EDFL Premier Division 2016

The EDFL forum is one of the most visited on this site and there's no doubt it's lively most of the time. No real trouble makers or rubbish like you might get on some other boards. Credit to everyone across the active threads who keep this forum thriving. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

I will start something completely made up but makes sense given Abers got destroyed in the ruck and will be wanting to improve.

Cameron Wood to Abers.

Makes sense but think Avondale will also have a crack at Wood through his aliance with the playing group and they also are in desperate need of a ruckman.

Mabon from Abers did come with big wraps from all reports. So what was the issue with him this season. Did he underestimate the competetion or wasn't suited by the space and game style of EDFL footy.

Hearing a bit of gossip that Nat Caruso will be capt/coach of Greenvale. Was it part of the deal involved in getting him to Greenvale? I honestly would be surprised if a club like Greenvale went down this path, but it's possible.

Word around Mad Monday was in talks with a current AFL assistant coach to coach Greenvale next year. His team still involved was they will sit down have a chat to him see what's happening for 2017

Interesting. Pretty sure Rocky won't go back to metro level so soon. It will be interesting if in fact Nat got the job after hearing rumours of some disharmony down there via this forum only! However there was no disharmony in the semi when they played as a team to beat PV.
What I will commend GV or Grant on, is there bench coaches looked so professional in all there club attire & pants on the boundary line.
Should be a popular job with there list and there younger group of players. All seemed to have fair strength for their age. But the shortage of numbers coming up through 19s will be an issue. Hearing they might not field a side in this age group. Oh well they will no doubt recover.

would paxman be a chance? Dont know how he is held at greenvale but knows the place and edgl inside out. If he had won the 2s premiership would that have helped

Can't see Paxman doing the senior role mate, but yes it's possible. Didn't set the world on fire when coaching Pacco but I guess a different environment and he did play at GV so will have support I guess.
Probably be a good right hand man for Nat if he gets the job, as his been very loyal to GV.

Hayden Skipworth?

Stood as close as I could (yes, I ear wigged) to Clinkers having a great chat with Nat Grima at the WRFL g/f on Sunday. Parting words from clinkers were "I'll give you a ring and we'll catch up next week."
Before I get screamed down, I know the ties to Strathmore with both men. Funnier things have happened.

nahas delisted, reckon somebody will pay for him in EDFL?

Do we all think the points & salary cap now make it difficult to recruit players like Nahas who probably still has a few good years ahead of him.

I do kind of agree with the points system to a point, but i don't agree with the following:
1- players who are leading goal kickers or high in the B&F count are allocated extra points, just for being good players.

2- if you are from the country and working in metro area you should have points reduced somewhat.

3- if your junior club only had juniors you should be 2 points. Love the idea of heading back to your junior club but not all players had one with senior affiliation.

4- if your junior club is in a lower grade than you wish to play you should have a reduction of points. Why should you be disadvantaged just for playing the best standard you can. It's not the players fault their home club might be struggling.

Views???

1) I see where you're coming from but it limits the ability to skim the best from rival clubs which is good. Galea/Caruso are premium players so come with premium points tallies.
2) disagree, metro clubs get enough of a leg up as is, if anything more needs to be done to encourage blokes to return to their hometowns. (I admit bias here)
3) agree.
4) again, I don't think we should be encouraging blokes to depart, for examples sake, Keilor Park to join Keilor, Roxy to G'vale or Hadfield to Pacco. Helping your own club achieve success should be encouraged..

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk

EDFL Premier Division 2016