FFC Draft Day Thread 2009

Jesse Crichton is your inside midfielder, and is a pretty good one at that. Could have gone in the top 30. Can win the hard ball, but he is also pretty creative when he has the ball. Should be a step on Schammer, once he develops and puts some size on. Is he our first Tasmanian?

The great Adrian Fletcher, good sir...

Thanks Chris, excellent wrap and it sounds very promising when you take it as a whole.
God I'm just dying for the scratch match now to see them all go around. New numbers to learn! Still, shouldn't be hard to spot Crighton no matter what number he wears :)

Thanks Chris, excellent wrap and it sounds very promising when you take it as a whole.
God I'm just dying for the scratch match now to see them all go around. New numbers to learn! Still, shouldn't be hard to spot Crighton no matter what number he wears :)

will be good to see mayne and chrichton running around the park together..... it'll look like we have andrew stckdale and robert plant playing for us :D

as far as the draft goes. i guess we should all be pretty happy. given that most of us believe we were lacking key position players (of which we got2 , a back and a forward) on top of speedy skillful midfielders who were all above 180 cm mark.... i really think we have done well. fingers crossed they turn out :thumbsu:

i've got to say i'm so much happier than this time last year, but we ended up getting a bumper crop of draftees last year.

I think we picked up a good blend of players, and there weren't any short people amongst that lot.

Yeah I suppose you cant tell how well we went until the boys are actually given a chance. In hindsight, I am very pleased we got Jesse Crichton who the Eagles were supposedly keen on in the 2nd rd, so late. Also lots of potential in Fyfe, Houghton, Roberton and Bollenhagen.

Hope we snare McPhee and two of the following in the RD: Hutchings/Panos/Carey/AhChee/Wanganeen/Grimes/Thomson/McNeil/Gordon.

[youtube]3VfJa8IpXY8[/youtube]

Little tackling machine! Love it.

Was pretty shocked that we passed on Black and Panos/Luff/Hutchings didn't even get drafted.:eek:

I have faith in our recruiters for once though, happy with the Fyfe selection really. Our future forward-line is starting to come together:

FF: Fyfe Sibosado Ballantyne
HF: Ruffles Houghton Mayne

Not bad.:thumbsu:

wow judging from that footage, chrichton looks a chris mayne clone.... if so that is awesome :thumbsu:

the kid obviously loves to work hard, tackle and knows where the goals are, if he trains the way that footage presents him, i reckon he will quickly become a harvey favourite

That footage of Crichton had me in stitches. Geez, he is a tackling machine, but I kept thinking "Why is he always chasing; is he in a crap team or what?" Loved his effort and his attack, though. I'd say he fits the Harvey mold and if the others are in a similar vein we re going in the right direction. Interesting that Fyfe has such an exceptional vertical leap. A 186 cm player who can play taller is a benefit in the forward line.

Must admit I'm quite OK with this draft.

Firstly and most importantly to most there looked to be 5 very likely top notch players in this draft (down from previous drafts) and 1 top notch work horse in Cunnington.

We got one of them which automatically puts us in a good place ...for all the doubts you have over any player fact is we have taken a run & carry 190cm midfielder who looks like he can play from round 1 if he impresses.

Word on the street late was we were sold on Fyfe ...I * him in my Freo Draft Selection game as it was relayed to me that we were taking him pretty much unless something drastic happened. I thought Black slipping may of been that drastic thing but obviously not. Fyfe fits the recent trend of drafting hard runners (beep of 14.7) who can kick goals and has a big leap - I think he may be earmarked as part of this forward-midfield rotation we may operate (Mayne, Bally, Walters, Fyfe).

Houghton - well first thought is great a true KP player at 194 cm - great set shot. Again look at the pattern of Harvey - Clarke is a very mobile ruck, now Houghton a beep of 15.1 would make most mids proud.

Crichton - Look at that clip, look at this stage of any draft the palyers taken may or may not make it but at least this kid has endeavour. Harping back to pattern drafting - Mayne, Ballantyne, Ruffles - all hard at it and like their tackling.

Roberton - Beep of 14.6 and a nice size at 191 cm ...top 10 % in the 3km, I think we are building a Subiaco dominant team for the next decade.

Bolly - Don't know anything about him so I won't comment.

As I said to Milko today (who had the pre-draft wish that we get Houghton so he is a happy chappy) - unlike the earlier years when I hear a name I don't know ...I have the comfort that i didn't know Ruffles either last year.

Morra is the story of the draft though IMHO...adding a 190cm line breaker straight into your midfield with Palmer and Crowley back - add Hase and Hill on the outside. Interesting times ahead.

Not giving much away is Lloyd....

National recruiting manager Brad Lloyd
"We're really pleased, absolutely rapt with the result. We've covered a bit of ground - three from WA, one from Tassie, one from Victoria and one from South Australia, so it's a good spread across the country.

"We've ended up with three midfielders and three talls. We've added 20 young players in about 12-13 months which is pretty exciting, so we're over the moon."

Yeah, i think we did ok.
We basically swapped Peake for Crichton....nothing to lose there..
and replaced Drum with another defender.

It shouldnt be too long now till we have the trolls in saying who we picked up are shit and who they picked up are guns.

Sorry bit late in but wasn't Brodie H a Taswegian too.

Aside from maybe adding James Craig or Cam Kickett at 52 (although their output was pretty low) I am happy with this one. Can see a few leftover kids that we are drooling over for the RD going in the Preseason Draft. I think most clubs have saved a pick this year.

Isn't it amazing the massive jump in faith in this thread compared to last year.

Did alright, not sure about the last two Roberton and Bollenhagen....not sure why we didn't get Taylor, but then again I do not know heaps about the later picks so I am sure they are know what they are doing. Would've liked to get Black but people seen very excited about Fyfe. Can't wait to see how they all go.

Fyfe is an interesting selection. Has anyone here seen him play live? His utube video suggests he has really good hands but short guys need a few more strings to their bow to make it

No.20 - Nat Fyfe
DOB: 18/09/91, Height: 186cm, Weight: 73kg
Recruited from: Aquinas College/Claremont (WA)
“He’s a really talented player in the air so one of the best pair of hands in the draft. He’s pretty elusive around goal and he’s a nice size as well, just under 190, so he’l be a pretty exciting proposition up forward.”