North Coburg Saints
Hadfield
Jacana
Pascoe Vale
Roxburgh Park
Sydenham-Hillside

How do you think these clubs will go?

Matthew Pillios said:
Lastly, the Valley's will be competitive, but have lost some quality.

Speaking of Moonee Valley, how does Chris McKay go, what possie does he play, will he be a good player for MV down in Div 2 if he sticks around. Aloi will be a big loss for MV.

Might as well start up a Matthew Pilios knows Essendon District Football thread!

boss said:
Matty do you know anything about Tim Harvey? His name seems to pop up in every conversation when I talk to people about EDFL and recruiting! Apparently a very good player with great skills and will be in the top few in the comp.... Any truth?
Hey Boss, Rhombus is spot on. If Timmy boy keeps his fitness and professionalism spot on and then watch out A Grade defenders. He is a great bloke and really came on once he hit about 22 when playing at Bernard's. He killed them last year at Box Hill. Believe it all not we played a U/10's Premiership together at Maribyrnong Park in 88 and he stayed until U/14's where St Bernards lured him. Another Marby junior gone early. Johnny and brother boxer Timmy Bell also played with us from 12's to early 16's at Marbo.
Timmy on a big ground will be unstoppable and extremely smart also.

My North said:
Eddie sorry I mean Matty you are becoming a very popular person on this thread ;), why is that so??? Anymore news you heard around the traps the other EDFL clubs. How will the new clubs (Roxburgh Park and Sydenham Hillside go in there second season).
Mate how good is this thread!!! I wonder writing to you blokes, that I have probably met or spoken to you all in person sometime.
Rox Park has signed ex Richmond & St Kevins Paul Greanam and are close to signing Ty Zantuck if he decides to stay in Melbourne and not play in the QFL and live with parents up in Noosa. He would be huge. Rox Park were a totally different unit in the 2nd half of past season. Syd will improve, but because of the rise again in comp standard will probably lure at the bottom of the table.
Keilor Park have really come up the ranks over past month recruiting very well. They were in trouble and after losing players like Barclay (APW), C.Smith (g'vale), Brown (Bundoora), Scifo (ret) they have picked up some very talented aboriginal players and about 4 or 5 other good players.
Craigiburn better get moving in recruiting or they might very well do a Tulla in 04. Look out for EK to announce a few strong names over next few weeks and Marby Park may have another massive name to join Weston and Garbutt in the recruiting stacks.

My North said:
Eddie sorry I mean Matty you are becoming a very popular person on this thread ;), why is that so??? Anymore news you heard around the traps the other EDFL clubs. How will the new clubs (Roxburgh Park and Sydenham Hillside go in there second season).
Mate how good is this thread!!! I wonder writing to you blokes, that I have probably met or spoken to you all in person sometime.
Rox Park has signed ex Richmond & St Kevins Paul Greanam and are close to signing Ty Zantuck if he decides to stay in Melbourne and not play in the QFL and live with parents up in Noosa. He would be huge. Rox Park were a totally different unit in the 2nd half of past season. Syd will improve, but because of the rise again in comp standard will probably lure at the bottom of the table.
Keilor Park have really come up the ranks over past month recruiting very well. They were in trouble and after losing players like Barclay (APW), C.Smith (g'vale), Brown (Bundoora), Scifo (ret) they have picked up some very talented aboriginal players and about 4 or 5 other good players.
Craigiburn better get moving in recruiting or they might very well do a Tulla in 04. Look out for EK to announce a few strong names over next few weeks and Marby Park may have another massive name to join Weston and Garbutt in the recruiting stacks.

wheres this new recruit coming from matty another comp or another a grade team keep up the good work do you have any news on douttas recruits

gazza12 said:
hey matty any news on how douttas have gone re signings
Douttas are my personal tip to challenge Strathmore. The loss of Gathercole is going to be huge, but the pick ups of Kade Carey (Wayne's cousin), Mark De Sousa (T.L), another tall, Luke Ryan (M.Valley) and a former 100 goal kicker in country league. Plus the coaching combo of Stevie Kolynuick and Brian Gray will make them have a great year. They are fit and hungry also.

gazza12 said:
wheres this new recruit coming from matty another comp or another a grade team keep up the good work do you have any news on douttas recruits
We must be on at the same time. Brendan Heir is the ex 100 goal kicker for Douttas. A gun, but his body is a worry. Very talented.
Marby's possible new recruit is an ex AFL.

caveman said:
Gday Matty,

What can you tell me about the other B grad clubs like:

North Coburg Saints
Hadfield
Jacana
Pascoe Vale
Roxburgh Park
Sydenham-Hillside

How do you think these clubs will go?

These clubs believe it or not will all field better sides than in 2005. Paco with Ezard coaching and a few new recruits will be okay. Rox Park may be the big improvers. Nth Cob have added a few and are fighting to keep the big T-Train Moughanie who has been offered big $ from Borte.

schimma_20 said:
hey matty, can you tell me anything about how tullamarine has gone with their recruiting for season 2006

Tulla finished the year really well and I thought Simon Isles did a great job.
They decided for an experience coach and got 2004 Runner-Up coach from Paco Ronald Rooney. He has recruited a few to Tulla and they will be dangerous and be pushing for a finals spot. They will be very fit I hear and a dangerous Round 1 game for Marby at Tulla.

Travvy43 said:
Speaking of Moonee Valley, how does Chris McKay go, what possie does he play, will he be a good player for MV down in Div 2 if he sticks around. Aloi will be a big loss for MV.

I am pretty sure Chris McKay is Jamie Dillons cousin from the Valley. He came their late last year and can play. I doubt that he will stay as he is also good mates with Nick ALoi and Karl Norman who have gone up bush.
I think Chris is an on baller or flanker. Good hard player.

Longy413 said:
Is the 'alleged' incident he had a couple of months ago going to effect him?

I haven't read through the whole thread, but has Shaun Smith been mentioned?

Longy, how did you hear about that??? He should be fine. Tough kid.
Shaun Smith playing Ass coach for Skitz. Looks older than 37, but will still be dangerous.

Matthew Pillios said:
Longy, how did you hear about that??? He should be fine. Tough kid.

Not much gets past me ;)
Now, providing we are talking about the same thing, is it within the laws of the game for him to play?

Matthew Pillios said:
Shaun Smith playing Ass coach for Skitz. Looks older than 37, but will still be dangerous.

He's always looked old. The grey hair does it.

Longy413 said:
Not much gets past me ;)
Now, providing we are talking about the same thing, is it within the laws of the game for him to play?

He's always looked old. The grey hair does it.

I'd prefer to keep this topic private, but at the end of the day it is District Footy and not AFL. He is a great kid who has been a great player for years.

Matthew Pillios said:
I'd prefer to keep this topic private, but at the end of the day it is District Footy and not AFL. He is a great kid who has been a great player for years.

Yep. Fair call.

Although I don't think he should be playing I'm happy to leave it there.