Opinion Changes vs Port Adelaide

• Thread starter Thread starter Eth

Evans?? He's still on the rookie list, and if took Couch that long to get a crack, there's no way after 1 week at Casey...

If Sellar is fit he could come straight in.

Potential ins: Moloney, Morton, Evans, Spencer, Gysberts, Fitzpatrick

Potential outs: Jamar (inj.), Bennell (inj.), Bate

Discuss.

No, no, no, no. Maybe. Yes please.

Waiting on reviews from Casey. But it sounds like Fitz is doing well, Gysberts could be a good in. If Jamar doesn't get up we need Sellar in as backup ruck. If the backline is too tall with Sellar there then rotate Garland forward and have Sellar, Stef and Fitz split the ruck time approx 20/60/20.

If Watts is fit, straight back in.

Not sure about outs though. Joel Mac is probably the only really obvious one to me (other than Jamar and Bennel through injury).

IN:
- Watts, Tapscott, Sellar, Moloney

OUT:
- Bate, Macdonald, Bennell, Jamar

Watts and Sellar are basically automatic in's; Moloney shouldn't be left to rot in the VFL - we know he's quality at his best and he racked up 12 clearances.

Tappy is versatile and only missed because he didn't quite prove fitness.

IN:
- Watts, Tapscott, Sellar, Moloney

OUT:
- Bate, Macdonald, Bennell, Jamar

Watts and Sellar are basically automatic in's; Moloney shouldn't be left to rot in the VFL - we know he's quality at his best and he racked up 12 clearances.

Tappy is versatile and only missed because he didn't quite prove fitness.
You'd be bringing Watts in with the intention of playing him forward for the entire game I assume, TPM?

OUT: Jamar, Bennell, Bate
IN: Spencer, Watts, one of Gysberts or Tapscott

JMac stays. Couple of bad shanks, but spent much of the first half keeping Barlow out of the game. JMac to McCarthy and Jordie to Ebert next week.

I really, really, really hope so.
I'm with you in that my long term vision for Watts is that he'll be a very good forward. But do you think he is ready to actually make an impact on games as a forward? Or do you just want him there for development?

OUT: Jamar, Bennell, Bate
IN: Spencer, Watts, one of Gysberts or Tapscott

JMac stays. Couple of bad shanks, but spent much of the first half keeping Barlow out of the game. JMac to McCarthy and Jordie to Ebert next week.

He was very good in the first half I must admit. The (constant and ongoing) problem with him is that he will always, inevitably, without a doubt have a brain fade or skill error at an important moment in the game for us and give away a goal (or goals). He has a particular fault (which grates the shit out of me) of playing on before he has even secured the mark and as a result dropping the mark and causing a turnover. For some reason this always seems to be in the opposition's f50 or in the corridor which innevitably leads to a goal :(

He was very effective in the first half today.

I'm with you in that my long term vision for Watts is that he'll be a very good forward. But do you think he is ready to actually make an impact on games as a forward? Or do you just want him there for development?

I think he made an impact up forward last year; and I think he showed some promising signs in the early games as a forward this year - albeit in a very different role.

We can't do any worse than playing one of our best defenders up forward IMO.

Potential ins: Watts, Sellar, Moloney, Morton, Evans, Spencer, Gysberts, Fitzpatrick

Potential outs: Jamar (inj.), Bennell (inj.), Bate

Discuss.
Why Morton? Would MUCH rather Williams. Moloney needs another week in the twos. As much as it pains me, Spencer is probably an automatic in. That's probably it, for the Russian and JB

Actually, if Watts is ok then just Spencil and him come in IMO

Fitz has been killing it. Play him as a forward come Ruckman to give Martin a chop out.

Watts straight in for Bennel.

I so want to see Fitzy in, but Spencer deserves his spot back. Depends on who we think has the better future, and if its Fitzy by a mile as it should be, give Spencer a few more to test himself.

Out: Jamar, Bennell, Bate

In: Watts, Spencer/Fitzpatrick, Dunn

Wow, Bate for Dunn is like shuffling deck chairs. Testament to Craigy Cameron.

We need a second ruckman so Fitz is a monty for next week given his form at Casey imo.

Watts in for Bennell.

Moloney in for Bate.

Strauss to start and Petterd can have the sub vest.

Sellar to come in for a chop out IMO - stronger in the contest.

Fitzy's doing a ripper job in the VFL; but realistically he's not big enough to compete in the center bounces yet.

Fittz has been good by most Casey reports. Thought he might be ready for a few senior runs as backup to Martin.

I reckon Spencer in before Sellar personally - he's not played for a few weeks now and we need a tall forward more than a tall defender.

Selection will be interesting this week..

For those of you who read Demonblog I'm going to have to go with Super: I would love to see Howe put in the forward line for close to four quarters next week - history has shown that this year his set shot kicking has been woeful but he can take a grab and we're dying for a strong marking target down there.

Being wasted through the midfield IMO

With Howe, IMO Neeld is looking at the next 5+ years. We know he's a keeper, he can jump, he can kick on the run, seems to be a team player etc.

He's come from the ametuers and needs an AFL tank. One player I don't mind getting some kms into his legs now so in future he can rotate mid/forward if need be without a problem. If we simply plant him up forward now he could become another Robbo which would have been ok back in 2006 but not in modern footy - we need more than a guy who goes for a leap, we're building a good footballer here.

with strauss back will watts remain back you think?
Watching the casey game i just dont know about moloney.. he was ok with 20 touches but u thought gysberts and morton were better.