Education & Reference Cool things your teacher did/does

Man Utd Green Bay Melb Storm
So it's time to square the ledger in showing that not all teachers are rat-bags & mongrels....Cite some great things your teachers did or currently does that you can recall.

We had a hip n happening groovy teacher in grade 4 (1975) who would hang his St.Kilda scarf atop his cabinet after opening it every morning.....He also took some of us to footy games at the Western Oval (Closest to our neighborhood) & would pay for our entry & one lot of food & drinks....He loved nothing better than maths contests & would always be pitting us against one another in teams so as to inspire us to improve....The team that won the contest that month, were usually rewarded with a trip to the footy, the melb car show, the Exhibition center or the Museum on the weekend.....Most of us grew up in the commission house areas & came from dirt poor families, so you can imagine what a reward & a thrill this was for kids of 9-10 years old.

I read that title as "Cool things your teacher dildoes" and I'm sure I'm not the only one.

We had a teacher who made us call him "Mr. Wizard" and he brought dildoes to class often. When we asked whether this was normal for a maths class he reasoned that "I'm sure I'm not the only one".

Sounds like a stand up guy.

So it's time to square the ledger in showing that not all teachers are rat-bags & mongrels....Cite some great things your teachers did or currently does that you can recall.

We had a hip n happening groovy teacher in grade 4 (1975) who would hang his St.Kilda scarf atop his cabinet after opening it every morning.....He also took some of us to footy games at the Western Oval (Closest to our neighborhood) & would pay for our entry & one lot of food & drinks....He loved nothing better than maths contests & would always be pitting us against one another in teams so as to inspire us to improve....The team that won the contest that month, were usually rewarded with a trip to the footy, the melb car show, the Exhibition center or the Museum on the weekend.....Most of us grew up in the commission house areas & came from dirt poor families, so you can imagine what a reward & a thrill this was for kids of 9-10 years old.

I had a year 9 English teacher who would teach me about the Evil Jew, how the USA are Imperialist Scum and that you can predict the future through dreams. Taught me how dumb people could truly be ... which was the coolest.

My year 7 maths teacher used to occasionally bring in his guitar and play for us in class.

Had him for religion in year 10 as well and we did not do a single piece of work. Just watched movies (which had a religious spin on them) and had philosophical discussion. Conversations about music was also common.

It was a fun class.

I read that title as "Cool things your teacher dildoes" and I'm sure I'm not the only one.

I suppose if you refrigerated it, that would make it cool....The poll is not limited to sex education classes.

My year 10 Woodworking teacher knew me and my mates weren't really up to scratch as far as working the lathe goes so he used to let us skip class to complete our horror movie for Media Studies and then once we finished that we just spent the rest of the term watching Die Hard With A Vengeance in the schools media room. Then in the last week for the year I fashioned an awful replication of Homer Simpson's Wonderbat and he gave me a B+.

I suppose if you refrigerated it, that would make it cool....The poll is not limited to sex education classes.

Or they may have a cool spouse or partner.

-Primary school teachers introducing me to the Narnia Series , Enid Blyton classics and the first Harry Potter book in the 1990s
-Being allowed to watch Inspector Rex (despite being in German) and whilst munching on Croissants/Nutella/Crepes (all supplied by our lovely teacher) on our last day of Year 7 French
-My awesome but nerdy Year 8 Maths teacher regularly wearing his *It's ok to like maths" shirt and incorporating music (he was also a skilled pianist) into his maths lessons

I had a year 9 English teacher who would teach me about the Evil Jew, how the USA are Imperialist Scum and that you can predict the future through dreams. Taught me how dumb people could truly be ... which was the coolest.

It's nice to see you've been paying attention.....And here I was worried, that nothing I was saying was getting through to you....A for effort.:thumbsu:

My year 7 maths teacher used to occasionally bring in his guitar and play for us in class.

Had him for religion in year 10 as well and we did not do a single piece of work. Just watched movies (which had a religious spin on them) and had philosophical discussion. Conversations about music was also common.

It was a fun class.
w***er, pure w***er.

My Year 5 teacher was one of my favourite teachers as he was into sport and would often take us outside to play sport or do fitness stuff, he also made up fun competitive games in class which made learning less of a chore and he had some really cool dildoes.

-My awesome but nerdy Year 8 Maths teacher regularly wearing his *It's ok to like maths" shirt and incorporating music (he was also a skilled pianist) into his maths lessons
giphy.gif

My English teacher in two years of high school was a surfing buddy (surfed every day of his life). Once you started him talking, he'd go all lesson and then freak out when the bell went and nothing had been achieved. A great storyteller, also did woodwork and loved the apron/short shorts getup, spitting image of Shakespeare as well. Had about 12 kids who could surf before talk.

Had another teacher in Year 5 who lived down the road. Every school assembly he'd lead the singalong songs. Later, as a teenager, I noticed whenever he went down to the beach up the road, he'd dive in and never been seen again, or vice versa, appear from nowhere and leave. Along with the merman mystery, he had a haircut that made him look like some James Cook type. One year his family went overseas and another family kept house, and I became best mates with the new kids and played on the teacher's tennis court and swam in the pool all day every day.

In Year 6, had an aboriginal teacher who played a lot of Creedence on guitar, he was really cool. Unfortunately, a couple girls in the class decided to get rid of him, devising a plan of inappropriate behaviour allegation (or at least that was how it appeared to the rest of us at the time, with a modern lens it looks even more complex), and he only lasted a couple months before he had to teach elsewhere.

I remember a young male relief teacher who had a surname similar to the f word, so you could say "G'day f#*ker" like an utter campaigner and merely get a strained but amiable hello in return.

Two legendary teachers in high school, both of whom I either played cricket with or against.
One was a semi-professional golfer who subbed as my year 11 English teacher for around 6 months. We both played B grade cricket for our tiny little hamlet against the bigger towns in the region - he was a gun opening batsman, I was an unco who pretty much made the team through lack of players, although I turned out to be a pretty handy swing bowler in the end.
I was a pretty shy, nerdy, awkward kid throughout high school and he would rave to all the girls in my English class about what a gun cricketer I was and would assign me to work on projects with all the pretty ones. It did wonders for my self-esteem.
One Friday night I was waiting for some mates in a fish and chip shop in one of the bigger nearby towns and said teacher strolls into the shop to pick up some fish and chips for his wife and daughter for dinner. He asked me if I was gonna have a big night with my mates, I replied that we couldn't really because we were all broke. He pulls $20 out of his wallet, hands it to me and tells me to have a great night before strolling back out of the shop with his newspaper-clad fish and chips tucked under his arm.
He ended-up leaving the school to go back on the pro tour in the US. I never saw him again.
The other started as a sub teacher but ended-up looking after the special needs class for all the kids who would inevitably end up in gaol. The kind of kids who caught a bunch of stray cats, tied their feet together and threw them off of a three-storey building's roof to see if they still would land on their feet. They were the lucky cats, the others were doused in petrol and set on fire alive.
Anyway, this teacher was the director of music for a musical tour type of thing that I was a part of and we ended-up really clicking over our shared interests in music and sport on the long bus rides to the other schools in the area.
He was just a good bloke who made me feel normal in a school/place where I often felt like a square peg in a round hole.
Decades later I still think about those two guys from time to time. It's amazing the impact that a good teacher can have on a nascent mind, even outside of academia.

My year 10 English teacher was a ripper. He could talk all day and really knew how to keep the class engaged. Coolest thing though was his love for footy and his deep knowledge of the history of the game. He could recite every Brownlow medalist in order. Would just randomly give us stories halfway through a class about the history of the game. Learned a heap of interesting footy info thanks to him.

I had a geography teacher who was an old African colonial and it worked well for me. Rather than discussing my failings as a geography student of which there were plenty at parents/teacher nights, he and my old man would talk about Africa in 50s and 60s. He was a great one for heading off on tangents about those days in class too. When he died he got decent sized obits in most national papers too, he was a fascinating guy.

Wakanda>