MRP / Trib. Dan Howe

• Thread starter Thread starter RustyHawk

Not defending Dan because he deserves a week off for punching Cripps, but Michael Christian pulled out the "potential to cause a more serious injury" card to upgrade it to medium impact. Does this actually happen to any other team?
Given they are using this precedent, How the ....... did Tex Walker get 1 week for his shirt front?

One week or two, done before or not, it is pretty stupid to punch another player on the chin...…… because that has always been a reportable offence.
I understand it’s always been reportable mate, but players get done every week for reportable offences.

My gripe is people saying he deserved the extra week for being stupid or dumb.
THAT is stupid & dumb

100% agree. Was always gone for the punch...……. but no matter how many times I watch it, I still don't even see the trip. Just an accident.
2nd that. I still can't see a trip. I see a guy planting his leg to stand and another guy swinging into it. I think I need to watch it another few hundred times to make sure I don't have the worlds most extreme case of confirmation bias. I just can't see a trip in it anywhere. Am I missing something, other than Hocking?

He got a week for the hit and a week because it had the potential for more serious injury. That’s the laughable bit. How often are we going to see that one rolled out to someone not wearing brown and gold ?
I remember Cyril getting 2 weeks for not hitting someone, just trying to.

This is the bit that sees supporters wearing tin foil hats.

I have no problem with Howe getting two weeks for that punch, but the way it was manipulated to get it to two weeks is where I have the issue.

The punch that he delivered to Cripps could not cause more injury than it did unless it was delivered with more force, which would make it a different punch…The punch was what it was…nothing more.

Get rid of the points system or whatever they are using. If the MRO simply came out and said we have assessed the Dan Howe strike against Patrick Cripps as two weeks, I doubt many would have an issue.

There would of course still be comparison issues with the likes of the Selwood trip and Hawkins 'slap' (sorry Abasi). No system will remove these comparisons completely.

I'd like the Hawks to defend the trip charge with everything.............and if he gets anything, let alone a severe punishment, to come and and make a strong statement along the lines of "We think this is absolutely a horrendous decision etc etc"....

This is the bit that sees supporters wearing tin foil hats.

I have no problem with Howe getting two weeks for that punch, but the way it was manipulated to get it to two weeks is where I have the issue.

The punch that he delivered to Cripps could not cause more injury than it did unless it was delivered with more force, which would make it a different punch…The punch was what it was…nothing more.

Get rid of the points system or whatever they are using. If the MRO simply came out and said we have assessed the Dan Howe strike against Patrick Cripps as two weeks, I doubt many would have an issue.

There would of course still be comparison issues with the likes of the Selwood trip and Hawkins 'slap' (sorry Abasi). No system will remove these comparisons completely.

cox_hit_456.jpg

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-03-26/bans-for-mitch-and-mason-pies-staging-fine

Cox collected Hawthorn's Daniel Howe high with his elbow during the third quarter of Saturday night's game at the MCG. Match Review Officer Michael Christian judged Cox's action to be intentional conduct with low impact to the head, triggering a one-game suspension.

"Ordinarily the impact (to Howe) would have been below the force required to constitute a reportable offence, but we took into account in this particular case that the action had the potential to cause a more serious injury," Christian said.

This. I remember plenty of people thinking Hodge & Lewis (especially Lewis) played stupid and too far over the edge.

Were Hodge and Lewis stupid, though?

I felt they generally knew what they were doing and were more unprofessional/foolish.

Howe, to me, is a tad slow in his decision-making and consequently gives away free kicks.

Anyone else with this thinking, too?

View attachment 531970 I know Abasi asked us not to compare, but it’s hard to reconcile this which got nothing, to Howe being sent straight to the tribunal because Fisher ended up with a broken leg. Earlier in the season this same bloke got done $1000 for attempted tripping - it’s all so confusing as there is no way in the world that Howes action was intentional, which they’ve stated but yet here we are at the tribunal.

It’s the action that should be judged not the outcome and if this is a nothing and others are a fine then that’s what Howe should be judged on. I have no problem with him getting two for the punch because the action (intent) was there and how hard it was, whether he meant him to cop him on the chin etc is irrelevant - it’s the action and that’s how they all should be judged. Porkins should of copped two for his hit as well but he got off - it’s the action MC not the outcome.

Henderson cops a massive fine for casboult leading with his head - Hurn gets nothing for turning his body and getting hit by a guy leading with his head.

Everything is just down right crazy this season and MC and Hocking are just trolling everyone.

I wish someone would contact Christian, and ask him o explain the points you have raised here OTC, but this is one area where transparency is swept under the carpet. Do we have a precedence to raise to the tribunal that would help Daniel.

Just a point of interest between the two cases of Porkins and Howe.

1. Howe meant to strike the chest but inadvertantly connected with the head. Porkins did the same, but mainly connected with the chest.
2. Cripps fell like a rag doll. Fritch couldn't as he was already on the groulnd which in my opinion makes a cowardly one.
3. I am unaware of any medical reports, but believe both players played on.
3. Also just my opinion, but wouldn't Hawking hit on Fritch potentially have caused just as much damage as Howe's? As I see id his elbow struck Fritch in the head as he was getting up, a few centimeters more and a broken nose or fractured cheek bone could have resulted.

Finally, the MRO should be unbiased, Christian seems to have an anti Hawthorn agenda.

Removing my brown and gold glasses, and hanging up my tin foil hat, I'll leave my thoughts with you.

Were Hodge and Lewis stupid, though?

I felt they generally knew what they were doing and were more unprofessional/foolish.

Howe, to me, is a tad slow in his decision-making and consequently gives away free kicks.

Anyone else with this thinking, too?
Lewis used to do some downright stupid things early. Both with the ball and against the man. Hodge didn't but he was a no1 draft pick for a reason.

Haven't paid much attention to Howe until this game. Has he always been a low, dirty player? Or was it just recently?

I’ll actually answer your question before telling you to bugger off.

Howe has never been dirty. Just look at his mugshot, he’s a deer in the headlights. He’s a clumsy player who’s been assigned a tagging role, which includes niggling the opposition player. Unlike your Carlton faux guy bullshit, he’s copped plenty of big hits and gotten straight back up. He’s also never had an incident like the Cripps one before.

The punch went high when it was intended for the chest. It was retaliation to two similar jabs Cripps gave him beforehand. Stupid? Yes and deserving of two weeks due to the end product. But it wasn’t an intentional kinghit.

The trip is ****ing laughable as intentional because incidents like that happen all the time (see Geelong) but don’t get cited - a free kick wasn’t even paid ffs. It’s unfortunate for Fisher’s injury cause I think he’s an extremely promising player that is wasted at Carlton but had the injury not occurred Howe wouldn’t even have been fined.

So no he isn’t a dirty player. He was a player performing his role that unfortunately went too far and he’s going to get a little holiday. But the trial by media is real.

Now take your priority pick for being shit and bugger off.

I don’t think the punch was medium impact. Was all arm. But hey he did try to punch him so has to live with the consequences.

The trip is weird. Howe is basically stationary and trying to get the ball. Fischer seems to try dodge the tackle and crashes into howe’s leg. The leg was already out even if it moves a bit towards fisher as Howe lunges. I don’t think severe impact is purely a consequence of howe’s actions and feel this is a reaction to the injury. Hopefully we mount a good defence on this charge.

I don’t think the punch was medium impact. Was all arm. But hey he did try to punch him so has to live with the consequences.

The trip is weird. Howe is basically stationary and trying to get the ball. Fischer seems to try dodge the tackle and crashes into howe’s leg. The leg was already out even if it moves a bit towards fisher as Howe lunges. I don’t think severe impact is purely a consequence of howe’s actions and feel this is a reaction to the injury. Hopefully we mount a good defence on this charge.
yes the punch was only going to be graded as one week so they put the potential to cause injury upgrade in, similar to Cox's elbow on Howe in round 1

the look comes into it sometimes, I don't know why they bother personally everyone knows the system is bullshit get rid of the table and just tell them what they are getting

I simply can't see a trip in it. A player fell over his already outstretched leg. WTF was he meant to do. Move his leg out the way and fall over?

Haven't paid much attention to Howe until this game. Has he always been a low, dirty player? Or was it just recently?

Nah, low and dirty is Greg Williams. Or grubby little Paul Meldrum. Those are some names that should ring a bell or two for a Carlton fella or lass like you.

Howe is and has always been tall'ish and goofy.
Not likely to change.

He did every footy follower a favour by smacking a Carltank player in the mouth.

You could almost see him saying "That's for ****ing up so many Friday nights for footy followers you minnow Flogs"

Now **** off back to the Carltank board, Spoon Boy.