Liverpool Lockleys FC
At last we have a real meaning to a showdown

We win second spot should be safe and ports season over

Its going to be good

Not confident at all cause as we get closer to september our goal scoring comes more of a concern.

Goal scoring? If we kicked a little straighter last week there would no worries about our ability to score.

I am so pumped for this Showdown it ain't funny, and yes I will be the first to start, "WERE IN THE FINALS" if we are well up with 5 minutes to go!

How sweet a song in which to serenade the Power fans?

Showdown 18 Thread

Ok a win is a win over Melbourne but now we must concentrate everything on next Saturday night. The biggest game on the South Australian football calendar( sorry SANFL) is once again upon us. A 68 point belting by the AFC in round 3 gave Adelaide bragging rights... but will it change? Ports win over Carlton combined with some losses has them 2 points from the 8 and looking to consolidate. Whether you believe they deserve to be in the 8 is another matter. Teams around them are not performing so they are half a game away.

Squad for the 1st Showdown in 2005

PLAYERS
Backs: J. Begley N. Bassett B. Rutten
Half Backs: M. Doughty K. McGregor B. Reilly
Centre: H. Skipworth M. Ricciuto M. Mattner
Half Forwards: T. Edwards I. Perrie S. Goodwin
Forwards: G. Johncock S. Welsh T. Hentschel
Followers: R. Shirley, B. Hudson, A. McLeod
Interchange: N. Van Berlo, R. Biglands, S. Thompson, J. Torney,

Will Torney and Van Berlo come back?Begley is gone.So as you can see its been quite a solid squad

I am tipping the Crows to start favourites and my margin is my favourite TAB bet. Both sides under 15

Discuss

Re: Showdown 18 Thread

Matchups:

Ricciuto vs Cornes
Welsh vs Montgomery
McLeod vs Cassisi
Goodwin vs Walsh?
Burgoyne vs Shirley
Tredrea vs Bock
Lade vs Rutten

Looks like Pickett may be out as well. It will be a good week of footy for us in Melbourne with ten showing the showdown and the derby. I'm tipping a fairly high scoring encounter with a close margin. It will be interesting to see if Neil Criag lets Chad Cornes be lose or make him accountable with a McGregor type.

I'm tipping that Williams may try the same tactic against the Crows as Daniher and Roos used - try to shut the game down.

Port will flood and revert to a short chipping game, and move the ball slowly out of defence.

They will get smashed doing that.

Or ... Willimas could try to open up the game and try to out-score the Crows in a shootout - rather like Sheedy and Eade tried.

Or ... Port could try to play Crow's own game against them. Then I think it could be a contest - but Crows to prevail on the strength of a better defence and Port's over-reliance on just a few players.

Shut down Burgoyne & Tredrea - should do the trick for the Crows.

I am tipping the crows to win the showdown by 21-30.

The onball Pace and hardness around ball from stoppages will favor the Adelaide Crows and adding a high amounts of pressure on the Port defensive 6 creates turn over resulting in shots on goal.

To keep Tredrea ineffective the on ball brigade will have to keep the Port on ball player quiet and not allow easy clearances from stoppages.

Unless any players were injured yesterday or any injuries occur on the training track the side should remain unchanged, unless NC goes with the 3rd ruckman (hope not as he hasn’t tried it all year and not really a time to try now) in Clark to try and stretch the Power defense. Mathew Clark was put on notice that he was being watched and was unexpectedly selected as an emergency yesterday (vs. the Dees).

ok.crows said:
I'm tipping that Williams may try the same tactic against the Crows as Daniher and Roos used - try to shut the game down.

Port will flood and revert to a short chipping game, and move the ball slowly out of defence.

Or ... Willimas could try to open up the game and try to out-score the Crows in a shootout - rather like Sheedy and Eade tried.

Or ... Port could try to play Crow's own game against them. Then I think it could be a contest - but Crows to prevail on the strength of a better defence and Port's over-reliance on just a few players.

Shut down Burgoyne & Tredrea - should do the trick for the Crows.

This should be a cracker. I reckon shutdown Tredrea and you win the game. I would start Rutten on Tredrea as he has the body and skill to go with the power forwards - remember the job he did on Brown. I would also start The Pez on Cornes, run him around and make him accountable. I'm quietly confident. It looks like they will probably be without Wakelin and Pickett, definitaely Wakelin. As an aside, when was the last time you saw Pickett put his head over the ball - gutless sniper.

Port are going to come at us.But for how long is anyones guess.

SpringChoke said:
This should be a cracker. I reckon shutdown Tredrea and you win the game. I would start Rutten on Tredrea as he has the body and skill to go with the power forwards - remember the job he did on Brown. I would also start The Pez on Cornes, run him around and make him accountable. I'm quietly confident. It looks like they will probably be without Wakelin and Pickett, definitaely Wakelin. As an aside, when was the last time you saw Pickett put his head over the ball - gutless sniper.

I have no problems in engaging in a bit of banter but if you believe the Pickett incident is deserving of a suspension then serious questions need to be asked.

Once again I do not want to start the whole Pickett is a sniper thread and go back and forward arguing the point but I have no doubt the Pickett report will be dismissed in no time at all.

Sheeds said:
I have no problems in engaging in a bit of banter but if you believe the Pickett incident is deserving of a suspension then serious questions need to be asked.

Once again I do not want to start the whole Pickett is a sniper thread and go back and forward arguing the point but I have no doubt the Pickett report will be dismissed in no time at all.

Pickett will go for at least 9 for that incident as the player he bumped won't ever play football again much like Begley who Pickett gave a clean bump to earlier this year, he was so badly hurt he couldn't ever play football again let alone the following week.

The AFC have just got to go out there on Saturday and smash the living crap out of the feral's, pay them no respect and hammer the final nail into their 2005 coffin and it will be with great pleasure the AFC will have the joy of doing that.

Form suggests Adelaide should win.

Unfortunately that hasn't traditionally been much of a guide in Showdowns. Both teams at home, plenty to play for, bragging rights etc etc.

IMO it'll be a beauty with Port's home crowd playing a big factor.

Crows by the arse hair of a gnat.

Gets! said:
Crows supporters have to be reeeeeeeeeeallly loud this weekend!

By the sound of it we might even rival them in numbers as quite a few Port ticket holders that i know are not bothering to go down for this one, so if that feeling is also held by the metropolitan unfortunates then there could be a few empty seats..

macca23 said:
Form suggests Adelaide should win.

Unfortunately that hasn't traditionally been much of a guide in Showdowns. Both teams at home, plenty to play for, bragging rights etc etc.

IMO it'll be a beauty with Port's home crowd playing a big factor.

Crows by the arse hair of a gnat.

I'm tipping a giant upset this week as those "baby blue" stripes are gonna play on our boys minds big time.

Port to win by 2-3 goals.

Mr Magoo said:
Pickett will go for at least 9 for that incident as the player he bumped won't ever play football again much like Begley who Pickett gave a clean bump to earlier this year, he was so badly hurt he couldn't ever play football again let alone the following week.

Thats not even a logical argument, Lynch went for 6 matches, but he didnt injure wakelin.

noddy said:
By the sound of it we might even rival them in numbers as quite a few Port ticket holders that i know are not bothering to go down for this one, so if that feeling is also held by the metropolitan unfortunates then there could be a few empty seats..

As usual Rucci will overlook it if it does happen, was a different story earlier this year when some crows supporters didnt turn up.

It really depends how fired up Port are for this game. If the Port Adelaide turns up that avoids hard ball gets we will win, but I dont think that will happen. On form Adelaide should win, but I have this one pencilled in as a loss for the crows.

This is the final hurdle for Craig to cross, if he can instill the hunger, desire and outcoach williams to enable Adelaide to defeat Port twice in a season then I am supremely confident that we will be on route to a GF.

Unfortunately for me I see Port getting over the line by under two goals. :mad: