Alan_87

Do you think Mitchell was more deserving of an AA more than Cooney? I think its debatable either way but I've been shot down and called an idiot and what have you for suggesting this. Mitchell has had a more consistent year and while it could be said Cooney's first 14 or so game were absolutely outstanding and that alone could deserve him a spot, he has dropped off quite a bit lately while Mitchell has gone on his merry way excelling at centre clearances all year.

I think it could go both ways, ultimately both have had stellar seasons but Mitchell has been good for a while now while Cooney I think is still developing.

Whilst Sam Mitchell was stiff to miss out, I don't think you could question Cooney's selection. Although he didn't keep up the pace he set earlier in the year, he still gathered heaps of the footy late in the year - usually under heavy tags.

Mitchell was outstanding, and most other years would have gotten a spot - but Cooney had a bigger impact on the 08 season.

i think mitchell should have taken judds spot in the midfield and judd on the bench for enright

Strange poll. Plenty of players who made AA team were less deserving than Cooney, starting with the Captain. Why pick him to compare to Mitchell?

Disgrace that Judd was selected, let alone captain. That in my opinion is laughable. Don't get me wrong - I love the way he plays his football, but come on now. Looking at his 2008 season in and of itself, it's a joke.

Sam Mitchell deserved Judd's spot clearly.

Disgrace that Judd was selected, let alone captain. That in my opinion is laughable. Don't get me wrong - I love the way he plays his football, but come on now. Looking at his 2008 season in and of itself, it's a joke.

Sam Mitchell deserved Judd's spot clearly.
Judd led the comp in contested possessions.

If he wasn't one of the best 5-6 mids this year, I was watching another sport.

Judd was a gun this year, won games off his own boot for Carlton. Cooney has had a knee injury for quite a while that has hampered his explosiveness that is why he is cruising more around the half-back line. Cooney plays his best footy when he is breaking the lines like Judd does, I am a huge rap for Mitchell but he is very much like Scott West in that he doesn't run the lines and damage teams with his pace.
AA will always pick explosive players over workers, there is probably one spot in the side for a "slower" midfielder.

This thread is looking a little silly about now....
Why?

I reckon Cooney deserved selection ahead of Mitchell, but the Brownlow doesn't prove anything.

Why is the umpires' tally more significant than the tallies in the various media awards?

Why?

I reckon Cooney deserved selection ahead of Mitchell, but the Brownlow doesn't prove anything.

Why is the umpires' tally more significant than the tallies in the various media awards?

Because they are meant to have an unbiased opinion, which cant be said about the media, who have their darlings.

That's bollocks.

Which "media darlings" have undeservedly won awards?

Anyone who tops the Herald-Sun or Age voting has had a good season. Same as the guy who wins the Brownlow. But neither award is proof that one player has been better than another. They're equally arbitrary. Neither are proof of anything. Cooney's Brownlow doesn't prove he had a better 2008 than Mitchell, although I happen to think he did.

It's funny how the punters spend all year bagging the umpires for being incompetent, but when their player wins a Brownlow, those umpires' judgement suddenly becomes unimpeachable.

Umpires don't have darlings? Goodes was attacked by Roos after a poor game - he got 2 brownlow votes. No wonder he has won 2 of the the things.

I said meant, and the media is'nt unbiased they have all either barracked, played or worked for clubs and this clouds their judgement just like anybody on here.

This is nonsense.

You reckon Rohan Connolly or Mike Sheahan or whoever does his votes and is secretly thinking, "oooohhh, I'll give an extra player to Hodge/Judd/Cooney because he's my favourite player"?

Do you reckon these journos actually give a shit who wins the award?

It's a fringe part of their job description that they just knock out after writing a match report.

But you reckon they're all secretly pushing the barrows of their favourite players.

It's bullshit.

Another naive, cookie-cutter depiction of how "the media" (because it's just one big collective consciousness, like the Borg, isn't it?) operate.