EDFL Division 1

• Thread starter Thread starter muppet007

I did hear a couple retired. Buckets Allen, Morelli and Jake Desousa. Unsure on Mark Desousa but was considering it. One of the Longos has moved on and Taylor to Westmeadows. All hear say so not 100%. Not a lot coming out of lakes, with Burns leaving after 8 years it could be the end of an era and time for a rebuild. Have plenty of good juniors and good depth in the twos so wouldn't be down for too long. Still in the hunt for the 4 I reckon. Maybe 4-6
Buckets is retired , Nath Taylor - westy , Matt Young and Jay Milford Robertson left . Morelli and DeSousa's definitely playing , have returning players Chris Tripodi and Daniel Rossito , a couple of young blokes from airport west and apparently Tom Brown ex Doutta Star ruck coming to them from Heidleberg , generally pretty same list.

Quite interested in what some people are saying here as I feel most the talk has been about cragieburn but when you recruit massive like they have, they become the topic of conversation. It's natural that the team that's been relegated to be spoken about because there aim is to gain promotion. No one here has said anything about cragieburn or EDS or any team that doesnt seem true. EDS have certainly not been as vocal as last year it's been the people from the other clubs and external supporters putting there two bobs in.

The EDS people I've been talking to have been very cautious about the season ahead and know full well how hard it will be to go straight back to the Premier division. I also see they've had a few named in the Cannons squad which will lessen their impact a little bit too.

Westy seem very formidable this year with players 1-22 that will line up. Pretty even no real standouts. Do they have the top end talent. Quality on baller or 2 or big key forward to match it with EDS or cragie?

Heard the coach talk at the golf day last week and he said they would be very even side and thought their talent would bat deeper than everyone else.

I don't think their top end will be as good as Craigieburn but then again West Coburg were very even last year and you could argue that Tulla top end was better. But the evenness of the WC group in the end was the difference.

I think the inclusions of Abdullah and Bilal Allouch in the midfield along with returning B & F Sammut will add a lot to the midfield and Trewin will give them the extra bigger body up forward to take some of the load off others.

Have a lot of good fast guys under 22 now as well and the 18s should be very competitive as well.

A lot of talk about Douttas on here.
So who are their fwds apart from Carey if Kite won't be cleared to them? Also Carey hasn't played for a while has he?

What's going on down at Cougar Land? Since East Keilor won the premiership and have come up to division 1 all that has been posted is news on their new jumper. They say that they have returned back to the traditional Vee. (They never had a V design is was a brown yoke on yellow jumper as in Melbourne Demons design) With all of the news about massive recruiting in other Div 1 clubs, Cougars might cop a few hidings. I hope that they have recruited a few players as they should be in Div 1.
Not a great deal on the EDFL clearances website Craig Brown has gone to EK from St.Albans good player but not sure of the other names. They are playing Coburg Districts in a practice so will be interesting to see how they go. Seems most of the sides from 2014 have strengthened there lists or will remain roughly the same only according to BF thread so Div 1 will be so competitive as other punters have already stated EK will really need to add some quality to compete you would expect. Not long to wait now lads

Stocco looks very fit due to spending some of the pre season at Willy VFL. With all the talk of the forwards playing div1 this year his probably the fittest of them all coming off an excellent 2014 season in premier at a bottom 3 club. Being younger than most others, he should play the majority of games and a big chance to kick a 100. Really smart pick up by Hillside as I hear his also a good guy..

I except him to stand out in Div1 and also think he is a chance to kick 100. Don't know him well, but did meet him last year when he was playing for the saints and he comes across as a really nice guy.

Some damaging forwards, so who wins the goalkicking? We have stocco/ferraro, cloke/cloke, aldridge/trewin, carey/kite (if cleared to play)..
Ill tip stocco maybe to win being solo key forward but the clokes to combine for the most goals an have the biggest impact. Best 2 players in the league you would have to say.

Some damaging forwards, so who wins the goalkicking? We have stocco/ferraro, cloke/cloke, aldridge/trewin, carey/kite (if cleared to play)..
Ill tip stocco maybe to win being solo key forward but the clokes to combine for the most goals an have the biggest impact. Best 2 players in the league you would have to say.

Agree Stocco is the best, Cam Cloke will spend time in the ruck and Jason I have heard may play at CHB ?

Other consideration is I think the midfields from Westy, Craigieburn and EDS will be a lot stronger than Hillside so Stocco and Ferraro will have to work a lot harder for there goals than the others IMO.

Agree Stocco is the best, Cam Cloke will spend time in the ruck and Jason I have heard may play at CHB ?

Other consideration is I think the midfields from Westy, Craigieburn and EDS will be a lot stronger than Hillside so Stocco and Ferraro will have to work a lot harder for there goals than the others IMO.
Jason cloke kicked 80 goals and won goalking last year would u play him at chb in a weaker standard of footy?. They will both be up forward if my mail is correct

Agree with these comments however Hillside midfield is more blue collar so will win a lot of contested footy. They will get it down there enough but agree the delivery is also important. Hillside going to rely on Shannon Ball. If his fully on board will be a major influence on their season. Big guy with talent, and if committed to the cause will take them a long way..
Interesting to see if they have a quality outside mid....

With the lack of midfield depth at hillside, could you see there big gun recruits spend time in the midfield ?

Stocco is more a midsize forward not a big tall like carey and the clokes?

With the lack of midfield depth at hillside, could you see there big gun recruits spend time in the midfield ?

Stocco is more a midsize forward not a big tall like carey and the clokes?

I believe Ferraro might play up the field a bit but Stocco will be up forward at least till they see how things pan out. In my experience the top 5-7 teams get the ball inside 50 about the same but it's the set up, delivery, speed of your mids as well as the quality of your forwards that can be the difference on the scoreboard. I think Hillside are happy with their midfield set up but could do with 1 more quality outside mid. Craigieburn have Young, EDS have Shylo Smith. These players will need to be shut down or will be the difference. However Hillside probably have the tough bodied mids willing to play these types of roles for the team, in where the other sides might have people running forward of the ball.. Interesting season ahead and I suppose we could go on all day about positives & negatives off all sides.. But good conversation..

Thank you mate, well said just wanted an opinion. This season is going to be massive 5 teams fighting for promotion I'd believe.
cant wait

You seem to be very close to this club Turbo. They will need to improve immensely from last year. They were on the brink of relegation for the second half of the year with CB and Hadfeild. There has been talk of the Sarkis boys and Dilizia going to KP have they been training at Shark Park? Seems Hillside have taken a change of direction if they don't play there after these boys provided pretty good service over the past 2 years. I am sticking to my October prediction of the boys up the Hume Hwy the Craigieburn boys... Bring It on I say

G'day Outback,
More involved with Premier league but live close by so just commenting on some things I know. I'm not involved down there but sometimes pop in and watch a few games.
Totally agree Craigieburn are clear favourites and recruited the best of all the sides with players capable of playing premier if they happen to win it..
With regards to Hillside they have recruited smart IMO as don't have a budget like Craigieburn or EDS.

PS: not sure about those players you have mentioned but ultimately clubs turn over players each year and are replaceable. All capable but Fab has the most tricks so will be missed most if he goes, but in all honestly if a player hasn't committed by now best get on without them. You could assume the late signing of Stocco is due to needing a class forward..

Question: who would you rather have as your main forward target Stocco or Fab? Both have tricks and good lead up forwards who have kicked bags of goals against good teams, but Stocco has runs on the board at EDFL premier level so he would be your pick I imagine.
Yes would be good to have both, but clubs need to be smart and stick to budgets, and maybe they can only afford so much..

G'day Outback,
More involved with Premier league but live close by so just commenting on some things I know. I'm not involved down there but sometimes pop in and watch a few games.
Totally agree Craigieburn are clear favourites and recruited the best of all the sides with players capable of playing premier if they happen to win it..
With regards to Hillside they have recruited smart IMO as don't have a budget like Craigieburn or EDS.

PS: not sure about those players you have mentioned but ultimately clubs turn over players each year and are replaceable. All capable but Fab has the most tricks so will be missed most if he goes, but in all honestly if a player hasn't committed by now best get on without them. You could assume the late signing of Stocco is due to needing a class forward..

Question: who would you rather have as your main forward target Stocco or Fab? Both have tricks and good lead up forwards who have kicked bags of goals against good teams, but Stocco has runs on the board at EDFL premier level so he would be your pick I imagine.
Yes would be good to have both, but clubs need to be smart and stick to budgets, and maybe they can only afford so much..

Dilizia , Sarkis brothers , Portelli and Richie Psaila all in talks with KP , none have trained or had much discussion with the Sharks, both parties have moved on,
Sharks have replaced them with the Ferrarao brothers , Stocco , Ross Italiano and others , fair swap i reckon with a slight edge to Sharks due to how committed there recruits are. Only time will tell , Sharks have a long way to go to compete with the top couple of sides , they are on the right path though and should be a better side than last year due to there list depth in 2015.

Who may I ask are the big gun key backs that are going stop one of these super forwards kicking 100

If the clokes stay forward all year and stocco does too. Kyte kicked 80 plus in a season. Kade has kicked close to 80 in A grade before all be it 6 years back!

Could we see 2 or 3 guys kick 100 plus goals for the season ??

Who may I ask are the big gun key backs that are going stop one of these super forwards kicking 100

If the clokes stay forward all year and stocco does too. Kyte kicked 80 plus in a season. Kade has kicked close to 80 in A grade before all be it 6 years back!

Key backs is a good new subject.. Hillside recruited Ross Weightman who will most likely play on Kade and Cam Cloke. Yes his 32 but still fit, strong and experienced. They also have some good young tall kids with a year or two of senior footy under their belts so should go well on the Kites etc..
Might also depend on the ruckman being able to drop back and fill in the holes..

Key backs is a good new subject.. Hillside recruited Ross Weightman who will most likely play on Kade and Cam Cloke. Yes his 32 but still fit, strong and experienced. They also have some good young tall kids with a year or two of senior footy under their belts so should go well on the Kites etc..
Might also depend on the ruckman being able to drop back and fill in the holes..

Taylors lakes have Jackson wright who Imo is the best defender in the comp, Hillside have Weightman , Glenroy have Dulic, Craigieburn have Bennett , J Cloke, Tullamarine Col Laurie and Hynninen if playing.
Oak park have a couple of tall defenders , most sides will have quality down back but not sure if any of them will be good enough for Cloke or Carey if he is fit.
Only play 16 games though so that is averaging over 6 a game if they play all 16 so it may be a big ask.
I don't think there are going to be too many blow out games either ,looks a pretty even comp.
If anyone can do it I reckon it would be C Cloke . No surprise there though.