thorax

Rookie
Steele Sidebottom

Will be selected by Essendon behind Rich and Natanui in that order (unless they are available)

I realise that everyone on here makes proposals/thinks they know what is going on, but I can pretty much guarantee that he will be in the red and black in 09.

Steele Sidebottom

Will be selected by Essendon behind Rich and Natanui in that order (unless they are available)

I realise that everyone on here makes proposals/thinks they know what is going on, but I can pretty much guarantee that he will be in the red and black in 09.

How can you guarantee it when you are not sure who will be taken before Essendon's pick?

I hope not. Who even knew this kid before the TAC grand final? Has to be the odds on favourite for a first round flop. Has predominantly played as a small defender with a few stints up forward and in the middle. And he has never amassed 32 disposals before in his life against kids so I doubt he'll make it a habit against the best blokes in the land.

Does being stupid come naturally to you ?
How about you learn something about the player at hand before sprouting your mouth off.;)

Heres a link to his TAC Cup season. Yes he had a crap year before the GF and cant find the footy......

http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_i...S&pID=187823546&client=1-3020-0-67827-8061013

Dale Thomas wasn't that well known before his TAC GF and he's turned out okay.

Goodes goes pretty well too.

i'd actually noticed his name after about round 2 of the TAC cup. it was actually more unusual for his name NOT to be in the best than to be in it. he had an awesome season, his grand final just made people like you notice him.

A goal kicking midfielder would go down very nicely, still unsure who i'd rather want out of Ziebell or Sidebottom though, both are players our team needs.

How about you learn something about the player at hand before sprouting your mouth off.;)

Heres a link to his TAC Cup season. Yes he had a crap year before the GF and cant find the footy......

http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_i...S&pID=187823546&client=1-3020-0-67827-8061013
Ant you dont need to be so vitriolic, as a mod, replying to posters.

Him being wrong doesn't make you as an informed individual and a mod altogether right. It is a forum. There are allowances as such. A speaking place, not a vehicle for one-sided points of view. Can you not balance both and temper the approach???

I do not have any idea what Mel, Freo, Wc, Port will do. Never mentioned that I did. I realise that this is BigFooty so likely to be shot down no matter what the post when it comes to future events such as drafts, as nothing can be guaranteed.

What I do have information on is that Essendon rate Rich and Natanui very highly (Essendon rate them 1 + 2 in the draft), but they do not think that they will be available with pick 5. If they are strategy will have to change, but from all reports they will be taken 2 + 3 (or 4 with Natanui if he slips).

Sidebottom has been on the radar since 07 and ALL of 08, and recruiters and coaching staff are actually a bit annoyed that he had such a great grand final as it has definitely increased his value and pushed up his name.

The fact he has such good disposal on both sides of his body (Leon Cameron like in that respect is the word from the coaches) is the big selling point to the coaching staff who want people who can kick and deliver.

As can be seen by how long I have been a member but my limited number of posts, I am not one to spruik crap just for my own ego boost, but thought that some keen bomber fans may be interested in thoughts of the coach and recruiting staff.

I do not have any idea what Mel, Freo, Wc, Port will do. Never mentioned that I did. I realise that this is BigFooty so likely to be shot down no matter what the post when it comes to future events such as drafts, as nothing can be guaranteed.

What I do have information on is that Essendon rate Rich and Natanui very highly (Essendon rate them 1 + 2 in the draft), but they do not think that they will be available with pick 5. If they are strategy will have to change, but from all reports they will be taken 2 + 3 (or 4 with Natanui if he slips).

Sidebottom has been on the radar since 07 and ALL of 08, and recruiters and coaching staff are actually a bit annoyed that he had such a great grand final as it has definitely increased his value and pushed up his name.

The fact he has such good disposal on both sides of his body (Leon Cameron like in that respect is the word from the coaches) is the big selling point to the coaching staff who want people who can kick and deliver.

As can be seen by how long I have been a member but my limited number of posts, I am not one to spruik crap just for my own ego boost, but thought that some keen bomber fans may be interested in thoughts of the coach and recruiting staff.

You may well be right, but then again who really knows.
I was told by an excellent source ( dont ask me to name him as I wont), that Essendon were unsure of Naitanui because of his lack of football nouse and that we will be getting the biggest player we can.
That may well change if Rich slips, as is being suggested on the Freo and WC Boards.
I really dont think we are sold on anyone yet.

Ant you dont need to be so vitriolic, as a mod, replying to posters.

Him being wrong doesn't make you as an informed individual and a mod altogether right. It is a forum. There are allowances as such. A speaking place, not a vehicle for one-sided points of view. Can you not balance both and temper the approach???

He's making a completely uniformed post. He can have a point of view but he was completely wrong. If he wants to make that kind of claim he has to atleast know what he's talking about.

I think I acknowledged that loopy, when i said "him being wrong..."

It just wasn't the point of my post re Ant555. It was more about the tenor one consistantly takes to such posts.

I just watched the highlights of sidebottom's grand final for the first time on youtube. I don't care what anyone says about it being one game. we want this kid!!! :) Does he remind anyone else of Steve Johnson?

Yes I am naturally stupid, I dont know the guy dont claim to know the guy and am only going on what I have read about the guy which I openly admit. Last year I was slammed for saying that Masten or Morton sounded like the player we needed after reading your guide and from media outlets, the general concensus was palmer, we end up both players go before our pick and we take Myers which everyone says was great which is now known as bullshit given Myers and Palmers first years. I live in Tassie where little is known about any draftees except tassie apart from media and what people have said on the net. Kevin Sheehan wrote about Sidebottom not being considered for a 1st round pick until after the TAC grand final, nobody anywhere rated him a first round pick until after the TAC GF. One game does not make a man! And if i'm wrong about him being mainly a Back flanker then you should change your guide for this years draftees and he should watch his mouth when talking to the media about mainly playing HB and never having got 30+ disposals before in his career.

You pretty much just agreed with Ant that you are stupid. Especially when you announced to Big Footy World that you were Tasmanian.

Hahahahaha

I for one am all for people being blunt and harsh makes things more interesting. Keep up the good work ant :thumbsu:

However, Intellectual conversation on a blue collar football board is a little extremem. Common language will do fine Dapto.

Go Bombers.

Yes I am naturally stupid, I dont know the guy dont claim to know the guy and am only going on what I have read about the guy which I openly admit. Last year I was slammed for saying that Masten or Morton sounded like the player we needed after reading your guide and from media outlets, the general concensus was palmer, we end up both players go before our pick and we take Myers which everyone says was great which is now known as bullshit given Myers and Palmers first years

What exactly has this got to do with Sidebottom :confused:
Last year Palmer was my first choice and Masten my second but i don't know how that equates to this year.
And i don't know why you seem to think taking Myers is a BS decision. He has played one year of footy.

GmeUP said:
I live in Tassie where little is known about any draftees except tassie apart from media and what people have said on the net. Kevin Sheehan wrote about Sidebottom not being considered for a 1st round pick until after the TAC grand final, nobody anywhere rated him a first round pick until after the TAC GF. One game does not make a man!

Did Sheehan write he was not a first round pick or did he write he was not in his top 10 ? Pretty sure it was top 10. Before the TAC Cup final i know there where a lot of people rating him a first round choice, just not an ealry one.
For myslef i was on record before the TAC Cup finals as saying he was one of 4 mids i would be happy to take with pick 5.
The one game did not make him a man (FFS GRRRRRRRR).
He played a better game in the first final where he had fewer possions (28) but dominated the game from the midfield and set up Murrays win over Rangers.
He had a finals series where he was named BOG twice and in the top 3 on the ground in the other game.
He also averaged 20 possesions a game during the Champs and made the AA side. He did not do that on the back of one game in the GF!

And if i'm wrong about him being mainly a Back flanker then you should change your guide for this years draftees and he should watch his mouth when talking to the media about mainly playing HB and never having got 30+ disposals before in his career.

If you have a look at the stats link i provided and click on the dates you can see what positions he played in each game.
When you read them you will notice that he started the year playing mainly of half back but as the year went on he ended up playing more midfield /half forward. He played on a wing during most of the Champ series.
I know what he said in the media , that is where he started out playing.
In his last 8 games he was only at half back once and that was not a full game there against Rangers as he played on the wing in the second half that day and had 16 possesions in the second half after being very quiet at half back early.
During the TAC Cup season he had the following
2 games where he played half back all day.
1 game where he played half back and half forward.
1 game where he played solely up forward .
2 games where he played half back/midfield.
7 games where he played midfield/forward.
He played wing in two of the champ games and wing /half back in the other two.
If you look at that you can hardly qualify your first statement which said he was predominately as a small defender and would not be likely to repeat his GF numbers at AFL level. It may have been the first time he has had 30 plus but he had a good number of games where he had the ball 24 to 29 times.
The kid has an obvious risk and that is his lack of genuine pace but anyone who has seen him play a bit can not fault his footy nous and his ability to find the ball in close and use it well. What remains to be seen is if he still has the time and composure to pull it off at AFL level given he wont be out running most players.

Ant,
If you were to compare Sidebottom to current players at 4 different levels what would those players be.

At a guess, from what I've read it would be something like :

A : Lenny Hayes/James Bartel
B : Kane Johnson/Tyson Edwards
C : Andrew Welsh
D : Brodie Holland (current)

Thoughts ?

Thanks for clearing all that up Ant. I assumed it was all hype on Sidebottom and still think he's being over-rated by many who know as much or less than me of him but from what you've said he is a reasonable chance of a top 5 pick. For the record I like Hartlett at #5 this year if Port don't take him at#4.

I would prefer Hartlett at #5, just pips ziebell and sidebottom.

I just think Yarran is too much of a gamble and I would take Trengove over Hurley.

Ant,
If you were to compare Sidebottom to current players at 4 different levels what would those players be.

At a guess, from what I've read it would be something like :

A : Lenny Hayes/James Bartel
B : Kane Johnson/Tyson Edwards
C : Andrew Welsh
D : Brodie Holland (current)

Thoughts ?

Pretty close to that.