Essendon have just set an new AFL era record

Its easy to say that in hindsight. When north was playing in those prelims or carlton was playing in that semi, were you pleased Essendon was nowhere to be seen, building to a non existent future that still hasn't been realised?
Never pleased to see us performing woefully but every season without a flag is a failure. No hiding from the fact we have been a rabble on and off the field for the best part of 20 years but I just find it laughable that the ones who throw the most barbs our way are quite often the ones who’s clubs have a longer Premiership drought than us.

Maybe the most VFL flags (dunno, haven't checked) but not the most AFL flags.

Nah man, the 1897 flag won in what wasn't even Australia totally counts for heaps in the Australian Football League.

Claiming that a finals win means nothing is a bit disingenuous. Yes, at the end of the day every club wants to win the flag. But, the first step to get there is winning finals.

Seeing your team win a final, being there when the whips are cracking in September gives a bit of joy and hope to the fans. You can start to think we're not far off.

Not even being able to hang your hat on that means that Essendon have been non-competitive for 15 seasons. Its got to be demoralising. There's been so many false dawns, but not once have they even been in the conversation, except for a few rounds in the dank era.

It absolutely means something because you can't win a flag without winning at least 2 finals first. If you don't win a final you don't win the flag. Even without mere fan hope, it's still important.

I find this odd.

Essendon clearly have brought less joy to their supporters than the Saints in the last fifteen to twenty years.

Numerous finals appearances, three grand finals, albeit they’ve lost them, they still made it there. Isn’t basing your preference to support a club based on a history that likely predates you a little bit boring? I mean support who you like mate and I’d be disappointed if you didn’t do it ruthlessly, but don’t throw another team under the bus that has clearly outperformed yours in spades in the last two decades.

“If you’re not first, you’re last”

That’s not correct at all.

I don’t think it’s unreasonable to suggest that you can find enjoyment in the game even if you don’t win the flag.

I’m as competitive as the next and that is my mantra.
Mediocre clubs celebrate mediocre results

Its easy to say that in hindsight. When north was playing in those prelims or carlton was playing in that semi, were you pleased Essendon was nowhere to be seen, building to a non existent future that still hasn't been realised?
not so much nowhere to be seen. Both beat us in EF's.
Which is my point. Getting there was a false dawn. After the Swans belted us, we topped up.
When the Eagles belted us, we looked a gift in the face for Daniher.
It absolutely means something because you can't win a flag without winning at least 2 finals first. If you don't win a final you don't win the flag. Even without mere fan hope, it's still important.
And this is why i don't care about this stat.
When the time comes to win a final, i hope we're in a position to win 3 or 4. a la Richmond, the previous record holder.

Nah man, the 1897 flag won in what wasn't even Australia totally counts for heaps in the Australian Football League.
You’d be nothing without us. You named your B&F after our premiership captain, your first premiership captain had to have 10 years development by us and 2 of your other 3 flags needed us to lose by a point in a prelim. Until we’re back there you won’t be mate

I don't get conversations like these. Why are people putting so much energy into trying convince other people to feel bad when they don't? We basically have conversations that go like this:

A - Wow, you must feel pretty average because your team has been rubbish over the past 15 years!
B - Yeah we've been crap but actually I'm feeling pretty good because we're building up a young side that is showing some promise for the future.
A - Oh but... what about the last 15 years... you guys have sucked! You should totally be feeling bad about that. FEEL BAD!
B - Ummm... look I've already admitted that we weren't great but I'm looking forward to where we are going. I'm really fine.
A - YOU GUYS SUCKED, BE UPSET ABOUT IT!

I know this is a footy forum and we have supporters from different teams here, but it amazes me how many conversations just spiral into a determination to "win" a discussion by claiming some sort of false superiority.

Anyway... have at it.

I don't get conversations like these. Why are people putting so much energy into trying convince other people to feel bad when they don't? We basically have conversations that go like this:

A - Wow, you must feel pretty average because your team has been rubbish over the past 15 years!
B - Yeah we've been crap but actually I'm feeling pretty good because we're building up a young side that is showing some promise for the future.
A - Oh but... what about the last 15 years... you guys have sucked! You should totally be feeling bad about that. FEEL BAD!
B - Ummm... look I've already admitted that we weren't great but I'm looking forward to where we are going. I'm really fine.

I know this is a footy forum and we have supporters from different teams here, but it amazes me how many conversations just spiral into a determination to "win" a discussion by claiming some sort of false superiority.

Anyway... have at it.
team sport fandom is all about tribalism. My team is better then yours. That’s the whole entire point of it.

Anyway... have at it.
My teams won more flags than yours so chicks love me and i get trade discount at Bunnings without even having a trade card. :thumbsu::cool:

Essendon have just set an new AFL era record