EDFL Premier Division

• Thread starter Thread starter muppet007

Yeah BlueJet, that's my point mate. If your tough, hard and fair at the ball and prepared to tackle & bump the big boys this is what I regard as a tough physical player respected by all. I could mention a few names but some examples are Ayres, Arrowsmith, Hollow, Joyce etc take them all on..
Blokes that only take on the young kids or smaller ball players are gutless and weak..

PS: it's not directed at you, just a broad statement on my experiences with certain players going around future & past..
I got you mate, I was just not too subtly drawing the distinction between Barling and Hollow. (see: final at Keilor a few years back)
Anyway, enough of the chestbeating. Im sure the clubs with poor reputations are well aware of this and are seeking to rejuvenate as the negative headlines that these ugly incidents garner only makes it harder for them to progess going forward.

Northern Saints FC are not even 10 years old.

One club came from the NFL and the other EDFL so you two suggesting they should P.O. to WRFL sound like a couple of people worried if this Club gets it's Premier League act together it'll dominate like it did Div 1 for a few years until it broke through to Premier.

I doubt Mutton Reserve is the only ground with these issues within the EDFL.

G'day champ,
Let me clear up a few things for you.
-it's doesn't matter how new or old your club is.
-I'm not sure clubs are worried about other clubs dominating but rather we congratulate these successful clubs.
-a big difference between Div1 and Premier..
-I'm sure that all clubs (and spectators) want to see footy played in the spirit of the game, hard but fair contests. This includes off ground..
-all clubs should offer a family environment including taking your kids to games.

But where there is fire there is usually smoke, and in the end we cannot tolerate bad incidents. The league will investigate this and will have an offical at all this clubs home games and some away games. I know a league person who is sick of these things and I'm told one more incident seen will result in the club being thrown out of the competion including the juniors.,
Surely there are a lot of good hard working people, and a lot of junior volunteers, parents that will be affected if this was to happen "but ultimately enough is enough" and the league will not sit on there hands on this..

I can assure you all that the league has received emails from people regarding 2 out of 3 games played by a certain club this year.

I think the Northen Saints supporters need to get there heads out of the sand.
Disgraceful behaviour by the NS players throwing cheapies all game. This is what lead to the multiple punch ups due to Marbi players having had enough of the NS cheap shots.
Even more disgraceful was seeing the NS supporters getting involved with the on field fight. That club has gone backwards in my opinion. And what doesn't help is the fact that people get on here and claim that the club isn't in the wrong.
NS may be playing in the Premier League but are far from a Premier League club. They'd be better suited in Wrfl Div 3 with the disgraceful display on sat.
And to the bloke who suggested that the atmosphere was appropriate for women and children, I'm not sure what you were taught growing up but if my family was exposed to that I would have been fuming.
ABSOLUTLEY DISTRACEFUL !!!!!

While much appreciated from the Marby reserves coach, who spoke with sincerity and class I found it disgraceful that he needed to speak to the Saints players after the game to apologise for racist comments made to players during the game.

Unfortunately all clubs have people involved who shouldn't be

The idea that Northern Saints fans go to the games to watch fights is a laughably stupid, ignorant, false and cheap statement. Absolute rubbish
While much appreciated from the Marby reserves coach, who spoke with sincerity and class I found it disgraceful that he needed to speak to the Saints players after the game to apologise for racist comments made to players during the game.

Hey guys,
I will show some brutal honesty here and post some truths on metro footy racism..

No one condones racism or people getting hurt "but" what instigates all this stuff?? No one just yells out "blah, blah, blah" out of the blue, either on field or off field.
Is it true there were low cheap shots that continued until they had enough. Then it blew up and guessing in the heat of the moment things might have been said.
I don't agree with any type of racism but also we cannot continue to use this in defence..

I've been to a lot of premier footy games over the last 5-10 years and a fair few of these games were when Marby was playing. I have never heard any racism comments. I have also taken my kids there many times.
There is some dills around but they get pulled into line quickly.

I've also watched some of the lower divisions in which this on field behavoir is present, and then the racism card is mentioned but I've been in amongst it as a club person, and heard nothing but it's used as an excuse to start trouble..

Plenty of people get called slow, fat and other things so does this give them the right to start whacking blokes from behind.. Get real..

Cmon lets all clean our backyards....

Ok I moving on now.....

Hey guys,
I will show some brutal honesty here and post some truths on metro footy racism..

No one condones racism or people getting hurt "but" what instigates all this stuff?? No one just yells out "blah, blah, blah" out of the blue, either on field or off field.
Is it true there were low cheap shots that continued until they had enough. Then it blew up and guessing in the heat of the moment things might have been said.
I don't agree with any type of racism but also we cannot continue to use this in defence..

I've been to a lot of premier footy games over the last 5-10 years and a fair few of these games were when Marby was playing. I have never heard any racism comments. I have also taken my kids there many times.

I've also watched some of the lower divisions in which this on field behavoir is present, and then the racism card is mentioned but I've been in amongst it as a club person, and heard nothing but it's used as an excuse to start trouble..

Plenty of people get called slow, fat and other things so does this give them the right to start whacking blokes from behind.. Get real..

Ok I moving on now.....

I was moving on but want to clearly clarify I don't condone racism, as we should be a multi culture sport and actually need to expand it more.
I'm just asking was this racism the cause of the trouble or mentioned during or after all the trouble.. It's 2 different things which I'm sure all people understand where I'm going..

There is simply no excuse for this rubbish to still be going on in 2015.

I think it's time for a thread on ways to improve the league. Maybe Turbos mail could start one because any more posts on Northern will be deleted.

Hey guys,

Ok I moving on now.....
May want to be careful here mate, you've slammed clubs for incidents you personally didn't witness while defended another for not witnessing anything unsavoury.
Let's be real for a moment, no matter which club any one of us have ties with there'd be someone, somewhere along the line that has done something cringeworthy, whether it be a player throwing cheapies or peanuts yelling crap out over the fence.
There is a flow on effect however, as the clubs that continue to be linked with trouble will have potential players, parents and sponsors turned off by the negativity.

I was moving on but want to clearly clarify I don't condone racism, as we should be a multi culture sport and actually need to expand it more.
I'm just asking was this racism the cause of the trouble or mentioned during or after all the trouble.. It's 2 different things which I'm sure all people understand where I'm going..

Separate incidents - the apology was from the Marby reserves coach after the two's game - not related to any incidents in the seniors.

I know a league person who is sick of these things and I'm told one more incident seen will result in the club being thrown out of the competition including the juniors.

Gee Thanks for taking the time to reply Mister, BUT

In order to take such drastic action there is a process that must take place, that process hasn't even started.

Your "league person" sounds like they should move on as it's this type of gossipy fool the EDFL should rid itself of if it wants to become the best Metro League in Melbourne.

all the best
champ

Lets move on guys. Big weekend ahead.
Exactly right there's a few interesting games,
Avondale vs Keilor: The winner will gain some valuable confidence after a reasonably tough start to the season, the amount of quality recruited to both lineups indicates that they'd have to click at some point.
APW vs Northern: two of the sides tipped to battle against relegation, a massive game for both clubs season after some heavy losses to start the season.
Marby vs Greenvale: always a good contest between two clubs with a bit of history.
Strathmore vs Paco: the current premiers vs a side looking to step up to that level, after a big recruiting drive in the off season.

Strathmore v Paco looks game of the round, we will find out if Pacco are the real deal and a win I reckon would almost guarantee them a spot in the 4.. Strathmore after losing to Keilor round 1 can not afford to drop another game.

Avondale V Keilor - a Must win game for both clubs in an old fashion 6 point game, If Avondale lose it might be early but could almost kiss there season good bye.

APW v Northern - This game could decide who goes up and down.. Northern have been competitive without getting the points.

Couldn't agree more guys a few massive games this weekend.
I know its early in the week but my tips are- Paco over Strathmore in a tight one, Keilor by 5 plus goals over Heights, Abbers easily over West Coburg, Greenvale over Marbi by 3 or 4 goals and Northern in a tight one.

Despite the poor weather - night football at Clifton Park on Saturday night had a great atmosphere about it.

Abers Vs. West Coburg at Coburg City Oval this Sunday....

If you're not up for local footy on Sunday the Mayweather Vs. Pacquiao "fight of the century" will be shown live on the big screen at The Valley - with gates open from 11:00am.

Free entry - plenty of food trucks and $5 Carlton Dry's - the forecast is 19 and sunny which will feel like 25 based on recent weather!!

Sorry to interrupt, I'm not from the league but I have heard that a few players trying to get into the league that have been suspended for more than 10 matches but less than 16 (the maximum) are being refused entry, does anyone know anything about this?

And replaced by who?

G'day Shags,
I think Anthony Eames will take over. He has gone there as an assistant this year but coached Altona to a premiership in the wrfl only about 4-5 years ago. Very good coach but has known Ghazi for a while so it would need to be managed well. I'm sure Eames isn't there just to be an assistant going forward..
It will be interesting next year if his coach, as he might try to entice a few good Altona players across..

Hey bud, are you back playing yet??

Cheers,
Turbs.

G'day Shags,
I think Anthony Eames will take over. He has gone there as an assistant this year but coached Altona to a premiership in the wrfl only about 4-5 years ago. Very good coach but has known Ghazi for a while so it would need to be managed well. I'm sure Eames isn't there just to be an assistant going forward..
It will be interesting next year if his coach, as he might try to entice a few good Altona players across..

Cheers,
Turbs.

Eames was at AH last year wasn't he?

Shags is a parody account of the great man...

The original is due back next week and will play his 100th game for the club - he's been a wonderful servant to date with plenty of good footy left in him..

There is simply no excuse for this rubbish to still be going on in 2015.

I think it's time for a thread on ways to improve the league. Maybe Turbos mail could start one because any more posts on Northern will be deleted.

Fair enough.. I'm moving on.. Apologises if any club was offended I'm just passionate about local footy, however appreciate that others are also passionate about their club and local footy.

All the best to you all.

PS: I'm not going to start a new thread as don't see the point at this point..

shags is back PRAISE.jpg
G'day Shags,

Cheers,
Turbs.

keep calm shags.png
Turbo, it was nice giving the others a chance to grab the headlines for the first 3 rounds.
But now I'm back. Mr EDFL himself to tear the comp apart.
Get down on Saturday and watch me put on a clinic. 100% guaranteed!!!!

View attachment 128942
Turbo, it was nice giving the others a chance to grab the headlines for the first 3 rounds.
But now I'm back. Mr EDFL himself to tear the comp apart.
Get down on Saturday and watch me put on a clinic. 100% guaranteed!!!!
You will kill em on Saturday Shags but no one will be there mate I think you will find your playin Sunday!! If you are the Abers Shags of course :D