EDFL moves

Matthew Pillios said:
I knew he had trained there at Port Melb and as playing, but had heard was keen to also play with Jets occasionally and likely finals.
Wouldn't suprise to see him back if things dont work out to plan.
Does anybody know Jets pickup's other than Anth Aloi and Chris Smith???

Bloomy is going really well at Port. He has signed and looks a great chance to be playing ones. Will be very doubtful to play any games with the Jets this season. Same with another one of their gun kids Ben Clifton. Might be the odd game if their lucky.

The Jets have been very quiet this year. Lost Tate, Garbutt (who hardly played last year) and Bicer witch will hurt. A few others have retired. Collier gone to APW and McLennan looks gone. They have signed a number of quality young players to cover them but they are keeping them under wraps until the season starts. Will be a very young G/vale team on the park this year except for the skipper

Matty I'm not sure about your mail on Buttergieg coz Keilor say he is going nowhere.

Keep hearing rumours about Ogston and Marcy. Are they staying??

tige19 said:
I broke my contract when i was in the VFL system, i quit the club at about round 5 but they never released me. I was playing on Permit with a bloke who is now at Port Melbourne (Adam Cosham) up the bush for the rest of the season.

I never got released and was forced to train like the rest of the blokes and had to play if they wanted me to. I kicked up a huge stink and only ended up playing a couple more games after i quit, the system is rorted rthe VFL clubs just want kids there aas depth nothing else.

And all this talk about how good Bloomfield is, is making me sick.....

cheers

Mate everyone knews who you are. Bloomfield is now and will be twice the player you are. He was a no good at all untill last year but he literally dominated last year. Just coz you didn't play Cannons doesn't mean your no good. Sorry or the GV comp now. Watch him all the time and you'll know. I hope he doesn't go well at Port coz he's an absolute gun for us

tige19 said:
I broke my contract when i was in the VFL system, i quit the club at about round 5 but they never released me. I was playing on Permit with a bloke who is now at Port Melbourne (Adam Cosham) up the bush for the rest of the season.

I never got released and was forced to train like the rest of the blokes and had to play if they wanted me to. I kicked up a huge stink and only ended up playing a couple more games after i quit, the system is rorted rthe VFL clubs just want kids there aas depth nothing else.

And all this talk about how good Bloomfield is, is making me sick.....

cheers

you not the only one to do it. A lot of people want the VFL reserves grade scrapped and the players play in the local comps.

Deefer4 said:
See my other post back to Matt on the contract system. But the whole theme on Bloomfield puzzles me. Rated a "gun" in the EDFL, some people have suggested he would "walk" into a VFL team and even some talk about him getting on a rookie list. Why now this hesitation about his prospects of playing 1's at Port? I have not seen him play that often, so will not judge his overall ability, but with the accolades others have given him, thought he would play 1's or at worst be a regular 2's player. Why the doubt?:confused:

only because he not be up to playing seniors VFL football and may not want to play in high standard VFL Reserves :p

Jett said:
Mate everyone knews who you are. Bloomfield is now and will be twice the player you are. He was a no good at all untill last year but he literally dominated last year. Just coz you didn't play Cannons doesn't mean your no good. Sorry or the GV comp now. Watch him all the time and you'll know. I hope he doesn't go well at Port coz he's an absolute gun for us

Great post that 1.......... actually what did you say???

cheers buddy

Jett said:

Thats a fair call, tige19 he dominated last year and no on is saying he is superstar but the boy can play.:thumbsu:

My North said:
Port Melbourne will be the worse VFL club to go to now. no alligment with a AFL club they will get there arse kicked. Bloomfield will back at greenvale, its a matter of time

That is the reason you would go to a vfl club. At a bad club you get a good go. If your side if affiliated and you are a fringe ones player, you may get squeezed out by an afl rookie or listed player. Seems to be the smartest move to me.

Aussie_dude said:
That is the reason you would go to a vfl club. At a bad club you get a good go. If your side if affiliated and you are a fringe ones player, you may get squeezed out by an afl rookie or listed player. Seems to be the smartest move to me.

There is no such thing as being squeezed out by a afl/rookie listed player, they are picked before a unlisted player no matter what.
Thats how the system works, if players want to go and play(vfl stand alone clubs) and get flogged every week go right ahead.
Stupid if you ask me.

boys the system clearly states now that at least 10 vfl listed players from each affiliated club must play so the mix is 12 afl listed and 10 vfl listed evey week and that rule has been around a few years now

touch of class said:
boys the system clearly states now that at least 10 vfl listed players from each affiliated club must play so the mix is 12 afl listed and 10 vfl listed evey week and that rule has been around a few years now

Yes true, then add ex afl players that are playing there in that 10!
There might be 4 or 5 spots lefted!

tige19 said:
Great post that 1.......... actually what did you say???

cheers buddy

You don't rate the EDFL at all (quite within your rights but I don't agree) but now its other players without every knowing what standard they are at. How many times did you see Bloomfield play last year?

Like I said I know who'd I'd rather have in my team. I'm sorry if that makes you "sick". Say hello to Willa next time you see him.

Cheers Buddy

Matthew Pillios said:
I knew he had trained there at Port Melb and as playing, but had heard was keen to also play with Jets occasionally and likely finals.
Wouldn't suprise to see him back if things dont work out to plan.
Does anybody know Jets pickup's other than Anth Aloi and Chris Smith???

matty would you really rate apw a top 3 chance ? ,
marby
west cob
apw
westm
paccoe

heard ogston playing for doughnut king in 2006 ?

Clearance in . . . . Joel Maurer (Hadfield >>> Broadford). Any EDFL people know anything about this player?

APW whould be decent, got 3 of elthams better players who performed well in DVFL divvy1, which is probably a bit stronger. if Matins fit he;ll kill it.

From all reports, Martin is flying. Missed one session all pre season and is going to be a great on field leader.

APW may not hit top three but i think they will have a say in the finals with their pace and new found experience!!!!!

chiefwiggam said:
matty would you really rate apw a top 3 chance ? ,
marby
west cob
apw
westm
paccoe

heard ogston playing for doughnut king in 2006 ?

Look its tough to say and if I am speaking as a Football Media Person. I would have to rate;
- W.Cob - M.Park (as more than likely to be top 2- both recruited fantastically and both were the best remaining from last year).
- APW - Westy - T.Lakes - Glenroy - Paco (fighting out the other spots, but could easily be a top 2 finish)
- Tulla - Rox Park (if Zantuck plays there) - M.Valley not far behind
- NCSts - Jacan - Syd - Hadfield - bottom group. With the Boppers closer to M.Valley than the others.
The injuries and loss of Big Tarx has to hurt.

Worse thing for the bottom half is that there either better than 05 or around the same, but the standard with all the recruits has obviously risen.

Ogston! Do not know. Would guess on paper will struggle to make it.

caveman said:
Ross Funcke What can you tell me about this Frazier kid? How did he go at Jacana?

Thanks!

frazier = gun... needs a good preseason and his fitness levels will be straight back up there..

just one of those many gifted persons who can play many sports. Is athletic and mobile and will be a very good asset in any side. good bloke too.

Jett said:
You don't rate the EDFL at all (quite within your rights but I don't agree) but now its other players without every knowing what standard they are at. How many times did you see Bloomfield play last year?

Like I said I know who'd I'd rather have in my team. I'm sorry if that makes you "sick". Say hello to Willa next time you see him.

Cheers Buddy

Your wrong mate, i rate the EDFL highly, heaps of the boys play in the league and think highl of it. Its not a blemish to be rated number 6 or 7 in Victoria as far as standard goes. Still a mile behind the GV,O&M,GFL and EFL.

I did weights with Willa this morning and his looking in good nic, trying to get Mark Mcloud up the bush with us i think however that sceeter will be highly unlikely. A gun in his day and when he wants to be.

I would say hello to Willa for you if i knew who you are??

Cheers

Matthew Pillios said:
Look its tough to say and if I am speaking as a Football Media Person. I would have to rate;
- W.Cob - M.Park (as more than likely to be top 2- both recruited fantastically and both were the best remaining from last year).
- APW - Westy - T.Lakes - Glenroy - Paco (fighting out the other spots, but could easily be a top 2 finish)
- Tulla - Rox Park (if Zantuck plays there) - M.Valley not far behind
- NCSts - Jacan - Syd - Hadfield - bottom group.

I agree with most of this Matty, amd looking at the fixtures the 'Bottom Half' teams - Rox Park - M.Valley - NCSts - Jacan - Syd - Hadfield all play one another twice this year while all the 'Top Half' teams play each other twice which will make the ladder a lot more even this year and better matches each week rather than more blow outs like in previous years.

West Coburg and Marby definitely have both recruited the best this year and would have to be standouts, but as or the other teams i think its still very much up in the air.
Look at the ladder for the end of the year last year. Looking at it i cant understand some of your selections for this year

Maribyrnong Park 15 Wins
Craigieburn 15 Wins
Taylors Lakes 13 Wins
West Coburg 12 Wins
Westmeadows 10 Wins 2 Draws
Airport West 11 Wins
Tullamarine 8 Wins
Glenroy 7 Wins
Pascoe Vale 6 Wins
NCSts 6 Wins
Roxburgh Park 6 Wins
Jacana 5 Wins
Hadfield 1 Wins
Sydenham Hillside 1 Wins

Possible Contenders
Airport West - By all reports they have picked up a fair few players so will remain near the top after not losing any big name players
Taylors Lakes - After finishing 3rd and with 13 wins, they have to still be contenders but i thought that they have lost a lot of players this year and Taylors Lakes always relied on a handful of players week in week out.
Westmeadows - Havnt they lost one of their main players K.Ingrahm who was by far the stand-out in the Westmeadows forward line? But i still think they will be there abouts for finals.
Glenroy - Who or what have glenroy recruited or done to jump so highly in contention after only winning 7 games last year? I havnt heard too much about them so i couldnt comment, although they do have a fairly youthful side
Pascoe Vale - This is the main one that i think you have lost me on. Pascoe Vale ended up with only 6wins for the year last year equaling NCSts, Rox Park and one game ahead of Jacana! How could you possibly rate them as a contender. I have heard of no one that they have picked up and if anything have lost players like Meechan who is now at Avondale and a few other players as well.
Tullamarine - I think Tullamarine may try and sneak in for a finals spot but that is all they could really be looking. As with a few of the other sides there have been no real departures from there sides and not too much info around about them but have always been a young side like Glenroy and will only improve but i dont think they will match some other sides with all the recruits they have.
Roxburgh Park - Roxburgh Park could finish higher than some of the better sides this year (due to EDFL and the draw) as they get to play Paco twice, Hadfield twice, Sydenham Hillside twice, Moonee Valley twice but i cant see them being a real threat to the top handful of teams

I was just reading in the local paper, and there was an article on Rox Park and was all about Zantuck and the coach confirming that he is a definite player there this year.

What are other peoples views on the teams? and does anyone have any information about the Taylors Lakes, Glenroy, Tullamarine or Pascoe Vale in how they are all traveling.

RoosterGuy said:
I agree with most of this Matty, amd looking at the fixtures the 'Bottom Half' teams - Rox Park - M.Valley - NCSts - Jacan - Syd - Hadfield all play one another twice this year while all the 'Top Half' teams play each other twice which will make the ladder a lot more even this year and better matches each week rather than more blow outs like in previous years.

West Coburg and Marby definitely have both recruited the best this year and would have to be standouts, but as or the other teams i think its still very much up in the air.
Look at the ladder for the end of the year last year. Looking at it i cant understand some of your selections for this year

Maribyrnong Park 15 Wins
Craigieburn 15 Wins
Taylors Lakes 13 Wins
West Coburg 12 Wins
Westmeadows 10 Wins 2 Draws
Airport West 11 Wins
Tullamarine 8 Wins
Glenroy 7 Wins
Pascoe Vale 6 Wins
NCSts 6 Wins
Roxburgh Park 6 Wins
Jacana 5 Wins
Hadfield 1 Wins
Sydenham Hillside 1 Wins

Possible Contenders
Airport West - By all reports they have picked up a fair few players so will remain near the top after not losing any big name players
Taylors Lakes - After finishing 3rd and with 13 wins, they have to still be contenders but i thought that they have lost a lot of players this year and Taylors Lakes always relied on a handful of players week in week out.
Westmeadows - Havnt they lost one of their main players K.Ingrahm who was by far the stand-out in the Westmeadows forward line? But i still think they will be there abouts for finals.
Glenroy - Who or what have glenroy recruited or done to jump so highly in contention after only winning 7 games last year? I havnt heard too much about them so i couldnt comment, although they do have a fairly youthful side
Pascoe Vale - This is the main one that i think you have lost me on. Pascoe Vale ended up with only 6wins for the year last year equaling NCSts, Rox Park and one game ahead of Jacana! How could you possibly rate them as a contender. I have heard of no one that they have picked up and if anything have lost players like Meechan who is now at Avondale and a few other players as well.
Tullamarine - I think Tullamarine may try and sneak in for a finals spot but that is all they could really be looking. As with a few of the other sides there have been no real departures from there sides and not too much info around about them but have always been a young side like Glenroy and will only improve but i dont think they will match some other sides with all the recruits they have.
Roxburgh Park - Roxburgh Park could finish higher than some of the better sides this year (due to EDFL and the draw) as they get to play Paco twice, Hadfield twice, Sydenham Hillside twice, Moonee Valley twice but i cant see them being a real threat to the top handful of teams

I was just reading in the local paper, and there was an article on Rox Park and was all about Zantuck and the coach confirming that he is a definite player there this year.

What are other peoples views on the teams? and does anyone have any information about the Taylors Lakes, Glenroy, Tullamarine or Pascoe Vale in how they are all traveling.

THat is a good observation by yourself. From what you responded to me;
*Paco, I rate more the bottom half of that group, but were very injury depleted last year and were runners up in 2004. They also pushed Craigie at Craigie when had a decent team to only 9 pts. Yes, Meecham has gone, but they're 18's were good, Ezard I hear has recruited 4 or 5 and if Green, Purcell and Bakker play then they will be much better.
G'Roy have picked up Caulfield, Lawes from O.Park, Rob Powell and Lee Scanells (Nth Heid), 2 from St Bernards and have Dalton fit and for a full year.
*T.Lakes will still be good. Picked up 2 or 3 quality after losing De Sousa and a few others, also had v.strong two's and U/18's last year.

Spoke with Ty yesterday. Told me he's only 80% for Rox Park. I hope he goes there for Rombo's sake.

tige19 said:
Your wrong mate, i rate the EDFL highly, heaps of the boys play in the league and think highl of it. Its not a blemish to be rated number 6 or 7 in Victoria as far as standard goes. Still a mile behind the GV,O&M,GFL and EFL.

I did weights with Willa this morning and his looking in good nic, trying to get Mark Mcloud up the bush with us i think however that sceeter will be highly unlikely. A gun in his day and when he wants to be.

I would say hello to Willa for you if i knew who you are??

Cheers

Arron loves a shoulder press. How is he going tige? Is he still going out with Kristy?

Aussie_dude said:
Arron loves a shoulder press. How is he going tige? Is he still going out with Kristy?

Still with Kristy. Is a massive unit at the moment.

LittleMan said:
Just disappointing that a club you have played for your whole life is going down the ********er because blokes ae walking out. When i was there playing junior there we had a great side and plays that i played with start to leave and chase money. Leigh O'Neal, Danny Campbell, Todd Courts and now Ash Craig. It disappoints me that these plays have left the footy club..because if they were still here then we would be grouse. I guess i stick it out at the club and hopefully one day all these blokes come back.....

littleman your saying that your disappointed with everyone leaving and walking out on jacana then why are you leaving jacana to go to st albans

My North said:
Can he be released from his VFL contract or loaned back to Greenvale if he fail to get a game for Port Melbourne Reserves

I'm good mates with Rhys, he's a very good player, is going to play the 2 games where PM have the bye and i think they both fall on games againt strathmore.

And as for Condon not getting a game at s/more thats rubbish, he will start on ball.