List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade Thread - 2025 Edition Vol 3

Quick Links

List Changes - 2025
In:
  • Brandon Starcevich arrives at West Coast in a three team deal
  • Tylar Young (Richmond) arrived at West Coast in exchange for Pick 38.
  • Deven Robertson (Brisbane) has agreed to join West Coast and will be signed on to the rookie list after being delisted by Brisbane
Out:
  • Oscar Allen joins Brisbane as a FA - West Coast receive Pick 2 as compensation
  • Liam Ryan and a 2027 R3 pick has been traded to St Kilda for a 2026 R2 pick
  • Campbell Chesser has been traded to Carlton for Pick 41
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Coen Livingstone joins the list of players not offered a new contract

Players Out of Contract - 2025 (0)
  • Jamie Cripps and Malakai Champion seem to have been offered new contracts despite there being no official announcement. Means that all players out of contract for 2025 have been given new contracts despite or removed from the playing list

2025 Draft Order

Current Draft Picks:
Round 1: 1, 2, 13
Round 2: 34, 41
Round 3: 53, 58 (These picks are in excess of available list spots so will be forfeited if we don’t consolidate our 2025 picks up the order or trade some for future picks)

List Spots Available (39 of 48):
• Main list (33 of 38) - 5* (in: Starcevich, Young out: Allen, Ryan, Chesser, Hunt, Petruccelle, Jamieson)
• Cat A rookie list (5 of 8) - 3* (in: Robertson (pending), out: Rawlinson)
• Cat B rookie list (1 of 2) - 2 (out: Livingstone)

* Based on Dewar being upgraded after the maximum 3 years on the rookie list. Hutchinson may also have been upgraded but this isn’t confirmed - if it is we will have 4 main and 4 rookie list spots open

* Matthew Clarke has stated we have 5 main list spots

Matt Clarke wraps up the trade period - 6PR

I didn't claim to "know" anything as in i have secret knowledge. I have an opinion, which is what these Boards are for, that he will never cut it at AFL level. And that is based on the fact that he goes completely missing in games for long periods of time. A couple of quarters can go by and you wouldn't even know he was on the field. You don't see him or hear his name called. If you are having a bad game and struggling to find the footy then a player with good mental aptitude will try and contribute in some other way. Tackles, smothers, blocks for a team mate, running hard to create an option for a team mate with the ball. He has skills with ball in hand but he doesn't get enough of the ball in his hands (probably because he doesn't run hard enough) and nor does he try and compete hard enough and make a contribution when he doesn't have the ball in his hands.

We won just one game. How many in the team do these things? What about the others who do not do these things? Do they all lack this mental aptitude you mentioned or just a select few?

It increasingly feels like West Coast are the only club that lives in this outdated bubble.

Carlton sent Jack Martin to the pre-season draft when they couldn't agree a trade with GC.
Hawthorn traded away the draft picks the Eagles wanted, forcing us to accept future picks instead.
GC pinched Knobel from Freo (while we were too chicken sh.t to do it).
Geelong regularly bend other clubs over in trades.
etc, etc.

Good relations don't mean anything, clubs trade in their own best interests. Refusing to trade in the future because of a grudge or being good guys only hurts yourself.
The fact that you've had to reach back to six years ago for this example should tell you that this is something which simply doesn't happen very often.

The Martin situation is also different because he requested a trade to Victoria (not to any specific club), was turned down and held to his contract and played for GCS in 2019, requested a trade again after that season, and again GCS asked too much and lost him for nothing (although the AFL gave them Matt Rowell for free so I guess things turned out ok for them).

The fact that you've had to reach back to six years ago for this example should tell you that this is something which simply doesn't happen very often.

The Martin situation is also different because he requested a trade to Victoria (not to any specific club), was turned down and held to his contract and played for GCS in 2019, requested a trade again after that season, and again GCS asked too much and lost him for nothing (although the AFL gave them Matt Rowell for free so I guess things turned out ok for them).
Context matters huh?

If they don’t lodge paperwork at band 1 they likely lose both Allen and Annable.

They are just trying to maximise their return, and using pretend leverage to try to put some pressure on.

They need whatever we give them to assist with matching a bid. And they will never get Allen through the draft (he won’t fall into the 40’s where their picks would be).

We just need to wait it out.
Still a chance they lose out on Annable and someone else comes in for Allen if they drag their feet. Sydney would still be keen imo and would take Allen for free rather than trading the farm for Curnow. Hawks could also still be sniffing around.

Time to just keep Oscar Allen I think. We can revisit the trade in 2026 really

I dont want CDT as bad as us keeping pick 16 + Allen

Toe beans?
Not sure I want to know. :think: :huh: ;)
International Cat Day GIF by SoyKitty

It increasingly feels like West Coast are the only club that lives in this outdated bubble.

Carlton sent Jack Martin to the pre-season draft when they couldn't agree a trade with GC.
Hawthorn traded away the draft picks the Eagles wanted, forcing us to accept future picks instead.
GC pinched Knobel from Freo (while we were too chicken sh.t to do it).
Geelong regularly bend other clubs over in trades.
etc, etc.

Good relations don't mean anything, clubs trade in their own best interests. Refusing to trade in the future because of a grudge or being good guys only hurts yourself.

Didn't Hawthorn offer us a first round pick last year? Then we said no so they traded it to Carlton? Barrass still got to Hawthorn and we have picks in this year's draft because why would you want Murphy Reid...

Geelong got Bailey Smith for pick 17. The guy who despite not playing last year made the 22 under 22 team the previous 4 seasons. He exceeded expectations this year but let's not pretend he wasn't a young gun previously. Averaged 29 touches a game and polled 10 Brownlow votes in 17 games in 2022. Just one single late first and a slight downgrade of seconds. That's all. And it went down to the wire. And they have a 25 year old AFLCA champion player on their list. And yet we're sitting here talking about giving up the same pick for a defender that is a free agent (so by default out of contract), from a club that is getting our co-captain for free, in a year when we finished 18th. Nothing against Starcevich he's a decent enough player but even without the concussion risk we're not talking about a guy with an elite ceiling.

Clubs on the whole are too generous in looking after their own players. You want a 35 year deal? You got it. You want a trade to a club that can only offer about 2/3 of market value? You got it. We're too generous in looking after our players, other teams' players, other teams' draft and trade plans... I know people don't like negativity around these parts but FMD the whole idea of list management is to make your list better. We should be eyeing this trade period as an opportunity to have a top shelf draft hand and add a few established players for nothing, not 'making commitments' like we did last year.

The Rumours were $900,000 a year offer for Starc so maybe why Brissy asking for Pick 16 ..

They can ask for pick 1, that's their prerogative. They are getting Draper and Allen for free and are not entitled to any FA compo for Starcevich and they still feel entitled to a top 20 pick because they have another academy prospect.

Not really concerned with what other clubs want. Concerned with what we will agree to.

Tigers board feel 34 PLUS 52 is fair for Young.

Animated GIF

Run Away Nuclear Bomb GIF by Identity
I don’t hate it. He’s a wanted player - I was surprise how highly their fans rated him.

They have a distinct lack of picks this year.

Perhaps we end up getting Starc and 50-something for our EO1st and keep everyone happy

Best thing we could do right now is trade pick 16. I’d be talking to the blues and getting something done for there pick 9.

Pick 9 1355 pts

Pick 16 924 points

So if you added Chesser it would value him at pick 31.

Or be real campaigners and trade 16 & 22 which comes to 1610 points so a 250 point upgrade for the blues and do a seperate trade for Chesser.

Now the best pick we have Brisbane is pick 23 and all top 10 picks are out of play don’t even bother.

Have a feeling that we are currently offering our 2nd rounder hence Brisbane are asking for 16.

It's gonna end up in between with the PP.

It's a bit much but in the grand scheme of things, it'll get us pick 2 which I would rather have than the PP.

Assuming Duursma is a lock at pick 1, pick 2 becomes attractive for a team like the bombers or Gold coast who both have a reason and currency to move up.

Bombers can get CDT or Gold coast move up before bids.

If they don’t lodge paperwork at band 1 they likely lose both Allen and Annable.

They are just trying to maximise their return, and using pretend leverage to try to put some pressure on.

They need whatever we give them to assist with matching a bid. And they will never get Allen through the draft (he won’t fall into the 40’s where their picks would be).

We just need to wait it out.
Exactly . Brisbane are at our mercy . We give them a pick of our choosing or they dont have any points for Annable if someone else takes Starcevic , Simple .

So watch us "good bloke" OA into Brissie because "we made a commitment to him".

Pick 16 + a future second outbound.

I’m surprised Clarke didn’t mention the concussion issues so he’s probably happy with Starcs medical analysis..I bet Wce cave in and tick off on the Pick 16 and turn it into Starc and Dev ..

they have been courting him for a year.

there is zero risk they don't lodge paperwork for Oscar. its Starcevich, not will Ashcroft.
Yep and if they play silly buggers and it's band 2 then we match and nominate starcivich as a FA .

I would much prefer allen over pick 20 that turns to 30 .

Especially if we are just going to waste pick 2 on CDT

I don’t hate it. He’s a wanted player - I was surprise how highly their fans rated him.

They have a distinct lack of picks this year.

Perhaps we end up getting Starc and 50-something for our EO1st and keep everyone happy
I ****ing hate it. We paid overs last year for an out of contract player and it was all about good will. Well now we're back again for another out of contract player and again they want overs - what happened to our good will?

Give and take doesn't work if it's just us giving and them taking.

I ****ing hate it. We paid overs last year for an out of contract player and it was all about good will. Well now we're back again for another out of contract player and again they want overs - what happened to our good will?

Give and take doesn't work if it's just us giving and them taking.

Both clubs want their cake and want to be able to eat it as well. How strange? We chose to trade!!!!

Very much enjoy how whenever another team dares to start negotiations with an obvious one side deal in their favour, some people here demand we immediately pull out of the deal, refuse to ever deal with them again, bid on every academy or FS pick they have and firebomb their headquarters.

I’m surprised Clarke didn’t mention the concussion issues so he’s probably happy with Starcs medical analysis..I bet Wce cave in and tick off on the Pick 16 and turn it into Starc and Dev ..
That would be very weak.

A club that does that is not climbing up the ladder.

More concerned with being “good citizens “ than winning.

Will never improve until that way of doing things changes.