EDFL Division 1 2016

All good Disco.. On another subject which club in div1 is best positioned to be competitive in premier if they happen to win a premiership. I'm referring to who has the finances and home grown talent to at least compete with the bottom half of premier.
Yes we all would agree Douttas were best positioned to go up from last year but what about for next year. Usually clubs that drop down often can bounce back up but this year is different with Nth Saints totally rebuilding.
It's an interesting one yeah.. As its a huge step from div1 to premier these days as the gap has widen somewhat.
Let's use an example: say in premier at the moment we use Marby and Douttas as 2 teams around the mark and "probably" rated anywhere between 5-7. But they would smash the best div1 side by 20+ goals. So it's a massive gap.

I reckon CB is very well placed to move up to Premier given the sheer amount of junior talent at their disposal.

I can't see oak park being able to switch the ball and run the wings on the bigger grounds such as ds aitkin, highgate and Tulla. Their ground is quite small and is only 2 big kicks from either side and its in the goal square. If teams play man on man quite well I think they are very beatable
No
All good Disco.. On another subject which club in div1 is best positioned to be competitive in premier if they happen to win a premiership. I'm referring to who has the finances and home grown talent to at least compete with the bottom half of premier.
Yes we all would agree Douttas were best positioned to go up from last year but what about for next year. Usually clubs that drop down often can bounce back up but this year is different with Nth Saints totally rebuilding.
It's an interesting one yeah.. As its a huge step from div1 to premier these days as the gap has widen somewhat.
Let's use an example: say in premier at the moment we use Marby and Douttas as 2 teams around the mark and "probably" rated anywhere between 5-7. But they would smash the best div1 side by 20+ goals. So it's a massive gap.
craigieburn are probably the only team in div 1 with the financial clout and junior structure to be able to make a quick fist of it in premier but it's been that way up there for 10+ years, the problems have ran a little deeper and obviously they haven't been able to get it right as yet. Oakers, Tulla, westy would be back down within 2/3 years. Not a pot at any of those clubs but they would be pushing paying the $$ every year

No

craigieburn are probably the only team in div 1 with the financial clout and junior structure to be able to make a quick fist of it in premier but it's been that way up there for 10+ years, the problems have ran a little deeper and obviously they haven't been able to get it right as yet. Oakers, Tulla, westy would be back down within 2/3 years. Not a pot at any of those clubs but they would be pushing paying the $$ every year

Cheers mate. Understand Tulla are struggling for juniors but have WestMeadows moved past Craigieburn with regards to junior talent? Also Craigieburn need to get on there bike as another team is moving into that area which will ultimately have an affect on junior numbers and sponsorship dollars.

I would like to think Oak Park could rebuild again. I wonder what the struggle is compared to when they were a strong premier club. Also seem to have good supporters and they have a bit of history..

Cheers mate. Understand Tulla are struggling for juniors but have WestMeadows moved past Craigieburn with regards to junior talent? Also Craigieburn need to get on there bike as another team is moving into that area which will ultimately have an affect on junior numbers and sponsorship dollars.

I would like to think Oak Park could rebuild again. I wonder what the struggle is compared to when they were a strong premier club. Also seem to have good supporters and they have a bit of history..
Westy while they've always had some decent juniors have for all intents and purposes been a b grade/div 1 club for the last 20 years, great loyal people down there and the club is on the rise but unless someone comes along with a little $$ like what happened with pacco then there ceiling would be pretty low in regards to the top end of premier.
You're right in regards to craigieburn as they very well could miss the boat, I remember being in a grade/div 1 when they first came up and I think the whole league thought they would be an absolute powerhouse of a club but it never seemed to pan out and still hasn't!
Oakers will be debt free very shortly and are ALREADY rebuilding but have a little ways to go yet. Was only 5/6 years ago they were losing the premier grand final by 2 points. You can only punch above your weight for so long though turbs! they'll be back but I hope it's when they're ready to compete with the big boys again because going up and dropping back can destroy your list

, post: 44016803, member: 160935"]No[/QUOTE]

What other team. R they going be called the Highlanders.

I am not close to premier but ds must have improved a fair bit if they are 20 goals clear i remember an undermanned eagles side getting alot closer last year at windy hill?

At any rate they need to win it first and its rd 4

Eagles will be to good thus week 100+
Oak park second best team in comp for me but tipping hillside in a close one at home
Taylors by 33 and westy surely must win after all the preaseason hype so ill go with them by 15

Also Craigieburn need to get on there bike as another team is moving into that area which will ultimately have an affect on junior numbers and sponsorship dollars.

C'mon it's highly doubtful Richmond will be booted from the AFL no matter how bad they play.

The struggle is cashola its always cashola,the strongest clubs are the cashed up clubs
All clubs have loyal supporters and a bit of history

So it's just cash that makes you the strongest side or good recruiting to get the right mix, plus players that give you value for money.

Looking at Northern, their first year in Premier although not winning many games they earned a lot of respect because the Club was still working as one on and off the field. The next year the snipping from within began as the Club started fighting among itself, seemingly some people wanted a piece of the action and the old green eyed monster popped it's head up. Look what happened to them last year and has carried on this year, they'll be lucky to stay in Division 1 all because some people felt they should be in charge of the Club and did whatever they could to remove the very people who helped the club win a flag and jump into Premier.

I can't see oak park being able to switch the ball and run the wings on the bigger grounds such as ds aitkin, highgate and Tulla. Their ground is quite small and is only 2 big kicks from either side and its in the goal square. If teams play man on man quite well I think they are very beatable

They beat Westy at Westy which is a pretty sizable ground and Westy has a quite a few runners.

Agree. "If" Oak Park make it to the last day look out. They will come from everywhere to support them and they have some pretty smart footballers. They will put there head over the ball when it counts, and play contested team footy which is suited to the big stage. Just not sure on their fire power up forward. Oh well it's only early..

Agree with comments. There forward line is there Achilles heel ATM. But does have the potential in the weeks to come with the likes of Clare, shields, Bloomfield, molloy. With a resting midfielder or 2.

Pascu isn't around for much longer and the way Bloomfield looked on the weekend I wouldn't hang my hat on him

EDFL Division 1 2016