Three years ago when Rhys Palmer was our best midfielder? :rolleyes:

You haven't heard of Alex Silvagni?

Big bodied defenders liike Zach Dawson?

I'd reply but I have been threatened with carding for presenting football related topic, so unfortunately, I have to decline to answer your questions.

I didn't jump when the going got tough.

Carlton were grand finalists in 1986 and premiers in 1987. I supported west coast because they were the first WA team in the VFL/AFL. west coast won premierships in 1992 & 1994. I supported Fremantle because I have been a South Fremantle supporter all my life.

You know **** all about me.

I am not going to support another team, but I am also not going to continue to be a member of a club that lacks integrity.

One day you might know what that word means.
When the Eagles sacked Todd and appointed Malthouse there was pretty much the same amount of outrage.Members threatened to walk ,a media frenzy on appointing a Vic over a local.
Two years later West coast had a cup and the board and Malthouse were heroes and all was forgotten
Reg were you outraged by Todds sacking and did you threaten to give up your support of the club because of there perceived lack of integrity.If you didnt I think the word hypocrite seems pretty appropriate.

At least Fremantle have now done something they have never done before in their history, and that is manage to lure a proven successful and experienced AFL coach. The only previous coach who was proven was inaugural coach Gerard Neesham but that was at WAFL level.

When Freo have been on the lookout for a new coach in the past, experienced names have always been thrown up but the stumbling block has always been trying to lure a big name coach over here. I have never been a big fan of Ross Lyon but they rave about him over in the east and this appointment (putting the way it was done to one side) is being seen nationally by both the football media and fans right across the AFL as a massive coup to the Dockers.

I am a massive Mark Harvey fan and i had to pick my jaw up off the ground when i first heard it and i still maintain he could have brought us success but now we will never know but we can't complain that the Fremantle hierarchy haven't tried to go all out to win this club a premiership in the next few years. That is clearly the message here and i will stand by the club and look forward to seeing what brand of football Ross Lyon brings to the Dockers because clearly some players need a rocket and perhaps this will prove to be a masterstroke by the Fremantle brains trust?

Mark gave a speech this morning, thinking he was coaching next year and obviously looking forward to a bigger and better year, he had NO FREAKIN' IDEA of what had transpired.................... DOG ACT!!! The Steve's had been scheming behind his freakin' back for the past 4 or 5 weeks.

For those of you, who agree with this, after all Mark has done for the club, then you are on a par with "them" and not worth my time, nor are you true FREO supporters. There is no longer the passion, heart and soul to this Club.

Oh ..you still here?

When the Eagles sacked Todd and appointed Malthouse there was pretty much the same amount of outrage.Members threatened to walk ,a media frenzy on appointing a Vic over a local.
Two years later West coast had a cup and the board and Malthouse were heroes and all was forgotten
Reg were you outraged by Todds sacking and did you threaten to give up your support of the club because of there perceived lack of integrity.If you didnt I think the word hypocrite seems pretty appropriate.
3 years to be exact. Ron Alexander coached the Eagles in 1987, Todd 88 and 89, so Malthouse was in charge in 90, 91 before they won in 92.

Have just gone through this thread and strewth was that a hard read. Most people know about my initial reactions of outrage and the gradual growing of the situation on me. What bugs me at the moment is the amount of denial in here. What is this? The Brisbane board where you have to be a part of the clique to have a relevant point?

It was nothing short of a very cruel act and whilst yes it's near impossible in the public eye to have a fair sacking, the suddenness of this was harsh and you can't deny this. There should've been 48 hours notice or some sort of review with Harvs that they just disagree with him on all points and "let him go". A token effort is better than no effort. That way it's not leaked to the media, Harvs is still highly pissed but would at least feel as if he was given a chance. The media would still blow it out of context because, well, they weren't first to expose the news.

However...sometimes you have to be cruel to be kind. We cut out Harvey, we appear to have upgraded (I say appear because time will be the only judge of that), he wasn't given a dragged out, stressful year or even weeks and have it dragged out in the news for a while and just another Freo "mess" by which time he may have been blackballed from some jobs and been well and truly out of the running for other Senior coaching jobs. Now we've sacked him early enough for him to not only find another job but also being early enough to be in the hunt for another senior coaching job for next year and be paid out another year on his freo contract. I really feel for him, he's had his ego smacked from pillar to post in the past 48 hours and he's done so much for this club however it's a credit to him that he has such pride. I hope he finds another senior role and I won't be sad or angry if that side knocks us off or even thrashes us next year because he deserves some vindication after this.

However, one post in this mess of denial and moral high-grounds has really annoyed me which is funny because I've agreed with his main points on what more could have been done:

Have you heard Harvey try to string a sentence together SHibz? It's like he's been drinking Emu Export since dawn.

It was a bad appointment just like Connolly, thankfully Lyon takes over a much better list thanks to Lloyd and Bondy.

That is a gutless cop-out. Sure Scott, Lloyd and Bondy may have been involved in the list management but denying Harvey's contribution in it is f***ing disgraceful. Denying Harvey's influence in 2010 is pathetic. I know you might agree with the Lyon call, I know you're saying what else could've been done in order to preserve Harvs pride and I do agree for the most part. But to go to the length of saying Harvey's appointment was a dud is just wrong.

The peanuts in the media go to Dorkerland for their "fan view" of Freo.
Shane's been at his deleting best over the last 24 hours. Most posts agreeing with the decision disappear in an instant.

Funny, in the Schwab days it was the opposite.
You couldn't question the status quo at all.
Amusing!!!

I was tempted to go there to see what was being said then I remembered their modus operandi, "deride any change at the club and celebrate failure and mediocrity." Y-a-w-n . . .

It was nothing short of a very cruel act and whilst yes it's near impossible in the public eye to have a fair sacking, the suddenness of this was harsh and you can't deny this. There should've been 48 hours notice or some sort of review with Harvs that they just disagree with him on all points and "let him go". A token effort is better than no effort. That way it's not leaked to the media, Harvs is still highly pissed but would at least feel as if he was given a chance. The media would still blow it out of context because, well, they weren't first to expose the news.

You have to consider the timing though, Kapow. When would they have done this? Prior to Lyon agreeing to terms? After Lyon agreeing? You have to remember that ESP were trying to find Ross to sign his new contract at St Kilda on the day he quit, it would have been very difficult for him to go missing for 3 days.

Harvey would almost certainly have kept the job, and effectively the seat warm, for another 12 months if Lyon hadn't agreed to join us. Once he agreed, there was simply no point in dragging it out and risk the media getting hold of the story.

The club has played this perfectly, I reckon.

Harvey was just a scapegoat, other sectors of the club esp onfield group must be looked at too. For instance what about the medical team. How can a team have like 20+ players on the injury list?

But Harvey is not totally blameless. In the last 3 yrs Frementle had their best list in their 20 yr history, not even a prelim final was reached, some eyebrow must be raised.

Lyon i believe will be a much more stern coach. You need tough, no nonsense people in leadership positions. You need ruthless characters along the spine. The head of the club must ruthlessly pursue the financial and off-field success of the club. The coach must ruthlessly and aggressively purse onfield success. And players should be taught to aggressively and ruthlessly puruse their individual success.

Now a great leader should have the vision to align the need of the organisation, the coach and the player in the same direction. Only then can the whole wheel turn smoothly.

So loyalty becomes somewhere lost in this web of aligning interest. Think big, do big. Cut out the dead weight and start afresh.

That is a gutless cop-out. Sure Scott, Lloyd and Bondy may have been involved in the list management but denying Harvey's contribution in it is f***ing disgraceful. Denying Harvey's influence in 2010 is pathetic. I know you might agree with the Lyon call, I know you're saying what else could've been done in order to preserve Harvs pride and I do agree for the most part.

:confused:
Harvey has nothing to do with recruiting so 100% of the credit for Fyfe, Barlow, Silvagni, Mzungu falls to Bond and Lloyd.

Certainly Harvey deserves credit for the improvement of Nat Fyfe in 2011 but on the flip side he is responsible for Rhys Palmer going backwards, Michael Johnson and Paul Duffield contributing **** all, and Stephen Hill's lack of development.

But to go to the length of saying Harvey's appointment was a dud is just wrong.

So in your eyes Mark Harvey was an elite coach in 2007? I think that after 4 years of media training he was getting much better but there was still the odd cringeworthy moment but early on he was so far out of his depth it wasn't funny.

[YOUTUBE]ntjsdpPtpsE[/YOUTUBE]

So let's sum this thread up.

We've got a hysterical Rockingham housewife, who is an admitted Freagle and turncoat supporter, who got on the chardy and made a complete idiot of herself in here and on the radio.

A wet behind the ears nurse who was so incensed that she joined a pathetic protest and made a massive tool of herself.

A Uni student from Brisbane, whose intentions maybe pure, but whose emotions get in the way of his logic.

And Reg. Well what can you really say about Reg, apart from the fact that he is well on his way to following his 4th AFL club since our inception. Just piss off back to Dockerland and enjoy the circle jerk.

Seriously. People who have little life experience, have never managed a company or business, have an axe to grind or simply cannot overcome their emotion and petulance when faced with hard, cold logic and business sense, should really refrain from posting about this.

There is not one single thing wrong with what the club or Lyon did in the circumstances that they found themselves in.

Emotion and hand-wringing sentiment have NO place in major business decisions.

Dry your bitter tears. Harden the F*** up or just piss off and support another sport. Because if you think this was bad, then just wait until Free Agency comes in.

I eagerly await dom posting the same stuff on Lyon and pinning it on Schwab in some way.

That era's finished now, you're going to need some new material now CD.

As Matthew Wilder said -
Ain't nothin' gonna break my stride
Nobody's gonna slow me down, oh-no

We've got a hysterical Rockingham housewife, who is an admitted Freagle and turncoat supporter, who got on the chardy and made a complete idiot of herself in here and on the radio.

A wet behind the ears nurse who was so incensed that she joined a pathetic protest and made a massive tool of herself.

A Uni student from Brisbane, whose intentions maybe pure, but whose emotions get in the way of his logic.

And Reg. Well what can you really say about Reg, apart from the fact that he is well on his way to following his 4th AFL club since our inception. Just piss off back to Dockerland and enjoy the circle jerk.

Seriously. People who have little life experience, have never managed a company or business, have an axe to grind or simply cannot overcome their emotion and petulance when faced with hard, cold logic and business sense, should really refrain from posting about this.

There is not one single thing wrong with what the club or Lyon did in the circumstances that they found themselves in.

Dry your bitter tears. Harden the F*** up or just piss off and support another sport. Because if you think this was bad, then just wait until Free Agency comes in.
No wonder your club has had no sucess. With attitudes like yours truly pathetic acting tough on here.Football clubs are about people and the 2 steves certainly dont have any people skills what so ever.Being spiteful and nasty will never get you anywhere. And until your club gets people with a footy background and not a business one your mob will never amount to anything. So grow a brain and think about it before posting rubbish like you have idiot.:thumbsd:

That era's finished now, you're going to need some new material now CD.

Bond was appointed by Schwabby, I'm sure you'll find a way to twist whatever happens into his fault in a few years time :)

For instance, Bond/Lloyd weren't responsible for drafting Fyfe. That guy is now at Swan Districts :)

No wonder your club has had no sucess. With attitudes like yours truly pathetic acting tough on here.Football clubs are about people and the 2 steves certainly dont have any people skills what so ever.Being spiteful and nasty will never get you anywhere. And until your club gets people with a footy background and not a business one your mob will never amount to anything. So grow a brain and think about it before posting rubbish like you have idiot.:thumbsd:

Political backgrounds are fine though, presumably.

And Jeff Kennett's and Stuart Fox's footy background is what exactly??

Kennett would have to be the most arrogant twat in the whole game, so don't come here lecturing me you pillock.

Listen pal. Business IS tough. And football is no longer about people, but about Premierships and success.

I'm sure that there's a local Country Womans Association near you where you can go and bake a scone or two and learn to crochet.

Run along now, and watch the door on your way out.

Perfectly summed up :thumbsu:

You should post more often

:confused:
Harvey has nothing to do with recruiting so 100% of the credit for Fyfe, Barlow, Silvagni, Mzungu falls to Bond and Lloyd.

Certainly Harvey deserves credit for the improvement of Nat Fyfe in 2011 but on the flip side he is responsible for Rhys Palmer going backwards, Michael Johnson and Paul Duffield contributing **** all, and Stephen Hill's lack of development.

So in your eyes Mark Harvey was an elite coach in 2007? I think that after 4 years of media training he was getting much better but there was still the odd cringeworthy moment but early on he was so far out of his depth it wasn't funny.

[YOUTUBE]ntjsdpPtpsE[/YOUTUBE]

:eek:

I assume you are joking.The coach of any team has a wish list, he has recruiters who do the scouting, BUT the coach has final say on the actual choice.

Look at the mess Vossy got into with his wanting Fev.Matthews and the recruiter of the time Kin Beatson fought at the table on draft day about Pike. Coach always gets who they want.