Sep 23, 2004
San Antonio, Redbacks
Centrals Vs. North tomorrow afternoon at Adelaide Oval and on ABC
  • Tony Armstrong is the only NAFC representative, lining up in the 2s in the back pocket.
  • James Moss will most likely be in the Centrals reserves again despite consistantly good form.

Norwood Vs. South tomorrow night at the Parade
  • In the leagues teenage tyros Taylor Walker and Andy Otten will be going head to head. Expect 40 possesions and 10 goals between them:)
  • Kris Massie will come back from injury and typically he dominates for Norwood.
  • Aaron Kite will most probably again line up in the twos.

Sturt Vs. Glenelg at Unley on Saturday Arvo
  • James Sellar will prove the doubters wrong in the Glenelg leagues!
  • Hopefully Edward Curnow can finally get a run, even if it is in the 2s for the Bays!
  • Rookie Brodie Martin should continue his strong form in the Double Blue 2s.

West Vs. WWT at Richmond on Saturday Arvo and SANFL TV
  • Jarhann Jacky has not been named in the WWT league side, might be in the reserves, but if not there could be no Crows in action at Richmond

Where's the Gall Man?

Moran'll be back next week hopefully. http://afc.com.au/Season2008/Injuries/tabid/8711/default.aspx

Crows regulars Kris Massie (hamstring) and Chris Knights (quad strain) - who hasn't played since the NAB Cup grand final - are both available for Saturday's clash with Carlton at the MCG after overcoming leg injuries and training strongly yesterday.

However first-year defender Greg Gallman, who had just come off the injury list, has had a setback in his pursuit of an AFL debut. He has strained the medial ligament in his right knee - after previously having an injury to his left knee - and will be sidelined for another two-to-three weeks.

Off-season recruit Brad Moran is ready to resume in the SANFL with West Adelaide after recovering from a broken finger while athletic, but cursed, forward Nick Gill will be out for another two weeks with a strained hamstring.

From the ragvertiser.

Weird - conflicting reports.
Guess we'll have to wait and see with Moran then.

Sucks about Gallman. He really needs to get on the park soon - will be in trouble at the end of the year if this keeps up, as will Gill.

Gill is a big loss for us this year and he really needs to get over his injuries sooner rather than later to give AFL a good crack. Towards teh end of last year he was in great form, running all over the ground and creating pressure in the forward line.

Will campbell play for Norwood? Jacky should play for the Eagles.

Weird - conflicting reports.
Guess we'll have to wait and see with Moran then.

Sucks about Gallman. He really needs to get on the park soon - will be in trouble at the end of the year if this keeps up, as will Gill.

Gill's problem is soft tissue injuries - calf & hamstring muscles, that sort of thing.

Gallman seems to have had a raft of problems - first one knee, then the other, with some rib damage in between. If it was the same injury (or type of injury) which kept recurring then I'd say he might be in trouble. But every time it's something new.

I doubt Gallman's position on the list is under too much threat at this stage. There are plenty of other candidates for retirement/delisting. They saw enough in him at the end of 2007 that they decided to retain his services. I'm sure he will be given sufficient time to show what he is capable of.

Gill's problem is soft tissue injuries - calf & hamstring muscles, that sort of thing.

Gallman seems to have had a raft of problems - first one knee, then the other, with some rib damage in between. If it was the same injury (or type of injury) which kept recurring then I'd say he might be in trouble. But every time it's something new.

I doubt Gallman's position on the list is under too much threat at this stage. There are plenty of other candidates for retirement/delisting. They saw enough in him at the end of 2007 that they decided to retain his services. I'm sure he will be given sufficient time to show what he is capable of.

Injury prone is injury prone though. There are blokes who always injure the same part of their bodies, and there are blokes who are always just injured in one way or another. I'm hoping GG doesn't fit into either category, but he's certainly had a few on the trot now.
But yes, I am probably being far too cynical. I would love to see Gallman given a fair go and eventually make it as an AFL player - he's a North boy :)

Why isn’t Patrick Dangerfield playing for West Adelaide tomorrow?

Did I read correctly that the Geelong Falcons have a week off so the under 18 state player can have trial games to prepare for the national carnival? If that is correct why isn’t Patrick Dangerfield playing for West Adelaide tomorrow?

He wasn’t selected to play for the crows, its ANZAC day so he should have no problems travel across to Adelaide and not miss any school days. West Adelaide plays tomorrow so he could be on a mid afternoon flight back to Geelong after his morning recovery session on Sunday.

Why isn’t Patrick Dangerfield playing for West Adelaide tomorrow?

Did I read correctly that the Geelong Falcons have a week off so the under 18 state player can have trial games to prepare for the national carnival? If that is correct why isn’t Patrick Dangerfield playing for West Adelaide tomorrow?

He wasn’t selected to play for the crows, its ANZAC day so he should have no problems travel across to Adelaide and not miss any school days. West Adelaide plays tomorrow so he could be on a mid afternoon flight back to Geelong after his morning recovery session on Sunday.

He's a traveling emergency.

Yeah this is 2008 mate; we do have flight from Melbourne back into Adelaide tomorrow morning.

If someone doesn’t come up over night he stays and plays, if not he comes back and plays for West Adelaide.

Injury prone is injury prone though. There are blokes who always injure the same part of their bodies, and there are blokes who are always just injured in one way or another. I'm hoping GG doesn't fit into either category, but he's certainly had a few on the trot now.
But yes, I am probably being far too cynical. I would love to see Gallman given a fair go and eventually make it as an AFL player - he's a North boy :)

If you follow your logic thru .......we should have delisted Mackay at the end of last season .....what with all his hamstring injuries?

No ......you can't get rid of players SIMPLY because they've had a bad run .....;) ......and certainly not at 20 years of age

Gill is another situation .....as he's had two years of it now .....and he's 26

If you follow your logic thru .......we should have delisted Mackay at the end of last season .....what with all his hamstring injuries?

No ......you can't get rid of players SIMPLY because they've had a bad run .....;) ......and certainly not at 20 years of age

And was known to have soft tissue problems before we drafted him in the first place ....

Yeah this is 2008 mate; we do have flight from Melbourne back into Adelaide tomorrow morning.

If someone doesn’t come up over night he stays and plays, if not he comes back and plays for West Adelaide.

Or the third option he stays and does match day for the team which if he is really close to debuting will probably be much more benificial then having a run with teammates who he has NFI who they are ...

I hope we give him one more year in the hope he gets his body right. Whist our young talls are developing over the next few years I would rather see Gills experience/excitement/unpredictability over McGregors experience/mediocrity.

I expect the Bays to push us all the way tomorrow. We are still smarting from that upset loss in the final last season and will come out all guns blazing. Its pretty amazing that after that week you actually saw people admitting to be Glenelg supporters ?? :p

However, unlike last season they do not having Richie Douglas running around killing us so whilst I think itll be a close one, we'll get over the line.

Good to see Kitey get a run in the Seniors, and a wing will suit him IMO. Hopefully he can get the ball down to birthday boy Taylor Walker and he can kick another few. I tell ya what if he gets 4 or more tonight I think his name will come up for discussion at the selection table.

Do you mean two years of injuries, or two years on our list? He's had a lot more than two years of injuries! :eek:

Your right ...... I guess I was looking more at his body's ability to handle AFL training loads ......and that's only been two years.

IMO .....I think he's in real trouble .....

I'm not suggesting it's what I want to happen, I'm suggesting it's a possibility - particularly with a strong draft coming up which we'll potentially want a big share of.
Gallman has had a string of injuries now. If it continues, I'm suggesting he may not be as a safe as we'd like.
Chad Gibson ring a bell? There was a bloke who only spent a couple of years on our list, had plenty of talent, aggression and was a young key forward who had shown a bit in the past - just the type of player we were crying out for. We took him at, IIRC, pick 28.
Unfortunately, he kept getting injured, and was delisted after 2 seasons.

I'm not saying Gallman is comparable just yet, as during his rookie list season he got on the park a fair bit, and doesn't play the crash and bash game of Gibson. But I'm saying that if Gallman continues to pick up random injuries, as he's, unfortunately, starting to make a habit of, his place on the list may be in jeopardy come years end. It would be harsh, but it wouldn't be the first time we'd have done it.

Dandy, my guess would be that considering how aggressively we attacked the draft last year we'll go a bit easier this year. Also, it's a bit early to judge the overall strength of this draft. Certainly the top end is very strong, but if it's got no depth then we've already taken advantage of one draft said to be not deep so we wouldn't need to be make heaps of room. Too early to say really.

Maybe we will go in the other direction. With all the draft concessions coming up with the advent of new teams maybe our hand will be forced.

If 10 of the top 30 picks for say the next 4 or 5 years will be gone and hence shallowing the talent pool maybe things have to happen sooner rather than later.

I'm not saying i think this is the way to go but I am sure it will be at the forefront of recruiters and coaching staff minds when planning for the future.

Crows in the SANFL Round 5