List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade Thread - 2025 Edition Vol 3

Quick Links

List Changes - 2025
In:
  • Brandon Starcevich arrives at West Coast in a three team deal
  • Tylar Young (Richmond) arrived at West Coast in exchange for Pick 38.
  • Deven Robertson (Brisbane) has agreed to join West Coast and will be signed on to the rookie list after being delisted by Brisbane
Out:
  • Oscar Allen joins Brisbane as a FA - West Coast receive Pick 2 as compensation
  • Liam Ryan and a 2027 R3 pick has been traded to St Kilda for a 2026 R2 pick
  • Campbell Chesser has been traded to Carlton for Pick 41
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Coen Livingstone joins the list of players not offered a new contract

Players Out of Contract - 2025 (0)
  • Jamie Cripps and Malakai Champion seem to have been offered new contracts despite there being no official announcement. Means that all players out of contract for 2025 have been given new contracts despite or removed from the playing list

2025 Draft Order

Current Draft Picks:
Round 1: 1, 2, 13
Round 2: 34, 41
Round 3: 53, 58 (These picks are in excess of available list spots so will be forfeited if we don’t consolidate our 2025 picks up the order or trade some for future picks)

List Spots Available (39 of 48):
• Main list (33 of 38) - 5* (in: Starcevich, Young out: Allen, Ryan, Chesser, Hunt, Petruccelle, Jamieson)
• Cat A rookie list (5 of 8) - 3* (in: Robertson (pending), out: Rawlinson)
• Cat B rookie list (1 of 2) - 2 (out: Livingstone)

* Based on Dewar being upgraded after the maximum 3 years on the rookie list. Hutchinson may also have been upgraded but this isn’t confirmed - if it is we will have 4 main and 4 rookie list spots open

* Matthew Clarke has stated we have 5 main list spots

Matt Clarke wraps up the trade period - 6PR

I must say it's pretty funny I was chirping at my mate a couple holes into my golf round about ripping off Cockburn blind in this trade... 🏌️‍♂️

Only to be caught up by by the 9th hole with the real details from Twomey and finding out we did indeed pony up the other pick in the 20's..

the office GIF

Trade is something of a nil all draw

Our PP for Starcevich which was the likely outcome from the moment we were granted it by the AFL

The rest is a rearrangement of picks that moves 16 into 12 and splits 23 into 33 and 52 - a total of 13 points lost

After the OA compo we have picks 1,2 and 13 to use in the draft plus 34,38,53 and 58 as pieces to help facilitate bringing in Young and exiting Ryan and Chesser. Any surplus goes towards matching bids on a possibly rising Williams, Banfield and Evans

We’ve achieved improving our Hawthorn R1 pick by 4 places whilst bringing in Starcevich and splitting a pick we perhaps weren’t going to use into two later picks that give us sine flexibility with other trades

Did we make out like bandits? No, but we weren’t reamed either in a trade that’s a rare example of all three teams achieving their goals without any clear winners or losers

It’s a good bit of business in isolation that can only be fully assessed when other trades are finalised

I must say it's pretty funny I was chirping at my mate a couple holes into my golf round about ripping off Cockburn blind in this trade... 🏌️‍♂️

Only to be caught up by by the 9th hole with the real details from Twomey and finding out we did indeed pony up the other pick in the 20's..

the office GIF

Go read the Freo board. They (probably rightly) think they still got shafted

No doubt about it ROYAL EAGLE you are an absolute optimist.

Would love your idea to come to fruition.

Just can’t see SOS being as generous as you give him credit for.

He did just give up pick 7 for Flanders so you never know

Was moving from 16 to 12 even that important?

Was quite happy with just keeping 16 tbh, unless we were going to use it to trade back into the top 10.

Seems like the sort of move you'd make on draft night, because x player is still on the board. A marginal shift 4 spots now is a bit odd. Daresay Farrow is going to be the target here.

Do people actually think negotiating is like haggling over the price of potatoes at the local market?
That Clarke walks into the negotiating room and gets sweet talked into a bad deal?

More likely what happens is Eagles & Brisbane reps go into the meeting with what they want to give/receive in a trade, which would have been discussed and agreed in consultation with a larger team (Clarke, Massey, Shepard, Mini, Pyke, Woosha).

Unless their expectations align, the reps walk away from the meeting and consult with their team. Back & forth it goes.
100%, there are some seriously out there opinions on this forum.

Our PP for Starcevich which was the likely outcome from the moment we were granted it by the AFL

The rest is a rearrangement of picks that moves 16 into 12 and splits 23 into 33 and 52 - a total of 13 points lost

After the OA compo we have picks 1,2 and 13 to use in the draft plus 34,38,53 and 58 as pieces to help facilitate bringing in Young and exiting Ryan and Chesser. Any surplus goes towards matching bids on a possibly rising Williams, Banfield and Evans

We’ve achieved improving our Hawthorn R1 pick by 4 places whilst bringing in Starcevich and splitting a pick we perhaps weren’t going to use into two later picks that give us sine flexibility with other trades

Did we make out like bandits? No, but we weren’t reamed either in a trade that’s a rare example of all three teams achieving their goals without any clear winners or losers

It’s a good bit of business in isolation that can only be fully assessed when other trades are finalised
Nuh-uh.

FB: Ginbey Edwards Hough
HB: Baker Young Starcevich

With McCarthy pushing up the ground. No room for Duggan or Cole in the starting lineup.

Or go small ball: swap Young for Ginbey as a KPD and add McCarthy for some dash.
Sorry but much as I want Macarthy on the ball, in the forward line and the backline he needs to stay at halfback.
Ginbey,Hough and Baker are not the best kicks. Starcevich is ok,Hed is ok and Young I’m not sure.
Games are won and lost from HB.Look how much better we looked when he started streaming out of defence.
Dursma will start in defence if we take him.He had a great burst of speed.
Bo Allan?
Whichever way you look at it our defence looks very good.

Not sure what the issue is.

Pick 16 and 22 for pick 12. Win
Pick 23 for starcevich and 33. Win.

Other picks changed hands. Win

Where is the problem?

Twomey apparently originally reported we'd only given up 16 and 23 and somehow ended up with 12 and Starcevich.....and not suprisingly some prematurely went off (common event on here) even though that was quite obviously missing some pieces

So now those folks are upset are a completely unrealistic scenario didn't happen

I think the trade is even. Lions win due to the circumstances but Oscar for pick 2 will look a lot better (even if we were always getting pick 2)

Let’s hope Starcevich doesn’t play the State game and get a head knock. Will be a worry every game he runs out.

Just need Brockman to add some team value by teaching Starc his running patterns; and he will be safely out of harms way for the next 8 years.

Joking, maybe?

Give me a spell.

I really don’t understand the concern by this board. We get a borderline AA defender. An upgrade on a pick to help ourselves with the minimal top line talent that is in this draft along with picks to match bids on our NGAs and Banfield and trade in Young.

What has Clarke done wrong here?
The value of Starcevich is the only sticking point. Pick 22 for a concussion prone FA seems like overs (although probably fair value for his quality as a player).

A savvier list management team would have got it done for the Hawks second. Far from a disaster though.

So Harry Schoenberg toured our facilities today hmm....

In one of his interviews yesterday Clarke mentioned player managers putting players forward to the club to consider for those extra rookie list spots.

Robertson is going to fill one of them as we and he have committed to each other already

The other spot(s) to be filled will be sorting through a bunch of players to find the best fit - add Schoenberg to the pile with Berry, Macrae and possibly Swallow it seems plus any number of possibilities

The good thing is we’re casting a wide net for options that cost us zero in a trade but will build AFL experienced depth and also give our WAFL side the mature help it so desperately needs

So Harry Schoenberg toured our facilities today hmm....
Sorry to intrude but Harry would do pretty well in your side I reckon. He was always pretty good at Crows, good speed and kick for goal, but pushed out by Soligo.

Did his achilles and never got back to senior footy although was doing well in SANFL

Look I've changed my mind too - the original deal was ok, looked fair - buy we shouldnt have lost 22 & 23

I lost that in the shenagins. We should still have one of them to trade up further
Starcevich, 12, 33 and 52 for 16 and 22 would have been a laughably lopsided deal. Starcevich is basically being acquired for free.

Yep Keys

There's been plenty of times to lose our shit over our drafting.
This isn't one of them.

Go read the Freo board. They (probably rightly) think they still got shafted
They get the worst of the deal, but will still be able to achieve their aims (e.g. bring in McVee and keep a late first).

It’s just that their aim was pretty low to begin with. They’re used to being the main character of trade week and I suspect aren’t coping well with a patient approach this year, adding around the edges of a good and still very young core.