EDFL moves

Agree with you there Star. At no stage should any player on the football field kick another player wether it be intentiually or unitentually. So if he had of kicked him he might have found himeself in a little bit of trouble, But you will find he did NOT] Kick the player in question, so there will be no issues!

Strathmore did win the game on the weekend and played some great football. BUT!!!!! I know if you were there watching the game you would agree with these next comments:

"The Umpiring was an absouloute discrace!!!!! It was possibly the worst umpiring I have ever seen in a football match."

The League need to look at how these two umpires umpired on the weekend and take action against these bloke.
It was more the short fat bloke who struggle to keep up with the game and made mistake after mistake and tried to justify his mistakes with arguing with players.
You could hear his voice from the sidline arguing with the players and getting into verbal confrintations with the players! The OLD SHORT FAT BLOKE needs to be sent to 2nd division for the rest of the season!

There were free kicks given to one side and in the following passage of play the same incident would happen to the opposition and the same umpire called it play on!!!!

The umpires on the weekend caused a lot of friction between the two clubs hence why there were some punches thrown. The umpires did not know what they were doing and spoiled great clash between two top teams!

I also am not trying to take anything away from Strathmore as they did win the game. But please officials of the EDFL please give the short fat bloke the sack!!! As he clearly is uncapable of umpiring at an A Grage level as he was to slow to keep up with the game between two heavy weights of the comptititon.

Well done to the MOORES on a great win but ...........

As a spectator it was the worst display of umpiring I have seen for 20 years!!!!!

As with his accessment on the umpires, Dogsquad got this one right as well !!

Bendover....Sharp. What a muppet.

This is boring. Never rated Northen Saints. Yet you keep bringing them up.

You say don't compare and then... compare Marby and the Northen Saints.

Would really love to keep this going but I would get more sense out of road kill.

Muppet/road kill???

I'm telling on you............;)
I have feelings you know!!! :eek:

For a simple person like yourself l will break it down for you, compare marby's 2007 team to Northern's 2008 team!

Simple enough for you challenged one!

Answer: They are miles apart.

Thats all well and good but the real issue that need to be raised is what is going on with the EDFL. If this is the case then the EDFL needs to have a good hard look at whats going on. IMO the EDFL is an average league with no depth and way too much cash floating around.

With the amount of cash you get a bad mix of blokes playing for themselves and not for the club, a lack of time put in to developing juniors and worst of all a league that is so unbalanced and uneven that it will struggle to prosper.

The fact that apparently no b grade side could mix it with a grade side is detremental to the league.....

An average league that brings top line players!

How is that average then?
If you ask me, if there is plenty of cash going around then the league is only going to get stronger, isn't it?

Not everyone likes driving 2-3 hours up the highway for a game of footy!

Thats all well and good but the real issue that need to be raised is what is going on with the EDFL. If this is the case then the EDFL needs to have a good hard look at whats going on. IMO the EDFL is an average league with no depth and way too much cash floating around.

With the amount of cash you get a bad mix of blokes playing for themselves and not for the club, a lack of time put in to developing juniors and worst of all a league that is so unbalanced and uneven that it will struggle to prosper.

The fact that apparently no b grade side could mix it with a grade side is detremental to the league.....

i think its bad too, the gap between 1st and 2nd div, but think its because the a grade sides are so strong, not that the b grade sides are that bad.
calling the edfl an average league is a bit far fetched, there is an abundance of talent in the league, its just not shared evenly over all teams in both grades, but i wouldnt think other leagues would be any different.

As with his accessment on the umpires, Dogsquad got this one right as well !!

mmmmh, I guess I'm illiterate...:rolleyes: I'm sure I read something about mistake after mistake being made......................punches being thrown, what a load of bollocks............if you were there you would have seen a few push and shoves and maybe a few 50/50's not go Keilors way, but mistake after mistake & punches thrown??...roflcopter!! Point here is if you're going to wite crap at least make it factual crap!!

Saw an earlier blurb from one keen observer who clearly saw a KFC player kick an opponent in front of his 6 yr old son..........result.........reprimand! :( I reckon the umpire should be reprimanded for reporting him and him getting off! :rolleyes:

Anyway we'll put this one to bed. I'm giving the umpires a 10 goal head start this week V Greenvale and you and the dogster 4/10 for observation & a 2/10 for spelling! ;)

Muppet/road kill???

I'm telling on you............;)
I have feelings you know!!! :eek:

For a simple person like yourself l will break it down for you, compare marby's 2007 team to Northern's 2008 team!

Simple enough for you challenged one!

Answer: They are miles apart.

Fair enough. This is like arguing with my wife. I am saying one thing and you are hearing another. Lets leave it at that.

But please get off the Northen Saints. They are not the best side in B Grade.

Can anyone tell me how Dillion Kane is going at Tullamarine?

Not sure Nemo but can you tell me how you went the other week in the 2's :eek:.

And cmon Puff where the F@#K are you,we are waiting ;)

Lets look ahead here and say if Greenvale win the flag again which is a reasonable chance whilst im obviously not in the inner sancton at Greenvale from what i gather the money will still be there so is it as simple as pencil them in for 09 aswell :confused:

I dont mean to be a defeatest but how the F%$K can they be stopped :(

I know in previous years both in A and B grade there has sometimes been a standout side and some of the clear favorites have lost finals matches and theres the theory you never know on the day and all that sh1t but they are a very very good side and whilst its possible they could be beaten i carnt see it as long as the have the finances and players they have at the moment,may loose a couple each year but always top up nicely

THE DREBSTER

Lets look ahead here and say if Greenvale win the flag again which is a reasonable chance whilst im obviously not in the inner sancton at Greenvale from what i gather the money will still be there so is it as simple as pencil them in for 09 aswell :confused:

I know in previous years both in A and B grade there has sometimes been a standout side and some of the clear favorites have lost finals matches and theres the theory you never know on the day and all that sh1t but they are a very very good side and whilst its possible they could be beaten i carnt see it as long as the have the finances and players they have at the moment,may loose a couple each year but always top up nicely

THE DREBSTER
I think you may have the wrong bloke Dreb, but when can sort things out over a couple of King Browns whilst waiting to get into Fredricks.

And Puff I also am waiting for your weekly round up.

Dreb don't be to distraught over Greenvales success, just ask Aberdabado he had pencilled Strathmore in for 5 in a row. All good things come to an end.

This is true,and i think Puff may be out on the turps somewhere :(

Here's my tips

Strathmore too good for Crazyburn 12 goals

Greenvale by 6 goals over Keilor

Douttas by 2-3 goals against Marby

West Coburg to bounce back against Avondale 4 goals

Oakers in an upset against Abers 2 goals

Obviously no B Grade team is going to go into A Grade and be successful with the same list they won the flag with (Even Marby had to add players, as did Greenvale a few years ago). Any club that has planned well, will have enough money in the bank to bring in the extra players. Also the promoted clubs will naturally attract better players to the club. As well as better sponsorship.

The B Grade winners obviously won't go in and challenge for finals straight away, but with 6 top level players added to a Premiership team, they wont be getting hammered every week. Some weeks yes, but the lower A Grade teams would have to watch out.

Having said that any side dropping back from A to B Grade are no certainty to go straight back up again. I remember a cocky Douttas getting a football lesson from Glenroy at Cobug City Oval in the late 90's. Keilor park aren't exactly blitzing this year after dropping back, nor are East Keilor.

The gap between top A and top B is huge, but the gap overall between A and B is closing and will continue to do so.

I remember a cocky Douttas getting a football lesson from Glenroy at Cobug City Oval in the late 90's.

I remember this as i played in the game and while i wasnt cocky i must admit i thought we would win no worries at all ;( but we didnt.

I must say then when we won in 98 and then 99 our team was pretty much the same,from the 98 team we lost a couple of our best players and then we gained a couple of really good players in 99 and even a couple of 2's players from 98 stepped up in 99 to play 1's so basically the same team but yeah no way it could be done these days,if that was us now you would have to get atleat 6-8 quality players to top up your list.

There is alot of talk lately about a grade v b grade,i havent watched a b grade game in a long time but have a mate who plays b grade and has played alot of footy over the years in both a and b grade and reckons its pretty ordinary at the minute so based on that i would say who ever comes up would need to heavily recruit to finsih even middle of the road in a grade.

THE DREBSTER

I remember this as i played in the game and while i wasnt cocky i must admit i thought we would win no worries at all ;( but we didnt.

I must say then when we won in 98 and then 99 our team was pretty much the same,from the 98 team we lost a couple of our best players and then we gained a couple of really good players in 99 and even a couple of 2's players from 98 stepped up in 99 to play 1's so basically the same team but yeah no way it could be done these days,if that was us now you would have to get atleat 6-8 quality players to top up your list.

There is alot of talk lately about a grade v b grade,i havent watched a b grade game in a long time but have a mate who plays b grade and has played alot of footy over the years in both a and b grade and reckons its pretty ordinary at the minute so based on that i would say who ever comes up would need to heavily recruit to finsih even middle of the road in a grade.

THE DREBSTER

Your mate is right. I think as in A Grade, B Grade has a top 4-5 and then it drops off. As I have said in a few earlier post's I reckon the top 3-4 players in the top 3 or 4 B Grade sides would get games in MOST...not all but MOST A Grade sides.

Backing this with evidence I can list a few...
KP - Matty Payne 2 Flags at Oak Park. Still killing them
WM - Nick Charlmers (Turbo) No Need to explain
WM - Matt Sammut Ballarat Football Leauge Rep side 2007
Glenroy - Leigh O'Niell 2 A Grade Flags

I am sure there are others that would be welcomed at some of the A Grade clubs.

I'm not buying back into the gap discussion. As much as the A Grade clubs and supporters like to believe the B Grade clubs are wasting their time, at least 50% of the teams in B' Grade are playing knowing they are a chance come finals time. Not providing Greenvale with entertainment and bar takings until they win the A Grade flag.

THE DREBSTER

Been flat stick Drebster! Here it is the quick version!

Marbi v Douttas

Douttas at full strength for the first time all year and word has it that every opponent on the ground will have a tag except of course the big unit in the Number 6. Guernsey. Pilling for Kade but he will cop a much more in form unit than the one he matched up on in Round 1. Was disappointed big BK was a late withdrawal from the luncheon today as a few of the boys had a plan to get him on the sauce, having said that I'm sure Benny (in hot form also) will treat Mick Stapo with contempt. On ball match ups will be harder this time around for the Parkers as Shagga Broadbent is out again with his groinal region unfortunately and Heath Ayres is back in. Butters (overseas) will be missed as he has been one of the more consistent Marbi players this year. Crawford, Brown, Ziros, Karavias and Matty Towner have been in great form but i just don't think it will be enough to get them over the line. Brian Grey is a super coach and will have most bases covered. In an upset i think Douttas by 3 points

Greenvale v Keilor

Keilor did start last weeks game with a bang and Houlihan had 3 early ones before hurting his hammy, he will be missed and things could have been different if he didn't get hurt. Superstar Ricky Marcy will be missed after saying "f*ck" last week - how bad are our umpires, embarrassing!!!!
Hursty has been getting plenty of pill in the early game and was ok earlier in the season, he should come back in whilst Kieran Prowse is certainly proving what i said from day 1 - he can play!!
Keilor really did come with a late surge in round 1 and failed to get over the line and just shows that Greenvale started the season not to dissimilar to Geelong and have now put the foot on the pedal in the lead up to the finals. Greenvale's 3rd quarters this year have set nearly all their games up and with Randello, Wheels, Kuret and Lenne getting plenty of footy they are going from strength to strength.
Greenvale are unchanged from last week and although i did make a mistake (last week i said Vinny Randello was overseas) they are still without Sedat (overseas) Rhys, Bicer and Obst.
They are an awesome outfit the Jets and with young players such as Thompson and Provenzano having an impact the club is going to struggle to lose a game for 5 years!
Greenvale by 37 points

Craigieburn v Strathmore

Craigieburn must win if they are to have any chance of staying in contention for their first A Grade finals series, they would be demoralised after leading by so much last week only to be overrun by the comeback kings from the river.
Strathmore have certainly regained the form that have made them such a good team over the past 3 - 4 years and the likes of Winter, Robson and Becker have definitely added that. I think that although many feel the trip up to Sth Sydney is a daunting one it will actually work in Strathmore's favour in the style of footy they play. Craigieburn aren't ideally suited down back to combat the big 3 in Harvey, Winter & Dooze and with Poorter being banished to the seconds last week to make way for Piggott it could be a bleak day for the Eagles.
Strathmore by 19 points

Avondale v West Coburg

West's have lost their last 6 and Avondale regained some touch last week against Abers. I can't believe Whitney played Rayza Harrison on Shep and left him their for so long, i can't remember a game where he hasn't smashed Abers - he's a great player. Leave Harrison and Trewin deep in the forward 50 and put the pressure on the Burgers defence. Rabee will be hard to stop again and although Aparo was quiet last week he needs to shut him down. Johnny Angel certainly didn't have his kicking boots on last week and if he can slam a couple home early it could set the tone for the match. Elvy is the man for West's and when he's played this year he has been awesome, big Bori deserves first crack and is still playing great footy so why not. I can't believe Ash Flavel and Nicko played in the 12pm game last week, it astounds me and they should be back in this week however i don't think it will be enough. Avondale by 19 points

Abers v Oak Park

To be played on Sunday at Abers for all you keen local footy fans. Simply Abers must win and with both sides struggling big time at present it's hard to tip a winner, of course it's not - i can never tip against the two blues and the lights will be on by 4pm as Sunday afternoon could get real dark. Abers by 9 points

i think its bad too, the gap between 1st and 2nd div, but think its because the a grade sides are so strong, not that the b grade sides are that bad.
calling the edfl an average league is a bit far fetched, there is an abundance of talent in the league, its just not shared evenly over all teams in both grades, but i wouldnt think other leagues would be any different.

I think your all being a bit harsh on B grade, this year is the most exciting season since my involvment (7 years) in the EDFL for B Grade. There is no stand out side there is 6 teams with a legit chance of the flag and I honestly can not pick a winner, how many leagues can say that... The standard is clearly a little lower at the top end of the comp but its competetivness is awesome.

A grade is a little dissapointing this year, IMO the only side that has improved from last year is the team that was already a 10 goal better side than the rest, all the other teams seem to have gone backwards or about the same level.

Your mate is right. I think as in A Grade, B Grade has a top 4-5 and then it drops off. As I have said in a few earlier post's I reckon the top 3-4 players in the top 3 or 4 B Grade sides would get games in MOST...not all but MOST A Grade sides.

Backing this with evidence I can list a few...
KP - Matty Payne 2 Flags at Oak Park. Still killing them
WM - Nick Charlmers (Turbo) No Need to explain
WM - Matt Sammut Ballarat Football Leauge Rep side 2007
Glenroy - Leigh O'Niell 2 A Grade Flags

I am sure there are others that would be welcomed at some of the A Grade clubs.

I'm not buying back into the gap discussion. As much as the A Grade clubs and supporters like to believe the B Grade clubs are wasting their time, at least 50% of the teams in B' Grade are playing knowing they are a chance come finals time. Not providing Greenvale with entertainment and bar takings until they win the A Grade flag.

my friend, you know i value your opinion greatly, but if your gonna take 1 of my a grade premiership medals off me, im gonna have to re-evaluate our friendship, i worked hard for those little buggers with my very unsportsmanlike physique, we arent all blessed with bodies like you, some of us had to make due with what we got.

just too put you in the spotlight, care to share with us your thoughts on who you reckon the 4-5 legit contenders are before it drops off, i would give an opinion but i dont feel the need to give opposition teams a reason to smash me when i get back on the field for if i dont put there team in.:thumbsu:

my friend, you know i value your opinion greatly, but if your gonna take 1 of my a grade premiership medals off me, im gonna have to re-evaluate our friendship, i worked hard for those little buggers with my very unsportsmanlike physique, we arent all blessed with bodies like you, some of us had to make due with what we got.

just too put you in the spotlight, care to share with us your thoughts on who you reckon the 4-5 legit contenders are before it drops off, i would give an opinion but i dont feel the need to give opposition teams a reason to smash me when i get back on the field for if i dont put there team in.:thumbsu:

06....Champ. Sitting here on couch with our great great mate the great Rob Bo. I digress. I did discount the GV flag that you were indeed apart of. I was thinking of only the flags won in the Blue and White.. Apologies.

My view of the B Grade competition would be:

WM: With the knowledge I have I believe they have a great list, an excellent coach and the potential to take out the B Grade flag. Counts for nothing though if you you can't take it out on the park.

TL: With a full list they are the obvious next choice and have the fire power to take it up to anyone.

Glenroy: For me the best side I have seen. Very strong bodied midfield with key forwards and a strong defense. Yourself, DC and Oggy being fed by big Salty make a very good combination. I think that is the top 3 for me. Hopefully Salty brings back a few of the princess I have lined him up for you..:)

NS: Hard, hard side with some very tough bodies. I think they are a great side but might be stretched on the bigger grounds the finals are played on. Play their ground with great affect. Also play tough one on one footy which may get them through come the pointy end. Still I would like to see them win away against quality on a big ground.

KP: Some quality in the midfield with our good mate Silky but looked a little slow up forward and down back for me to be a serious contender.

They are the top 4 - 5 after the rest you can throw a blanket on I reckon.

No 14 sitting here reckons you are a hack on the golf course and soft on the footy field and is looking forward to smacking you on Sunday in Heathcote.;)

Take it easy mate. Hope to see you back soon....:thumbsu:

06....Champ. Sitting here on couch with our great great mate the great Rob Bo. I digress. I did discount the GV flag that you were indeed apart of. I was thinking of only the flags won in the Blue and White.. Apologies.

My view of the B Grade competition would be:

WM: With the knowledge I have I believe they have a great list, an excellent coach and the potential to take out the B Grade flag. Counts for nothing though if you you can't take it out on the park.

TL: With a full list they are the obvious next choice and have the fire power to take it up to anyone.

Glenroy: For me the best side I have seen. Very strong bodied midfield with key forwards and a strong defense. Yourself, DC and Oggy being fed by big Salty make a very good combination. I think that is the top 3 for me. Hopefully Salty brings back a few of the princess I have lined him up for you..:)

NS: Hard, hard side with some very tough bodies. I think they are a great side but might be stretched on the bigger grounds the finals are played on. Play their ground with great affect. Also play tough one on one footy which may get them through come the pointy end. Still I would like to see them win away against quality on a big ground.

KP: Some quality in the midfield with our good mate Silky but looked a little slow up forward and down back for me to be a serious contender.

They are the top 4 - 5 after the rest you can throw a blanket on I reckon.

No 14 sitting here reckons you are a hack on the golf course and soft on the footy field and is looking forward to smacking you on Sunday in Heathcote.;)

Take it easy mate. Hope to see you back soon....:thumbsu:

NS beat Glenroy at Glenroy, ground not big enough??

Fair point.

I based my view on the 1 game I saw the NS's play at home. Very uneducated...

I think it's hard for a lot of people (me included) to think that NCS, which, like it or not thats how most people see them can be successful after such a long time battling away.

I hope they do. A lot of great blokes at the Saints that deserve a crack at finals after all the hard work they have put into the club. :thumbsu: