Changes That NEED To Be Made Next Week!!

gezza78

Oct 1, 2004
Lexus Centre
collingwood
Well,where do we start after that debacle of a performance we put up against the Dons.
We are gonna cop a heap of criticism & RIGHTLY so!

Big changes have to be made,starting from next week.

Our forward line has been non existent of late & is not working..

My Changes would be as follows:
In= Rusling,Richards,R.Shaw,O'Brien,C.Cloke & Rowe
Out= Buckley & Holland(Rested),J.Cloke,Maxwell,A.Rocca & Lockyer

INS
Rusling- Give him a crack @ full forward & not for 5minutes & then drag him.He should be given a decent go for the rest of the home & away season.

Richards-He may not be setting the world on fire for Willy but we need this guy in the team.It gives us the option of playing Fraser more as a forward.Josh is in rare form & you would back him to kick 2 or 3 goals a game if played as a permanent forward.

R.Shaw- How this guy is not in our best 22 has got me stuffed! His blood bleeds Black & White & it must be killing him languishing in the 2nds.We need his pace in the side & hes a different player when he pulls on the famous Black & White stripes compared to the Seagulls guernsey.

O'Brien- Deserves another opportunity & another who backs himself & provides dash out of defence.A player of the future & can take the 3rd mid/tall forward for the opposition.

Cam Cloke- I know this selection may attract criticism but I think he can offer something either pinch hitting in the ruck or up forward.Hey,our forward line can't function any worse than it has been of late!!

Rowe-Form has been solid for Willy & should be given a chance to shine.Generally has good skills & we need to have a look @ him before seasons end.

OUTS
Buckley- Needs a rest & will not make the flight to Adelaide for the 2nd time in 3 weeks.Usually thrives after a spell.

J.Cloke & Maxwell- Both have offered little in recent weeks,although Jason was good against Crows. Jason finds it hard to string good games in a row & I think O'Brien offers a bit more to us @ this stage.

A.Rocca- Need I have to say anything! His recent efforts have been woeful & I would give him a spell to freshen up.Certainly hasnt seemed to be the same player ever since he hurt his shoulder against West Coast @ Subi earlier in the year.

Holland- Strange one with Brodie.Is such an important player with his attack on the ball.Had achilles problems but resumed with a blinder against Eagles but has not got near it since.A spell may do him good for a week or two.

Lockyer- Has been under the pump from alot of Pies supporters for a while & it's time to bite the bullet.Not accountable @ all,gets the soft disposals & thats about it.

Taz must be close to getting dropped aswell but I just think he is more flexible than Rocca & push him up the ground with Rusling,T.Cloke & Fraser forward.

Anyway guys,that's my opinion on what needs to be done.

Look forward to reading some of your views!!

Lets not forget where the Pies finished in 2005 - won a couple of games they weren't expected to earlier this year and all of sudden unrealistic expectatins again creep in.

It's the same list of inconsistent players, sure some exciting kids will progress in a year or two - if I was told before round 1 that Collingwood would finish around 7th or 8th with the current list and last year's form I woulda taken it.

Still need a ruckman (not Richards, Fanning, C.Cloke) which will really prove Josh Frasers worth to the team, and some leg speed/goalkicking midfielder and then fans would have every reason to get excited.

Will e a fair achievement if they hang on to play finals after 2005, and with an inferior midfield and out of form forward set-up.
Dont hang the boys yet, Port, Carlton then North to reverse what I think has been a 2-5 result from the past 7 outings

gezza78 said:
Well,where do we start after that debacle of a performance we put up against the Dons.

I agree with resting bucks, but why rest holland? Last night proved that we cant run with all 3 of Lica, Obree and Holland in the middle, it is too slow and they dont hit targets. As much as it pains me to say it, the only one that i would drop from there is Lica, he is the oldest, the slowest, and has the worst disposal.

gezza78 said:
INS
Rusling- Give him a crack @ full forward & not for 5minutes & then drag him.He should be given a decent go for the rest of the home & away season.

I agree, bring him in for Rocca who needs a rest, he is definately hurting from the shoulder injury he copped ages ago. Give him a week off and a week at willy.

gezza78 said:
Richards-He may not be setting the world on fire for Willy but we need this guy in the team.It gives us the option of playing Fraser more as a forward.Josh is in rare form & you would back him to kick 2 or 3 goals a game if played as a permanent forward.

Isnt even playing for willi or willi reserves if i read correctly, a lost cause and has to be cut loose at years end.

gezza78 said:
R.Shaw- How this guy is not in our best 22 has got me stuffed! His blood bleeds Black & White & it must be killing him languishing in the 2nds.We need his pace in the side & hes a different player when he pulls on the famous Black & White stripes compared to the Seagulls guernsey.

He's not in the best 22 because he doesnt have as good disposal as lonie, simple as that, but ive lonie continues to have no impace what so ever, then i will agree in swapping the 2.

gezza78 said:
O'Brien- Deserves another opportunity & another who backs himself & provides dash out of defence.A player of the future & can take the 3rd mid/tall forward for the opposition.

Why do we need another backman in the line up.... So you can drop C1? Get knotted, jason was one of or best last nite, backing up from 2 close to BOG since he has come back to the seniors.

gezza78 said:
Cam Cloke- I know this selection may attract criticism but I think he can offer something either pinch hitting in the ruck or up forward.Hey,our forward line can't function any worse than it has been of late!!

I agree, it couldnt hurt. But he isnt being tought how to use his body so he hardly even provides a contest. If we start grooming him now to be a power full forward, he has the bulk and the hieght to worry any opposition defender, if he can learn how to use his body. He is not a ruckman either

gezza78 said:
Rowe-Form has been solid for Willy & should be given a chance to shine.Generally has good skills & we need to have a look @ him before seasons end.

Showed as much form as Yakka, but gets cheap disposals on the wing, Id prefer to give yakka a run, or bring in cookie as a crumbing forward which we have missed since davis did his foot.

gezza78 said:
OUTS
Buckley- Needs a rest & will not make the flight to Adelaide for the 2nd time in 3 weeks.Usually thrives after a spell.

J.Cloke & Maxwell- Both have offered little in recent weeks,although Jason was good against Crows. Jason finds it hard to string good games in a row & I think O'Brien offers a bit more to us @ this stage.

A.Rocca- Need I have to say anything! His recent efforts have been woeful & I would give him a spell to freshen up.Certainly hasnt seemed to be the same player ever since he hurt his shoulder against West Coast @ Subi earlier in the year.

Holland- Strange one with Brodie.Is such an important player with his attack on the ball.Had achilles problems but resumed with a blinder against Eagles but has not got near it since.A spell may do him good for a week or two.

Lockyer- Has been under the pump from alot of Pies supporters for a while & it's time to bite the bullet.Not accountable @ all,gets the soft disposals & thats about it.

Taz must be close to getting dropped aswell but I just think he is more flexible than Rocca & push him up the ground with Rusling,T.Cloke & Fraser forward.

I disagree with J.Cloke, Lockyer, and Holland.

Maxwell and JClo cant play in the same side if both Clemo and Presti are too. We cant run with 4 Tall defenders, even though Clemo and Maxxy can play small, the balance just isnt there. JClo is playing fantastic footy, he got outmuscled once last night against Johns, but that was it.

The problem with dropping both taz and rocca at the same time is, who do you bring in? Rusling would be one, and i guess Cam would have to be the other.

For me, i think the rest of the year should be training for a genuine shot in 07, we have already eclipsed what i thought we would achieve at the start of the year, i was expecting improvement, top 8 was minimum, i was of the opinion that we are a 6-8 side.

We have to find out which other youngens are able to play at the highest level. Alot of people on here have written of Yakka. He will make top 3 in Willis B+F this year, he is a hard in and under midfielder who also has a bit of toe and can kick the ball, bring him in for Lica who unfortunately the game has passed (or he's injured) Drop Rocca and Taz, rocca needs a rest and needs to get the shoulder right, Taz needs to regain some form. Give iles a run in the middle, to those that say he is purely outside, i say take another look, the kid is both inside and out. We need to start grooming this team for consistant finals appearences, ala kangas/west coast/ essendon of the 90's. To do that we need to get them playing as a team, and get the balance right. There isnt room in the team for all of JClo, Maxxy, Presti and Clemo, 3 of them but not 4. We cant carry all of Lica, Holland, Obree. We can carry 2 of them, and on form the one to go has to be lica. Outside flankers we have iles, lonie, heater (the way he is playing) didak, johnson, egan, pendles, most of them are under 23 years of age, which means we can build a side with these boys.

Lastly i think our playing style is wrong, we have changed back to the type of footy that saw us finish 13th and 15th, instead of the type of footy that saw us in the top 4 looking like a genuine premiership contender. This season has alot of similarities to 2001, where we jumped out of the blocks and then faded. If we continue to play like this, we will possibly only beat port until the finals, carlton and the kangas are both playing some pretty good footy atm. I still think we will make the finals, probly 7th and have to fly to perth to face freo, which atm i cant see us winning. If so, we will have pick 9 in he draft, could be a chance to get a ruckman either through down grading the pick with adelaide, or by chancing it and hopeing for leuenberger. If a trade for Taz comes up, i think we should go for it, but only if the trade is good for us, either a high first rounder, or a late first rounder and an early 2nd. But we would have to seemingly win in the deal, cause 12-24 months after the deal is done it will burn us.

In: Cameron Cloke, Sean Rusling, Rhys Shaw, Iaccabucci

Out: Anthony Rocca, Ryan Lonie, Tarkyn Lockyer, Brodie Holland (inj)

Port Adelaide rotate Lade, Brogan and possibly Thurstans & White through the ruck. Josh should'nt have to carry the burden of rucking all day against these four. Give Cameron four quarters in the ruck, lets see what he can do with a WHOLE game on the paddock. Fraser to play up forward, taking Rocca's Spot.

Ryan Lonie has had enough chances, time for him to f**k off and watch the game from the stands with his even softer brother. Rhys Shaw is a running player, he could have as many handball receives as Lonie and he would have a crack and put his body on the line for side.

The forward line hasn't worked for a number of weeks, CHANGE IT! or at least change SOMETHING. bring in Rusling as our leading forward from the square. Tarrant to player further up the ground around the wings (where was manily playing when he had his best season for the pies)

Lockyer - don't need to say too much there.

Brodie Holland - definately not 100% last night, looked slow. Our midfield is already slow enough with Cheesy, Lica and Burns in there.

One other question - last night did any of our players kick the ball over 50m? Seemed like Jimmy Clement was the only one who could get any penetrartion in his kicks.

IN:
Cameron Cloke
Rhyce Shaw
Harry O'Brien
Ben Davies

OUT:
Nathan Buckley (rested)
Anthony Rocca (Obvious reasons. Unfit, underperforming, needs a kick up the bum)
Jason Cloke (scapegoat, plus Maxwell's presence is much higher than J.Clo's)
Tarkyn Lockyer (unaccountable)

Alot of experience, but discipline is needed.

Remembering, this is before we see the VFL game (cheers CT) ;)

I'd like to see Tarrant get dropped over Rocca.

Are you guys serious in bringing Rusling,Richards,R.Shaw,O'Brien,C.Cloke & Rowe in all at the same time, you guys really think that they are going to save us. Fair Dinkum, get a grip!

gezza78 said:

INS

OUTS

I agree on everything except rocca and rowe! Rowe is ****, we have no1 to replace him with, i wouldnt want to reward cam cloke with a spot if he ahsnt earnt it.
Trade Taz he is a head case. Not sure whether cam cloke will get a gig unless he has earnt it!

God, some of you guys are delusional.

Lonie beat Burton last week easily and did well against Hird last night. Lockyer beats his opponents most weeks. Why drop them?

Buckley needs to be rested. Has played a pathetic last 2 weeks. Jason Cloke cant play on an opponent, DROP him.

guess_who said:

Are you guys serious in bringing Rusling,Richards,R.Shaw,O'Brien,C.Cloke & Rowe in all at the same time, you guys really think that they are going to save us. Fair Dinkum, get a grip!
They obviously know nothing.

Out Buckley (rest) , J.Cloke (malthouse reasoning=team balance)
In Iacobucci , R.Shaw

Is Wakes right for this week?

Not sure if we should rest Buckley on the back of yesterday.

Murray said:
No change

You are dreamimg buddy... You obviously didnt watch the game last nite!

There WILL be changes next week,that is a CERTAINTY!!

How many is the BIG question,Im tipping @ least 3 will be made..

guess_who said:
I disagree strongly on this. While dropping Taz will do more for Taz then it will for Rocca, it doesn't do much for the team. Rocca at full forward having a crap game is useless. At least Tarrant puts some sort of defensive prescence there. Tarrant.
Exactly. Let's not forget we are trying to secure a finals/prepare for finals. We can't go throwing out half a side for a bunch of players who weren't a part of our golden run at the first half of the year.

Cassius_Clay said:
God, some of you guys are delusional.

Lonie beat Burton last week easily and did well against Hird last night. Lockyer beats his opponents most weeks. Why drop them?

Buckley needs to be rested. Has played a pathetic last 2 weeks. Jason Cloke cant play on an opponent, DROP him.
Harsh on Buckley, but he probably does need to be rested and has been average the past two weeks. Rocca needs to be rested and/or dropped, either way a game at Willy won't do him any good.

J.Cloke should never be played on the last line, there is too much leading space for his oponent. Either way it's a 50/50 call on Jason, I wouldn't drop him for form but whether he can matchup. After watching Port tonight they had Lade, Brogan, Pettigrew, Thurstans rotating through the middle, I don't know if he could offer anything if Maxwell plays as well.

Lonie has been in good form, especially defensively. He should get the job on Chad Cornes or Stewie Dew.

Changes That NEED To Be Made Next Week!!