• Griffen

Votes: 82 55.0%
  • Ziebell

Votes: 11 7.4%
  • Murphy

Votes: 15 10.1%

Murphy is a long way off Cotchin and Griffen and I don't even know why Ziebell was included in this poll, seems unfair tbh. At least Murphy has had a season of playing high level football.

If you're saying that about Murphy you could say the same thing about Cotchin. I reckon Murphy's had more top level seasons than Cotchin has.

The difference is that Cotchin's last 24 months has been much better. I think two years away from top form at AFL level is a very long time. At their best I'd rank them similarly, perhaps Murphy slightly higher - he definitely offers more as an attacking player than Cotchin.

Cotchin's 2013 was not top level though.

I think with his knee fully healed, more midfield support from the second tier and a year under his belt as captain we will see Cotchin closer to the 2012 Cotchin than the 2013 one.

At that level, he is every bit as good as Griffen, it's just a question of whether he can maintain that form through his career.

Doesn't change Cotchin qualifying for the "one good season" claim as much if not more than Murphy.

And I don't think Cotchin was miles ahead of Murphy last season either. Not as far as some people's perception certainly.

Fair enough. Lets see Cotchin put two good seasons together first though.

Fair enough statement, I agree. I will say that I think he more then capable of putting together around 7-9 elite seasons yet.

Fair enough. Lets see Cotchin put two good seasons together first though.

Mate honestly not sure you have even seen him play to compare him to a vanilla player like Boyd. Cotchin was down on form last year but still had a very good year by many other midfielders standards.

I would say his last two seasons have been good and he is only 23. Cotchin's inside game and attack on the ball is ELITE...his kicking is very very good however he was definitely affected by his knee injury last year.

Mate honestly not sure you have even seen him play to compare him to a vanilla player like Boyd. Cotchin was down on form last year but still had a very good year by many other midfielders standards.

I would say his last two seasons have been good and he is only 23. Cotchin's inside game and attack on the ball is ELITE...his kicking is very very good however he was definitely affected by his knee injury last year.
Well, no it's not. It's not bad, but it's not very very good, it's also not that penetrating. I can kind of understand the Boyd comparison, but Cotchin should be much better than Boyd. He has better footskills, but saying he has better footskills than Boyd isn't really saying much.

That "vanilla player" Boyd is still a two time all australian and three time best and fairest (one of those was won in a top four side) who has captained his club and played over 200 games.

Yes he has declined now, but most players do when they are his age.

That "vanilla player" Boyd is still a two time all australian and three time best and fairest (one of those was won in a top four side) who has captained his club and played over 200 games.

Yes he has declined now, but most players do when they are his age.

Boyd is a good player but more so due to hard work...Cotchin is a natural talent.

There was a bit of Dane Swan about his disposal last year, few chuck it on the boot and hope kicks. Never felt he was a damaging kick though.

typical bf poll ...... two years ago it was murphy daylight ...

griffen has been around for a long time to get a couple of ok years ....

cotchin needs to kick more goals

You sers brah?Just look at these stats for Griff since his first season - http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pc-western-bulldogs--ryan-griffenand thats forgetting how dangerous he is with the ball (just look how high he places overall in stats like most bounces and inside 50s) not to mention he has been ****ing great in finals his whole career too. Murphy has nothing on him

You sers brah?Just look at these stats for Griff since his first season - http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pc-western-bulldogs--ryan-griffenand thats forgetting how dangerous he is with the ball (just look how high he places overall in stats like most bounces and inside 50s) not to mention he has been ******* great in finals his whole career too. Murphy has nothing on him

Don't even need to look at stats, just watch them play. Murphy struggles with a tag, Griffen drags along multiple opponents every contest.

Murphy is a good outside mid, a bit like David Zaharakis, but doesn't have the raw power of a Ryan Griffen.

2 years ago, I would have said Cotchin.

Don't even need to look at stats, just watch them play. Murphy struggles with a tag, Griffen drags along multiple opponents every contest.

Murphy is a good outside mid, a bit like David Zaharakis, but doesn't have the raw power of a Ryan Griffen.
Finished top five in the brownlow, "struggling with a tag".

Get a clue please.

When did Murphy finish top 5 in the brownlow?
*Equal tenth. My mistake.

Anyway that was Murphy's first elite season (and Judd stole plenty of votes from him that season)and then he was derailed by injuries in 2012 and 2013. Griffen finished on a whopping 7 votes that year.

Murphy was definitely ordinary last year, but if you watched any Carlton games you would've seen how badly he was struggling both with pace and stamina. I'd love to see the GPS numbers because I'd guess that they were way down last year. He was definitely struggling with injuries.

Murphy is right up there with Cotchin and Griffen when he's fit, and you could argue that he's just as damaging if not more. Clean by foot, elite tank, wins his own ball, and kicks goals.

*Equal tenth. My mistake.

Anyway that was Murphy's first elite season (and Judd stole plenty of votes from him that season)and then he was derailed by injuries in 2012 and 2013. Griffen finished on a whopping 7 votes that year.

Murphy was definitely ordinary last year, but if you watched any Carlton games you would've seen how badly he was struggling both with pace and stamina. I'd love to see the GPS numbers because I'd guess that they were way down last year. He was definitely struggling with injuries.

Murphy is right up there with Cotchin and Griffen when he's fit, and you could argue that he's just as damaging if not more. Clean by foot, elite tank, wins his own ball, and kicks goals.
And Woewodin won a Brownlow in 2000, and Griffen got 14 votes last year, when most people would say he deserved more. For about the millionth time, Brownlow votes do not mean much.

And if people had watched Bulldogs games, then they would have seen that Griffen has been a great player for a long time, as well as being the best player in multiple finals, and one of the best finals players going around. But for some reason until this season he has always been overlooked, but he has been a gun for a while now.

Cotchin
Griffen
Murphy

Lol.. Ziebell.
So in 1 thread you think North DEFINITELY won't make the 8 and here you're loling Ziebell.

We get it dude you don't like/rate North.

Ziebell has played less than all of these players 80 games MM 165 RG 183 TC 108

Disposals: JZ 21.1 MM 22.3 RG 29.0 TC 26.0 (JZ last in this category unsurprisingly however has increased every year.)
Goals: JZ 1.1 MM 0.8 RG 0.7 TC 0.3 (JZ hits the scoreboard more often)
Tackles: JZ 5.4 MM 3.4 RG 4.9 TC 3.4 (JZ also tackles more)
Cont Poss: JZ 11.0 MM 9.9 RG 13.1 TC 11.8
Clearances: JZ 5.3 MM 3.9 RG 6.0 TC 5.4

JZ is ahead in ALL areas bar 1.2 disposals from MM. JZ carried several injures throughout the year too. Not saying JZ is the best but loling is just proving ignorance/bias.

FWIW (Someone mentioned it should be Cunnington and not Ziebell)

Cunnington
Disposals: 21.0
Goals: 0.7
Tackles: 4.8
Cont Poss: 13.1 (Equal to RG as the highest in the group)
Clearances: 7.0 (1.0 ahead of the best from this group)

oh and he's only played 74 games

So in 1 thread you think North DEFINITELY won't make the 8 and here you're loling Ziebell.

We get it dude you don't like/rate North.

Ziebell has played less than all of these players 80 games MM 165 RG 183 TC 108

Disposals: JZ 21.1 MM 22.3 RG 29.0 TC 26.0 (JZ last in this category unsurprisingly however has increased every year.)
Goals: JZ 1.1 MM 0.8 RG 0.7 TC 0.3 (JZ hits the scoreboard more often)
Tackles: JZ 5.4 MM 3.4 RG 4.9 TC 3.4 (JZ also tackles more)
Cont Poss: JZ 11.0 MM 9.9 RG 13.1 TC 11.8
Clearances: JZ 5.3 MM 3.9 RG 6.0 TC 5.4

JZ is ahead in ALL areas bar 1.2 disposals from MM. JZ carried several injures throughout the year too. Not saying JZ is the best but loling is just proving ignorance/bias.

FWIW (Someone mentioned it should be Cunnington and not Ziebell)

Cunnington
Disposals: 21.0
Goals: 0.7
Tackles: 4.8
Cont Poss: 13.1 (Equal to RG as the highest in the group)
Clearances: 7.0 (1.0 ahead of the best from this group)

oh and he's only played 74 games

You can rattle off all the stats you like, the fact is JZ isn't currently on the same level as the other three, is yet to have an elite season, hasn't shown he play at a level that puts him in the top 10 players in the comp, and nearly everyone bar some North supporters would have him last in this poll.

Yes JZ is younger, so that's fine, he still has a chance to do all that, but hasn't yet.