerr, Chris Masten
I/C: Matt Priddis, Adam Hunter, Tom Swift, SPANGHER!

a bit of an appraisal of where i think the guys from our team yesterday are at;

adam cockie - great first up game. he's cemented his spot in the team for the next month and if he performs like he did yesterday each time i can't see him getting dropped this season

adam hunter - he is at the crossroads something vicious. he has unfortunately lost that x-factor that he used to have a few years ago. i think for the time being he is safe but come the latter half of the season if he hasn't picked his game up he could be outside our starting 22.

adam selwood - no need to comment. one of our best players. as has been said several times we've got to stop putting him in a defnsive midfield role. just get him going after the ball.

andrew embley - see adam hunter. exact same situation although embers is in slightly better form than hunter.

ashley hasnen - has to go. i don't even care if JK isn't fit for the next game. i'd rather brown posted at CHF than ash. sorry ash, great servant, did everything we asked of him in 2006 but his form is in complete freefall and even if he got picked next week and killed it, my opinion still wouldn't change because until he starts playing good games 3 out of 4 weeks for an extended period than that's below what we need from our CHF.

ben mckinley - obvious talent and an ever present threat. if he can get his kicking boots back he'll be a very dangerous player. i'm really looking forward to him, LeCras and Kennedy forming the basis of our forward line for the best part of the next 7 or 8 years.

brent staker - please trade him. he's just too frustrating for the club and some of the stupid things he does on the football field really hurt the whole psychie of the team. with 16 rounds remaining he would have to play at least 12 or 13 really good games for me to be convinced he should be retained for 2010 (and that's if he even gets picked again this season).

brett jones - had a great 2008 so i think what we're seeing now is just a form dip so for the time being i'm comfortable with him. he's not doing the worst stopping job for a defender either but with spangher and schofield who play similar roles to him he may be in trouble.

chris masten - fantastic first half but he's just fading in and out games for too much. he's still finding his feet at this level but we can all see the potential there. i know a few people are a bit disconcerted that drafted at the same time or later (Kruezer, Hill, Cotchin, Rich, Rioli, Ziebell, Palmer, Zaharakis) have already had more impact but the fact is the majority of players don't have much of an impact until their third season. i'm still pretty happy with how he's going along, especially given he had OP. If, however it's round 6 2011 and i'm still writing the same thing then i'll start to be worried.

daniel kerr - woosh needs to do something here. saw a thread mentioning using him as a tagger. maybe not the worst idea. but we can't afford him to be showing up every second or third week.

darren glass - outstanding as usual. back to his best.

dean cox - legend. kicking is well down but aside from that can't complain at all.

david wirrpanda - he is doing a good job down back in what is probably his last year.

eric mackenzie - another solid game yesterday. turning into a quality CHB. a bit of a left field suggestion here - i don't wanna tinker with a winning formula, but i wouldn't mind seeing him swing to CHF every now and then in an Adam Hunter 2005/2006 style cause i reckon he's got good hands and he usually hits a target when he's got it. could just be a bit of an x factor there i reckon, even if it's just for a 10-minute stint.

mark lecras - loving him as our small forward but i think woosh needs to drill into him to be a small forward. we don't need him taking marks. also would just like to see him get his hands on the ball just a bit more. finally we saw that tackling pressure from him yesterday. in 2007 that was a trademark of his game, but it just completely disappeared until yesterday.

mark nicoski - i don't know. sometimes i like him, sometimes i don't. it's a big year for him. he's 25 years of age now and it's time for him to stand up a senior player. i know he's had a fair history of injuries, so for a 25-year old he hasn't played as much footy as most other 25 year olds, but i think he has this year and next year to step up. a 26 or 27 year old needs to be garuanteed to be in your starting 22 to stay on the senior list. and right now, he's probably about the 18th or 19th player picked each week. he has, however, shown glimpses of what we saw aaround 2005-2006. that quick running, good left foot. unfortunately he goes missing for long periods and his kicking ranges from brilliant to shithouse.

matt priddis - can't fualt his effort. we just need him to keep working and working and working and working on his disposal. his in and under work is great though. people are pretty harsh on him but his disposal isn't that much worse than the likes of Brett Kirk or Sam Mitchell. in fact thinking back to those guys at the same age it was probably worse than priddis.

matt rosa - see mark nicoski really. he gets a lot of the ball but he's kicking ranges from good to ordinary and he is very slow. needs to re-invent himself as an in and under midfielder IMO, but i can't really see that happening because he's a bit on the small side. he's got a bit of time on his side but there is a lot of pressure coming from behind from the likes of ebert, selwood, houlihan, mcnamara, mcginnity and co. if he gets his kicking together, he could be a dangerous player.

mitch brown - loving his work but he's in and out of games at the moment. still got plenty of upside and could be a great utility big man. after his injury last year that would've pushed his development back a bit, but i think we'd got a really good big man on our hands here.

quinten lynch - one of our best players on the list but he is a bit down on form. nothing too severe though and still a crucial player for us at the moment. i wouldn't be opposed to just sending him down as a permenant full forward like in 2006 except for when cox neesda a rest in the ruck.

sam butler - matt rosa mkII.

shannon hurn - revelation this year. seriously wouldn't be suprised if he earns an all australian guernsey if he keeps improving at the rate he has this year. i've said it many times but he's not far from the best kick in the comp (not just in terms of distance either, but also accuracy. always hits a target).

so in summary,

dropped for next game definately - staker, hansen

experienced guys who need to lift - embley, hunter, brett jones

younger guys who are at the crossraods - nicoski, rosa, butler

of those latter six i probably wouldn't drop either just yet, but that would depend on the form of guys in the WAFL.

shannon hurn - revelation this year. seriously wouldn't be suprised if he earns an all australian guernsey if he keeps improving at the rate he has this year. i've said it many times but he's not far from the best kick in the comp (not just in terms of distance either, but also accuracy. always hits a target).

Especially under pressure!

He'll mark it in the back 50, have nothing to go to, the opposition player will come at him, he just has a calm head and waits and waits, and then with pin point accuracy hits a player 40-50m away.

so in summary,

dropped for next game definately - staker, hansen

experienced guys who need to lift - embley, hunter, brett jones

younger guys who are at the crossraods - nicoski, rosa, butler

of those latter six i probably wouldn't drop either just yet, but that would depend on the form of guys in the WAFL.

Completely agree with everything there.

Staker has a "thumb injury" so he might not play.

Here are my 4 changes this week.

OUT: Embley, Staker, Hansen, Butler

IN: Swift, Schofield, Spangher, McGinnity

FB: Wirrpanda, Glass, Jones
HB: Nicoski, Mackenzie, Hurn
C: Rosa, Priddis, A.Selwood
HF: Schofield, Lynch, Cockie
FF: McKinley, Hunter, LeCras
RR: Cox, Kerr, Masten
INT: McGinnity, Spangher, Swift, Brown

EMG: Naitanui, McNamara, Stenglein

Staker will miss anyway with a sore thumb.

Perhaps he shouldnt sit on his thumb for the whole game next time.

I wonder if thats how he hurt it. Stuck up his arse all game and when he finally attempted to pull it out, he injured himself.
:p

Meanwhile, Eagles premiership forward Ashley Hansen in in danger of losing his place in the side for Sunday's clash with Melbourne at Subiaco Oval.

Hansen, who has booted just five goals in six games this season, was kept goalless against the Dockers and collected just 10 possessions."It doesn't matter about being a senior player, it's form, and his form isn't as good as it can be, therefore there's pressure on him," Worsfold said.

Former Blue Josh Kennedy, who was kept out of WAFL action on the weekend with an eye injury, could replace Hansen in the side.

"He was certainly in the mix for this week except for his injury," Worsfold said.

"We've certainly got a lot of kids in good form (in the WAFL) and if we believe they can offer more or they deserve their chance to be in the side then they'll be in."

Brent Staker is in doubt for the clash with Melbourne after injuring his thumb

Yay.