EDFL Premier Division

• Thread starter Thread starter muppet007

Definitely sounds as though it was the match of the round, well done Marby.
Turbo's mob are looking extremely dangerous as well.
Yes, despite Turbos desperately trying to maintain the Alan Jeans " 1 week at a time " line, Pacco are looking very,very good.
Standouts so far obviously Abers, Pacco and Jets. Honourable mention to Marby.

Avondale have certainly started off poorly with 2 big defeats. Was not expecting that.

Greenvale looking very strong. Only lost to Abers away from home by 9 points round 1and then made a mess of Avondale who look like they might struggle to make the 4. IMO Greenvale are the dark horse and have a winning culutre that will see them right in the mix.

Yes, despite Turbos desperately trying to maintain the Alan Jeans " 1 week at a time " line, Pacco are looking very,very good.
Standouts so far obviously Abers, Pacco and Jets. Honourable mention to Marby.

Avondale have certainly started off poorly with 2 big defeats. Was not expecting that.

G'day Boys,
Yes Pacco are looking the goods. All recruits have fitted into the side really well. They still have a couple of players to come back from injury to.

I did predict Warren could kick more than Galea/Rose. Do far it's 16 goals vs 8 goals.

Think Avondale might sack Ghazi and appoint his assistant Anthony Eames. They won't beat Abers and then they play Keilor. I think if they are 0-4 or cop another big loss against Abers he will need to go. Rumours out of Avondale they recruited to many outside players.

Hey boys, there has been some big winning margins over the first 2 rounds. I'm sure the league wouldn't be happy to see such one sided results in premier. Can understand West Coburg will battle as most clubs do in there first year up in premier, but they seem to ok this far. However Northern Saints and Airport West appear worse off than last year which is concerning.
What's happened at Airport West, losing so many players. Is it because a change of coach or is it a money issue..
Northern Saints results are very concerning through seniors, reserves, 18s. They probably admit they don't have the big budget of other teams and have lost a few good players.
Now Avondale have received some heavy defeats from teams outsides the finals last year. They have a big budget but are struggling early season.

What do we think of sides having 2 under 18 sides, with Abers having 3. All these clubs are the ones going well in premier. Extra players bring in extra income.

My other question is the grounds will have extra traffic with these u18 games so hopefully it doesn't affect the ground surfaces when the weather goes bad..

With Northern there 1st 40 minutes on Saturday was fantastic trailing by only 9pts half way through the 2nd quarter. They don't have the ability to sustain the pressure that is needed in Premier football for the whole 4 quarters. They have lost 5 out of there top 6 players (Nat, Stocco, Rocky, Jed and Ozdemir). This will hurt any club let alone Northern. There recruits are only kids and are still finding there feet in A- Grade.

Well said...

A club up against it but they certainly have some some of the more hospitable people doing the hard yards for the club...

Hey boys, there has been some big winning margins over the first 2 rounds. I'm sure the league wouldn't be happy to see such one sided results in premier. Can understand West Coburg will battle as most clubs do in there first year up in premier, but they seem to ok this far. However Northern Saints and Airport West appear worse off than last year which is concerning.
What's happened at Airport West, losing so many players. Is it because a change of coach or is it a money issue..
Northern Saints results are very concerning through seniors, reserves, 18s. They probably admit they don't have the big budget of other teams and have lost a few good players.
Now Avondale have received some heavy defeats from teams outsides the finals last year. They have a big budget but are struggling early season.

What do we think of sides having 2 under 18 sides, with Abers having 3. All these clubs are the ones going well in premier. Extra players bring in extra income.

My other question is the grounds will have extra traffic with these u18 games so hopefully it doesn't affect the ground surfaces when the weather goes bad..

Abers have 2 Under 18 sides mate not 3 - we also have a team in the "thirds" which is open age.

Well said...

A club up against it but they certainly have some some of the more hospitable people doing the hard yards for the club...

Yes, Puff, this is why I have developed a shine for the club because of it's people. They are really good people, and always feel good when I am down there. I understand that they are trying hard to change their image and bring quite a number of disciplines to the place. They don't have the cash, but this doesn't mean they don't have the passion which seems to be etched on many of the hard working people down there.

Anyway, Mark Blake played a blinder on Saturday, just too big and strong for the Saints ruckman who always battles his heart out. Really polished side. Game was played in great spirits and understand that this was the case from 18's up, so congrats to Northern on that. They will perform better, but as they are undergoing changes they may have to go backwards first to go forward. This is there first crack at A grade, they will be better for it if they drop down.

Hey Weeney & My North,
Heard that there was a few words spoken between the Keilor Coach and a prominent Marby ex player post game. It was close to blows I'm told..
My source tells me the Marby person wasn't happy about Keilor mentioning that Marby should be a B Grade club.. Now that's not nice if true..
No love loss between these 2 teams as a few years back at Keilor it was nearly on after the game between supporters.

Interesting to hear from the Marby and Keilor people on here about there version of events..

Hey Weeney & My North,
Heard that there was a few words spoken between the Keilor Coach and a prominent Marby ex player post game. It was close to blows I'm told..
My source tells me the Marby person wasn't happy about Keilor mentioning that Marby should be a B Grade club.. Now that's not nice if true..
No love loss between these 2 teams as a few years back at Keilor it was nearly on after the game between supporters.

Interesting to hear from the Marby and Keilor people on here about there version of events..

It's always a fiery clash with Keilor. I'm led to believe that Mick had been bad mouthing Marbi to one of Castellos mates. It fired the team right up and probably sparked the second half come back.
People have been saying Marbi aren't an A grade team since they came up from B grade. That was 9 years and 2 A grade flags ago. Travelling along nicely.
I'm not sure about the fight afterwards. Do you know the ex player involved ??
Would've been hard for Mick to swallow that loss. To be honest though, if Marbi had of been switched on from the start it would have been a 10 goal win. They are very stiff to not be 2-0 if you ask me.
What game did you get to on the weekend, Turbo ?

It's always a fiery clash with Keilor. I'm led to believe that Mick had been bad mouthing Marbi to one of Castellos mates. It fired the team right up and probably sparked the second half come back.
People have been saying Marbi aren't an A grade team since they came up from B grade. That was 9 years and 2 A grade flags ago. Travelling along nicely.
I'm not sure about the fight afterwards. Do you know the ex player involved ??
Would've been hard for Mick to swallow that loss. To be honest though, if Marbi had of been switched on from the start it would have been a 10 goal win. They are very stiff to not be 2-0 if you ask me.
What game did you get to on the weekend, Turbo ?

Wasn't sure if you can put names down but was Scotty Agresta.

Mate I went to watch a VFL game and then attended the Hillside vs East Keilor game from quarter time with some mates.. The VFL was good, but very cold and wet after half time at Hillside watching from front of clubrooms not the best viewing spot..
Going to watch the next few Pacco games if I can get a car spot within walking distance. Trying to get council to put some netting up behind the goals as Pacco are kicking plenty.. Lol

Mate, I'm glad Marby are going well.. Good stuff..

Turbo you can't contain your excitement can you mate?

Not sure how many times on here you have said that you "don't follow any particular club", but now it's all a bit much and it's Pacco Pacco Pacco. Good for you mate !!

Mate I went to watch a VFL game and then attended the Hillside vs East Keilor game from quarter time with some mates.. The VFL was good, but very cold and wet after half time at Hillside watching from front of clubrooms not the best viewing spot..
Going to watch the next few Pacco games if I can get a car spot within walking distance. Trying to get council to put some netting up behind the goals as Pacco are kicking plenty.. Lol

Not sure why you would mention names turbo. But anyhow.
My take on what happened is this. Scotty Agresta is as staunch as you can get and he is one bloke that won't stand for marbys name to be dragged through the mud by a grub such as McGuane. And if McGuane is looking to pick up recruits like castellos mate then he should be careful as to who he bad mouths when speaking to potential recruits.

Not sure why you would mention names turbo. But anyhow.
My take on what happened is this. Scotty Agresta is as staunch as you can get and he is one bloke that won't stand for marbys name to be dragged through the mud by a grub such as McGuane. And if McGuane is looking to pick up recruits like castellos mate then he should be careful as to who he bad mouths when speaking to potential recruits.

Ok fair enough but it wasn't anything untoward or vindictive towards any person and someone asked the question. I do understand Scotty is very staunch and good for him.
Anyway thanks for clearing this up mate. I know they have chased Castello for a while before he went to Marby as well.

Anyway winners are winners yeah!!

Good to see Pacco going well too, I played most of my junior career there many years ago.
Can they sustain it all year ?? Time will tell.

which VFL game did you watch?

Good to see Pacco going well too, I played most of my junior career there many years ago.
Can they sustain it all year ?? Time will tell.

Hey Weeney, if the sustain it till they meet Abers in round 7 won't that game be an absolute cracker with the quality midfields of both sides.. But it's a long way till then and need to beat some other very good sides before then..

I heard on the VFL footy channel on Saturday that Brock McLean is doing commentary every second week. Does this mean he will miss every second game or get there and play the last half as the VFL start earlier.. Interesting!! Hopefully someone from Abers can confirm or deny this.

Got down 2 see the Abers v northern game. Couldn't take much away from it but did notice mark lynch. In my opinion he may be Abers best player.

Has anyone noticed that the edfl web site is not being updated and very ordinary compared to previous years.
They should look at the Northern Footy League site as its one of the best going around. Surely they could put down a quick review or something.

Has anyone noticed that the edfl web site is not being updated and very ordinary compared to previous years.
They should look at the Northern Footy League site as its one of the best going around. Surely they could put down a quick review or something.
You certainly have some pull Turbos mail ..... Just had a look at the website and it's been updated .... someone has been asleep on the job ,also round one's results weren't in the paper ...... Not good enough .....your right the NFL site is a long way in front. People are getting paid to run the league .... On field the standard is rising but we are let down by things like this