EDFL moves

So will you be playing in the EDFL next year tige? Whats happened to Red Hills?

Nah mate, saying more less it will be good for you ;) blokes to be playing against them next year, I will be happy to just win a game of footy sometime in the near future.

Now Im with you. It would only be a benefit for the EDFL if Sunbury were to enter, definately make the league stronger and make it more then just 2 teams competing for the flag.

You blokes are gonna get a rude shock if you think going to Craigieburn is a pain in the ass with the ground and supporters. Sunbury would be almost impossible to win at, you would have a population of close to 40k supporting the 1 team on a Saturday arvo, and playing on that big oval will present big problems for opposition teams. It will be good to play against them next year, as hard a side physically as you will come across at any level of footy.
I still remember the crowds back in the old rdfl days between crazyburn and sunbury, absolutely huge, maybe they can get that fierce rivalry back

All this talk but sunbury goin 2 go 2 EDFL. dont be surpised if st albans get there first!!!!!!!!!!!!!
st albans is closer and has beta facilites plus pokies so i cant c no reason why the EDFL would put sunbury in b4 st albans!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

also heard sunshine and spotty might b interested 2???????????????????????

All this talk but sunbury goin 2 go 2 EDFL. dont be surpised if st albans get there first!!!!!!!!!!!!!
st albans is closer and has beta facilites plus pokies so i cant c no reason why the EDFL would put sunbury in b4 st albans!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

With all this talk about clubs entering the EDFL, just remember the clubs already here will have to vote them in.

Ahh mate St.Albans facilities cont even register compared to Sunburys, and I would say that Sunbury probably have twice as many poker machines to. The fact the ground has water all year around is just the icing on the cake, you have little idea champ.

I still remember the crowds back in the old rdfl days between crazyburn and sunbury, absolutely huge, maybe they can get that fierce rivalry back

I am probably a bit young to remember them but I do know that Sunbury and Craigieburn have a real dislike for eachother, has been that way ever since juniors, I cant actually ever recall losing to Craigieburn during my juniors and I know alot of those blokes are playing in the ones down their now, no doubt have improved heaps. Craigieburn is basically a mini Sunbury, just more ethnic accepted, give 10 years time and Craigieburn will probably be the same size in regards to population. Craigieburns football ground and social rooms need a making over, but I know they have heaps of support, I managed to get to a game last year and their was a huge crowd, their fanatical.

Ahh mate St.Albans facilities cont even register compared to Sunburys, and I would say that Sunbury probably have twice as many poker machines to. The fact the ground has water all year around is just the icing on the cake, you have little idea champ.

I must have missed the meeting where it was decided footy clubs with pokies were a good thing...?!?!:thumbsdown:
And as the previous post mentions and I mentioned earlier the clubs will vote so as good as Sunbury MIGHT be for the competition as a whole I'm still not convinced the individual clubs will be so inviting....:confused:

Sunbury steps closer to move
space.gif

THE SUNBURY Lions Football Club has moved one step closer to leaving the RegionalOne Ballarat Football League.
Sunbury president Greg Allen confirmed the club would have formal discussions with the Essendon and District Football League about possibly joining the suburban league, after the EDFL agreed on Monday to meet with the
club on a yet to be determined date.
But Allen insisted a possible shift to the EDFL was just one item being considered by Sunbury's future directions committee that was established in 2005, and leaving the BFL was no certainty to happen.
"In 2005 the club established the future directions committee to discuss the club's future, and as part of that review we needed to have discussions with the Sunbury Lions Junior Football Club, the Ballarat Football League and
the EDFL. We had to make an application in order to have formal discussions with the EDFL and we've done that," he said.
Allen, who is also a member of the five-man future directions committee, said the meeting was primarily to provide the club's members with the information to help make a decision about its future.
He said that once the information was obtained the issue would go to a vote of the membership at 2007 annual general meeting.
"From day one the BFL has been aware of this and aware of the existence of the committee," Allen said.
"I won't hide from the fact that the amount of travel is an extremely difficult thing for the club. But we have a situation where the EDFL wants new clubs to enter through B-Grade whereas the Sunbury Football Club has a strong
preference to enter through A-Grade."
The Sunbury Lions Junior Football Club is currently in the Riddell District Junior Football League. If Sunbury joined the EDFL, its junior affiliate would also join, allowing the two to be in the same competition for the first
time since 1997. Allen said Sunbury would meet with the junior football club on July 24 to discuss closer ties and a possible move to the EDFL.
But Ballarat Football League chairman David Smith said he was confident Sunbury would see the sense in staying with the BFL.
"It is a bit early to talk about the future of the Ballarat Football League without Sunbury," he said. "I'm quite convinced the Sunbury Football Club will realise they are in a good position being in the league."

Sunbury steps closer to move
space.gif

THE SUNBURY Lions Football Club has moved one step closer to leaving the RegionalOne Ballarat Football League.
Sunbury president Greg Allen confirmed the club would have formal discussions with the Essendon and District Football League about possibly joining the suburban league, after the EDFL agreed on Monday to meet with the
club on a yet to be determined date.
But Allen insisted a possible shift to the EDFL was just one item being considered by Sunbury's future directions committee that was established in 2005, and leaving the BFL was no certainty to happen.
"In 2005 the club established the future directions committee to discuss the club's future, and as part of that review we needed to have discussions with the Sunbury Lions Junior Football Club, the Ballarat Football League and
the EDFL. We had to make an application in order to have formal discussions with the EDFL and we've done that," he said.
Allen, who is also a member of the five-man future directions committee, said the meeting was primarily to provide the club's members with the information to help make a decision about its future.
He said that once the information was obtained the issue would go to a vote of the membership at 2007 annual general meeting.
"From day one the BFL has been aware of this and aware of the existence of the committee," Allen said.
"I won't hide from the fact that the amount of travel is an extremely difficult thing for the club. But we have a situation where the EDFL wants new clubs to enter through B-Grade whereas the Sunbury Football Club has a strong
preference to enter through A-Grade."
The Sunbury Lions Junior Football Club is currently in the Riddell District Junior Football League. If Sunbury joined the EDFL, its junior affiliate would also join, allowing the two to be in the same competition for the first
time since 1997. Allen said Sunbury would meet with the junior football club on July 24 to discuss closer ties and a possible move to the EDFL.
But Ballarat Football League chairman David Smith said he was confident Sunbury would see the sense in staying with the BFL.
"It is a bit early to talk about the future of the Ballarat Football League without Sunbury," he said. "I'm quite convinced the Sunbury Football Club will realise they are in a good position being in the league."

Its a for gone conclussion that Sunbury will be in the EDFL next year, all the above is doing is confirming that the club has made its decision which way they want to go, I know the junior club is keen as well. The EDFL a few years back invited Sunbury to join via B grade, however Sunbury rejected the idea, I think it would probably be in both parties interest to shove Sunbury straight into A grade.

Anyhow, the most important thing about this is that the EDFL is expanding, it shows how much the league has grown, from a bit part league to a fully fledged power behind only the Eastern FL in Metro Melbourne, Sunbury will only help the cause.

Greg Allen is a great bloke and very smart, he knows the process well and is a very likeable man so I am sure he will have a positive effect when meeting the EDFL.

Thoughts??

You blokes are gonna get a rude shock if you think going to Craigieburn is a pain in the ass with the ground and supporters. Sunbury would be almost impossible to win at, you would have a population of close to 40k supporting the 1 team on a Saturday arvo, and playing on that big oval will present big problems for opposition teams. It will be good to play against them next year, as hard a side physically as you will come across at any level of footy.
Having lived in Sunbury for the past 23 years I can tell you, that you are way off the mark saying that the 40k residents of Sunbury would support that club.
Yes, they are a very strong club, their record speaks for itself, but they do not have the majority of support from the Sunbury community.
They would be on par with a new up and coming club in Rupertswood. Both clubs each have no fewer than 12 junior teams in the RDFL, Sunbury 2 senior and 1 thirds team competing in the BFL, Rupertswood have 2 senior and 2 thirds teams competing in the VAFA.
There would lucky to be 200-250 locals watching at each home venue of a Saturday. Sunbury's only financial loss by coming to the EDFL would be the loss of revenue through gate takings.
Also Clarke Oval is only marginly bigger than Buckley Park, so I don't think it would be a disadvantage for visiting teams.
But generally, I beleive it would a great move to have Sunbury in the EDFL. Put them straight into A grade with the premiers from B Grade and make it a 12 team comp, 22 round season with a top 5. Or another option could be relegate the bottom 2 teams from A grade this season, promote the B grade premiers plus add Sunbury to A grade.
Anyway, come on all you EDFL clubs, support the move and make the EDFL one of the strongest comps going around. or vote against it and watch the continued dominance of Greenvale & Strathmore for many many years to come. :rolleyes:

Having lived in Sunbury for the past 23 years I can tell you, that you are way off the mark saying that the 40k residents of Sunbury would support that club.
Yes, they are a very strong club, their record speaks for itself, but they do not have the majority of support from the Sunbury community.
They would be on par with a new up and coming club in Rupertswood. Both clubs each have no fewer than 12 junior teams in the RDFL, Sunbury 2 senior and 1 thirds team competing in the BFL, Rupertswood have 2 senior and 2 thirds teams competing in the VAFA.
There would lucky to be 200-250 locals watching at each home venue of a Saturday. Sunbury's only financial loss by coming to the EDFL would be the loss of revenue through gate takings.
Also Clarke Oval is only marginly bigger than Buckley Park, so I don't think it would be a disadvantage for visiting teams.
But generally, I beleive it would a great move to have Sunbury in the EDFL. Put them straight into A grade with the premiers from B Grade and make it a 12 team comp, 22 round season with a top 5. Or another option could be relegate the bottom 2 teams from A grade this season, promote the B grade premiers plus add Sunbury to A grade.
Anyway, come on all you EDFL clubs, support the move and make the EDFL one of the strongest comps going around. or vote against it and watch the continued dominance of Greenvale & Strathmore for many many years to come. :rolleyes:

Well said, I'd vote for you.... LOL. I think I'm sold on Sunbury joining BUT I think the worst thing that could happen would be for KP to stay in A grade next year which would occur via one of your suggestions. Also It would be a tragedy for Abers, part of the A grade furniture, to go down to B grade off the back of the other suggestion. However it's going to work, I would think in fairness to clubs the league would need to stipulate the change prior to the season starting which means I think it would be more likely to happen in 2009?? A little harsh to move such significant goal posts mid or end of season.....

Agreed to let them in,but they must start in b grade like every one else.
I dont think teams like Airport West would like them going straight into A grade.Bring the 2 grand final teams up from B grade because they have work hard to get their.

F**k Off Taylors Pretenders

Steve Smith has shocking body odour

Taylors Lakes have already won the grand final in round 9 when they beat Marby, celebrations was way over the top after the game. Look at Lakes since then 1 win (against Moonee Valley) and 2 losses, currently sitting 6, and play Tulla this week. Lakes may miss finals all together, what may save them is a few the teams play each other and some play Marby.

The lack of support at SOME home games is due to the fact that their is no history/rivalry with any of the Ballarat league sides, its a pointless unattractive spectacle to supporters. The only time the crowds start to grow is when Melton have a descent side which is rarely, going back 10 years Clarke oval full everytime the club played Gisborne,Riddel,Craigieburn etc etc.

Moving to the EDFL would ignite some fierce rivalries, Greenvale vs Sunbury will be huge as would a Keilor vs Sunbury, once this happens the crowds will grow rapidly. You have to remember their is history and little carefactor for Ballarat and the clubs Sunbury play against, also when these Ballarat teams come to Sunbury none of their supporters are with them. Big Big difference being local.

It would be silly for the EDFL to put them in A grade, as I said it would be a write off for every other side in the league and Sunbury it self, everygame would be a training run and pointless for the league.

I wasnt at the game on sat but the league need to have a good look at the age of umpires at games some of these kids are to young to control situations like this and they are putting young kids at risk

Is this the leagues response to the incident at Marby Park ????

Is there an investigation ??

B Senior
A Garbutt Maribyrnong Park - Striking - Guilty - 2 Matches

B Reserves
M Ferraro Hadfield - Misconduct - Not Guilty
M Allouche Hadfield - Elbowing - Guilty - 1 Match
J Karaan Hadfield - Abusive & threatening language to umpire - Not Guilty

Set Penalty
B Reserves
C Price Maribyrnong Park - Striking - Guilty - 2 Matches
A Alameddine Hadfield - Abusive & Insulting Language - Guilty - 2 Matches

Is this the leagues response to the incident at Marby Park ????

Is there an investigation ??

B Senior
A Garbutt Maribyrnong Park - Striking - Guilty - 2 Matches

B Reserves
M Ferraro Hadfield - Misconduct - Not Guilty
M Allouche Hadfield - Elbowing - Guilty - 1 Match
J Karaan Hadfield - Abusive & threatening language to umpire - Not Guilty

Set Penalty
B Reserves
C Price Maribyrnong Park - Striking - Guilty - 2 Matches
A Alameddine Hadfield - Abusive & Insulting Language - Guilty - 2 Matches

you can hardly blame the league, why then DIDNT marby want an investigation into the incident, why, coz they knew that thye too were responsible.

With Sunbury more than likely joining the EDFL B grade next year does this turn the heat up further on Marbo this year? If they drop this years Grand Final they would need to recruit more again to match Sunbury as Sunbury this year would be a top 3 A grade side.

Good point KA. Maybe a reason for them not to vote for Sunbury:(