Changes / Team for 2010

• Thread starter Thread starter Smoooothy

Re: Our senior players let us down – where too from here.

I honestly cant see how goodwin, edwards and macca are not deserving for a spot next year. This years draft is apparently pretty weak. I think keep all three. Its funny how 1 loss and now people are calling for senior players to be delisted... McLeod has averaged 28 touches in 5 or 6 games before last night. Goodwin is in AA form, and Edwards had a great season. Its good that people like edwards are not carrying anymore.

Burton looked lost. remember hes only played a few games after a year on the sidelines, and in that time he has kicked a few goals.

Stevens looks 100% better with Bock in the side. But I dont know if there is room for both Stevens and Hentchel in the side. Having 2 "swingmen" kind of negates the gains of this kind of player.

Doughty has been good all year. Possibly top 3 in the Best and Fairest this year... Hes played well.

Shirley and Reilly are the 2 I think should go. Make way for some young blood.

Just remember, the reputation of the big 3 doesnt mean they must get games week in week out. We had a good run with injuries this year, what happens (god forbid) we have a shocker next year. Could run out of options if Adelaide look at delisting too many senior players.

Cant rely on the over 30's to bust games open every week. That is the job of the 23 - 30 year olds. Reilly should be doing this but goes missing too often. Next year Vince, MacKay, Danger and Otten will all draw a lot of respect from the opposition, and all draw decent opponents / tags. Then theres the cool old heads of Goodwin, Macca and Edwards who will equally carve up the opposition if not given the respect they deserve.

Goodwin - 1 year contract
Edwards - 1 year contract
Macca - 1 year contract
Shirley - Sorry but time to go
Doughty - 1 year contract
Stevens - 50/50 call, like torney.
Burton - 1 year contract. has shown signs of greatness again but too soon to tell after a knee recon. Pre season will help
Reilly - trade bait

To the OP - I agree that Goodwin should hand over the captaincy, but it will not be given to Thompson, he's had off-field troubles and the Crows are known for their discipline so that's why he won't get it - next bet would've been Bock until his off-field troubles this year. Then Nathan van Berlo, but honestly, I think Vince deserves it over VB. But at the moment I think they're too young, so I do not know who they should give the captaincy too.
Oh, what the heck - just give it to Dangerfield, we all know he'll get it eventually, so give it to him now. :thumbsu::p

I'm going to make this a positive thread: A team of youngsters were within a goal of a Preliminary Final. Whilst we will continue to move along some older players:
1) I don't think delisting will always be necessary, especially when we can't replace them with quality youngsters - see this year's thin and shallow draft crop - less game time, and less certainty of their spot in the 22, sure
2) A couple bigger bodies and experienced heads will continue to assist in the development of our future premiership players, set high standards, protect them from injury on-field

Keep Goodwin definitely.
McLeod probably.

Every one of those players that are kept must be made to keep their spot though. They have to be judged more harshly than all the other players on the list.

my thoughts:

Macca - 1 year contract -play him up forward
Doughty - 1 year contract - to get the tagging jobs with sloane/VB/Cook
Stevens - keep - i thought he played well last night

Burton - Sorry but time to go - walker to get more games
Reilly - trade bait
Griff - trade bait
Gill - Gone

recruit: anyone with pace!!!!!

IMO it will be poor list management to keep Macca, Burton, Goody, Shirley and Zoomer all on the list for 2010 and if we do it will have a serve impact on the capacity to create some scope to develop the likes of Sloane, Walker, SMACK and Davis

My thoughts I am confident that Goody would get through another year however it is time to pass over the leadership to VB so Goody can play his final year with the freedom of not being Capt and provide the support to VB during the transition.

Burton - his ability to come back from his knee injury has been first class however with Walker and SMACK on the fringes and Hentchel retained for insurance we have the players to replace the Birdman, if delisted I can see the Birdman nominating for the draft.

Zoomer and Macca - 2 club champions and my fear is when will one year be one year too many as the game and injuries can quickly catch up with you. Already this year we have seen early retirements from Lucas and Simpson and other players in recent years due to injuries have failed to play out their final seasons, examples Rocca and West. An interest quote from Steven Trigg in the age article on the crows as an organisation, Steve said that a challenge moving forward is to determine when is the best time for the crows senior players to retire so that they retire with dignity. I say that time has come for Macca and Zoomer.

Shirley - it can be argued that his 2009 does warrant another contract however it's time toi bring in Sloane while Dogga's for is also strong.

Stevens- 2009 not as good as 2008 however will be retained for 2010

To concluse I would encourage Macca, Zoomer and Birdman to retire, delist Shirley and retain Dogga, Goodwin and Stevens

Just be careful in your assumption that we'll make big changes to our playing squad.

Yes some of our senior players dissapointed last night but they've all been fantastic during stages of the year AND you never know how next year will pan out. We had a pretty good run with injuries this year. Next year might not go the same way.

Sure, I would love to have Vince, Mackay, Danger, Sloane, McKernan, Davis, Walker, etc all playing but what happens is some of these blokes get injured? Or sorely lack form? If we get rid of too many of our senior players, we'll lose our depth.

The obvious delistings are Gallman and Gill, and maybe Kite. Remember that we won't have many draft picks this year due to it being incredibly weak. If anyone goes it'll likely be Shirley and maybe Burton, but I wouldn't be surprised if that was it. I also wouldn't be surprised if those two players were kept, even if for depth purposes. And Burton had a shocking run with injuries this year, let's keep that in mind.

After last nights heartbreaking loss last night it time to look forward to next season and what changes should be made

I think the most obvious change is Burton to be delisted sounds harsh i know but realistically he is taking Walkers spot in the team

Porps, Otten and Danger into the midfield

At least 2 of Doughty, shirley, Edwards, Mcleod or Goodwin to retire or be delisted as much as it will be sad to see some of our greats go its for the good of the team they are taking the spots of some younger players who will be at the club for a long time and this is stunting there development to a degree

One of Griffin, Maric, Moran, Sellar to be traded we seem to be overstocked in the ruck department if you throw in Mckernan to that group admitadlly none of these guys have been great we need to pick which ones we are going to develop

This is how i think we should line up next year

FB: Petrenko Rutten Davis
HB: VanBerlo Bock Symes
C: Otten Porplyzia Dangerfield
HF: Goodwin Hentschel Knights
FF: Walker Tippet Johncock
R: Maric Thompson Vince
IC: Moran Mckay Edwards Reilly

Coach : Todd Viney :p

Players who were unlucky and will play at some point during the year due to form of injury
Mckernan ( Probablly the first player in could take Hentschel's spot depending on the form of both players)
Sloane ( Should be the first player called on for a shut down role)
Douglas ( Enough said everyone knows his place in the team unless he improves a hell of a lot this summer)
Sellar ( has had a massive year :thumbsu: was hard to find a spot for him in the best 22 though)
Stevens (Falls out of the best 22 next year could even possibly be delisted at seasons end)
Cook, Jacky, Armstrong (There spots will depend on how big a pre season they have)
Martin ( Should be in thee 22 not sure if he will get a game next year after the knee reco will prolly play out the year in the SANFL expect big things from him in the future)

After last nights heartbreaking loss last night it time to look forward to next season and what changes should be made

I think the most obvious change is Burton to be delisted sounds harsh i know but realistically he is taking Walkers spot in the team

At least 2 of Doughty, shirley, Edwards, Mcleod or Goodwin to retire or be delisted as much as it will be sad to see some of our greats go its for the good of the team they are taking the spots of some younger players who will be at the club for a long time and this is stunting there development to a degree

One of Griffin, Maric, Moran, Sellar to be traded we seem to be overstocked in the ruck department if you throw in Mckernan to that group admitadlly none of these guys have been great we need to pick which ones we are going to develop

Players who were unlucky and will play at some point during the year due to form of injury
Mckernan ( Probablly the first player in could take Hentschel's spot depending on the form of both players)
Douglas ( Enough said everyone knows his place in the team unless he improves a hell of a lot this summer)
Sellar ( has had a massive year :thumbsu: was hard to find a spot for him in the best 22 though)
Stevens (Falls out of the best 22 next year could even possibly be delisted at seasons end)
Cook, Jacky, Armstrong (There spots will depend on how big a pre season they have)
Martin ( Should be in thee 22 not sure if he will get a game next year after the knee reco will prolly play out the year in the SANFL expect big things from him in the future)

mate are u all there....we only had 2 fit ruckman to choose from the last couple of weeks....

Johncock has been arguably an AA back pocket player this year. Hardly going to move him from defence.

I see your logic as a replacement for Porplyzia, however i cant see this happening. Porplyzia is a victim of his own success. He has the capabilities to become a fantastic midfielder, however, he has become so pivotal to our forward structure. At best he would only be used in burst in the middle.

my thoughts on list change for 2010:

Macca - 1 year contract -play him up forward.
With the above players, i would "manage" them thru the season (ie give them a week off every now and them) .

Kite - Keep. (i see a few people have called for him to be delisted, however i would give him another year. Is tall, and has pace.)
Gallman - not too sure. Havent seen enough of him play to make a decision.

Reilly - trade bait
Griff - trade bait
Gill - Gone

recruit:
1> Quick outside midfielder
2> quick forward line crumber
3> Inside Mid
4> Project Ruckman

Sloane would be in my side before Petrenko

Can see what your trying to achieve with Stiffy moving to the forward line and Porpy to the midfield however why remove our strengths

Stiffy IMO is the best small defender in the league and Porpy with Le Cras the best small forward so keep them in the positions they play their best footy and do the most damage

Replacing a 50+ goal small forward is not easy

Under Neil Craig we never seem to over perform in finals

Hmm, Ayers ? Shaw ? Corns ? On average we're on track with the talent we have on the field and the sides we play against. Nothing short of a premiership will ever quell your critisizing approach, even when it's widely recognised there are "gaps" and we haven't a really hardened list comparable to Geelong or the Saints.

^ agree with The Sloane Ranger about Porps & Johncock. Leave them where they are.

I think Gill is completely gone.

Unsure about the future of Burton, and who really knows about our 30+ year olds.

Didn't realise we had so many ruckmen!! Worried that Sellar won't be given much of a chance when Moran gets back, but he's still young.

my thoughts on list change for 2010:

Macca - 1 year contract -play him up forward.
With the above players, i would "manage" them thru the season (ie give them a week off every now and them) .

Kite - Keep. (i see a few people have called for him to be delisted, however i would give him another year. Is tall, and has pace.)
Gallman - not too sure. Havent seen enough of him play to make a decision.

Reilly - trade bait
Griff - trade bait
Gill - Gone

recruit:
1> Quick outside midfielder
2> quick forward line crumber
3> Inside Mid
4> Project Ruckman

Macca will not play in the forward line. There is simply no room for him there, and his delivery is far too useful going inside 50.

Gallman and Gill almost certainly De-listed.
Burton and Shirley Retiree's? Other Vet's can go on, no probs.

Strongly disagree with most of your recruitment targets.
Quick Outside Mid? D-Mack and Martin, young blokes already here. Don't need any more.
Quick Forward line crumber? no disagreement from me here
Inside Mid? umm, Dangerfield, thompson, vince already in 22. anymore would be too many
Project Ruckman? We have about 5 already (Sellar, Maric, Moran, Griff, Smack). If we're going to recruit a ruckman, we need experience. To be frank though, I've been quite happy with our rucks this year, considering expectations, and I don't reckon we'll be recruiting any more any time soon, barring unexpected events.

CBF explained why I think this but here is my team for next year out of the 41 players listed on our senior list minus the 4 changes I expect (Gill delisted, Griffen traded, McLeod and Shirley "retire" - being forced out for $)

F: Porps-Tippett-Burton
HF: Edwards-Davis-Knights
C: Sloane-Thompson-MacKay
HB: Goodwin-Bock-Otten
B: Stevens-Rutten-Johncock
R: Maric-Danger-Vince
INT: Moran-VB-Doughty-Armstrong
EMG: Reilly-Douglas (best he could do with Golden Pass)-SMACK
SANFL: Jacky-Kite-Gallman-Petrenko-Cook-Hentschel-Sellar-Symes-Walker-Young
SANFL reserves: Lee

CBF explained why I think this but here is my team for next year out of the 41 players listed on our senior list minus the 4 changes I expect (Gill delisted, Griffen traded, McLeod and Shirley "retire" - being forced out for $)

Interesting selection. You seriously believe this or just tying to be controversial?

your sanfl loyalty is obvious - Armstrong :confused: and Gallman to be retained :confused:

Interesting selection. You seriously believe this or just tying to be controversial?
he's just a depth player for the Crows IMHO. Will only come in if out performing Sellar, McKernan and Hentschel and an injury/out of form tall forward in the best 22