Congratulations Cats

Otto was just fantastic...I love how he steps up in big games...we will really miss him when he's gone, and I reckon ruckmen that good are rare as hen's teeth.

I must admit I'd forgotten how scary he can be in full flight, as soon as he went into the forward line it looked like he was going to start smashing packs and taking big grabs.

Ablett had an ordinary day (by his standards). Lots of touches, not too many damaging. I don't necessarily blame him - he's the natural get out of jail play for our team when they are under pressure, but teams are wise to it.

A terrific game of football though, and probably just what we needed to get the team focused at this time of year.

just wanted to say congrats geelong and supporters on the win today.

i, along with most people, was happy to see another fierce contest and for mine has become the best rivalry since the Sydney/West coast one a few years ago.

look forward to our next meeting later in the season where i'm sure we will be treated with some bloody good football from both sides.

again, well done today and good luck for the season.

cheers

A smug Hawk supporter, what are the odds!

Firstly, I wasn't talking to you at any stage, you decided to interject.

I was responding to Feather who claimed the Hawks injuries were far more important that the Cats.

I'm aware the Hawks had injuries, your post was unnecessary.

Actually, yes you did speak to me in this thread, as you qoute me in your reply.

Who died and made you KING of Big Footy? This is a forum, if you want a private conversation use PM.

Fantastic game. Ok, yes both sides butchered the ball at times so it wasn't a spectacle in that sense, but the pressure and competitiveness, felt like a finals game and I always love playing the Hawks and really rate them.

Thanks to the Hawks who've come here and been gracious, it makes a change from the radio all the way home listening to vitriol about umpires winning us the game and being on the take and all that crap. While the umpiring wasn't great and we probably got the better end of that crapness, the level of anti umpire vitriol on days like today is so over the top, and takes away from what we should be talking about-great efforts from players on both sides.

As for the ruck thing, well done to Renouf to keep going after his dislocated finger, and I thought he battled manfully all day. Clearly he was buggered by the last quarter, and that was one of, although not the only reason, we got control. Personally, I would have traded for a ruckman over Burgoyne, but I can understand why they got him. Besides, they've had a shocking run of injuries. To have even Wayde Skipper, just as relief in there today, would have been great, but you have to make do with what you have, and right now they don't even have him. That's not their fault. Bring on round 15!

Umpires ridiculous decision in the last quarter hurt us, but don’t be fooled we had our opportunity to win the game and didn’t take it. I’m proud of the Hawks Men effort and heart. I think the cats are ahead of us in preparation of fitness, but that’s not a great concern as we are not far behind and it is after all only the second game of the year. GO HAWKAS!

was impressed with Hodge on "On The Couch" I think we all, players included enjoy our encounters.

I haven't yet seen it (it is IQ'd, though), but that doesn't surprise me at all because Luke Hodge is a champion of a bloke.

Despite the niggles, the odd snipe and the real competitiveness of the two clubs, there is a genuine respect amongst the playing groups.

People seem to form their views solely on the lame shitfest that happens between some of both clubs supporters on these boards but outside of that little bizarro world i find that both players and supporters respect the other group and are capable of acknowledging quality performances.

Well done Catters on a great comeback. Would have turned up to take my medicine last night however my computer is buggered. Nevermind, I will just have to take it at lunch at work.

Well done again, enjoy the win.

I haven't yet seen it (it is IQ'd, though), but that doesn't surprise me at all because Luke Hodge is a champion of a bloke.

Despite the niggles, the odd snipe and the real competitiveness of the two clubs, there is a genuine respect amongst the playing groups.

People seem to form their views solely on the lame shitfest that happens between some of both clubs supporters on these boards but outside of that little bizarro world i find that both players and supporters respect the other group and are capable of acknowledging quality performances.

exactly...nice one

Congrats Cats. Well played.

Our games have become the benchmark for the AFL when it comes to intensity.

A bit late, but congrats Cats.

I posted in the gameday thread that the game reminded me of rd.17 2008, a game where as a Hawk fan I walked away "knowing" we would win the premiership. Whilst not as confident this year, I think if we can get some of our outs back (especially one of our five :eek: injured rucks) then the result would be very different. I think we both showed enough to state we'll be genuine contenders this year.

I think the 1st quarter shows it doesn't matter who you are, if enough pressure is applied cracks appear - but we didn't take full advantage, and at quarter-time I called it as not enough, and likely for you to over-run us in the 3rd.

That kind of effort cannot be maintained for a whole game - and from midway through the 2nd quarter you started to work your way on top. By my count there were 13 shots on goal (10/3) from disposal clangers and that rate of turnovers completely undid our good work elsewhere.

Hope the young Motlop comes good - nothing worse than getting injured in your first game, especially when it's 'friendly fire'. Hope Mooney, Selwood, Shiels and Chapman all get off....and that Scarlett (dog act), and Osborne (not much better) are the only forced outs.

Don't get me wrong mate. I came here and started this thread offering nothing other than congratulations.

When someone makes some ill-informed judgements about Hawthorn not being contenders after having been beaten by the reigning premiers by nine points after being infront all day, you'll have to excuse me if I do respond with a few remarks. As you've flagged yourself, they're all valid points.

If you don't think they belong in this thread, no worries. Just delete them with the comment they resonded to and leave the thread in place because some of us enlightened supporters need a thread in which to offer the better team on the day due respect.

I hope that clears things up.

Tend to agree with you mate.

I've said it a lot over the past few years that the Hawks are a side much like the Cats, young and strong and passionate about how they play.

And on the point of the thread, humility is something that we can all use, even some who write on this board often. Thanks for your thoughts and I know we will meet up in the finals; great team the Hawks, always a worry for us Cat fans.

A bit late, but congrats Cats.

Hope Mooney, Selwood, Shiels and Chapman all get off....and that Scarlett (dog act), and Osborne (not much better) are the only forced outs.

The AFL and it's supporters are really living up to Victoria being the Nanny state.

Go back and watch the video, the softest of touch and his opponent hits the deck like a pack of cards.

GFC1859 said:
It was a very poor standard today. Constant mistakes and poor decisions. Hawks are not contenders.
Thanks for the insight. Stunning really.

You're right of course. Not may sides win flags in April.

I thought Geelong won it in the last quarter with ruck dominance and quality midfield possessions. Hawks ran out of run completely and took risky options rebound-50 that blew up.

Will Hawthorn play all year with only one ruckman? No.

Will S. Burgoyne, B. Sewell, C. Young bring anything to our midfield run? You obviously think not. Not sure many here would agree with you.

Do you reckon have two on the bench makes any difference in a match like that one? You obviously think it doesn't. Not sure many here would agree with you about that either.

Do you reckon J. Lewis would have added anything to Hawthorn's midfield rotations in that last quarter? You obviously think not. Plenty would argue with you.

What was the final margin? 9 points huh?

If the Hawks aren't contenders, neither are the Cats. Me, I think they're both in with a good show this year. Wouldn't surprise me to see them both deep into September.

No offence meant to the other Cats' fans. Most that I know are pretty knowledgeable and a fair bit more respectful than the fella I quoted here. Good luck to the rest of you.

I'm sorry, what?