Crows Chat That 'Doesnt Deserve Its Own Thread' Thread part 2

That’s depressing, we are so far from getting back there

just need our pletherer of mediocre players to hit 70 games and then build up some continuity credits and get skip back in the guts and then we can fall into 8th tired and sore and anything can then happen.

My prediction is another bottom 6 finish but we'll be near the top of the least used players ladder. Unless injury riddled. Being driven by continuity and max experience is pretty much a given, but I remain hopeful that 2023 is the year where we will be expanding our midfield rotation meaningfully. Rather than running 4 guys for all the minutes and only throwing a bone to the likes of Rachele later in the game when the contest is already dead.

just need our pletherer of mediocre players to hit 70 games and then build up some continuity credits and get skip back in the guts and then we can fall into 8th tired and sore and anything can then happen.

My prediction is another bottom 6 finish but we'll be near the top of the least used players ladder. Unless injury riddled. Being driven by continuity and max experience is pretty much a given, but I remain hopeful that 2023 is the year where we will be expanding our midfield rotation meaningfully. Rather than running 4 guys for all the minutes and only throwing a bone to the likes of Rachele later in the game when the contest is already dead.
i understand the reverse moz technique you are using but bottom 6 is highly unlikely given our homes games, how many other shit teams there are, burgess 2nd year effect, number of top draft picks now in team. to me the biggest issues remain ruck, and game day selection and coaching.

i understand the reverse moz technique you are using but bottom 6 is highly unlikely given our homes games, how many other s**t teams there are, burgess 2nd year effect, number of top draft picks now in team. to me the biggest issues remain ruck, and game day selection and coaching.

the issue is that we've got 4 years of first picks that are either not on our list, on mental health leave or would be taken in the second round if their draft was re-done. And 2 of them are small forwards that we hope transition to mids. I see us in the group with Roos, Hawks, Eagles and Bombers. I don't see Saints, GWS or Suns sliding back far enough to finish below us. Where we finish among those is a guess, but I if I had to, I think we'll probably be in the better part of that group. Injuries will definitely matter.

given our home games I see us ahead of all teams you mention

we wont make the 8 because the draw is worse than they are making out but we should finish 10th. injuries or ongoing shit selection would severely worsen it however

Call me old fashioned ....what's with this hugging strangers on meeting for the first time ?

What happened to young people protecting their "personal space" ?

I'm not hugging anyone ......if you don't want to shake my hand ....at least value MY "personal space"

Horse wanted the handshake, but the youngster was determined to have a body wrestle

Well, you don't seem to have any European background or you are not from the County.
And it's not old fashion it has been around a long time before we were born,
Just seem to have died down in the major cities when this personal space became a big issue.

Also, it was not a meeting of strangers, it was a recruit meeting his coach for the first time.

That’s depressing, we are so far from getting back there

Dunno (actually I do) how you guys manage to be so pessimistic.

As far as I can see this is by far the most talented group of young players we've ever assembled. I can't totally remember the early days but I remember lots of subsequent iterations, we'll say the Rutten, Van Berlo generation/iteration, then the Sloane and Danger and Tex generation. This current generation easily beats those previous two and so it should, way more first round picks and even if you consider all of them to have failed, plenty of picks in the 20-50 range where Hamish does his best work! ;) Each has a noticeable super-power, some have several. On each its a bit of a different combo too, not too much alike (other than height, if you consider that a skill or attribute).

With those previous generations we still got into grand final contention with serviceable but limited but very fit and disciplined teams. If this next gen even meets 50% of its potential (and we retain them all) it will shit on those prev ones. Also don't forget there is still a chance to draft a couple of players yet too, that could form a part of our next tilts and we are only short in a few areas. I guess I look at what we'd be like with peak/ceiling Pedlar, playing with peak Cook, with peak Soligo, with peak Berry, with peak Rachele, with peak Rankine, with peak Fog, with peak TT, with peak Newchurch. I assume others think 50-75% of these guys will fade into obscurity and the rest will peak at their mid range. I guess if you took that view I could see why you wouldn't be very excited but hard to see all these guys missing.

It looks like Fog might end up being one key. Hopefully one of TT or Berg can breakout and be the other.

I'd say we've got all the cattle for the back pockets, back flanks, wings, forward flanks and center square that we will need.

Most of the taller defenders now Worrell has come on look serviceable at minimum and might end up very good.

The need for the big bodied mid is over-rated, like its rated on here so super high, like they have to be equal to Bont or they're no good, but even just a serviceable one will do me, we might have them already, we might pick one up in the next draft or two, I'd like another very tall very strong very athletic key defender. As big as Billy but good one on one. Bigger than Buttsy, unless he can still put a bit more strength on. I like ROB but a well rounded ruckman would be a help. A good goal scoring small in the Betts /Cameron/Walters mould. Hoping Newchurch gets there.

The club has also changed a heap of things, like trying players in diff positions in the twos far faster. The continuity credits run out way quicker. Seems we adjust our gameplan quicker (but by that I mean we tweaked it to a noticeable difference over several games rather than over 20). When the game's lost we try people in other positions to grab some intel.

Hopefully they toy with a bit more of an offensive gameplan, that I think we could excel at with ROB's strength in the ruck. It would complement our late season adjustment to Tex and esp to Fog to go at the ball more.

I should prolly post this in the positive thread hey?

As far as I can see this is by far the most talented group of young players we've ever assembled. I can't totally remember the early days but I remember lots of subsequent iterations, we'll say the Rutten, Van Berlo generation/iteration, then the Sloane and Danger and Tex generation. This current generation easily beats those previous two and so it should, way more first round picks and even if you consider all of them to have failed, plenty of picks in the 20-50 range where Hamish does his best work! ;) Each has a noticeable super-power, some have several. On each its a bit of a different combo too, not too much alike (other than height, if you consider that a skill or attribute).

With those previous generations we still got into grand final contention with serviceable but limited but very fit and disciplined teams. If this next gen even meets 50% of its potential (and we retain them all) it will s**t on those prev ones. Also don't forget there is still a chance to draft a couple of players yet too, that could form a part of our next tilts and we are only short in a few areas. I guess I look at what we'd be like with peak/ceiling Pedlar, playing with peak Cook, with peak Soligo, with peak Berry, with peak Rachele, with peak Rankine, with peak Fog, with peak TT, with peak Newchurch. I assume others think 50-75% of these guys will fade into obscurity and the rest will peak at their mid range. I guess if you took that view I could see why you wouldn't be very excited but hard to see all these guys missing.

It looks like Fog might end up being one key. Hopefully one of TT or Berg can breakout and be the other.

I'd say we've got all the cattle for the back pockets, back flanks, wings, forward flanks and center square that we will need.

Most of the taller defenders now Worrell has come on look serviceable at minimum and might end up very good.

The need for the big bodied mid is over-rated, like its rated on here so super high, like they have to be equal to Bont or they're no good, but even just a serviceable one will do me, we might have them already, we might pick one up in the next draft or two, I'd like another very tall very strong very athletic key defender. As big as Billy but good one on one. Bigger than Buttsy, unless he can still put a bit more strength on. I like ROB but a well rounded ruckman would be a help. A good goal scoring small in the Betts /Cameron/Walters mould. Hoping Newchurch gets there.

The club has also changed a heap of things, like trying players in diff positions in the twos far faster. The continuity credits run out way quicker. Seems we adjust our gameplan quicker (but by that I mean we tweaked it to a noticeable difference over several games rather than over 20). When the game's lost we try people in other positions to grab some intel.

Hopefully they toy with a bit more of an offensive gameplan, that I think we could excel at with ROB's strength in the ruck. It would complement our late season adjustment to Tex and esp to Fog to go at the ball more.

And make it shorter, you lost me after a couple of paragraphs ;)

We are 25 years without a flag, we’ve recently had our first wooden spoon, we haven’t played finals since 2017 and we’ve made some shocking errors off field.

Yes we’ve changed a lot, yes we’ve got some talent coming through but we will also lose some quality senior players shortly.

We are one of 18 clubs and thanks to free agency and the current afl system, the strong Victorian clubs will continue to strengthen themselves.

We are miles away from a premiership right now, that’s just reality. We might get there eventually or we may be just like some other rebuilding clubs, never get there. Who knows, I’d want to see improvement this year and then a period of sustained finals from 2024 to give hope we could get there.

With those previous generations we still got into grand final contention with serviceable but limited but very fit and disciplined teams. If this next gen even meets 50% of its potential (and we retain them all) it will s**t on those prev ones. Also don't forget there is still a chance to draft a couple of players yet too, that could form a part of our next tilts and we are only short in a few areas. I guess I look at what we'd be like with peak/ceiling Pedlar, playing with peak Cook, with peak Soligo, with peak Berry, with peak Rachele, with peak Rankine, with peak Fog, with peak TT, with peak Newchurch. I assume others think 50-75% of these guys will fade into obscurity and the rest will peak at their mid range. I guess if you took that view I could see why you wouldn't be very excited but hard to see all these guys missing.

Geez that’s a lot of words to be totally wrong in the first couple of sentences. We’ve drafted some high quality the last 2 drafts but prior to that was very poor outcomes outside of Fog. We had Roo, Edwards, McCleod, Goodwin and Johnson coming through together. If you reckon this group comes close to that then you’ve got NFI about footy.

you forgot about rehn modra jarman vardy

i do agree with you this list is a shadow of 97/98

but we can improve and significantly. do I see a premiership- NO do I see finals with this group YES so long as selection and game plan improves

Great reporting UKMail 👍 ....they don't even look alike, yet they posted both players images

The couple's announcement was inundated with well-wishes from fellow AFL players and friends
'Well done brother, Congrats to you both,' wrote Richmond player Daniel Rioli

Olivia and Tom are understood to have started dating in 2014.

Lynch played over 200 career games for the Adelaide Crows from 2012 to 2021 after a brief stint at St Kilda.

He was not offered a contract by the Crows for the 2022 AFL season and was delisted at the end of the 2021 season.

Olivia and Tom are understood to have started dating in 2014

49440271-10113669-Career_Tom_Lynch_played_164_career_games_for_the_Adelaide_Crows_-a-5_1671362371303.jpg

And make it shorter, you lost me after a couple of paragraphs ;)

We are 25 years without a flag, we’ve recently had our first wooden spoon, we haven’t played finals since 2017 and we’ve made some shocking errors off field.

Yes we’ve changed a lot, yes we’ve got some talent coming through but we will also lose some quality senior players shortly.

We are one of 18 clubs and thanks to free agency and the current afl system, the strong Victorian clubs will continue to strengthen themselves.

We are miles away from a premiership right now, that’s just reality. We might get there eventually or we may be just like some other rebuilding clubs, never get there. Who knows, I’d want to see improvement this year and then a period of sustained finals from 2024 to give hope we could get there.

Nah, Carmo is on the right track here. We have a really good crop of talent coming through together. Time will tell, but the nay sayers I think will have plenty of egg on their faces.

Wow hindsight is a great thing so now yourare telling me our recruitment staff should be able to know the future when drafting ?

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Wow hindsight is a great thing so now yourare telling me our recruitment staff should be able to know the future when drafting ?

No he’s telling you our recruiters one job is to choose good players with our picks, hindsight has absolutely nothing to do with it. It’s a poxy excuse used by posters who don’t have an opinion beyond “the club does good”

Rubbish mate you and nobody knows how good some players will be in 3 years time all have potential but some waste their talent and other excel
Tell me how many on here rubbish our staff when we wasted a pick on danger and should of picked ebert ???

Rubbish mate you and nobody knows how good some players will be in 3 years time all have potential but some waste their talent and other excel
Tell me how many on here rubbish our staff when we wasted a pick on danger and should of picked ebert ???

It’s their job, it’s what they get paid to do. They spend years researching these players and then make a call. The higher the pick the better the odds of picking correctly. Ogilvie chose poorly with 4 first round picks. That’s very costly. You might just shrug your shoulders but that’s on you.

So Rendell chose correctly. That’s what a good recruiter does ;)

No, this is actually boring from both sides.

Of course the job of recruiters is to pick good players.

The only interesting part comes when we acknowledge that no one has ever gotten it right 100% of the time.

If it's obvious there's going to be some failures - how many is too many? And is the reason why a player was a failure worth considering?

Crows Chat That 'Doesnt Deserve Its Own Thread' Thread part 2