Dream Team Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

Rocco Jones said:
I've played Dream Team for 2 years. Won comp I was in both years (sure sainter still disputes one of them :)). Finished around 100 mark in 2005.

No dispute. You won the league, I had the highest score. I know which I'd rather. ;)

There's not much to add really, you've all covered it well.

The only thing I'll advise is to use the trades sparingly. Too many of us wasted our trades. By all means replace your injured players and improve your team throughout the season but make sure you've saved enough of your 20 trades for later in the season. If you manage to make the finals in your league it could be the difference between winning and losing.

waspy said:
If you're getting those prices from the final prices last year, then they mean nothing. To get a feel of the real prices, look at the average points of players (must play at least 12 games). The 2006 prices are formulated by multiplying the 2005 averages by a certain dollar value (you will be able to find this in the 2005 Dream Team thread in the main board, it's in there somewhere....i can't be bothered looking for it though!).

So it might also be wise to find good players who played less than 12 games as you might pick them up cheaply.

This is some from the list:

Nathan Brown 10, Nathan Buckley 11, Aaron Hamill 11, Bradley Fisher 7, Leigh Montagna 6, Heath Shaw 6, Adam Bentick 9, Anthony Rocca 4, David Wojcinski 2, Jason Cloke 8, Andrew Mackie 8, Callum Urch 2, Daniel Gilmore 2, Ricky Dyson 10, Troy Chaplin 6, Andrew McQualter 7, Jamie Charman 9, Shannon Motlop 6, Brent Guerra 11, David Johnston 11, John Barker 6, Xavier Clarke 9, Cameron Thurley 7, Matthew Bode 2, Tim Boyle 3, James Gwilt 1, Jay Nash 2, Peter Street 11, Brent Hartigan 8, Cameron Wood 1, Josh Fraser 5, Jarred Brennan 5, Michael Gardiner 9, Jason Gram 5, Guy Richards 2, Sean Rusling 5, Will Thursfield 6, adam Pattison 2, Jacob Surjan 2, Robert Haddrill 3, Jordan Russell 1, David Rodan 0, Beau Waters 0.

sainter said:
No dispute. You won the league, I had the highest score. I know which I'd rather. ;)

There's not much to add really, you've all covered it well.

The only thing I'll advise is to use the trades sparingly. Too many of us wasted our trades. By all means replace your injured players and improve your team throughout the season but make sure you've saved enough of your 20 trades for later in the season. If you manage to make the finals in your league it could be the difference between winning and losing.

Of course the funny thing is that your league was very nearly won by a girl who didn't read the rules, then picked a team of players with funny names and pretty boys. :)

So my advice to the pair of you would be to not take things too seriously. Unless you're top 50, your league is all that matters. Enjoy it & have fun playing the game.

Oh, and once you've picked your original team, don't make too many changes, and save your trades as much as possible.

Eagle_Fan said:
Of course the funny thing is that your league was very nearly won by a girl who didn't read the rules, then picked a team of players with funny names and pretty boys. :)

So my advice to the pair of you would be to not take things too seriously. Unless you're top 50, your league is all that matters. Enjoy it & have fun playing the game.

Oh, and once you've picked your original team, don't make too many changes, and save your trades as much as possible.

The Dream Team thread on the main board had nearly 10,000 posts from memory so there's a lot of people out there who do take it fairly serious.

And why not?

If you're going to be an obsessive footy fan you may as well put your knowledge to good use.

If you finish anywhere in the top 10,000 or 20,000 you've done well. There were well over 100,000 teams last year.

I think your final comments are spot on. Back yourself in with the squad you have chosen, otherwise you'll waste all of your trades and struggle to have 22 available players when it comes to the finals.

Just a few tips of my own as well.

- Usually the players who are most likely to step up are the #1 picks. Last year I picked up Deledio as a emergency at lowest price and when I traded him, I got heaps (close to $180K). Other good pickups in 2005 were Justin Sherman and Josh Drummond. You can safely assume with Camporeale's departure, Marc Murphy is sure to make a debut. Other newcomers who are likely to come in are Danny Stanley, Nathan Jones, Shannon Hurn, Josh Kennedy, etc. http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=217598

- St Kilda's picked up another ruckman in Rix, getting him in cheap would be good as well. Surprised no-one else mentioned him.

- Captain's fave team - If you are having trouble deciding who to pick as captain, go to www.finalsiren.com and compare player against which team they performed against the best. This is a good indicator for judging who they play the best against, eg Kochitzke has twice played his best games against bulldogs.

- Try and keep a lookout for who the no.1 teams in the comp are putting on their list. Seeing what players they are picking up can sometimes (not always) give you an idea on who to put on your list.

I'm a dream team fanatic! Some good advice offered.

My advice:

- Draft 8 emergencies that you think will get consistent games. Spend at most 50K on one player. E.g. Marc Murphy, Dale Thomas, Jordan Russell etc. This way when their price goes up you can sell them and upgrade players from your starting 22.
- Pick players that will improve. No point drafting a player who will have little if no improvement in him. No point drafting someone like Kane Cornes who will find it difficult to improve on his average of 95 when you can get someone like Daniel Kerr who only averaged 74 but should improve on this... This allows you to pick more quality players.
- Look out for bargains. Josh Fraser will be a huge one. There are quite a few more out there if you look!
- People may disagree with this but the defenders prob are the less talented to pick from so some people instead of picking 7 defenders play with 5 and play 2 emergencies. IMO it is best to play 7 defenders and 3 emergencies cos if you get one injury then you will be a bit disappointed!

some pretty good advice u guys giving out.

actually some first rate advice, dont give away all our secrets.......lol

LukeHodge15 said:
some pretty good advice u guys giving out.

actually some first rate advice, dont give away all our secrets.......lol

I have to admit that when I read this thread that was my first thought.

Some fantastic advice so far. Keep it coming.

hehhe absolutely fantastic thread

good advice from everyone

certainly been doing quite a lot of research over the holidays:cool: :thumbsu: :D

I agree with Zi.....oops stat about the backmen. Last year I played with 2 extra centres

At the start of the year had Mclean then sold him off for Joel Bowden which was a ripper move

My mistake was drafting 2nd/3rd year players who I thought would step up but were still fringe players and fupped me up big time

Another source of finding elusive value in your dream team is to check out threads like this: Who will improve most at your club in 06? from the main board.

Summary so far:

Brisbane: Corrie, Adcock, Beau McDonald, Merrett, Hadley

Carlton: (omit Parrot's suggestions due to credibility concerns) Walker, Houlihan

Collingwood: Rowe, Didak, Lonie, Fraser, Walker

Essendon: Watson, Johns, Nash

Fremantle: Peake

Hawthorn: Boyle, Young, Roughead, Franklin, Bateman

Melbourne: Rivers, Miller, McLean, Carroll, Bate

Richmond: Foley

St Kilda: McQualter, Goddard

Sydney: Buchanon, Jolly, Dempster, Davis, Malkeski, Moore, Vogels

West Coast: McDougall, Embley, Butler, Rosa, Nickoski, Waters, Gaspar

Western Bulldogs: Ray

Another suggestion is to come up with the best 22 for every club and see which youngsters are in there, who will be stepping up to a midfield role

If you look close enough there are some real bargains out there;)

Bluemike said:
Another suggestion is to come up with the best 22 for every club and see which youngsters are in there, who will be stepping up to a midfield role

What is the likelihood of Eddy Betts playing a midfield role in 2006?

Will have stints there but not for long period of time - doesn't have the endurance.

How much game time will McQualter get - will he get a game ahead of Powell?

Bluemike said:
How much game time will McQualter get - will he get a game ahead of Powell?
How fit Powell is will determine his game time.

McQualter will get chances early in the season and if he shows form could very well keep his place in the team. I doubt he'll keep senior players out but would certainly be up near the top of the list of first replacements. If he showed the form of last season and given how conservative we will be managing older players, he could very well play more games than he misses.

Monty is the webmaster of a fantastic web site called FanFooty. During the season, Monty has live updates of dream team scores as they happen.

He has spent some time creating a table that projects the 2006 estimated cost of players based on their performance last year. Table

Remember that these prices are an estimate only, and those players who played less than 12 matches last season will be overpriced (not adjusted).
Also note that new recruits haven't been included yet, nor have retirees been deleted.

I actually played 1 defender short for much of the season

I had a disappointing defence and traded my way out of it, had a decent midfielder as a reserve - but got burned once or twice with late withdrawals and played with one man short. Grrrr.

StKildonan said:
So it might also be wise to find good players who played less than 12 games as you might pick them up cheaply.

This is some from the list:

Nathan Brown 10, Nathan Buckley 11, Aaron Hamill 11, Bradley Fisher 7, Leigh Montagna 6, Heath Shaw 6, Adam Bentick 9, Anthony Rocca 4, David Wojcinski 2, Jason Cloke 8, Andrew Mackie 8, Callum Urch 2, Daniel Gilmore 2, Ricky Dyson 10, Troy Chaplin 6, Andrew McQualter 7, Jamie Charman 9, Shannon Motlop 6, Brent Guerra 11, David Johnston 11, John Barker 6, Xavier Clarke 9, Cameron Thurley 7, Matthew Bode 2, Tim Boyle 3, James Gwilt 1, Jay Nash 2, Peter Street 11, Brent Hartigan 8, Cameron Wood 1, Josh Fraser 5, Jarred Brennan 5, Michael Gardiner 9, Jason Gram 5, Guy Richards 2, Sean Rusling 5, Will Thursfield 6, adam Pattison 2, Jacob Surjan 2, Robert Haddrill 3, Jordan Russell 1, David Rodan 0, Beau Waters 0.

I was looking at this and thought that i would try and work out these players projected salarys for next year. I thought i would find this by multiplying the players 2005 average by 3670 (last years $ figure, probably set to change) then divide by a certain figure to get the average. So i thought i would use Simon Goodwin to work out the formula that i would have to use to divide by to get the projected total.... I decided to use simon goodwin cos i remembered he was cheap at the start of the season due to his few games the year before... HE actually played 10 games at an average of 73.6(all stats i used are from http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/players/S/Simon_Goodwin.html) .Therefore last year if he had have averaged this amount through 22 games( or more than 12 as suggested) his price at the start of the season would have been $270,112..but however because he played less games his start of season price was only $156,100 (you can check this by going into ur dreamteam team and looking at his current price and minusing the amount he has gone up for the season)... so i determined that the formula to find the number to divide by was wat i rounded to 1.75 or thereabouts...so i thought that i had figured it out but i wanted to make sure by checking it against other players to make sure it was spot on.. i found out shane crawford had only played 10 games in 2004 so i collected his stats (http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/players/S/Shane_Crawford.html) to check the formula against...in shane crawfords 10 games in 2004 he averaged 78.6. so i multiplied by 3670 to find his average if he had of played 22 games(or more than the suggested 12 games) the result was that he would have been $288,462..so i divided by 1.73 to determine what price he should have been considering he had played less than 12 games. the price was $166,741..i then checked shane crawfords starting price for the year 2005 and it was actually $288,500. i did not understand..both simon goodwin and shane crawford had played 10 games in the previous season yet goodwins price had been shortend dramatically..i then tryed matthew carr (11 games in 2004) and corey enright (9 games in 2004) and found that they to had there average of 2004 multipled by 3670 as there price at the start of last season. ..this proves that it is incorrect that not all those players listed above will be at reduced rates in season 2006 and that not every player who plays under 12 games gets there price reduced..i am ot sure why simon goodwins price was so much lower than shane crawfords (divided by an extra 1.73) but this leads me to expect than such player as nathan buckley nathan brown and aaron hamill will be at that same price as shane crawford(there average score last year multipled by the dollar figure which was 3670 in 2005) which is actually dissapionting..give me your thoughts or any theorys to why inwhich you think goodwins price last year had been tweaked alot lower than crawford carr and enright had..thankyou and i hope i did not make this more complicated than it was

Fantastic work pol06.

This may be of no help whatsoever, but if a player starts in a match and scores 0, he is deemed not to have played.

Maybe Goodwin was injured in the first minute in one of his matches so that to dream team he played 9 games.

Maybe they have different levels of decrease for the number of games played (under 12).

I will have to put more thought into it.

In three weeks we will have the prices to compare anyway. But it would be good to gain some sort of head start here.

pol06 said:
I was looking at this and thought that i would try and work out these players projected salarys for next year. I thought i would find this by multiplying the players 2005 average by 3670 (last years $ figure, probably set to change) then divide by a certain figure to get the average. So i thought i would use Simon Goodwin to work out the formula that i would have to use to divide by to get the projected total.... I decided to use simon goodwin cos i remembered he was cheap at the start of the season due to his few games the year before... HE actually played 10 games at an average of 73.6(all stats i used are from http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/players/S/Simon_Goodwin.html) .Therefore last year if he had have averaged this amount through 22 games( or more than 12 as suggested) his price at the start of the season would have been $270,112..but however because he played less games his start of season price was only $156,100 (you can check this by going into ur dreamteam team and looking at his current price and minusing the amount he has gone up for the season)... so i determined that the formula to find the number to divide by was wat i rounded to 1.75 or thereabouts...so i thought that i had figured it out but i wanted to make sure by checking it against other players to make sure it was spot on.. i found out shane crawford had only played 10 games in 2004 so i collected his stats (http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/players/S/Shane_Crawford.html) to check the formula against...in shane crawfords 10 games in 2004 he averaged 78.6. so i multiplied by 3670 to find his average if he had of played 22 games(or more than the suggested 12 games) the result was that he would have been $288,462..so i divided by 1.73 to determine what price he should have been considering he had played less than 12 games. the price was $166,741..i then checked shane crawfords starting price for the year 2005 and it was actually $288,500. i did not understand..both simon goodwin and shane crawford had played 10 games in the previous season yet goodwins price had been shortend dramatically..i then tryed matthew carr (11 games in 2004) and corey enright (9 games in 2004) and found that they to had there average of 2004 multipled by 3670 as there price at the start of last season. ..this proves that it is incorrect that not all those players listed above will be at reduced rates in season 2006 and that not every player who plays under 12 games gets there price reduced..i am ot sure why simon goodwins price was so much lower than shane crawfords (divided by an extra 1.73) but this leads me to expect than such player as nathan buckley nathan brown and aaron hamill will be at that same price as shane crawford(there average score last year multipled by the dollar figure which was 3670 in 2005) which is actually dissapionting..give me your thoughts or any theorys to why inwhich you think goodwins price last year had been tweaked alot lower than crawford carr and enright had..thankyou and i hope i did not make this more complicated than it was

yeah i agree, i reckon they just pick 6-8 odd players that have had a major injury and discount the price for them. making them all the same price. 156 ish last year

I don't think they're particularly scientific about it.

They should ask me for my price list for my comp, it takes games played into account for every player, and is probably far more realistic of what you'll get out of players.

I've got a question. I've never played before and am keen to start. I've noticed some players can play two positions.

Can i trade a forward for a centre? provided i have a centre player who can double as a forward. Hope that makes sense, i appreciate any help.

Therefore delisting a forward, moving my centre to the forward line and replacing his spot in the centre with the new centre player.

rgauci - once you purchase a player as a forward (say) who is also capable of playing midfield (say), the player no longer has the multiple function - i.e. if you bought him as a forward - thats what you get - a forward.

Well - thats how it was last year, I believe.

rgauci said:
I've got a question. I've never played before and am keen to start. I've noticed some players can play two positions.

Can i trade a forward for a centre? provided i have a centre player who can double as a forward. Hope that makes sense, i appreciate any help.

Therefore delisting a forward, moving my centre to the forward line and replacing his spot in the centre with the new centre player.

As stated above

Brad Johnson [WB] is listed as a forward and also as a centre player... When you go through to select your team Brad Johnson will be listed in both the Centre and Forward BUYING list... depending on which list you buy him in he will be listed in your team in that position...

He can not be interchanged into a different position... Its a good idea to pick players in your forward line who will also play in the midfield...

Another example is Luke Hodge - hes put under as a Back and a Forward... You may find that it would be a wiser choice to select him in your backline ( when hes at a reasonable price ) There will probably be more possession hungry "forwards" than there are backs

LukeHodge15 said:
yeah i agree, i reckon they just pick 6-8 odd players that have had a major injury and discount the price for them. making them all the same price. 156 ish last year

Ants said:
I don't think they're particularly scientific about it.

They should ask me for my price list for my comp, it takes games played into account for every player, and is probably far more realistic of what you'll get out of players.

If you're right then we wont be able to predict prices of these players, but we still will be able to determine if they are good value or not by working out what prices they should be based on performance alone.