Preview Changes next week

Wonderful!

Will Sierakowski probably had higher stats than Archer at the same career stage too.
I was only a wee lad when Simmo started his career so I have no idea/interest in comparing the two but it looks like Simpson's first four years of his career weren't indicative of the tireless ball winner he became. Brad's acts on the field aren't much to look at at this point apart from a ripper kick every second game but he still has a long road to go and we don't know where it will end.

I just went through the 96 stats ....we'd be screaming for him to be dropped back then.

Pagan sides especially in the 90s were never about big numbers. And in 96 Simmo was a HFF who I'd imagine was asked to keep his opponent honest. There were enough other players hunting the pill.

I think you play every game in a premiership year as a 19/20yo and you've done your job.

BMac might get bigger numbers but it's a higher possession team and era and he's holding down a spot in the best team in the league.

I was only a wee lad when Simmo started his career so I have no idea/interest in comparing the two but it looks like Simpson's first four years of his career weren't indicative of the tireless ball winner he became. Brad's acts on the field aren't much to look at at this point apart from a ripper kick every second game but he still has a long road to go and we don't know where it will end.

Wasn't a shot at you at all. Simmo played a more Kieran Harper role in the side in 96.

No idea what will become on Bmac. My comments were directed at anyone comparing the numbers and concluding that McKenzie is tracking better than Simpson for the same career stage. Numbers can decieve.

Reckon we'd get more from Dumont than McKenzie at the minute. He got tagged in the VFL on the weekend so others are taking note of his performances too.

Damn we miss Narni or Tippett. Their presence allowed Hansen or Thompson to peel off more often, but it will be good to get Lach back this week.

Pagan sides especially in the 90s were never about big numbers. And in 96 Simmo was a HFF who I'd imagine was asked to keep his opponent honest. There were enough other players hunting the pill.

I think you play every game in a premiership year as a 19/20yo and you've done your job.

BMac might get bigger numbers but it's a higher possession team and era and he's holding down a spot in the best team in the league.
Also 2 different era's KC but I can distinctly remember simmo not much value to us back then........I only mention him as an example regarding Bmac, he hasnt been afforded the luxury of Bastinac. I think Bmac we are in a delicate situation here with him....Id hate to lose back to SA and he blossoms as Ive said when weve let Adams get free games on past deeds for example.

Wasn't a shot at you at all. Simmo played a more Kieran Harper role in the side in 96.

No idea what will become on Bmac. My comments were directed at anyone comparing the numbers and concluding that McKenzie is tracking better than Simpson for the same career stage. Numbers can decieve.
I didnt look at numbers when I made my opinion.......:)

For your entertainment: disposal wise McKenzie has him beat both in 2nd and 3rd year despite starting as a sub in 6/19 games.
What about softness wise?

I didnt look at numbers when I made my opinion.......:)

Haha fair enough.

Denis wasn't exactly into gifting youngsters games so I'd be pretty sure the fact Adam kept his spot for every game in a season that ended with a flag meant he did what was required of him.

History shows the investment worthwhile too as he went on to play a bigger role in the 2nd flag year. We don't know where investment in Bmac will take us as yet.

Haha fair enough.

Denis wasn't exactly into gifting youngsters games so I'd be pretty sure the fact Adam kept his spot for every game in a season that ended with a flag meant he did what was required of him.

History shows the investment worthwhile too as he went on to play a bigger role in the 2nd flag year. We don't know where investment in Bmac will take us as yet.
Agreed. Simpson was given negating roles during that season. And let's not forget that young players would often play 30% of the game or less off the bench, in those days. Who can forget Shannon Motlop's and Cam Mooney's stirring contributions in the 1999 GF.

In: Wood, Hansen, Dumont, Harper

Out: Brown, Adams, Bastinac, McKenzie.

Black on his last chance.
Wood has been quiet since his return from injury. Harper has hardly had a kick. I haven't seen latest VFL wrap. Are you suggesting that have just had BOG games?

Also 2 different era's KC but I can distinctly remember simmo not much value to us back then........I only mention him as an example regarding Bmac, he hasnt been afforded the luxury of Bastinac. I think Bmac we are in a delicate situation here with him....Id hate to lose back to SA and he blossoms as Ive said when weve let Adams get free games on past deeds for example.
Pretty sure he is contracted for a while yet so the situation is not delicate in relation to losing him. We don't need to play him for that reason, nor should that be a factor. Basti made almost immediate impact when he started because he was a fantastic runner and very elusive in close and he was afforded opportunity on both merit and availability of spot. The comparison between the two players and the reasons for playing them are vastly different.

The reality is that McKenzie is in the team because of his disposal. Unfortunately he simply does not get his hands on it enough at AFL level in situations where his boot can be best utilised because he is physically not up to it yet. He also does little defensively without the ball. This year he is the fourth best performed mid at North Ballarat behind Jacobs, Anthony and Dumont yet has played more games than all of them put together. At a time where effort and impact are now being questioned by the whole team I think it more appropriate that those guys who deliver it in spades at VFL level get a go above their higher credentialed and supposedly better skilled counterparts who don't do as well at VFL level but get AFL games on attributes rather than output. That goes for both McKenzie and Adams.

Wood has been quiet since his return from injury. Harper has hardly had a kick. I haven't seen latest VFL wrap. Are you suggesting that have just had BOG games?

Wood just had 25+ touches in the VFL. Harper was apparently lively around the ball.

Started forward, didn't do much, moved to the wing and ran rampant.
That's nice for his development, but not sure it gets him Black's spot. We need a genuine third tall against Hawthorn, and as crap as Black's been this season, I'd still play him in that role. Wood can still come in for Adams or McKenzie.

Works for me.

That's why I didn't drop Black. ;)

In: Wood, Hansen, Dumont, Harper

Out: Brown, Adams, Bastinac, McKenzie.

Black on his last chance.

I'd be really happy with those changes. Harper/Wood in the forward line makes is a much more dynamic structure. Let Harper play his own game in the first half then if he can't find the footy I'd give him a job on Birchall or Suckling. Would also probably prefer Hine over Warren.

absolutely fantastic that dumont is being tagged. he deserves a crack in the 1's.

wood has to play this week if brad is to grasp at any remaining credibility

Don't know how long I have to go on about the following players before these players get delisted. They are non impact players or to inconsistent.

McKenzie. Beautiful kick but is not fast enough to be used as outside player and not tough enough to get his own ball. Delist before we waste anymore time on him just because he is a GOOD BLOKE.

Adams: Warrior in his day but again the game has gone past him. Has no pace for a small man and thats where the discussion ends. Delist.

Ziebell: The classic JACK OF ALL TRADES but MASTER OF NONE. Trade him while he has some currency. I truly think he could make a good running half back and I would be happy to keep him if that is all we expect from him but if we think he will become an elite midfielder than we are kidding ourselves.

Warren: Not up to it yet. Would rather have seen Anthony in and Ziebell play down back.

All above players should be dropped for this week if we have any players fit enough to come in.
We have a long injury list at the moment so I am sure that Ziebell and either Mckenzie or Adams will stay in.

Below players did not play on weekend and I am hoping they never get another game.

Tarrant (Concrete hands and feet): I have seen nothing to inspire me since his first game. Injury has been cruel to him but I honestly believe that he simply lacks talent. He is untradeable so I don't understand why we keep him on the list. DELIST.

Sam Wright: Enough said. Delist.