Preview Changes Vs Adelaide round 23

• Thread starter Thread starter kane249

Simmo's comments are interesting.

Maybe no second ruck at all, just get someone to half-compete.

But surely Giles plays if he was held out on Saturday.
He probably sat out given Lycett also got a knock to the knee or whatever it was, in case he doesn't get up. Pure precautionary.

So was it 'just a bad quarter' or Worsfold and his men 'tore through the web'?

I was just responding to the bit about how Pyke is going to tear through the web and I did that because I'm sick of hearing about the genius that is Don Pyke.

It seems like depending on what question I ask it was either the oppo coaches tearing their way through the web, or just a bad quarter of footy.

Look I agree mate, Sick of hearing it as well. Pyke is doing well and good for him but it means crap against us this weekend. How many coaches out there have come from hawthorn yet still none of them have knocked them off their perch yet.
You have to have the players to do anything and some sides simply don't have them. If we are committed we will play well again this week and can challenge seriously for a win.
Pyke would have very little knowledge about how we are going about things at the minute just as we would have little knowledge about what they are up to.
It is such over rated crap most of this stuff.

Jetta's first half was a highlight and a glimpse of what we'd hoped for when we recruited him, but he faded badly in the second half I just don't reckon he's aerobically fit. Spent the whole second half jogging up and down on the spot. Too risky against Adelaide. Cant afford to be a man down in the final quarter.

Look I agree mate, Sick of hearing it as well. Pyke is doing well and good for him but it means crap against us this weekend. How many coaches out there have come from hawthorn yet still none of them have knocked them off their perch yet.
You have to have the players to do anything and some sides simply don't have them. If we are committed we will play well again this week and can challenge seriously for a win.
Pyke would have very little knowledge about how we are going about things at the minute just as we would have little knowledge about what they are up to.
It is such over rated crap most of this stuff.
Agree. Sorry if I sounded cranky too, woke up in a mood for some reason but I've had my coffee now. :thumbsupemoji:

Adelaide are a really problematic match up for us and I think that last game we played really emphasised their strength. They have a smallish defense which rebounds quickly and big powerful forwards who are quick enough and have superb endurance. That allows them to get it out the back of a zone defence easier than most, but also means they can hold their own if the oppo goes one-on-one. We have a big problem either way.

My leaning is to go in smallish again. We need quick guys who can provide interference long enough for Jezza (or Schofield) to come in over the top and mark/spoil. I think McGovern/Barrass/Schofield will be too tall. If I recall our last game against them poor old Barrass got slaughtered, probably just as much due to the breakdown of our defence as his inexperience.

This was not my idea originally, but someone suggested try Barrass as the chopout for Lycett in the ruck. I think it's just stupid enough to be the best of a bad list of solutions. I really don't want Giles anywhere near the team, and if it turns out that actually we need the extra tall down back we will have him. Giles adds nothing. We are going to get dominated in the hitouts anyway.

I'm not suggesting that because I like the idea of Barrass in the ruck - actually I hate it quite a lot. But it allows us to get him back in the team without making more than 1 change, try to keep our defense mobile, adds cover if we need more height and keeps Giles out. Ticks a lot of boxes for me.

We need to get big bodies into the midfield because without NN to give some cover to priddis,Maston Shuey and Gaff [ all small ] we will get slaughtered.Yo is a forward not a midfielder; at this stage anyway.Darling needs to play more time in the midfield and Reddan needs to come in to gives us some grunt.All three of these are big bodied,good marks and all love kicking a goal.I think Mckenzie needs to play to shut down Tex [ and to increase his trade value ]Dont just think we will automatically turn up with the same intent we showed on Friday.Lycett must lead from the front and we cant afford to show any respect to this lot.With the rebound that the crows get from defence i dont think we can afford to have A log like Giles in the team.

NN out, Barrass in.

Giles, Brown, McInnes are all useless options in the ruck.

Giles will definitely lose more taps than he wins and the ones he does win probably won't go to our advantage. After a stoppage, he becomes deadweight.

Brown and McInnes will offer slightly more around the ground, but will be lucky to reach 5 taps and will give away at least a few frees each, probably close to goal.

I'd rather we get an actual player in, Barrass, and give him a shot at redeeming himself for his last outing against the Crows at AO. I think he will be up to it. We'd also be crazy to go in without 3 KPDs given what happened last year.

As for the ruck...we need Lycett to play like he did against Hawks in rnd 19 last year (20 disposals, 40 hitouts, 7 tackles). As much as I'd like to have Gov and Barrass in defence for 100% of the game, they'll need to give a chop out here or there. Yeo, too.

Simmo's comments are interesting.

Maybe no second ruck at all, just get someone to half-compete.

But surely Giles plays if he was held out on Saturday.
Think that move may have been made (holding Giles over) as Simmo hasn't probably made up his mind as to which combo we will go in with and taking into account we are playing on Friday night again.

So was it 'just a bad quarter' or Worsfold and his men 'tore through the web'?

I was just responding to the bit about how Pyke is going to tear through the web and I did that because I'm sick of hearing about the genius that is Don Pyke.

It seems like depending on what question I ask it was either the oppo coaches tearing their way through the web, or just a bad quarter of footy.

There were 3-4 goals in that "head start" they got which were either directly from our mistakes and some arseyness! All teams would have ideas and strategies to beat zoning and web. Crows did it in last year's game without Pyke - he was with us for that game.
I don't think Pyke is necessarily any more a genius than most at that. However he helped build ours and knows our players a bit better. When Priddis is on we have to play zone for defense. I just wonder how we will stop Crows this year's game.

My money would be to bring Barrass in for NN, play him back and then have Lycett ruck for as much as he can, and then get Schofield to give us a chop out in the ruck.
He's tall enough, can jump, can wrestle a bit if needed, and has the pace and endurance to run a bit in the middle so we're not left with a lumbering giant. Yeo can swing down back while Schoey is in the ruck to help the defence out for a bit.

Id bring in Barrass (on Walker) and McKenzie (on Jenkins) and throw Mcgovern forward and pinch hit with Darling in the ruck when Lycett needs a breather.
Try something different.

B: Laird Talia Brown
F: Cripps Kennedy LeCras

HB: Atkins Hartigan Cheney
HF: Jetta Darling Hill

C: Mackay Thompson Douglas
C: Gaff Priddis Masten

HF: Cameron Walker Lynch
HB: Sheppard McGovern Hurn

F: McGovern Jenkins Betts
B: Barrass Schofield Wellingham

R: Jacobs B. Crouch M. Crouch
R: Lycett Yeo Shuey

I: Lever Lyons ? ?
I: Butler Sheed Hutchings ?

All of a sudden their midfield doesn't look so awesome.

They should arill beat us by around 6 goals I think.

Lewis gets off lol

That hit was just as hard as the whack Lycett gave Vickery

Sloane a touch on the unlucky side tbh

Conspiracy theory/ tinfoil hat time : if GWS, Geelong and Hawthorn both win as expected but Adelaide lose to us the final 8 will be as follows :

1 - Sydney
2 - Geelong
3 - Hawthorn
4 - GWS
5 -Adelaide
6 - West Coast
7 - Bulldogs
8 - North Melbourne

First week of finals has a final in each state (except Queensland) with an all Sydney final, a Geelong v Hawthorn final at the MCG and SA and WA sellout finals against Melbourne sides that have small support bases that would have trouble generating a big crowd against an interstate side.

That ladder also ensures a Sydney final and a MCG final in each of the semi final and prelim final weeks regardless of results

I challenge anyone to find another top 8 configuration that would please AFL house more