EDFL Premier Division 2016

Marbi by 3 points. Shaun Whyatt kicks a goal as the siren goes to get them over the line. Unbelievable finish. Avondale stiff considering they took the lead with a minute to go.
Glad I went down to watch.
Any other results ?
Greenvale by 32 over Strathmore
Pacco by 116 over APW
Keilor by 100 over West Coburg
Abers by 22 over Douttas

Good effort by Douttas who took it right up to Abers. Smith, Clothier and no 72 with the bun were prominent for Douttas. McLean, Lynch and Blackwell excelled for Abers.

Marbi by 3 points. Shaun Whyatt kicks a goal as the siren goes to get them over the line. Unbelievable finish. Avondale stiff considering they took the lead with a minute to go.
Glad I went down to watch.
Any other results ?

That goal cost me as I would have picked 5 winners and pretty close margins (except the Keilor margin) and got some acknowledgement finely.. Haha

Heard Clouston was good for Avondale as well. Good win considering Hollow yellow carded during the game..

I ventured down to watch Airport West v Pacco. As expected Pacco to strong. Very fiery 1st half with a few small spot fires and Airport West battling hard against the odds. Airport West #25 reported I believe. But the 3rd & 4th quarter was all Paccos with Airport West kicking a few goals in the last. #17 at fullback for Airport West did a very good job on Warren especially considering the amount of ball going in. Was only young but stuck to his task all day. Cupido played up forward and was disappointing. Pretty young side with a 15yr old #23 playing his first senior game. Hopefully he can pass on his knowledge. Pacco had a lot of good players as could be expected in a big win..

That goal cost me as I would have picked 5 winners and pretty close margins (except the Keilor margin) and got some acknowledgement finely.. Haha

Heard Clouston was good for Avondale as well. Good win considering Hollow yellow carded during the game..

I ventured down to watch Airport West v Pacco. As expected Pacco to strong. Very fiery 1st half with a few small spot fires and Airport West battling hard against the odds. Airport West #25 reported I believe. But the 3rd & 4th quarter was all Paccos with Airport West kicking a few goals in the last. #17 at fullback for Airport West did a very good job on Warren especially considering the amount of ball going in. Was only young but stuck to his task all day. Cupido played up forward and was disappointing. Pretty young side with a 15yr old #23 playing his first senior game. Hopefully he can pass on his knowledge. Pacco had a lot of good players as could be expected in a big win..

All AH's forwards were prominent. Marbi dropped off after qtr time until 10 to go in the 3rd. Arm wrestle after that.

Strathmore 0-3. Unlikely finalists. What happens now with all the recruits they've brought in ? Surely the coach has to be looked at ?

Did Cupido seem like a positive influence on the game or team at all ?

Good question Bonts. I'm not on the inside mate so couldn't give you a lot of detail other than what I saw today. In the first quarter after some very minor push & shove between only a small group of players he ran in and just pushed a player to the ground.. Free kick.. Not a real good example. It was nothing to aggressive but no real need for it.
He did make the point of taking players from the ground for 50mt penalties. From what I seen he didn't do enough as a player for what his supposedly getting paid. He really should be fitter to be playing premier and then could go into the middle on occasions to lead his team. It's his fitness that the club would see as being a big problem. Even forward you would expect him to kick a few goals on talent alone.
Also Rogers is heavily built as well so 2 big slower types can see quick turnovers. But Rogers did play ok and battle hard and always provides a target & contest. His gives you effort..

Several years out of Premier Division doesn't appear to have dampened the run and carry of Marby's Brendon Hollow. BOG yesterday and named in best the week prior. Gun player I reckon.

His a gun Silver as you know. Gives everything each week and tough as nails. He did at Marby last year. His pretty loyal and doesn't miss many games.

Yes I knew that ... best not to post while eating a burger and drinking a beer. To many things to focus on.

Was Marby's imrovement predicted?

Yes I knew that ... best not to post while eating a burger and drinking a beer. To many things to focus on.

To a point yes, they've got quite a few ex vfl types running around but I think that it's just how much that they've improved that's surprised people so far.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk

To a point yes, they've got quite a few ex vfl types running around but I think that it's just how much that they've improved that's surprised people so far.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk

To answer that I will say this... Marby are a Proud club who are doing all the right things. Any club that Castello is coaching will always be competitive and play in the right spirit. Castello is ripper guy. Will show his team the right way win or lose. His a class act.

And what a difference a week makes in footy hey? No one want to say how Potter can't coach this week?

Looks like a really good comp this year. Abers still favs for mine but the gap is closing with Greenvale and Keilor. Was interested in the Marby result. Looks like they got out of jail. Was Avondale's a better performance than last week or Marby a step down from Keilor and a bit of an abberation their result last week against Abers

Tough for the mores to now play finals. Everything would have to go right. Is it time to save some cash, clear out some higher paid players and play some kids?

I think all the talk about potter being an average coach is rubbish. Further focus needs to be put onto the players and how much they work to execute his plans, week one they struggled, week two they executed.

For mine the top teams have to be Keilor, Greenvale, Abers then hot on their heals you have Eds, Marby, Paco. Not sold on Avondale, if they were the real deal would have put away Marby on the weekend who played very patchy footy and let them back into the game. Strathmore seem a rung below at this stage and have a point to prove moving forward, they need to produce results asap but i cant really judge as i haven't seen them play in person.

The big key is injuries over the next 6 weeks (captain obvious statement), the effect that this has on teams will be crucial to the progress of the above teams and whether they have the depth to cover them.

Talking points from last weekends footy:

Strathmore not living up to the hype???
Are Keilor, Abers and Greenvale a cut above the pack of EDS, Marby and Paco??

How can a coach who just won a flag in an unbeaten season be considered an average coach.. Regardless of the wealth at his disposal that is impressive and after 1 loss is the most ridiculous thing i have ever heard.

There are just a few people who seem to have an axe to grind when in comes to Potter - 1 bad game in just over a year of coaching Abers,
yup, shithouse. :rolleyes:

So 2 rounds in,
Contenders - Jets, Keilor, Abers
Pretenders - Pacco, Doutta's, Mores, Marby
No Hopers - West Coburg, Avondale, APW

A bit early to be that emphatic. But i think the current form suggests that the top 3 at least are close to the money.

Some interesting games this week. Douttas and Greenvale should be a belter. Will give us better indications on both teams chances this year. Airport West and Strathmore both looking for their first win. The 1st semi final replay of Keilor and Paco. Marby playing their bogey team in West Coburg promises to be a close game and Avondale trying to keep their season alive against an Abers side that seems to have bounced back into form after an abberation first up.

We'll find out a bit more after this weekends games but has the points system evened up the comp a bit? On face value it seems to have so far with some results thrown up that no one really expected

G'vale by 28
S'more by 65
Keilor by 24
West by 15
Abers by 40