Changes vs Carlton

• Thread starter Thread starter Dylan8

With white out you'd think Mitchell will be in the mix. This year has thrown lots of challenges, not sure we should be thinking about 2016 yet, there is a game next week from memory. No guarantees next year. We can't seem to get the team right this yr through injury and form, lobbe was terrible last night and we reverted to rushed kicking out of back line (missing Polac and now Krak) and being clogged up in forward entries. Maybe we should just hold possession a little bit too, Plan B for different times in a game is killing us.

Young started as sub, came on early and got involved, gave away 2 free kicks that weren't free kicks, and then seemed to be banished to the bench or the flanks for the rest of the game because of the umpires mistakes.

Career over at Port I guess. Bring on Mitchell or Logan next week.

You realise that since White was the one to come off that his job was to replace him? That's why he was on the bench and then on the flanks a lot...he was meant to go hard and spread when he was on the field. But instead of doing that, he jogged around on the outside as if he was too good to bust a gut for the team. A shit attitude from a player who seemingly can't cope with high intensity pressure.

Jesse Palmer debut next week? bring in to replace Paul Stewart?

yay or nay?
cant hurt. stewart played his best footy this year in the preseason and in the maggies running off the half back line, i wouldnt mind seeing him get back there before being dropped maybe. there are plenty of people in line to be dropped, would be happy if we actually made a point at the selection table and dropped 7 or 8 players. we have to set standars at the club and we are not, the same blokes make the same stupid mistakes, the same players have gone missing when things got tough and we are getting the same predictable results. for once lets be proactive at the selection table, lets finally set some standards that need to be hit week in week out, consitently over 4 quarters.

Out: S. Gray, Lobbe, Jonas
In: Ah Chee, trengove, Ryder

Also

Out: Coaching Stubbornness
In: Willingness to change style of game when it becomes painfully obvious within the first 5 minutes that we are playing like crap and going to lose becuase we refuse to take any risk and always end up kicking out on the full because we play it safe around the boundary.

Young started as sub, came on early and got involved, gave away 2 free kicks that weren't free kicks, and then seemed to be banished to the bench or the flanks for the rest of the game because of the umpires mistakes.

Career over at Port I guess. Bring on Mitchell or Logan next week.
For someone who seems to hate excuses being made for players like Butcher and Moore...

...that's a hell of an excuse you've pulled out for Young having an absolute mare of a game.

What was wrong with Hoon? 20 touches (8 contested) in his first game for nearly two years, pretty damn good return for a guy playing his first game back from a knee reco. He was the least of our problems tonight.

Anybody who's got him down as an out clearly pencilled him in as an out on Thursday night as soon as they saw him as an in, especially since we're now down another outside midfielder with White getting injured. He definitely deserves another game.

****ING THANK YOU. Hoon was one of fringe players who beasted last night.

Also, shame on me last night. I mentioned that I'd been a bit ashamed of Broadies performances recently, but he had a pretty stellar game last night.
If Lobbe wasn't part of the leadership group, that performance would almost lead to a dropping. We got ****ing smashed in the ruck, it was embarassing.

For me anyway, would love to see Ah Chee in. He is begging for a spot in the big boys team and deserves it thoroughly.

I hate jumping down the throats of the whipping boys but Sam Gray isn't at an AFL level. I want to see Neade replace him, but I feel like Neade isn't doing enough at the SANFL to warrant selection.
Young's game wasn't fantastic either - and by wasn't fantastic I mean pretty pathetic.
Clurey has honestly been pretty good for a sub 10 gamer, but I think Trengove coming in the next couple of weeks is perfect timing.
Stewart was too quiet for my liking. Hope Ryder jumps in as soon as possible as well. Don't think it will effect structures significantly either, which is a relief.

I think my biggest issue at the moment is we need bigger bodies in the midfield. Way too many shrugged tackles leading to goals. If I was coach, I would just have a bunch of contest ball kings in all areas of the field - wouldn't bother with rucks. Or forwards. Or defense. I'd just get all the players to crowd around the stoppage a la pee wee football. This is also why I'm not coach.

Had a change of heart over Car'oon over night, plus I did have about 500 outs so I'll have to get rid of one. Give him another game to settle it, he certainly wasn't the worst nor a liability like a couple of others.

Reckon Stewart slightly pulled a hamstring in the 3rd quarter last night. If not form, then injury will be his demise this week

Some say not enough....
220px-Metallica_-_Kill_%27Em_All_cover.jpg

Kill
Drop 'em all

IN: Harvey
OUT: Stewart
It's time. Not sure what Stewart offers, and we desperately need a tall to take marks in our forward 50 (since god knows Westhoff won't, and 80% of the time Schulz has had to work too far up the ground).

IN: Amon (Mitchell)
OUT: White
Our only forced change. If Amon's healthy, he comes in, otherwise Mitchell is next in line.

IN: Moore
OUT: S. Gray
Surprised to see after the game that Sam had 12 touches. Certainly didn't have any positive effect on the game. Moore to come in, absolutely must reward his SANFL form.

IN: Ah Chee
OUT: Young
Pretty obvious change, Young was awful last night. Don't want to see Ah Chee (or Moore) as the sub, need to see what he can do with a full game.

IN: Trengove
OUT: Jonas
Leaning towards Jonas over Clurey, since Clurey can actually kick, and isn't one-dimensional (Jonas is this year). Trengove wasn't in great form when he was in the side, but Jonas really has been poor.

If Ryder were available, Lobbe would be dropped.

If Krakouer were available, I doubt Colquhoun would've made his way into the side in the first place.

Westhoff is back on my shit list. He is a witches hat with a beard when he doesnt have the ball, and Jack Watts shit with it. Time to have a rest and have a shave unco
Literally the only thing you cannot criticise Watts for is when he has ball in hand.

But Westhoff is back to his magnificent hot/cold best. Imagine how good he would be if he had any consistency at all.

He wasn't close to the worst on ground, but why can't he be last week every week.

If we want to play Wingard and Gray through the middle, as we should, then we need a genuine crumber up front. Even more so once Ryder gets back in the team.

Monfries, Sam Gray, Stewart, Neade, Young, AhChee etc are not genuine forward crumbers.

Do we have one in the SANFL?

If we want to play Wingard and Gray through the middle, as we should, then we need a genuine crumber up front. Even more so once Ryder gets back in the team.

Monfries, Sam Gray, Stewart, Neade, Young, AhChee etc are not genuine forward crumbers.

Do we have one in the SANFL?
I would argue that Neade is

He would be if his kicking improves.
Probably has but for those of us that haven't seen SANFL games it's hard to say.