Toast Dane Swan

• Thread starter Thread starter Ant85

His lazyness lead to a smother and direct goal to Melbourne in the last quarter! I don't care how he performed when the heat was off.

It was a draw numb nuts. The heat was never off. He willed himself to make us win. He couldn't have done anymore.

Swanny is just a machine. Paul Williams went bloody well though for those saying 2nd best since premiership team.

Swan & Pendles busted themselves today and Daisy was quite solid (of our mids)

Swanny is just a machine. Paul Williams went bloody well though for those saying 2nd best since premiership team.

I reckon recently people are remembering his highlights and forgetting his flaws, of which he had many.

Good player, came up with some ripper running goals, but he was leagues behind Clement, Swan and Pendlebury just for starters.

173 SuperCoach points. I only wish i had him as captain. He was still the difference in my league match tho :D

And people say he isnt good super coach value because his kicking is inaccurate... pfft. One of the biggest myths about collingwood. His disposal may have been an issue in his early days but it hasnt been an issue the last couple years. I guess that sorta reputation just sticks with you, like daisy being soft :rolleyes:

Fantastic game, he should be inspirational to any kid out there.

He just tries SO hard, keeps going and going. Uses his core strength more than most in the game.

And the thing i liek about him most is that he never complains to the umpires, never looks for a free kick and just gets on with it.

He is simple epic. He is in my opinion the best Collingwood player atm, that can be argued but to me he plays great week in, week out. His kicking may be a 'small' issue when at goals but he hits his targets perfectly and runs till his legs fall off. Also love the style of footy he plays, barely ever arguing to the umpire about frees are asking for one, becoming like the Collingwood equivalent to Simon Black.

If theres any player who can lift Collingwood, its Swanny. :D

Bleeds for the team and busts his ass every week, i reckon if half the side had his work ethic and pride in performance then we would be a real threat to the flag which at the minute sadly we are not.
That should be the standard for all the players and one man needs to demand it our esteemed coach!!!!!

But Pendles and Swan are not A-Grade elite. They're not gonna win a brownlow anytime soon. We need A-Graders if we wanna get anywhere. Compare them to other midfielders in the comp for top clubs

^Bullshit, they are both A grade midfielders.

They are not Ablett or Judd (the true elite) but are pretty much up there with the next rung of top midfielders such as your Blacks, Mitchells, Cooneys, Hayes, Delsantos etc etc.

But Pendles and Swan are not A-Grade elite. They're not gonna win a brownlow anytime soon. We need A-Graders if we wanna get anywhere. Compare them to other midfielders in the comp for top clubs

You dont know what you are talking about I know swan is consdered A grade by many commentators including our own Tony shaw and david parkin, one of the threads has even stated that swan has put the ball into forward 50 more than any other player and got more goal assists. He was also All Australian, won the Herald Sun footballer of the year and the media player of the year last year. Just because he is not as flash as ablett and Judd doesnt mean he isnt A grade. I have been wrapping him up for weeks on this forum as many are talking Thomas up. I think there was a comment about laziness when jones smothered the ball there was no laziness in his game yesterday he ran all day love to know what he clocked up. Some of his shots for goal were out of pack when often it is luck that they connect. His tackling is up on last year he is the strongest we have in the middle. Sometimes he was free yesterday and players went for the contested option. They need to get the footy smarts like hime - Go swannie:thumbsu:

You gotta love Swanny. He is one of the hardest working Mids in the league, he never stops and is as dangerous in the first minute as the last.

Haven't seen a Collingwood player carry the team as much as he did on Monday (not since Buckley).

Alot of you are knocking his kicking. But his disposal is actually quite good, lets not forget he does handball too.
He's just as good as Pendlebury at handballing under immense pressure and getting it to a man, he just doesn't do it the way Pendles does.

Let us compare his disposal efficiency with these A-Graders
Ablett: 155 K, 214 H, 73.71 DE% (B+ - A : 59 more hanballs, efficiciency should me much higher)
Chapman: 219 K, 175 H, 75.14 DE% (A+ : Very good, 44 more kicks than hanballs)
Cooney: 176 K, 152 H, 73.48 DE% (A - A+ : 24 more kicks, quality footballer)
Hodge: 200 K, 126 H, 71.78 DE% (A - A+ : 74 more kicks, very good kick)
Bartel: 175 K, 149 H, 69.14 DE% (B : Not his best)
Pendlebury: 149 K, 160 H, 73.79 DE% (A : solid)

Swan: 201 K, 163 H, 75 DE% (A + : 38 more kicks, similar to Chapman)

The only other bettering Swan are Enright and Gibbs (approx 80 DE%, high number of kicks)

I rest my case (hopefully)

He's just as good as Pendlebury at handballing under immense pressure and getting it to a man, he just doesn't do it the way Pendles does.

Nonsense, Pendlebury arguably has the best handball in the league (and certainly the best I've seen at Collingwood), whereas Swan is slightly above average.

That said, Swan does a lot of things better than Pendlebury too.

Stars, both.

Nonsense, Pendlebury arguably has the best handball in the league (and certainly the best I've seen at Collingwood), whereas Swan is slightly above average.

That said, Swan does a lot of things better than Pendlebury too.

Stars, both.
Its hardly worth comparing them though, they are two entirely different players. Pendlebury the silky smooth mover, with creativity coming out of the wazoo, where as swan is a constantly hard running, bollocking monster, that's as smooth and subtle as a sledge hammer to the head.

If you could get two different star offensive players, playing a similar position then Swan and Penders you'd be stretching it

Monster player massive effort. His core strength and gut running ability aswell as his overhead ability overhead for his size make him untaggable. Performs week in and week out. Is a real engine for our side with his linking play with the ability to get some really important ball with his strength.

Speaking of.....

How much has Pendles improved overhead? He's taking/making multiple overhead marks/spoils weekly now. Very strong 1 on 1 too. I suppose it was bound to happen with increased strength considering his height but another season of improvement like that and he'll be up there with the Bartels, Swans and Ablett's of this world as a marking mid.

Has fast become my favourite player from another club....and I hate you guys.:)

The thing is, and I have watched him closely, that Dane Swan is virtually untaggable. He has this incredible ability to run his opponent into the contest and then lose him in traffic whilst having the uncanny knack of reading where the ball will come out. I saw him do this time and again when you belted us a few weeks back and he does it week in, week out.

Wonderful footballer. Great football brain.:thumbsu: