ImperialPurple

In it for the long haul
SFFC, Aussie Women's Cricket, HNK
A challenge / game...

After all the lists and F/S picks have been lodged, Freo have ended up with 6 "live" picks in the draft at #7, 24, 39, 53, 63 and 66 (thanks macca69 from the D&T board).

The actual draft picks are at 7, 24, 40, 54, 66, 71 - but the following clubs have already committed to the following players:
Essendon - Daniher (pick 39);
Sydney - Bird (58);
Geelong - Donohoe (60);
Adelaide - Walker (68);
Collingwood - Barham (70)
...which has shifted us up in the "live" picks available to us. Of course, some clubs - like the weags for example - are all done earlier in the draft, so everyone moves up one as a result of them not utilising beyond say a 3rd round pick.

So - we have "live" picks at 7, 24, 39, 53, 63, 66.

If we skip on using the last pick (66) - then we will get pick 6 in the PSD.

We will have 4 rookie picks at 6, 22, 38, 54. It's unlikely that they will end up being that actual numbers, as other clubs may only have 1 or 2 rookie selections...

So - the challenge is to predict what the Freo recruiting / coaching staff may do come draft day... obviously with a little room to move ie - you could say at 7: Masten / Palmer / Myers... that's a fair guesstimation.

You can include either a what you think or what you hope (or both), and let's see who gets closest...

I'll have a go:

7. Chris Masten / Rhys Palmer / David Myers (in that order)
24. Harry Taylor (EF) or Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong Falcons)
40. Might have a crack at a ruckman in the hope they can unearth another Warnock in the 40s - maybe Andrew Renton (Eastern Rangers 202cm/94kg) or James Mulligan (Southport 201/96) or Dawson Simpson (Murray Bushrangers 206/97) or Will Sullivan (Western Jets 202/95)
56. Jarrhan Jacky (180cm/70kg small forward from Subi)
63. Kepler
66. Redraft Ryley Dunn

PSD - won't participate

Rookie:
I think they'll be happy to let Collard and Mourish slide here - pick them if they're there, but not use the early picks on them.
6. best available kid -
22. Mature aged WAFL ruckman - Griffiths perhaps?
38. Collard
54. Mourish

Start gazing into your crystal balls... (the gypsy ones fellas.... :p).

No doubt a huge possibility Ripper... but considering we only have about 1% of the info the clubs have, I am sure this is waaaaay off... but it's fun to speculate. :)

OK - maybe we can slot Armfield in at #66 - bump Ryley to the rookies, you can add your blokes in (Delmenico and Wilson) and we give Mourish the heave-ho. ;)

I'm hoping we use all six picks in the national draft, I'll be disappointed if we pick up Kepler in the national draft and another de-listed player in the PSD.

Why would we de-list Ryley Dunn then take him in the national draft? Unless Harvey thinks he's lazy and wanted to sent a wake up call, but I didn't think that was the case with Ryley?

Realistically it looks like there is bugger all chance of Masten sliding. Ebert seems closer to what we are looking for than Myers, if I was Maxwell Smart I'd go for -
7- Palmer/Ebert
24- McGinnity/Browne/Dangerfield
40- Best available ruckman
56- Best available midfielder, preferably a local lad
63- Kepler Wessels
66- Best available regardless of position.

Rookie Draft
6- Dunn if available, otherwise Collard (I expect both to go by 22)
22- Collard if available
38- Hopefully a ruckman
54- Mourish
(Assuming Collard, Mourish and Dunn work to the required level between now and December)

Roughhead would have been the perfect name fit for us a couple of years ago. Zephaniah Skinner is a winner!

I think Palmer/Masten at 7 followed by
Mcginnity
Ellard(Swans)
Notte( if available)
one of the other speedsters from Swans colts side.
Look at a Griffiths in the PSD.

7. Palmer
24. Steven Browne/Tom Collier?(192cm ruck rover :eek:)
40. McGinnity (will he last?)
56. Best Available Ruck
63. Armfield
66. Kepler

Here is my look at the crystal ball
7. Chris Masten / Rhys Palmer / Rance
24. Patrick McGinnity / David Myers
40. Steven Browne / Patrick Dangerfield / Tony Notte
56. Jarrhan Jacky / Harry Taylor
63. Kepler Bradely
66. PSD pick
I cannot see them using a pick to redraft Dunn they probably have someone in mind for the PSD.
Rookies may come from best available then Dunn, Mourish, Collard, Griffiths.

I would love to get Masten and McGinnity as our first two picks. :thumbsu:

But I think they'll be gone - and I reckon it's likely that both will be bluenyellas. :( They have their first pick before our first, and then another three picks (13, 20, 22) before our second pick. They've lost Judd and Cousins so will be looking at mids just as closely as we will IMO.

If Palmer's not there at #7, then I reckon we'll take Myers, although I reckon Ebert sounds like a better fit. But is there a player in this draft with as big a "go home" tag attached as Ebert?? Legendary Port name, and Port will be after him very aggressively each and every time his contract comes up. How long would he be able to resist their offers? They've done it before with our SA players - and Ebert is Port Adelaide royalty. That would be my reservation.

There has apparently been some speculation in a Vic based footy magazine that we will look at Taylor with pick 7... :eek: I doubt we'd take him at #7, but if we're keen then we might take him with the second round pick, especially if there has been interest from other clubs. That's why I slotted him in at #24; alongside Dangerfield. If McGinnity is gone (to the weags or whomever) as I suspect, then I reckon Rodney might be closely looked at as he is a 188cm midfielder.

Now that JLo is gorn (:(), we will have to take the best available ruckman with the next pick.

They're going to take Kepler with 56 or 63 - he's too old to rookie, is a chance for someone else to pick up with a later picks or PSD also - and they have him training with us. Get used to it. It's highly probable that Bradley will be a Docker in 2008.

I do think Ryley might be a bit slack actually. This is a well directed kick up the bum for him, so he might be a chance for a late pick also, The reason I say this is that when he has played a few games in a row for EF late last year, I remember CC being asked if he was going to get a game. He replied (along the lines of): "Well Ryley's finally got his body right - he just now has to demonstrate that he is ready to take his AFL opportunity, that he really wants to play at AFL level." Hmmmm.... If he's working his arse off this next month, he might be picked up witha late pick.

That's my reasoning behind some of the selections I made. :)

I do think Ryley might be a bit slack actually. This is a well directed kick up the bum for him, so he might be a chance for a late pick also, The reason I say this is that when he has played a few games in a row for EF late last year, I remember CC being asked if he was going to get a game. He replied (along the lines of): "Well Ryley's finally got his body right - he just now has to demonstrate that he is ready to take his AFL opportunity, that he really wants to play at AFL level." Hmmmm.... If he's working his arse off this next month, he might be picked up witha late pick.

That's my reasoning behind some of the selections I made. :)

I think you might be reading too much into that comment I.P. He was always highly rated by the club, and stood out as one of the hardest workers on the training track (from the times I have seen him).

Does Taylor play forward or back? I'll be extremely p1ssed off if we take a 21 year old KPP at seven, surely we won't though.

Fair enough on Ryley, I had him pegged as the hard working type.

I'm sure our recruiters would have spoken to Ebert. Hopefully they would have got a vibe about his future plans. If we pick him up Blacky can take him to tentland at the Perth Cup and get him to sign a 5 year deal when he's hammered.

Dunn and Collard were both fairly early picks and are still young. It would be disappointing to see them develop somewhere else so the sooner we get them back the better. If we take Dunn with our final national draft pick do we have to give him 2 years? IIRC Haines only got one year second time around?

Another question. A player can nominate for the national draft and/or the pre-season draft. But can a player nominate for ONLY the rookie draft, or are the guys who nominate but aren't selected in the ND automatically transferred across to the rookie draft if eligible? I ask that only because Collard might not be keen to move interstate. If we have told him he won't be picked by us in the national draft it could be in his best interest to only nominate for the rookie draft.

I think you might be reading too much into that comment I.P. He was always highly rated by the club, and stood out as one of the hardest workers on the training track (from the times I have seen him).

You may be right... but if he's a highly rated, hard-working, contracted player... why has he been delisted?

Harvey also made the comment that he'll (along with Collard and Mourish) be given the opportunity to work hard and prove they have the right attitude towards being an AFL player prior to the draft, and if they show they have the right attitude the club may look at re-drafting them.

Sounds like he's not as hard working as we'd like to think he is.

Dunn might be hesitant to get out of 3rd gear at training since he has broken down so many times. Maybe Harvey figures that it's not worth having a guy on the list that can't get his fitness to AFL level without getting injured, so has challenged him to give 100% over a two month period to prove that he is able to do the work that's required?

Another question. A player can nominate for the national draft and/or the pre-season draft. But can a player nominate for ONLY the rookie draft, or are the guys who nominate but aren't selected in the ND automatically transferred across to the rookie draft if eligible? I ask that only because Collard might not be keen to move interstate. If we have told him he won't be picked by us in the national draft it could be in his best interest to only nominate for the rookie draft.

You can only go into the rookie draft if you nominated for the ND.

You may be right... but if he's a highly rated, hard-working, contracted player... why has he been delisted?

Harvey also made the comment that he'll (along with Collard and Mourish) be given the opportunity to work hard and prove they have the right attitude towards being an AFL player prior to the draft, and if they show they have the right attitude the club may look at re-drafting them.

Sounds like he's not as hard working as we'd like to think he is.

Because he has had a lot of injury problems and it makes sense for list management reasons. Thats why the club have indicated they will probably rookie him. If he was lazy (on top of his injury concerns) why would the club still want him around?

I wouldn't read too much into Harvey's comments either. He has been around Freo long enough to know that you include the words "toughness" "hard work" and "comittment" into every press conference you will win over the majority of the Freo supporters (and satisfy the Perth media) regardless of whether those words are relevant or not.

7 PALMER/PALMER/PALMER (or Masten or Ebert)...BUT PALMER
24 SELWOOD

rest...midfielders, key back...Kepler

NO to Dunn!

Collard & Mourish - rookie (maybe)

Guy Richards?

Not sure that Ryley Dunn will last to pick 66 in the National Draft. He came highly rated originally, and despite his run of injuries I suspect the Vics still rate him somewhat. Wouldn't be surprised to see a Melbourne club draft him in the 40s or 50s.

You can only go into the rookie draft if you nominated for the ND.

From what I understand though Kepler can forgo the national draft and just nominate for the Pre Season Draft. Is that correct?

If we think we are a better chance of getting him in the PSD than the ND then I reckon that's what we should do.

As to picks

7- Masten, Palmer or Ebert
24- McGinnity

And I don't know enough about too many other kids to predict late round picks

FWIW. We are one of 3 clubs who haven't interviewd Brad Ebert according to an article on the crows board

7. Masten-Ebert / Rance
Based on I am guessing - Kruezer, Morton, Cotchin, Palmer, Henderson, Ebert/Masten - will be gone.

Love to get Masten or Palmer, I'd take Ebert too at 187 cm helps our smaller types- we must get a player of quality here.

Also I rate Rance....simple.

24. Tom Collier / Levi Greenwood
OK at 24 - I would be looking for someone who could possibly be playing league footy in 08/09....so a bit of a big bodied player. We missed out on last years draft - so we need to score and start to fill in for the fact that in 3 years time we need lads coming through.

Collier - 192 cm player defender who can go onto the ball as a ruck rover ...sounds OK to me.

Greenwood - played a bit of SANFL back/mid field - not tall but sounds solid 90Kg and 181 cm. Obviously I only read profiles on these boys and track them through the Nationals ...strong bodied sounds like it could be Ryley Dunn or it could be Glen Archer.

40. Chris Kangras/ Ryan Normington
Looking for someone young here with a bit of upside but who will slide for some reason.

Kangras is the (moan) athlete ...can you convert him? Pretty impressive CV but 193 cm and ran in the athletic nationals for the 400m.

Normington is a nice size 186cm midfielder - rated higher but a bad U/18's may see him slide....has the footy smarts.

56. Andrew Renton/Will Sullivan (project ruck)
202 cm ....may be gone at this stage but it is worth just adding a big lad with a fair bit of upside...we have scored with Sandi and Warnock - why not roll again.

63. Kepler Bradley

66 Pass

PSD - Mark Johnson

Rookie: Best guesses
6. Chris Mayne
22. Joe Smouha/Luke Sampey
38. ? Best of the undrafted WA Teale Cup team
54. ? Best of the undrafted WA Teale Cup team

All guesswork ...who knows.

heres what i think/hope will eventuate

pick 7 - alex rance. key fullback we're crying out for. also gets a lot of possessions so theres a possibilty as a 3rd/running back in his first year.

pick 24 - daniel brittain. inside midfielder who doesnt mind going forward or back, has had some comparisons to daniel kerr (hopefully not the crotch punching)

pick 40 - james mulligan. ruckman who is timid but can kick 60m. played at CHB this year and needs a lot of help with his ruckwork and to toughen up alround (enter one aaron sandilands). definite project player

pick 56 - chris 'chopper' mayne. didn't play in the champs because is a year too old but has chopped up all year i the cults. could do worse with pick 56.

pick 63 - david ellard. clever onballer who knows where to run, picks up possesions and has a habit of kicking goals.

pick 66 - pass

psd - kepler bradley :rolleyes:
would prefer harry taylor but doubt he will slip thru the ND and freo seems set on bradley.