Prediction Changes vs. Brisbane

Leon Cameron came out and said players not prepared to go the distance will be replaced.

GWS reserves side have been smashed all year in the terrible NEAFL competition ...... yet Cameron is still prepared to say that players are on notice and will be dropped if they underperform.

Port have a full team playing for the Magpies ..... winning almost every week .... yet we hang on to underperforming players who are screaming out to be dropped. .......... serially underperforming players need to be dropped for the betterment of the whole squad. It's not the end of the world for a player to be dropped. If they go back to the magpies and demand selection then that's great.

By showing such ridiculous faith in the same group of players you are undermining the strength of the squad as a whole. .

Yes. Yes and Yes :thumbsu:

Make them earn their places.

My changes:

Out: "aw shucks they be playin' too well it's too hard I give up" :(, Ah Chee, Hartlett, Toumpass (doesn't deserve to be dropped as he is in our top 10 performers the past two weeks, but agree he is depth atm and others have more upside)

In: "never give up fight to the death" attitude :cool:, Howard, Huston, Atley

Changes to roles: Howard forward. Trengove to the back six ,with him/Jonas/Hombsch rotating off the bench depending on match ups. Huston to HBF. Atley midfield.

Seriously on notice: Boak, Jacko, Pittard - shape up and perform or it's the SNAFL!!! :thumbsdown:

Given a rocket: Chad, Robbie - stop playing for frees and bloody compete :mad:

Ken's changes:

Out: Toump.

In: Young.

Game plan changes: Just a blip on the radar. Nothing to see here. Bit of a wake up call, that's all. Paddy heckled, hahhahha, that's funny, joke, smirk, don't expect back up from me, part of the game, stop sooking. The players we select are "great" guys, pay a good round of golf with me, and will respond. Just shuffle the Titanic's deck chairs a smidge. Good SANFL form will be rewarded (sometime).... Z-Z-Z-z-z-z-z-z-z-z-z-z-z-z-z-z-z-z-z-z-z-z-z...

images

We have now had the coach of a mid tier team that kicked us off the park, publicly state that he targeted Port's lack of height in defence. :rolleyes:

Howard aside, we have our tallest `defender,' Jacko, who won a b&f in that role, wasted as a pseudo fwd and back up ruckman. :thumbsdown:

Someone at Alberton needs to wake up and smell the f****** coffee, because its gone cold.

We have now had the coach of a mid tier team that kicked us off the park, publicly state that he targeted Port's lack of height in defence. :rolleyes:

Howard aside, we have our tallest `defender,' Jacko, who won a b&f in that role, wasted as a pseudo fwd and back up ruckman. :thumbsdown:

Someone at Alberton needs to wake up and smell the f****** coffee, because its gone cold.

Jacko can still be a good backup ruck but deffs should be down back more.

Have Jacko, Hombsch, Clurey and Jonas back. Dixon, Howard and Hoff up forward.

Then when Jacko is rucking have Hombsch, Clurey and Jonas back, Hoff swinging back, Dixon, Howard and Ryder forward.

The more I think about that game it really irritates me we persist with the same bunch of underperforming players. I'm sick of Ken having faith in the same players who continually let the club down, week in week out, if there aren't some decent changes this week i'm not sure what else I can expect for the rest of the year other than mediocre. It's about time we actually rewarded the players pushing for selection and not rewarding bad performances with gold passes - the latter bothers us all the most.

How about we actually get on the front for Ken instead of waiting for the wheels to totally fall off, your working with some of the best coach killers in the business.

Jacko can still be a good backup ruck but deffs should be down back more.

Have Jacko, Hombsch, Clurey and Jonas back. Dixon, Howard and Hoff up forward.

Then when Jacko is rucking have Hombsch, Clurey and Jonas back, Hoff swinging back, Dixon, Howard and Ryder forward.

More sense spoken here than what comes out of the coaches box.

So if we don't see some changes this week, then when?

We are halfway through the year now and we've used very few players outside of our 22. We also have a very healthy list. So what gives? The year will be over before we know it and we will have learned NOTHING about what our younger players are capable of.

Ken, you are not creating an environment that promotes high standards and consistent effort.
Some blokes know that they're a protected species. The ones below them are going to get pissed off at the lack of opportunities.

IMO if we go the majority of the year without testing out any of our younger, key position players then it's been a massive waste of time.

Howard, Atley, Houston, Lienert, Bonner, Austin, Gus, Eddy and Drew are all playing really good consistent footy in the snafl. Young had an fantastic game and Ken will be very tempted to bring him in. For me, I want to see some snafl consistency from him and make it impossible for Ken not to pick him but this won't happen. Unfortunately sounds like Gus is injured.

Howards game for the Maggies was sublime, especially considering he had Eddy and Marshall up there as well. He can give Ken so much flexibility and with respect to Jacko is a far more natural forward. Jacko took a few good grabs Saturday but his kicking isn't reliable.

I am a massive Lienert fan, sat next to his mum at the internal trial, she's a tough critic! He's tailor made for AFL footy, tall, athletic, agile and a booming leg. If you want to obliterate an opposition zone put the ball in his hands. He's got to be close to an AFL call up.

Atley is just a born footballer and will play 200 games. This is the right game to bring him in for. I see him taking over from Boak at some point

I understand and agree with Ken's philosophy about backing in your players. That's fine, you can do that and drop them at the same time so long as the communication is there. Players get complacent, Hammer, Boak, Pittard, S. Gray, Westhoff all suffer from this irregularly. It's often in their best interests to get dropped to wake them the **** up.

Boak. Let's be honest, if he wasn't captain right now we'd be talking about dropping him. He's clearly injured, we're trying to protect him on the half forward line. He had 17 handballs and 3 kicks FFS. Boak is a midfielder, if he needs a rest then bloody rest him. Ollie can captain the side. I've been defending him to mates about his form but I must concede he's been average to poor. Bottom line he's being carried because of the sides form. A captain must lead, clearly that's not happening.

Ken wont make more than 2 changes imo, I think they will be;

In; Atley Out; Ah Chee
In; Howard Out; Toumpas

No statement is being made here which is disappointing but I'm really excited at the prospect of seeing Atley and Howard in the AFL.

Hombsch is not being dropped after one poor game.

The hard part is what to do with Jacko when Dougal comes into the team?

You cant move Jacko back to defence as none of Hombsch, Clurey and Jonas deserve to be dropped. You cant have another tall in the backline as it will be too top heavy.

Hartlett has to go. Pittard is on shaky ground.

In - Dougal, Houston, Atley

Out - Hartlett, Toumpas, S Gray

Young can have a few games in the magoos to work on his game. Great performance yesterday but needs to back it up.

OUT: Darcy Byrne-Jones, Tom Clurey, Jack Hombsch, Matthew Broadbent, Tom Jonas, Hamish Hartlett, Brad Ebert, Ollie Wines, Jared Polec, Jarman Impey, Justin Westhoff, Sam Gray, Chad Wingard, Charlie Dixon, Jackson Trengove, Paddy Ryder, Robbie Gray, Travis Boak, Sam Powell-Pepper, Jimmy Toumpas, Jasper Pittard, Brendon Ah Chee

IN:
Dougal Howard, Dougal Howard, Dougal Howard, Dougal Howard, Dougal Howard, Dougal Howard, Dougal Howard, Dougal Howard, Dougal Howard, Dougal Howard, Dougal Howard, Dougal Howard, Dougal Howard, Dougal Howard, Dougal Howard, Dougal Howard, Dougal Howard, Dougal Howard, Dougal Howard, Dougal Howard, Dougal Howard, John Butcher

EFA

I gave Lienert a bit of a bake for not going hard enough at a particular contest against the chooks :rolleyes:, but that aside he has been sensational in the two games I have seen since then.

His booming kick is an absolute weapon, yesterday he delivered at least 5 or 6 lace out 50 metre plus passes that just sliced through westie's zone as if it wasn't there. :thumbsu:

Hombsch is not being dropped after one poor game.

The hard part is what to do with Jacko when Dougal comes into the team?

You cant move Jacko back to defence as none of Hombsch, Clurey and Jonas deserve to be dropped. You cant have another tall in the backline as it will be too top heavy.

Jack Hombsch is a bit like Westhoff in a way, he's a tall who plays in defence but he's not really a KPD. Jonas is more of a KPD than Hombsch despite being about 5 centimetres shorter. Hombsch is at his best as a sweeper picking off opposition forward entries rather than being directly responsible for an opposition KPF. He could certainly do a better job at whatever the **** role we've currently got Hamish Hartlett playing than Hammer is.

I wouldn't mind seeing us playing all four down back and seeing how they go. In our most successful year under Ken we played Carlile, Trengove, Hombsch and Jonas down back and it worked a treat, I don't see how replacing Carlile with Clurey would make any major difference to that set-up. Doogs up forward, Trengove into Hombsch's role, Hombsch into Hartlett's role, Hartlett into a Magpies guernsey.

Jack Hombsch is a bit like Westhoff in a way, he's a tall who plays in defence but he's not really a KPD. Jonas is more of a KPD than Hombsch despite being about 5 centimetres shorter. Hombsch is at his best as a sweeper picking off opposition forward entries rather than being directly responsible for an opposition KPF. He could certainly do a better job at whatever the **** role we've currently got Hamish Hartlett playing than Hammer is.

I wouldn't mind seeing us playing all four down back and seeing how they go. In our most successful year under Ken we played Carlile, Trengove, Hombsch and Jonas down back and it worked a treat, I don't see how replacing Carlile with Clurey would make any major difference to that set-up. Doogs up forward, Trengove into Hombsch's role, Hombsch into Hartlett's role, Hartlett into a Magpies guernsey.

Good post. Trengove down back for sure.

I agree,

The only structural problem we have is Westhoff. Unless we play him on the wing permanently with loose man in defence when needed. Nothing else.

I've been thinking the same thing now that I'm a bit calmer from Saturday night. I still want to see heads roll though.

After rewatching the power flogging and sanfl result. Ive adjusted my ins and outs...tough love needed.

F: Howard Dixon R.Gray
HF: Wingard Westhoff Palmer
C: Polec Wines SPP
HB: Hombsch Trengove Broadbent
FB: Clurey Jonas DBJ

1R: Ryder, Ebert, Atley

Int: Boak, Ah Chee, Pittard, S.Gray

IN: Atley, Howard, Palmer

Out: Toumpas, Hartlett, Impey

On notice...Boak, DBJ, Pittard, AhChee, S.Gray

I like Lienert, but I can't see him coming in.

I would suggest Atley, Drew and Howard is further up the pecking order.

Hinkley won't make more than 2 changes and would surprise me if it is Young to come back in.

I would like to see Howard for Westhoff and Atley/Drew from Toumpas/S Grey.

But who knows.

inb4 selection night melt proving that you do in fact care :D

If Howard isn't brought in to be tested against a very good young key defensive prospect in Harrah Sandruz it'll be seinfeld.gif time

After rewatching the power flogging and sanfl result. Ive adjusted my ins and outs...tough love needed.

F: Howard Dixon R.Gray
HF: Wingard Westhoff Palmer
C: Polec Wines SPP
HB: Hombsch Trengove Broadbent
FB: Clurey Jonas DBJ

1R: Ryder, Ebert, Atley

Int: Boak, Ah Chee, Pittard, S.Gray

IN: Atley, Howard, Palmer

Out: Toumpas, Hartlett, Impey

On notice...Boak, DBJ, Pittard, AhChee, S.Gray

I like this very much but we all know it wont happen.