Vic COLES DIY check out systems. Loop hole!

richskee

Feb 7, 2008
Washington Wizards
Wow, these machines are great, no more lining up in big que's just rock up with your groceries and scan them yourself.

So after testing out the DIY checkouts a few times at my local Coles, you realize that all products that don't have a barcodes are priced through weight. For example you buy two capsicums and you lay them on the weighing bench and select 'Capsicum' on the touch screen tablet and then place them into your bag it prices the capsicum as it's advertised kilo weight.

With at least 15 to 20 machines at my local Coles, they have employed 1 helper for assistance as most people are still learning and are prone to making mistakes when using the tablet. Sooooo.... This where I thought i'd try to bend the rules a bit.

I was getting a couple of Steaks for dinner I believe they cost around 14.95 for the packet, good quality meat. So as I was checking through the DIY I decided to put the steaks on the weight table so the barcode wasn't facing the scanner and then I did something quite naughty... I selected the product as 'BRUSH POTATOES' kilo price about $1.50. It went through and I placed the steaks in the bag and continued to put some veggies through as there honest price.

So effectively I walked out with two FAT NEW YORK CUT STEAKS for $1.55!

And if there were any drama's like the helper approached me, all I have to say is that I must have made a mistake and I'm new to these machines but they are always wandering around not even looking. As I said these DIY checkouts are prone to noobs fking up so there is 0% risk.

Was wondering if anyone else has tapped onto this loop hole?

Most of us are upstanding citizens that pay for what we buy...

pfft, the self checkouts are ridiculous.

you have to scan all the good yourself, bag the goods etc. and do all the labour that the checkout chicks do for you, whilst still paying the same price!!

may aswell get myself a discount since i'm going to do to all the work :thumbsu:

Hardly a loophole.

Why not post "if you stuff your coat with stuff and walk out, it costs you nothing", or "go to a caryard, and while you're mate distracts the salesman you can take keys from the keyboard and drive out with a new car for free - loophole!".

Hardly a loophole.

Why not post "if you stuff your coat with stuff and walk out, it costs you nothing", or "go to a caryard, and while you're mate distracts the salesman you can take keys from the keyboard and drive out with a new car for free - loophole!".

Because I'm not stuffing crap down my coat or pockets. I am paying for the items, it's just I accidently pressed brush potatoes on the touch screen. An honest mistake that can be easily abused.

Wow, these machines are great, no more lining up in big que's just rock up with your groceries and scan them yourself.

So after testing out the DIY checkouts a few times at my local Coles, you realize that all products that don't have a barcodes are priced through weight. For example you buy two capsicums and you lay them on the weighing bench and select 'Capsicum' on the touch screen tablet and then place them into your bag it prices the capsicum as it's advertised kilo weight.

With at least 15 to 20 machines at my local Coles, they have employed 1 helper for assistance as most people are still learning and are prone to making mistakes when using the tablet. Sooooo.... This where I thought i'd try to bend the rules a bit.

I was getting a couple of Steaks for dinner I believe they cost around 14.95 for the packet, good quality meat. So as I was checking through the DIY I decided to put the steaks on the weight table so the barcode wasn't facing the scanner and then I did something quite naughty... I selected the product as 'BRUSH POTATOES' kilo price about $1.50. It went through and I placed the steaks in the bag and continued to put some veggies through as there honest price.

And if there were any drama's like the helper approached me, all I have to say is that I must have made a mistake and I'm new to these machines but they are always wandering around not even looking. As I said these DIY checkouts are prone to noobs fking up so there is 0% risk.

Was wondering if anyone else has tapped onto this loop hole?

you sir are a legend. i will be making the most out of this loophole for the next few trips yet.

Because I'm not stuffing crap down my coat or pockets. I am paying for the items, it's just I accidently pressed brush potatoes on the touch screen. An honest mistake that can be easily abused.

So which is it? You admit you were going to 'break the rules' and then selected a vegetable.... then back track and say it was all an accident when people point out it's straight out stealing.

Not sure they are gonna buy the excuse. You are weighing a product with a barcode and cant tell the difference meat and vegetables? All the ones ive been to only have around 6 checkouts so maybe this store is the only loophole. My local Bunnings has self scan registers as well.

That guy is probably South of River scum..

There are plenty of places that have these in WA but I dont use them much.

BUZZZ.... wrong.

I probably have never seen them cos I hardly ever go in a woolies/coles.

I got free barramundi
There is no where to put stuff so you scan it and back into your trolley
I had a full trolley and the fish was under a paid for bag
genuine mistake but:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Not really an honest mistake. If you put bananas or tomatoes in under the regular ones when you infact had the organic varities you could pass that off as a mistake if pulled up. Reckon you're screwed if they pull you up and you try that excuse.

pfft, the self checkouts are ridiculous.

you have to scan all the good yourself, bag the goods etc. and do all the labour that the checkout chicks do for you, whilst still paying the same price!!

I never use it if I do a decent shop because it is a pain in the arse with a trolley full of groceries but it's the best thing ever created if you are only getting a few items. No waiting in queue, or what pisses me off the most, waiting for the six items or less bitch when she immediately ****s off and serve smokers as soon as they get to the counter while everyone that has been waiting for 5-10 minutes is left waiting.

Agreed. I exploit this loophole all the time. I often duck into Myer, chuck on a jacket or shirt and stroll out. If I'm stopped I just act confused and explain that I thought this was my wardrobe.

Cousin of mine lived in New York for a few months two years ago. They went to IKEA to buy some stuff, got to the front, and realised that not only were there self-checkout stalls (which they'd never used before), but ONLY self-checkout stalls, and no security. They just walked out with all the stuff. And if a massive company like IKEA is too stingy to hire security, then serves them bloody well right!

only shifty thing i do is take the stems off the expensive tomatoes and get charged for the cheaper product and you cant tell the difference.

This is not a "Loop hole" or "Bending the rules" its just plain stealing. I couldnt really give a rats ass and would not do it myself but dont pretend its something its not

Woolworths in Melville has them.

I used them for the first time on Saturday. They are very handy, but I would rather somebody be getting paid for helping me.

As for the loophole, stealing is just stealing. That is hardly a loophole.

Loophole - An unintentional characteristic of a law which allows one to circumvent the law's intention without actually breaking that law.

You still paid overs.

Vic COLES DIY check out systems. Loop hole!

Write your reply...