Preview Changes vs Swans

Fumbles are terminal.

Poor kicks are terminal.

Both at the same time...

Coupled with high, slow handballs...

The miracle is that we've spluttered to life both
weeks and actually got our noses in front, despite us playing dreadfully.

Is it poor form or poor footballers?

I don't think it is sublimely skilled footballers playing the wrong game plan. Though it is difficult to discern yet what the game plan actually is given our ineptitude.

If our best 22 really is as bad as you're saying (it's not), then that makes Sanderson's gameplan even worse.

I am not defending Sando, however our best 22 in both of our games against Port & Geelong were outgunned talent wise. Coaching matters when two teams are evenly balanced, but when you have a major discrepancy in talent, coaching can only do so much....

Where do you see our list in the grand scheme of things Slippery? I can think of about 12 teams who have better lists than us right about now.

Here's another stat Rowe just gave on radio.

Possessions per goal -

Port, 19.8

Adelaide - 32.8 (Only Melbourne are worse).

Anyone who thinks that is not a systematic failure of the coaches box needs their head read. This stat is 100% on the head of the men in that box. 100%. No ifs, buts or maybes.

Yes YOU Sanderson, yes YOU Bickley, yes YOU Camporeale.

******* FIX IT.
Forward entry, leading patterns and lack thereof, making space for forwards to lead into, general stupid ****ing handballs to flat-footed players, telegraphing every so ****ing predictable play, all suck balls!

SP is right. ****ing FIX IT!!!!!!!!!

The other thing that surprised me was the number of our players going for a contested pack mark up to 4 at one stage. WTF

I was expecting one player to play back if the ball fell off the pack to grab the crumbs.
We never seem to have the cleverly/strategically-placed outside scavenger. The ball forever seems to bobble out to the opposition.

what's the likelihood of Laird getting a game? love the way he goes about it. Sanderson a good chance to bring him in or more the fans just hopeful that he will come in?

I've watched him in the 2s over the last couple of weeks. If it's not this week it has to be next. He found a lot of the ball last game and was doing his trademark saves and get-out-of-trouble manoeuvres.

well I'm sure his name will be in the hat, but I'm not sure who they'll have in to draw them this week.

his role is to be the unaccountable player in the back line who waits to receive handballs from team mates who make an effort to win their own ball and then use his elite leg to hit guys like Ollie Wines on the chest 50m out.

his secondary role is to illustrate why supercoach points aren't a reliable way of rating a players impact on a game.

Could you dribble on any more? Open your eyes he has been defending well one on one and has been quite accountable.

Yes he ****ed up and hit Wines on the chest. At least he has been attacking from defence and providing some run. We have conceded 32 goals from turnovers the one from Jaensch is the least of our problems he is doing it very nicely on most occasions.

Poor attack on a easy target.

Could you dribble on any more? Open your eyes he has been defending well one on one and has been quite accountable.

Yes he ****** up and hit Wines on the chest. At least he has been attacking from defence and providing some run. We have conceded 32 goals from turnovers the one from Jaensch is the least of our problems he is doing it very nicely on most occasions.

Poor attack on a easy target.
an opportunity arose, a joke was made, calm down mate.

yes he has been one of the better performers of a bad bunch and has copped a lot of stick in the past, but do you really think he's going to make it to 100 games?

The other thing that surprised me was the number of our players going for a contested pack mark up to 4 at one stage. WTF

I was expecting one player to play back if the ball fell off the pack to grab the crumbs.

WTF has happened from a team that showed plenty of promise during the preseason.

The next month will shape our season, it will be imperative to get game time into those injured players before our next tough run of games.

And we still couldn't take a ****ing mark.

We've been smashed in contested marking thus far. Our forwards seem to get in each other's way rather than put on a block for their team mates.

Apart from the two (very classy) goals, Grigg did nothing. White basically matched his output in one quarter.

I thought it was a positive sign that a youngster having a 'poor' game was still able to put the score on the board when given the opportunities. Wish we had more players capable of still having an impact when they are having a poor game.

an opportunity arose, a joke was made, calm down mate.

yes he has been one of the better performers of a bad bunch and has copped a lot of stick in the past, but do you really think he's going to make it to 100 games?

I reckon he will now. Good on him :thumbsu:

We've been smashed in contested marking thus far. Our forwards seem to get in each other's way rather than put on a block for their team mates.

No we haven't. We lost contested marks to Geelong 13-8. We lost contested marks to Port 8-7. Hardly a smashing. Contested marking is becoming less and less relevant in 2014.

Players are holding onto the ball and going for the easier option rather than kicking to a contest. If they are forced to kick to a contest they are kicking to a pack (rather than a 1on1) so that the ball can be killed.

I thought it was a positive sign that a youngster having a 'poor' game was still able to put the score on the board when given the opportunities. Wish we had more players capable of still having an impact when they are having a poor game.

:thumbsu:

Good post. The reality is that Grigg, Kerridge, Brown, Laird, Johnston, Shaw, Mckernan are all in that 5-45 game bracket. You need to expect ups and downs. Consistency usually only happens when a player has more than 50 games of AFL experience.

WTF have they done over summer in developing are a forward line that gels. I couldnt believe late in the game, the Crows isolated Betts as their sole forward.

The one massive positive we can take out of the first two games is that, despite being significantly undermanned we led the Cats in Geelong in the last quarter and led Port midway through the third quarter.

Sando needs to identify what is going wrong from that moment in the game where they lead and then get overhauled.

The most damning indictment on the crows gameplan, stretching back to the mid Craig era was that we simply haven't mastered the art of 'spreading' from the contest and as such all get sucked to the contest and have to work 2x harder to get out and chase etc and use handball to try and make up for it.

No to overly simplify but the 2012 anomaly was largely due to the game plan involving attacking long kicks and using the corridor coupled with a golden period of winning alot of the footy.

We need to look at players who understand this concept of gamestyle and start implementing it.

The most damning indictment on the crows gameplan, stretching back to the mid Craig era....

Actually during the Craig era we were called the Crowbots for the manner in which we moved the ball from one end to another methodically, systematically and consistently. It was one of the best H&A seasons we had with the way we played during those years.
I really enjoyed watching us play week in and week out.

Even in 97 and 98 our H&A record was nothing special. We were ranked underdogs in both GFs too.

Actually during the Craig era we were called the Crowbots for the manner in which we moved the ball from one end to another methodically, systematically and consistently. It was one of the best H&A seasons we had with the way we played during those years.
I really enjoyed watching us play week in and week out.

Even in 97 and 98 our H&A record was nothing special. We were ranked underdogs in both GFs too.

I agree, i was more referring to the 07 -08-10-11 years... 05/06 we were brilliant to watch. 09 we spiked again after a few things went our way.

As soon as we dont spread and lose that slick ball movement we are horrendously average because so many other teams do it well.

I am not defending Sando, however our best 22 in both of our games against Port & Geelong were outgunned talent wise. Coaching matters when two teams are evenly balanced, but when you have a major discrepancy in talent, coaching can only do so much....

Where do you see our list in the grand scheme of things Slippery? I can think of about 12 teams who have better lists than us right about now.

It's very difficult to put a ranking on it without going through every other team's list, pound for pound. But.......

Check out this article about Port at the start of last year. Their list was rated the second worst in the AFL, only in front of GWS.

http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/no...o-afl-prospectus/story-fnelctok-1226567303294
PORT Adelaide fans sick of hearing a call for patience are in for more pain before the gain according to a damning list assessment in the 2013 AFL Prospectus.

Football's annual statistical bible, compiled by Champion Data, rates the Power as having the second-worst list in the competition, ahead of only GWS.

Yes - that's the same list that clinically dismantled us by ten goals on Saturday and is now "rated" as one of the best going around.

People with minimal understanding of football drastically underestimate the difference a tactically sound, well-run, well-coached football club makes to the appearance of a list, talent-wise.

It can literally be the difference between appearing to have one of the worst lists in the comp and one of the best.

I remember people lamenting the state of Geelong's list in 2006. How ridiculous does that sound now?

What more proof do you need?

People with minimal understanding of football drastically underestimate the difference a tactically sound, well-run, well-coached football club makes to the appearance of a list, talent-wise.

This. Could not have said it better.

In addition to the Geelong example given by Slippery Pete, look at Freo right now. Ross Lyon has made blokes like Tendai Mzungu, Michael Walters, Zac Clarke, Zac Dawson, Clancee Pearce, Danyle Pearce and Lee Spurr look like valuable AFL players. Had these players been at a tactically unsound, poorly-run, poorly-coached football club over the last 2.5 years, some or all of their careers may well be in the same toilet Jason Porplyzia's is now submerged in.

This. Could not have said it better.

In addition to the Geelong example given by Slippery Pete, look at Freo right now. Ross Lyon has made blokes like Tendai Mzungu, Michael Walters, Zac Clarke, Zac Dawson, Clancee Pearce, Danyle Pearce and Lee Spurr look like valuable AFL players. Had these players been at a tactically unsound, poorly-run, poorly-coached football club over the last 2.5 years, some or all of their careers may well be in the same toilet Jason Porplyzia's is now submerged in.
Salient - any top 10 draft picks amongst that lot?