EDFL moves

drplds said:
Finals are played at Keilor, Greenvale, Glenroy cause they are best grounds for the EDFL to make money on the gates. There are too many entries at other clubs such as Strathmore, Doutta's, Aber's, Keilor Park, etc.

I realise this, in the Bellarine they only use one or two appropriate grounds for the finals (the same evevry year) but the club who has the rights to sell food and drink are able to set stalls up around the ground to sell their stuff.
e.g. final played at Keilor, It is say Strathmores year to sell food and drink so they are permitted to set up stalls around Keilors ground and sell their stuff. Then next year it is Oak Parks turn, they set up their stalls around Keilors groud so on and so on.

Just thought it was a great idea.

September Action

So whats everyone views on the next few weeks -
  • A Grade Preliminary
  • B Grade Preliminary
  • A Grade Flag
  • B Grade Flag
  • B&F A & B Grade
  • BOG in grand finals
For what it worth
  • A Grade Prelim (Greenvale)
  • B Grade Prelim (Pascoe Vale)
  • A Grade Flag (Greenvale)
  • B Grade Flag (Marby)
  • B&F A Grade (S Paxman)
  • B&F B Grade (C Bakker)
  • BOG - Zeraffa and Lenne

aberdaberdo said:
That was just the sign on.

Harvs will be back at Bernard's next year no doubt.

Sure his pockets have been filled but he's just as successful of the park with big Luke Vassalo's company and making plenty.

Plenty of the boys reckon he'll be back for sure and wanted to play a year for cash to save up for a house.

If he goes it'll make it hard for the Mores 3 Peat but i'm sure they could find the coin to recruit a big name full forward. Jade Rawlings just retired:eek:

WRFLfan said:
Good to hear mate and hopefully u and the boys can get over the line and put them back in their shells, will b down there with the Yewers boys cheering yas on so u have to turn it on for us lol.

I think thats your writing isn't it? As for being in the bar thats not nice seeing they were your old team and that quote was made to a senior player, quick question would you get a game in that two's side and be honest. As for superstar im washed up and don't play anymore but thanks for the encouragement.
And the final one about the standard fast but thought the physicalness would have been better, best player strangely enough a WRFL player and Colt hows that hey, enjoy D Wack your a long time retired:eek:
Yeah thats my typing (not writing), and whats them being my old team got to do with it its not like theres been any love lost there but still have some mates down there running around, and u want honesty well lets just say that is the most stupid question i've ever been asked (hows that 4 honesty) and i won't even dignify it with a response coz ur insulting me even thinking i couldn't. As for the best player yeah he was the best player on the day and maybe he finally realised that the better footy was in this comp not the one hes been running around in where he wouldn't get the best out of himself, but i'll give u one thing yeah it maybe more physical in your league but thats only coz the ball is on the deck alot more as the skills ain't as good. And just to finish with what am i doing sitting here listening to a bloke who doesn't even play the game anymore gee D Mac what have u got yourself into, i better find some actual footballers to talk to b4 i lose my pride and dignity Catcha WRFL CHUMP

Macca29 said:
Harvs will be back at Bernard's next year no doubt.

Sure his pockets have been filled but he's just as successful of the park with big Luke Vassalo's company and making plenty.

Plenty of the boys reckon he'll be back for sure and wanted to play a year for cash to save up for a house.

If he goes it'll make it hard for the Mores 3 Peat but i'm sure they could find the coin to recruit a big name full forward. Jade Rawlings just retired:eek:
I heard A.James will be looking for a new home next year would be a good get after kicking 23 majors on the weekend has also kicked a ton in the edfl before.

coreybrown said:
No doubt about that Bruce Kent cant get all of the ones he speaks to.

C Smith - A Briggs - both joined Greenvale this year due to higher offers from Greenvale after speaking to Strathmore.
I suppose it comes down to what players your club needs more than others? Maybe Greenvale would have been better served to have paid the money to keep Zerafa, Kalinowski, Yildrim, Corr, Khartabil, Hrysoulakis. Even though a few of these guys are passed it or hadnt quite made it at A grade level, reckon they would be handy round about now?????

The holman issue has been done to death - read the posts Doutta cut Holman money from his 2004 b&f winning season. he felt this was unreasonable and walked, would he be paid well at Strathmore, you tell me comp b&f and premeirship player.

On playing for less didnt Bicer and Bakoulas come back to Greenvale from Heidelberg on less????? so maybe it does happen?????

yeah GV would probably be holding up the a reserve cup if these players were still around. Apart from Zerafa none of them would be playing in the firsts and all went to marby so they could get a game.

Zerafa went to marby so he only had to play when he felt like it. Thats why he is seen sinking cans at GV games while he is 'working' some saturdays at the docks.

molly99 said:
I heard A.James will be looking for a new home next year would be a good get after kicking 23 majors on the weekend has also kicked a ton in the edfl before.

and interesting to read he left Albion because they ran out of MONEY!!!! I think his forehead is stamped at the moment and NO A GRADE club would touch him after his time at douttas

The golden greek will back in action in a weeks time, He used to play at greenvale and player for collingwood as well.

Be warned

The scout said:
The golden greek will back in action in a weeks time, He used to play at greenvale and player for collingwood as well.

Be warned

no chance, his knees are gone!

also, who would you drop to get a guy on 1 leg back into a side that has no peer in that grade?

Well if thats the case, there would need to be three changes to the side that beat West Coburg by 10 goals.

Nash and Weston would be well ahead of Athos

localfooty said:
no chance, his knees are gone!

also, who would you drop to get a guy on 1 leg back into a side that has no peer in that grade?

roaster has a proven track record in finals that dates back to lalor days. remember him tearing tulla apart on one leg and kicking 4 0r 5 in an a grade granny against oak park.

This story was in the herald sun today and also on there web page.
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,20309557-2862,00.html

Seven-year ban for junior footy playerKate Rose

August 31, 2006 12:00am

A TEENAGE footballer has been banned for seven years for striking an umpire

The under-18 player copped the career-ending suspension after going "troppo" in an Essendon District Football League semi-final on Sunday.
The teen played for Doutta Stars in their 88-60 win over Strathmore.

Strathmore secretary Ross Higgins said he had never seen anything like it.

"He lost his cool. He grabbed at the umpire. The player grabbed the umpire," he said.

Mr Higgins said the incident happened when a second free kick was awarded to Strathmore near goal after it had converted the first.

"The umpire had paid a couple of free kicks, one that had resulted in a goal and another that was going to result in a goal, and the kid just went troppo," he said.

According to the tribunal website, R. Gordon was found guilty of abuse, assaulting and striking the umpire and was banned for seven years.

Neither the Doutta Stars nor the EDFL returned calls to the Herald Sun last night. But local umpires backed the seven-year ban.

"Hopefully this sends the message to players that it's not acceptable," said EDFL Umpires Association president David Sullivan.

"I think the tribunal has taken a good stance.

"From our point of view, we think it's a good decision," he said.

"We hate to see things like that happen. Unfortunately it does happen from time to time, but touch wood it doesn't happen again."

Mr Sullivan said the umpire involved in the incident would continue to officiate.

Football Victoria manager of development and planning Mick Daniher said suburban leagues found it hard to attract umpires, and they must be protected at all costs.

"That's a very serious offence, and I think every football league facing such a severe incident like that would want to be taking strong action against that," he said.

"I don't think it's an unreasonable penalty for striking an umpire.

"The whole industry of Australian football is wanting to recruit and retain umpires, and one of the negatives . . . is the way umpires are treated and the abuse they receive. So we want to take a strong stance against any abuse of umpires."

The incident follows one in which Heatherton Cricket Club coach and vice-captain Daryl Rose, 33, was banned this year for 10 years after threatening to kill an umpire.

Last year a junior football coach was banned for three years for abusing an umpire.

My North said:
This story was in the herald sun today and also on there web page.
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,20309557-2862,00.html

Seven-year ban for junior footy playerKate Rose

August 31, 2006 12:00am

A TEENAGE footballer has been banned for seven years for striking an umpire

The under-18 player copped the career-ending suspension after going "troppo" in an Essendon District Football League semi-final on Sunday.
The teen played for Doutta Stars in their 88-60 win over Strathmore.

Strathmore secretary Ross Higgins said he had never seen anything like it.

"He lost his cool. He grabbed at the umpire. The player grabbed the umpire," he said.

Mr Higgins said the incident happened when a second free kick was awarded to Strathmore near goal after it had converted the first.

"The umpire had paid a couple of free kicks, one that had resulted in a goal and another that was going to result in a goal, and the kid just went troppo," he said.

According to the tribunal website, R. Gordon was found guilty of abuse, assaulting and striking the umpire and was banned for seven years.

Neither the Doutta Stars nor the EDFL returned calls to the Herald Sun last night. But local umpires backed the seven-year ban.

"Hopefully this sends the message to players that it's not acceptable," said EDFL Umpires Association president David Sullivan.

"I think the tribunal has taken a good stance.

"From our point of view, we think it's a good decision," he said.

"We hate to see things like that happen. Unfortunately it does happen from time to time, but touch wood it doesn't happen again."

Mr Sullivan said the umpire involved in the incident would continue to officiate.

Football Victoria manager of development and planning Mick Daniher said suburban leagues found it hard to attract umpires, and they must be protected at all costs.

"That's a very serious offence, and I think every football league facing such a severe incident like that would want to be taking strong action against that," he said.

"I don't think it's an unreasonable penalty for striking an umpire.

"The whole industry of Australian football is wanting to recruit and retain umpires, and one of the negatives . . . is the way umpires are treated and the abuse they receive. So we want to take a strong stance against any abuse of umpires."

The incident follows one in which Heatherton Cricket Club coach and vice-captain Daryl Rose, 33, was banned this year for 10 years after threatening to kill an umpire.

Last year a junior football coach was banned for three years for abusing an umpire.

Must have been a slow news day...

juliand said:
and interesting to read he left Albion because they ran out of MONEY!!!! I think his forehead is stamped at the moment and NO A GRADE club would touch him after his time at douttas
Just goes to show your a heck I N G GOOSE pal you only know what you read and theres never much truth to things you read. Anyway if your place of employment ran out of money thats if you have a job goose would you work for free i dont think so.And what happened at Douttas? I think he kicked 110 goals in 1 season. As for no a grade club touching him its funny that 2 EDFL A GRADE clubs rang him when he left ALBION. Who the heck are you anyway you just sound like a real jelous person that isnt a very good footballer so you get on here and talk about things you have no idea about. DUMB C U N T!!!

molly99 said:
Just goes to show your a heck I N G GOOSE pal you only know what you read and theres never much truth to things you read. Anyway if your place of employment ran out of money thats if you have a job goose would you work for free i dont think so.And what happened at Douttas? I think he kicked 110 goals in 1 season. As for no a grade club touching him its funny that 2 EDFL A GRADE clubs rang him when he left ALBION. Who the heck are you anyway you just sound like a real jelous person that isnt a very good footballer so you get on here and talk about things you have no idea about. DUMB C U N T!!!

Judging by his grammar and complete mastery of the english language this may be the great man himself!

Like to know peoples thoughts on the finals system.....

An A & B grade top 6 - finals footy brings in the big crowds and an extra couple of weeks of finals would be terriffic - a grade especially is over too quick.....:thumbsu:

As a former A grade player litening, you will be well aware of the massive difference between the top 4 teams and the bottom six.

No point in making it a top six when the top three would beat them by 20 goals minimum.

aberdaberdo said:
Judging by his grammar and complete mastery of the english language this may be the great man himself!
Most wonderfully put Abers, his eloquent use of the english languauge, and wording is definately something to behold.:D

sloth6 said:
As a former A grade player litening, you will be well aware of the massive difference between the top 4 teams and the bottom six.

No point in making it a top six when the top three would beat them by 20 goals minimum.

Get your point their Sloth - but if it were 1 v 2, 3 v 4 and 5 v 6 those top teams probably wont even have to face the bottom two ot three.

Particularly in A grade the top 4 is often settled a fair way out from home - the teams that finish 5th and 6th arent that far off the pace.

Finals are a whole new ball game as well.

molly99 said:

Which clubs??? name the clubs.

litening said:
Get your point their Sloth - but if it were 1 v 2, 3 v 4 and 5 v 6 those top teams probably wont even have to face the bottom two ot three.

Particularly in A grade the top 4 is often settled a fair way out from home - the teams that finish 5th and 6th arent that far off the pace.

Finals are a whole new ball game as well.

Apologies, that may sound confusing.....i mean not far off the pace ability wise from 3rd and 4th.

Teams 5th, 6th and even 7 and 8 might fight out the season a little longer if they can sneak into a top 6.:thumbsu: