Preview Changes/Preview v Carlton @MCG – Semi Final

A lot of this commentary about our game style appears to ignore the role of the opposition. Like it or not, the team can only put in place what they're allowed to. Collingwood defended brilliantly last week and didn't allow us any space through the corridor, meaning our mids never really got to kick to an open forward line. We got done at most centre bounces, which was our best chance of quick ball movement, and there were relatively few goals kicked meaning there weren't so many 6-6-6 opportunities.

Our most attractive footy has been played against teams that struggle to defend for the whole game. The Dogs and Tigers can't defend to save themselves. The Swans were hopeless early in the season, and even in R24 they couldn't sustain their team defence for the whole game so we got a hold of them. The Lions are notoriously leaky which is why we looked great for periods at the G.

No doubt in the second half of the year, we've started taking a few more chances, and we looked far more attacking... but that's only possible when the opposition allows.

We've averaged 90 points a game for the regular season, and the highest scoring (Brisbane) averaged 94. The idea that we've shown up to finals as some negative, defensive outfit just isn't true. I'd love it if we scored 20 goals each week, streaming through the corridor, but it won't happen.

A lot of this commentary about our game style appears to ignore the role of the opposition. Like it or not, the team can only put in place what they're allowed to. Collingwood defended brilliantly last week and didn't allow us any space through the corridor, meaning our mids never really got to kick to an open forward line. We got done at most centre bounces, which was our best chance of quick ball movement, and there were relatively few goals kicked meaning there weren't so many 6-6-6 opportunities.

Our most attractive footy has been played against teams that struggle to defend for the whole game. The Dogs and Tigers can't defend to save themselves. The Swans were hopeless early in the season, and even in R24 they couldn't sustain their team defence for the whole game so we got a hold of them. The Lions are notoriously leaky which is why we looked great for periods at the G.

No doubt in the second half of the year, we've started taking a few more chances, and we looked far more attacking... but that's only possible when the opposition allows.

We've averaged 90 points a game for the regular season, and the highest scoring (Brisbane) averaged 94. The idea that we've shown up to finals as some negative, defensive outfit just isn't true. I'd love it if we scored 20 goals each week, streaming through the corridor, but it won't happen.
Not wrong. Teams are happy to defend deep against us and allow us multiple entries as they know we can't hurt them. Won't see Collingwood defending like that against Carlton, Brisbane or the Giants.

The fact that we're such an easy team for good teams to defend against is pretty concerning though.

Also, given this is the changes thread, I think it'll be

IN: Grundy, Jordon, ???
OUT: Brayshaw (inj), van Rooyen (susp), Laurie (sub - omit)

Rooey does valuable ruck relief minutes, and Jordon in will allow Trac to play more forward. Dunno who the sub will be, but it's got to be a runner if we bring in Grundy. Would have been Harmes if he hadn't pinged his hammy.

I'd also consider Tomlinson in to release Lever and play on de Koning when he goes forward. This would also allow Smith to play forward.

It's all a bit of a mess really... we've just got too many forwards unavailable.

I was going to post something like this but you said it better that I could.

Pies defence was much better than I thought and we reverted back to old (bad) habits when placed under extreme pressure. Even when we tried to hit up short targets the Pies had an answer for it (one of our last inside 50s was Gawn trying to dab a pass in that was cut off by Elliot who had flooded back).

Plus side is Friday night looks like a beautiful barmy night for footy. Hopefully brings out the best in us and the Blues

A lot of this commentary about our game style appears to ignore the role of the opposition. Like it or not, the team can only put in place what they're allowed to. Collingwood defended brilliantly last week and didn't allow us any space through the corridor, meaning our mids never really got to kick to an open forward line.

Sorry mate but this is just made up. They've showed countless highlights across the footy shows of us completely and utterly ignoring simple inside kicks to bomb it down the line. Kicks to players in space.

Joey showed 3 examples of blokes in acres of space in the corridor and the kicker doesn't even look inside such is the shitty mindset of our players

lost by 7 points and played horrendously. And once again missed so many chances in front of goals. We lost the match. I'd have confidence beating you guys in the granny but the chances are we won't be there. At the same token, if you guys lost, you probably wouldn't have beaten Brisbane at the gabba either. A very tough side of the draw we're on.
Yeah im not sure how you'll go beyond this week but just very confident you'll handle Carlton.
You must take some heart that in both games against Bris youve given them a big headstart and clawed them back to win one.
That lights out game Gawn went down early.
So if youre within 3-4 goals at 3 quarter time youve got a chance.
Port were with them till those injuries hit, they can be beaten.

I was going to post something like this but you said it better that I could.

Pies defence was much better than I thought and we reverted back to old (bad) habits when placed under extreme pressure. Even when we tried to hit up short targets the Pies had an answer for it (one of our last inside 50s was Gawn trying to dab a pass in that was cut off by Elliot who had flooded back).

Plus side is Friday night looks like a beautiful barmy night for footy. Hopefully brings out the best in us and the Blues
The Gawn one in particular was frustrating as hell. Rivers in the centre of the ground who can run around anybody, passing to the biggest man in the team and asking him to lace out a 25 metre pass into a crowded forwardline is madness.

Clayton Oliver's 10+ dump kicks without even bothering to try and find teammates was the most frustrating for mine.

Yep, 2 mins left and we go wide, so dumb. But Pies were sitting deep and going long hadn't worked for 2 hours anyway.

Some of those Clarry sky balls just killed me. I get trying to take ground, but dart it in to space to give our forwards a theoretical chance to have a 1 on 1.

OR if we are pumping it in make sure we have ground level representation, we barely got any pressure going once it hit the deck (except ANB). Pies whisked it out so easily so often.

Sadly, for 90% of the game nobody in the front half looked like they were on the same page

I can actually back the Oliver theory up with stats aswell.

Oliver has 742 metres gained against the Pies, he's only had over 560 in one game this year until then and it was the last time the board had a discussion about his dump kicking which was Brisbane in round 2 when he had 774 metres gained. Both games he got it and torped it forward without even trying to bring his teammates in. The next week against Sydney he had 475 metres gained and played his best game of the year.

His two highest kick to handball ratio games for the year.....
Brisbane and Collingwood losses.

His two highest I50 counts for the year
Brisbane and Collingwood losses

We've lost 4 of the 5 games he had the most clearances in

We lost his 3 highest metres gained games

Clayton needs to actually play like an elite player because way too much of the ball goes through him for him to be an uncomposed mess with it

100% this. Opposition with great defensive structure is more the reason why we have struggled to play attractive high scoring football. Mixed in with how poor our forward targets actually are. WE have no one decent besides Fritta who we can rely on consistently. Which means our best and only chance of winning a flag against good opposition is playing a defensive game. I'll take a flag playing defensively anyday over playing like millionaires and not winning one.

Hahaha. Old mate saying he wouldn't be happy to win the flag has to be up there with the most bizarre things I've ever read on here..

I prefaced it by saying “this will sound weird” and there was some hyperbole there but I’m not kidding that it completely detracts from enjoyment of the game. It’s like watching someone continually play a safe chess match hoping for the opponent to either make a mistake or waiting for a stalemate. It’s not the spirit competitive sport should be played in, at least not for the entertainment of those paying good money to watch. If I want to see paint dry Bunnings sell sample points of off-white for $7 and I’ve got a couple of old fence posts in the backyard I can coat and pull up a chair in front of.

I prefaced it by saying “this will sound weird” and there was some hyperbole there but I’m not kidding that it completely detracts from enjoyment of the game. It’s like watching someone continually play a safe chess match hoping for the opponent to either make a mistake or accepting a stalemate. It’s not the spirit competitive sport should be played in, at least not for the entertainment of those watching. If I want to watch paint dry Bunnings sell sample points of off-white for $7 and I’ve got a couple of old fence posts in the backyard I can coat and pull up a chair in front of.
Mate those blokes melt harder than anyone after losses but then can't understand the concept of not enjoying the style. It's not surprising

I prefaced it by saying “this will sound weird” and there was some hyperbole there but I’m not kidding that it completely detracts from enjoyment of the game. It’s like watching someone continually play a safe chess match hoping for the opponent to either make a mistake or waiting for a stalemate. It’s not the spirit competitive sport should be played in, at least not for the entertainment of those paying good money to watch. If I want to see paint dry Bunnings sell sample points of off-white for $7 and I’ve got a couple of old fence posts in the backyard I can coat and pull up a chair in front of.
I'd still take a flag playing like pus though. Don't care how we win it. Would I rather we played scintillating footy with scores over 100pts each week? Sure. But that's not possible with our list and history suggests doesn't win you too many flags either.

We’re not winning a flag playing like this so it’s all a moot discussion anyway. Not happening.

If your Aunt had balls she’d be your uncle.
I'm just saying, universally people felt we should have won that game and won it easily. Having a defensive gameplan against quality opposition in finals was the ONLY way we were winning a flag. Our forwardline is barren with any decent players and our strength is our defence and structure. I'm not a Goody fan at all, but not sure we had any other options against the best side in it. And playing this way, we still should have won. Disappointing we didn't..

I haven’t heard anyone say this.

Literally every Collingwood support I know has said that. 32 more inside 50s, more scoring shots and you think we should have lost. GTFO.

Your Collingwood mates are patronising you. Literally no media pundit has said “Melbourne should have won that game.”

We had 2 goals on the board to half time. All due respect Crusty but stick your putrid entries and GTFO yourself!

Your Collingwood mates are patronising you. Literally no media pundit has said “Melbourne should have won that game.”

We had 2 goals on the board to half time. All due respect but stick your putrid entries and GTFO yourself Crusty!
Heard them all say after the game Dees lost it, Collingwood didn't win it.