Preview Changes vs Swans

Nope, not confused at all.
Looks like a champ when open but plays like a marshmellow under pressure.
Sando and Co obviously have had enough (finally).
And the fact that Porps, Shaw and MARTIN are emergencies show how far down the list he is.

Except he's been our best forward by the length of the Flemington straight whether you like it not. We also haven't replaced him with another tall so are left with only 2....

Mate, I reckon if Roo, Mcleod and Modra all magically went back to the age they were in their peak, and then got picked this week, you would still find ways to criticise selection.

They'd probably have been stuck in the SANFL behind McDermott and co.

I can see why we didn't drop pods. He's put Sando in a real difficult position.

I'm sure he's saying all the right things, and having gotten him over, Sando thinks he owes him a few weeks to find form.

I get that. Don't agree but I get it.

LJ well being the best of a bad lot, doesn't mean he is "in" form. And after we sucked so hard, the selectors wanted a different look, and give JJ a go. If you're keeping pods, then LJ has to make way for JJ. We couldn't go in unchanged.

Again, I get it. And if it works hooray. I don't agree but I get the thinking

Problem is the thinking is compromised a bit my pods and Sando's relationship I reckon. Does a neutral give him 3 or 4 weeks in that form? No. But if pods stays this week the other moves make themselves

Well he's not a natural defender either, we tried him at that before and he was lost at sea.

So if he's not a natural forward, and not a natural defender, that makes him a natural ruckman - and unfortunately that makes him another tweener ruckman who isn't big enough to do it in the AFL and doesn't have enough tools to do it on the side.
I'd be prepared to give him another crack in defence.

Sent from my luxury yacht in the Bahamas

Shit post

Yeah nah sorry for having a laugh....

So what should we do with a big bloke who doesn't seem to be a natural forward? Play him at CHB maybe? Try Talia at CHF or, here's a bit of left field, chuck Truck up forward?

I'd love to see smack succeed, he's a great ruck for his size but not a natural forward imo.

No, its not that he's not a natural forward. I think he's best position is R/F and that is his only chance of making it really. Couldnt even begin to imagine Shaun Mckernan trying to rebound out of our backline when needed.

I was alluding more to just how uncoordinated he looks sometimes and the expressions on his face. It was nothing more than a joke about a player who goes about it a little differently to others.

Seems just about everyone got the wrong idea *woosh*

Yes but at the moment we don't have that option. We can't drop Pods cos there is no one else available to go to.

That argument doesn't hold water.

PODS HAS CONTRIBUTED ABSOLUTELY NOTHING SO FAR.

Dropping a non entity for ANYONE is going to strengthen our side.

We don't that option now, so let's pump some games into LJ, and when we do have that option, he's actually got a string of AFL games behind him.

Yeah nah sorry for having a laugh....

No, its not that he's not a natural forward. I think he's best position is R/F and that is his only chance of making it really. Couldnt even begin to imagine Shaun Mckernan trying to rebound out of our backline when needed.

I was alluding more to just how uncoordinated he looks sometimes and the expressions on his face. It was nothing more than a joke about a player who goes about it a little differently to others.

Seems just about everyone got the wrong idea *woosh*
Nah wasn't having a crack at your post, was merely posing a question :)

Would have preferred to see Lyons play and Pods must be on his last chance, needs a big game to pay us back for drafting a 93 year old.

What concerns me more though is the players that have been dropped ( Shaw, LJ and Porps). If they have been omitted for perceived flaws with their game, I would like to see them demonstrate that they have fixed those flaws on a regular basis before reselection and not get a game next week based on a decent game in the twos. To me, this was one of the best things about us getting a reserves team, being able to have players work through issues in our team environment..

In saying all of this, I hope they don't bring Porps back, it has been too long, just way too long since he has shown consistent form and that just isn't good enough for a 29 year old at AFL level.

Porps has always been one to need a few games under his belt. Sadly we can't afford him that luxury anymore.

Turn off the oven, he's cooked.

Nah wasn't having a crack at your post, was merely posing a question :)

Yeah I know buddy, all good. People just misinterpreted the joke in every way possible :P

But yeah, cannot see Mckernan in defence. That could end very badly...

Yeah I know buddy, all good. People just misinterpreted the joke in every way possible :P

But yeah, cannot see Mckernan in defence. That could end very badly...
Worse than his non presence up forward?

Lyons offer's no tackling pressure...? The guy is a tackling machine. Yes, he is on the slower side but it seems in fact that he has gained a genuine yard of pace over the preseason. Ive seen some great run downs from him both in the NAB and in last weeks trial game. The kid can tackle, and as a matter of face can actually play football unlike Petrenko.

My thoughts on Selection:
- Surely you guys are as confused as I am as to why LJ was dropped? Wtf Sando? :drunk:
- Sorry to be a party pooper, but I would rather Lyons over Crouch. Yes i want to see Bob play as much as the next guy, but we're playing Sydney. Needed Lyons here.
- Would have also liked to see one of CEY or Cameron over Petrenko. We are wasting our time with naming him.
- Happy to see JJ back. It's a confidence booster that he desperately needs.

Completely agree with this post.

I like Hartigan coming in, but surely Lyons over BOB and CEY or Cameron getting a gig. It just feels as if the is no steadfast reasoning behind why some players are picked over others and would be confusing the players as well. This does not instil confidence in the players, both in the SANFL and AFL. What do you need to do to get a game or get dropped.......

Laird is a good in.

Well be good to see Crouch for the first time.

I like Hartigan for Shaw. Not a huge fan of Shaw. Poor decision maker.

Porps just isn't up to it. I guess they wanted to replace him with a forward hence Petrenko coming in.

Unlucky for Lyons. Surely the writing is on the wall for him already this year. I really wanted him to get a full season but it will never be with the crows.

Don't like Petrenko. Very little output and overrated tackler.

I finally summoned the courage and watched the replay last night.

If anyone else is a masochist, watch the replay and count how many times in the first half that LJ had his hands on the ball first (either in a marking contest or ground ball) and failed to take possession. After watching the replay it was clear to me that I had understated how poorly he played.

Have three tall forwards ever provided so little in an AFL match? I also think that JJ will struggle since it is no easy thing to come back from a broken ankle but I think he develop into a handy player. What happened to Walker, Lynch and Otten? :(

If we win on Saturday then all is forgiven Sando.

Except he's been our best forward by the length of the Flemington straight whether you like it not. We also haven't replaced him with another tall so are left with only 2....
Just know we had 6 more inside 50's and yet lost it through goals from turnovers.
Saw way too many time his half arsed second effort or straight up turned the ball over, too then see it catch our defense out because of the lack of pressure and goals at the other end. Wouldn't accept that crap from under 14's let alone AFL players. Not once but multiple times. Like his massive turnover last week trying to hold off on Geelong player while his mate moped up "Go the bloody ball dickhead!". No time for this spud. I've never felt this strongly about a crows player before. If we never see him again it will be too soon.
Oh and Eddie has been our best forward by a long way.

I can see why we didn't drop pods. He's put Sando in a real difficult position.

I'm sure he's saying all the right things, and having gotten him over, Sando thinks he owes him a few weeks to find form.

I get that. Don't agree but I get it.

LJ well being the best of a bad lot, doesn't mean he is "in" form. And after we sucked so hard, the selectors wanted a different look, and give JJ a go. If you're keeping pods, then LJ has to make way for JJ. We couldn't go in unchanged.

Again, I get it. And if it works hooray. I don't agree but I get the thinking

Problem is the thinking is compromised a bit my pods and Sando's relationship I reckon. Does a neutral give him 3 or 4 weeks in that form? No. But if pods stays this week the other moves make themselves

I think you've hit the nail on the head with Pods. Another reason too why I knew that Pods wouldn't get dropped this week was because he was played up by the club as a "high profile" recruit, the club would have an expectation that he will be playing in the first Adelaide Oval game and that the crowd expects him to be playing.

The other issue for the club is that they have been getting smashed from pillar to post of late and I think the club isn't ready yet to open themselves up for criticism by dropping Pods. If the club dropped Pods after 2 games it may give the impression that the club made a mistake by recruiting him. I tend to think that the club would rather just play Podsiadly and continue to hope for the best rather then deal with the embarrassment of dropping him so early in the season after promoting his recruiting as heavily as they did in the pre-season.

Just know we had 6 more inside 50's and yet lost it through goals from turnovers.
Saw way too many time his half arsed second effort or straight up turned the ball over, too then see it catch our defense out because of the lack of pressure and goals at the other end. Wouldn't accept that crap from under 14's let alone AFL players. Not once but multiple times. Like his massive turnover last week trying to hold off on Geelong player while his mate moped up "Go the bloody ball dickhead!". No time for this spud. I've never felt this strongly about a crows player before. If we never see him again it will be too soon.
Oh and Eddie has been our best forward by a long way.

1) Did you see the quality of those I 50s? Those high, long bombs to the goals square? Going by our current style you'd think Osborn was a gimme to be named at full forward this week...... The midfield is just as much to blame here.

2) Im talking tall forwards.

I know where you are coming from and agree to an extent with what you're saying but both mine and numerous other's point still stand, he has by no means been the worst of the bunch. Podsiadly faded in and out of the game, but is the most experienced and proven of the lot so probably deserves his chance. If i had not have looked at the team sheet I wouldn't have even noticed that McKernan was playing.

We've played 2 very, very average games as a team collectively, it's not been easy going but despite this LJ has the best of the talls. But the blame doesn't purely fall on LJ alone. There are 5 other blokes standing around him which are also responsible for locking the ball into our 50, who have also failed miserably along with LJ. I just dont get why LJ is copping the raw end of the deal and so much smack here.

If you're going to name Jenkins, then fine. The logical choice would be to drop Mckernan. But don't also drop a second tall in LJ when a) we haven't named a tall to replace him and b) he's actually kicked some ****ing goals unlike the rest.

It just makes no sense to me. Laconic, poor defensive pressure, whatever you can muster up, the guy hasn't been given a PROPER run of games yet. Now after 2 games where he's hardly been amongst the worst we drop him for who? Nobody. That's going to do a world of ****ing wonder for his confidence the little effort he already appears to put in.

Its funny last year at the draft, I thought we were 100% correct in drafting Pods ahead Chapman.

Chapman has almost won them 2 games off his own boot. Pods hasnt even won us a NAB game.
Wait this was an option?
This club is utterly moronic, it's not hindsight it's knowing you have plenty of tall options and dismal small forwards, HBF options plus a lackluster on ball crew
How is chapman betts and no porps and pods not epic?
It's mind boggling.

perhaps, in a world where McKernan wasn't omitted due to a concussion.

Wait this was an option?
This club is utterly moronic, it's not hindsight it's knowing you have plenty of tall options and dismal small forwards, HBF options plus a lackluster on ball crew
How is chapman betts and no porps and pods not epic?
It's mind boggling.
No I don't think it was but we could have gone and offered Chapman a contract.

Ironically I think it was Tredrea that put him on the work rate straight and narrow... for whatever reason Craigy's instruction method didn't work with Tex.

Well whoever it was, it seemed to work. Maybe it came from inside.