EDFL Premier Division

• Thread starter Thread starter muppet007

Went along in horrible weather to watch an entertaining game between MARBY and northern. Marby shot out of the blocks to a huge lead early, but credit to Northern for sticking at it and avoiding a 100+ loss. But that's where the credit for Northern ends unfortunately. I've watched them as they have have come thru B Grade to premier and the one thing that doesn't change is their ability to snipe and cheap shot whoever is standing near them. Wasnt a great advert for the edfl today.

If true this crap needs to be stamped out by the league as when people that do this get whacked back, they usually crap there pants and whinge to the umpire or league.. I don't condone violence but hate cowards..

Our league has hit the news tonight after an incident at the Burnside vs Haddy under 18 game. A kid who looks to be wearing a burnside jumper, taken by ambulance and the game abandon due to a king hit an all in brawl. Police called as spectators involved I believe.
I wasn't there but now that's 2 incidents in the space of 4 home and away games in where police called. Last game last year trouble at EDS vs Nth Saints made the news.
Really players need to be rubbed out and clubs suspended for 12 months if it's happening, as it's the club culture and individuals they have. Coaches and officials can stamp this out as they can see it coming or know players have tempers but some coaches and club people actually encourage it but don't accept responsibility. Why do spectators get involved?? THIS IS FACT. Why warn them or put them on bonds, kick them out altogether I say...
If you want to fight go in the ring, but then it's one on one and they will most often get the sh## punched out of them..

Anyway that my grudge for the week..

Went along in horrible weather to watch an entertaining game between MARBY and northern. Marby shot out of the blocks to a huge lead early, but credit to Northern for sticking at it and avoiding a 100+ loss. But that's where the credit for Northern ends unfortunately. I've watched them as they have have come thru B Grade to premier and the one thing that doesn't change is their ability to snipe and cheap shot whoever is standing near them. Wasnt a great advert for the edfl today.

Don't know what game you were watching but Marby instigated the incident, what number 15 did was a shit effort hit a bloke behind play. The umpires are terrible and need to take control. If they aren't up to A- Grade don't umpire. How do you report two blokes from Northern. They can't be replaced but Marbi's player was also reported but he could be replaced. Absolute joke.......

Ok Cmon fill us in milk man. Were you watching the entire incident??? No15 is only a young bloke isn't he..

Definitely watched the whole incident, ball was in Northern's forward line, number 15 turned around and whacked 19 from Northern on the wing. Northern had kicked 6 goals to 1 in the 3rd and were coming hard at Marbi before the incident. As I said before the umpires are terrible and they need to take control of the game. Number 19 was taken to hospital.

Half truth! Entertaining game - True. Sniping by Northern players, not true. No 19 from Northern is in hospital tonight, how do you suppose he got there? What incident riled the players? For those that were there it was clear, for those of you who didn't see it like you Turbo who seem to be itching to have a go at the club, you really need to get your facts rights, as you seem to shoot off and pontificate without basis and or before acceptances, especially when you weren't there.

The incident happened at a time when Northern seemed to have complete control and were only about 8 points down. The boy that went down is one tough nut, so him in hospital and unable to complete the game indicates he was hit, in let;s say an unfair and unexpected manner.

Did the Northern players get incensed? Yes, a melee started, umpires no control, and offcourse it was going to continue at 3/4 time. Did the Northern players snipe, absolutely not, were they ferocious in the melee, yes. Acceptable no, understandable yes.

Other than this, it was a good game, no animosity afterwards in the rooms, quite friendly and in good spirits, actually, so let's make sure that the truth is spoken yeah...Congrats to Marby they played an unbelievable first quarter being 9 goals up, but well fought back Northern.

The only other thing i'll say is the Northern President and his committee, or who ever runs the club need to be more supportive and protective of the club. The Marby people were. Well done.

Bad start for Northern but they won the last 3 quarters to "only" go down 115 to 148.

CDa6CEHWgAE4LV7.jpg:large

All Australian, which website is this scorecard from? Is the score updated several times during the games or only at the end of the game?

Bad start for Northern but they won the last 3 quarters to "only" go down 115 to 148.

All Australian, which website is this scorecard from? Is the score updated several times during the games or only at the end of the game?
Go to EDFL website. www.essendondfl.com.au. Then click on Facebook icon which is up near top right, just under Bendigo Bank advert. Scores generally updated within 10 minutes of the end of each quarter.

Half truth! Entertaining game - True. Sniping by Northern players, not true. No 19 from Northern is in hospital tonight, how do you suppose he got there? What incident riled the players? For those that were there it was clear, for those of you who didn't see it like you Turbo who seem to be itching to have a go at the club, you really need to get your facts rights, as you seem to shoot off and pontificate without basis and or before acceptances, especially when you weren't there.

The incident happened at a time when Northern seemed to have complete control and were only about 8 points down. The boy that went down is one tough nut, so him in hospital and unable to complete the game indicates he was hit, in let;s say an unfair and unexpected manner.

Did the Northern players get incensed? Yes, a melee started, umpires no control, and offcourse it was going to continue at 3/4 time. Did the Northern players snipe, absolutely not, were they ferocious in the melee, yes. Acceptable no, understandable yes.

Other than this, it was a good game, no animosity afterwards in the rooms, quite friendly and in good spirits, actually, so let's make sure that the truth is spoken yeah...Congrats to Marby they played an unbelievable first quarter being 9 goals up, but well fought back Northern.

The only other thing i'll say is the Northern President and his committee, or who ever runs the club need to be more supportive and protective of the club. The Marby people were. Well done.

Hey Goalside,
Not sure why your having a "slight" crack at me as I didn't see the game nor mention any names or directing my annoyance at any particular club, just stating the facts that the league seems to be losing some control over recent times.
I'm sick to death of people defending clubs as they need to show leadership on the ground and off the ground. I don't care if the club is top or bottom as the game needs to be played in good spirit. Play hard but fair that's my motto!!
I know you seem to show passion in your posts and it's going to be a challenge for your club this year but you must develop players for any future success. Take up the challenge and learn from the better players in this competion. This will get you respect.
In regards to any comments regarding one sided results it can be no fault of the club if you are developing players but my point is the league won't be happy as "we" all want to see a close competion. Surely you agree with this no matter what division it's in..

Let me tell you there are worse completions than the EDFL "but" we are starting to get a bad name and it's not referring to this game. 2 recent U18 games and a div1 GF a few years ago have all made news headlines.. THATS FACT so no point defending it..

Anyway all the best to you!!

Twitter, the edfl twitter account!

Goalside what does this mean?

Low scoring, but hard fought and entertaining match between Keilor and Pacco. Pacco had well deserved win by 2 goals after being 30 points up halfway through the last. Vespremi played a binder for Pacco, also Randello and Harris. Gourdis and Bathie played well for Keilor. Warren well held. Both teams would need to improve significantly to challenge Abers and Greenvale.

What do you reckon Turbos?

Low scoring, but hard fought and entertaining match between Keilor and Pacco. Pacco had well deserved win by 2 goals after being 30 points up halfway through the last. Vespremi played a binder for Pacco, also Randello and Harris. Gourdis and Bathie played well for Keilor. Warren well held. Both teams would need to improve significantly to challenge Abers and Greenvale.

What do you reckon Turbos?

Hey Stax,
I also attended the game and it was a tight, hard contest. Keilor did have 8 backman for most of the game trying to keep it a low scoring game. A lot a good fair tackles and good fair hits in a tight contest.

Agree with your views on best players..

The ground condition is pretty bad as the whole middle was just mud which also didn't help. The ground was just redone as well so it's disappointing as it does affect the spectacle and probably suited Keilor.

I also thought the umpiring was very good in which 1 was a female so well done to them. Although not sure why 2 free kicks were given in the centre to Keilor after Pacco kicked goals. I did see big Deano run in to protect his team mate but didn't think it deserved a free kick and not sure about the other.

Pacco have some strong bodies and play a physical brand of footy and look after one another, which tells me they have really gelled together..

Pacco still have a few out and Urghart didn't play as well.

What did you think of the ruck duals? I thought it was about even and Browne didn't have a major impact as he usually does.

I thought Caruso (4) Robbins (22) and Taylor (7) were also very good.

Hey Stax,
I also attended the game and it was a tight, hard contest. Keilor did have 8 backman for most of the game trying to keep it a low scoring game. A lot a good fair tackles and good fair hits in a tight contest.

Agree with your views on best players..

The ground condition is pretty bad as the whole middle was just mud which also didn't help. The ground was just redone as well so it's disappointing as it does affect the spectacle and probably suited Keilor.

I also thought the umpiring was very good in which 1 was a female so well done to them. Although not sure why 2 free kicks were given in the centre to Keilor after Pacco kicked goals. I did see big Deano run in to protect his team mate but didn't think it deserved a free kick and not sure about the other.

Pacco have some strong bodies and play a physical brand of footy and look after one another, which tells me they have really gelled together..

Pacco still have a few out and Urghart didn't play as well.

What did you think of the ruck duals? I thought it was about even and Browne didn't have a major impact as he usually does.

I thought Caruso (4) Robbins (22) and Taylor (7) were also very good.
Yes, I though Pacco ruckman ( Kerlin ? ) largely nullified Browne. Browne played o.k., but was nowhere near as dominant as normal.

That comment is very ignorant of the facts. The club president works hard and is very supportive unfortunately the committee and president are doing other things because most Northern supporters are too lazy to fill match day positions.

Hey Goalside,
Not sure why your having a "slight" crack at me as I didn't see the game nor mention any names or directing my annoyance at any particular club, just stating the facts that the league seems to be losing some control over recent times.
I'm sick to death of people defending clubs as they need to show leadership on the ground and off the ground. I don't care if the club is top or bottom as the game needs to be played in good spirit. Play hard but fair that's my motto!!
I know you seem to show passion in your posts and it's going to be a challenge for your club this year but you must develop players for any future success. Take up the challenge and learn from the better players in this competion. This will get you respect.
In regards to any comments regarding one sided results it can be no fault of the club if you are developing players but my point is the league won't be happy as "we" all want to see a close competion. Surely you agree with this no matter what division it's in..

Let me tell you there are worse completions than the EDFL "but" we are starting to get a bad name and it's not referring to this game. 2 recent U18 games and a div1 GF a few years ago have all made news headlines.. THATS FACT so no point defending it..

Anyway all the best to you!!
Northern are working on getting its house in order. This includes enforcing the code of conduct. In contrast to a number of other clubs Northern have had no reports or investigations in the junior grades this year. Unfortunately our name will be mud because of past incidents. For example three reports in the senior game the Northern players are sent off the Marby player who allegedly started it stays on.

That comment is very ignorant of the facts. The club president works hard and is very supportive unfortunately the committee and president are doing other things because most Northern supporters are too lazy to fill match day positions.

Club Presidents and senior commitee people need to watch and enjoy the game as they are often working during the week at the club. They shouldn't be doing any match day role unless you have a pre function and then they are usually present getting around the function.
Ultimately if you don't have match day officials, bar people, canteen people etc you will fail and the end result is closure.. THATS REALITY..

Hope they can get help and survive for years to come..

I know a few of you were there today and what did you think of the following:

1- the ground condition? I thought it was very poor, especially for a Sunday game. Not a good look for our league IMO.

2- Micks coaching, to play an 8 back / 4 forward game plan? Very negative I thought..

I attended the Northern V Marby game on Saturday to watch a friend play (for Marby) and have the following points to make after reading what has been reported above.

You may say these a biased but this is my opinion and i am entitled to it.

1) The Marby player that hit the northern player on the wing retaliated after being struck by the northern player. I don't condone this behavior or the actions of either player and this should be stamped out. Thus i agree with the report and hope the northern player is ok.
2) This incident did not effect the play and didn't start the later melee
3) A northern saints player then retaliated by chasing the player and a small scuffle occurred in the middle where another northern player (i wont list his number) threw countless punches at the offending player from behind aiming at his head when he was wrestling with another player (again a low act and one that should be stamped out)
4) The 'big" melee was started at the close of the third qtr as a result of some push and shove from both teams (both teams equally culpable)
5) One despicable incident by one of the reported Northern players was hitting a Marby player who was simply pulling players away from the melee in a cowardly act away from the main group of players (unprovoked big hit to the face - the Marby player didn't retaliate and the umpire reported the player immediately)
6) Northern spectators came onto the ground and threatened Marby players (very disappointing)
7) The Northern players who were sent off were both given Yellow cards for serious reportable incidents during the Melee.

Away from the onfield negatives my biggest disappointment was being told that a group of Marby female supporters felt threatened and intimidated by Northern spectators in the crowd whilst watching the game. This is not the sort of environment people ever want to see at local football.

I know a few of you were there today and what did you think of the following:

1- the ground condition? I thought it was very poor, especially for a Sunday game. Not a good look for our league IMO.

2- Micks coaching, to play an 8 back / 4 forward game plan? Very negative I thought..
1 - ground condition, wouldn't have been too dissimilar to many other grounds given the amount of rain in the 24hrs prior.
2 - overtly defensive tactics with the aim of creating overlap on the rebound perhaps? - I personally dont agree with going so defensive from the first bounce but then again, I'm not the best coach in local footy. [emoji6]
Either way it left them reasonably toothless going forward, Gourdis was the best performed kpf on the ground but you'd wonder how Keilor would have gone had they provided him with even the slightest amount of support.
Good to see Vinnie Randello have a key role in Pacos win.

Away from the onfield negatives my biggest disappointment was being told that a group of Marby female supporters felt threatened and intimidated by Northern spectators in the crowd whilst watching the game. This is not the sort of environment people ever want to see at local football.

This is not the environment Northern want at CMR naturally although it's hard to investigate unless the women come forward with a few details.

I attended the Northern V Marby game on Saturday to watch a friend play (for Marby) and have the following points to make after reading what has been reported above.

You may say these a biased but this is my opinion and i am entitled to it.

1) The Marby player that hit the northern player on the wing retaliated after being struck by the northern player. I don't condone this behavior or the actions of either player and this should be stamped out. Thus i agree with the report and hope the northern player is ok.
2) This incident did not effect the play and didn't start the later melee
3) A northern saints player then retaliated by chasing the player and a small scuffle occurred in the middle where another northern player (i wont list his number) threw countless punches at the offending player from behind aiming at his head when he was wrestling with another player (again a low act and one that should be stamped out)
4) The 'big" melee was started at the close of the third qtr as a result of some push and shove from both teams (both teams equally culpable)
5) One despicable incident by one of the reported Northern players was hitting a Marby player who was simply pulling players away from the melee in a cowardly act away from the main group of players (unprovoked big hit to the face - the Marby player didn't retaliate and the umpire reported the player immediately)
6) Northern spectators came onto the ground and threatened Marby players (very disappointing)
7) The Northern players who were sent off were both given Yellow cards for serious reportable incidents during the Melee.

Mate, if this is true marby should put in a complaint and it should be told at the tribunal.
Once again I say "if true" do we really need a club like this in our league? If it's found to be true the league needs to deal with this NOW.
Why are spectators getting involved??

Can I ask you was there any officials or on field leaders taking control of there club. If not that is very poor and shouldn't be tolerated at any club.

In the Geelong league, every match is video taped and any major incidents are reviewed by an independent person who can then make a report that is sent to the tribunal.

I am not sure how much this would cost the clubs, but i am sure the a grade clubs could afford it and would then get the benefit of using the footage for coaching. IMO this should happen asap and it would stamp out a lot of the violent incidents and improve the environment for players and spectators.