foj1

Oct 25, 2005
essendon
Foj1 Phantom Draft
Here is my effort for 2008. The work and opinions are mine. I haven’t placed height, weight and club of origin as you can go to one hundred threads to get that. I have a much better grasp of TAC players which may bias my work a little. I may have missed a few late picks but delistings are still happening and enough work has been put in. Enjoy!

Pick 1 Melbourne- Jack Watts
The Demons will pull no surprises by calling out Watts. Watts is a quick, talented athlete with a basketball background. He has a terrific leap, is quick off the mark and has a terrific pair of hands. He will be the foundation of the Demons forward line for the next decade.

Pick 2 West Coast- Nicholas Natanuii
The West Coast will have a choice between an outstanding athlete who could be a remarkable footballer or a midfielder who is going to be a terrific player in the AFL. I believe the Eagles will go for the athlete and choose Natanui. We all know the youngsters strengths and he will be a very good apprentice to Dean Cox. Will be an exciting player to watch and I think WC will boost their midfield stocks with picks 18 and 20.

Pick 3 Fremantle- Daniel Rich
Fremantle get a very good midfielder with this choice and are spared the difficulty of separating Natanui and Rich. Rich is strong bodied, has a devastating left foot and can play inside and is dangerous outside. Suddenly Freo will have a young exciting midfield with Rich, Palmer and Ibbotsen leading the way.

Pick 4 Port Adelaide- Tyrone Vickery
Tyrone has come on in leaps and bounds this year after recovering from a knee injury. Vickery has the speed and endurance that will be required of ruckman in this new age of nonstop footy with very little breaks. Vickery has greatly improved his marking and kicking and could begin his career as a forward before eventually taking over the first ruck reins at Port Adelaide.

Pick 5 Essendon- Shaun McKernan
Biggest surprise of the draft so far. I am predicting the Bombers may throw a curve ball with pick 5 and take a chance on young Shaun. McKernan is able to play any key position or as a mobile ruckman. He was one of the standouts of draft camp- testing very well for speed, repeated sprints and vertical leap and he has the tools to make a very good CHB at AFL level. I am predicting his extra height, athleticism, potential for further improvement and Hurley’s lack of speed/agility may get him the nod over Michael Hurley who is a very good footballer in his own right.

Pick 6 Carlton- Michael Hurley
Carlton will be ecstatic that Hurley falls to them and will call his name out in a heartbeat. Hurley is a very good footballer who has the lone question mark hanging over him- Does he possess AFL athleticism? I think yes and I think Hurley will be a key foundation in a successful era that will come Carlton’s way.

Pick 7 Brisbane- Jack Ziebell
Strong bodied midfielder/ third tall who is one of the best kicks in this draft. Ziebell is going to have to work on his fitness and workrate and I believe he will begin his career at half forward/ half back before moving into the midfield with the retirements of Black, Johnstone and Power. Ziebell is a natural footballer with strong hands, a good sense of how to get a kick and is a superb finisher.

Pick 8 Richmond- Jackson Trengove
The tigers will go tall with this pick and will get a very good one indeed. Trengove can play any key position as well as the ruck and has qualities very similar to Matthew Kruezer. Injuries this year have allowed Trengove to slip a little but those in the know have not forgotten his dominant season last year where he beat McEvoy twice, Kruezer, Lobbe, Simpson, McKenna and Vickery. Trengove has a terrific leap, strong hands, is courageous and has a very good palming technique in the ruck. Most of all Trengove is very competitive and doesn’t like to lose a contest.

Pick 9 North Melbourne- Chris Yarran
The Shinboners will go for the best player available and Yarren is the bloke. Yarren has a super amount of talent, is very clean with his hands, possesses great disposal and instinctively knows where the goals are. Critics will say North already have Campbell and Thomas, however the only similarity here is that Yarren is also Aboriginal as once Chris can get his fitness right I believe he will play through the midfield or even off half back a little like the Burgoyne brothers have during their careers.

Pick 10 Adelaide- Hamish Hartlett
The Crows will have the choice of Hartlett or Sidebottom and I think may sway toward the gun local boy. Hartlett can play both inside and outside, he has very good skills and is hard at the contest. Hartlett is going have to build up his body but I think he will be a good replacement for the ageing Crows midfield in the next couple of years.

Pick 11 Collingwood- Sam Blease
The pies will have the dilemma of choosing between Blease who they covert for his speed and creativity and Sidebottom for his ball winning ability and capacity to use the footy. I reckon they will go for Sam Blease who is an outstanding prospect. Blease has pace to burn, terrific vision with the footy and can kick exciting goals. Blease is going to need a couple of summers in the gymnasium but will be an exciting AFL footballer who will fit in nicely with Thomas, Pendlebury and Swan.

Pick 12 Sydney- Steele Sidebottom
The Swans get a good one here. Steele is a running machine, who gets heaps of the footy, is strong in the air and can kick a goal or ten. Steele is a little one paced but makes up for that with great endurance, an uncompromising attack on the footy and terrific disposal on both sides of the body. Steele will also fit into the Bloods spirit and I could see this kid captaining an AFL side one day. The swans would suddenly have Veszpremi, Sidebottom, Moore and Bird- not a bad future midfield.

Pick 13 St Kilda- Stephen Hill
The Saints will add to their midfield depth with this very athletic midfielder. Terrific agility and speed, Hill will add a bit of zip to a one paced midfield. Like a lot of kids, Hill is going to have to build up in the gym but I think the saints are a good fit and he will benefit playing alongside Hayes, Ball, Montagna and Dal Santo.

Pick 14 Western Bulldogs- Ayce Cordy
Father/ son selection and one that was really a monty here. Ayce is tall, Ayce is athletic, Ayce is quick and Ayce is very thin. Will be focusing on building his body for the rigors of AFL footy but will be a very exciting prospect if he can get a little luck with injuries. I don’t expect Ayce to play AFL next year as he really has a lot of work to put into his body.

Pick 15 Geelong- Lewis Johnston
Athletic tall who has got good hands and can kick goals. Johnston looks to be suited to the hard working lead up forward role at AFL level. I really think Geelong will look to bolster their key position stocks with this pick and I think Johnston is the man most likely. Would be a nice partnership with Hawkins and Simpson in the years to come.

Pick 16 Hawthorn- Mitch Robinson
Contrary to what a lot of others think I believe the Hawks will go for best available here- not necessarily kp back and I think Robinson really suits the way the hawks play their footy. He is a big bodied mid with good speed and can run the lines. Added depth in the midfield/ utility stocks when players such as Crawford and Dew move on. The cynic in me thinks coming from Tassie will be the cherry on top of the ice cream!

Pick 17 Melbourne- Ryan Shoenmakers
I think Melbourne will use the Hawthorn model and go big with their 2 first picks. Will Watts and Shoenmakers be equivalent to Franklin and Roughead? Only time will tell. However Shoenmakers is tall, athletic and loves to compete. Has really improved over the course of the year and the draft camp highlighted his strengths. Will be a bolter.

Pick 18 West Coast- Michael Walters
Super quick and elusive left footer will be a wonderful player to watch on the expanses of Subiaco. Walters may begin his career as a small forward but with a few preseasons will build into a first class onballer with terrific speed and delivery to the forward line.

Pick 19 Melbourne- James Strauss
Very talented midfielder who is silky skilled. Big bodied midfielder who has the allround package of athleticism, good disposal and the ability to win his own football. A talented inside/ outside midfielder who has plenty of ability and looks a natural AFL player to this observer.

Pick 20 West Coast- Tom Swift
Tall midfielder who had an outstanding U/16 carnival and has barely played since. West Coast will have done their homework on the kid and I believe will take a punt on him here if available.

Pick 21 Fremantle- Neville Jetta
The Dockers lose an excitement machine in Farmer and gain one in Neville Jetta. I think Jetta is a good fit here, is a capable goal kicker and will play AFL footy next year. The Dockers need their forward line to click and Pavlich, Tarrant, Mayne and Jetta could be a dangerous combination moving forward.

Pick 22 Port Adelaide- Rhys Okeefe
Dashing half back/ midfielder who can break the lines with both his run and his kicking. I think the Power may weigh up Broadbent or Okeefe here but go with the player who has a few weapons that can really hurt opposition teams. Shapes up as an exciting AFL prospect.

Pick 23 Essendon- Daniel Hanneberry
The Bombers will look to boost their midfield stocks and will go for the talented bottom ager here. Hanneberry is quick enough with a very good engine. He is poised within traffic and has a very accurate left boot. Essendon go for another Xavier student here and hope that he is in the Jobe Watson class and not the James Davies class!

Pick 24 Fremantle- Aaron Cornelius
The Dockers will booster their talls so that their midfield have more than Pav and Taz to kick to. Cornelius has been playing against men for the past couple of seasons and he is a very strong mark. He will need to continue to work on his body strength as well as his athleticism but I think Freo is a good destination for the Taswegian.

Pick 25 Brisbane- Matthew Broadbent
I think the Lions will continue to build upon their midfield stocks here and they will look at a couple of options. I have narrowed the selection down to Broadbent and Suban but ultimately went for Broadbent as he has the ability to play a couple of different roles such as half back and wing as well as running through the midfielder while I see Suban as more of an in and under type. I also think Polkinghorne pretty much plays a similar role to Suban. Vossy would know Broadbent pretty well from AIS and would know he has a real solid citizen here.

Pick 26 Richmond- Nicholas Heyne
Richmond will bolster their midfield with a tall athletic Gippsland midfielder. Heyne is a very nice mover, with good disposal and is an AFL athlete. I think he will compliment the hard at it types of Johnson, Foley and Tuck and will be a very good AFL footballer into the future.

Pick 27 North Melbourne- Jordan Lisle
The son of Mark is merely a coincidence here but I think the Roos will pounce on this athletic tall who could hold down a key position back down the path. The Roos have Hansen, Watts and Firrito at present but Watts is getting on and Hansen could still end up being one of the competitions best Centre Half Forwards in my opinion. Lisle is very disciplined and will be a solid AFL citizen.

Pick 28 Adelaide- Jared Redden
The Crows may look to boost their ruck stocks here and Redden is most likely for mine. Redden is tall enough, athletic and kept getting better each time I saw him this year. The ruck stocks are a little thin for mine with Tippett and Sellar more key position types for mine. Like all ruckman Redden will need time but has the tools to become an effective AFL ruckman.

Pick 29 Collingwood- Ashley Smith
Smith had a terrific draft camp which would have boosted his stocks further. Smith’s strengths are his penetrating kicking and his leg speed. He has an AFL frame to work with however I would like him to be harder at the contest more regularly. I think Collingwood would look midfield here again with Suban and Deboer being in the mix. The other way they may go is tall with Roughead a possibility however Smith’s kicking and speed will get him over the line for mine.

Pick 30 Sydney- Jordan Roughead
Athletic tall who plays predominantly in the ruck. Another player with a basketball background which is evident by his terrific leap. Has improved dramatically this year and as he continues to learn the game I could see him develop into a key position forward.

Pick 31 Western Bulldogs- Tom Lynch
Another athletic tall who has comeback from a knee injury. Lynch is a versatile tall utility but I think Lynch will end up being a backman at AFL level and I could see him playing back with the Bulldogs. At best I could see Lynch turning into a Sam Fisher type of backman who would mesh well with Harris, Gilbee, Everitt and Tom Williams.

Pick 32 Western Bulldogs- Nick Suban
The bulldogs get a hard at it- in and under midfielder with this pick who can also finish off the job with clean disposal. Suban has a relatively developed body that could step up into AFL footy next year. Hopefully he takes Daniel Cross up as his role model- gets exceptionally fit and he will be a nice long term replacement for Scott West.

Pick 33 Geelong- Luke Rounds
The Cats will surprise a few here a go for a bottom aged youngster from the Geelong Falcons. Rounds is quick, hard at it and runs all day. There is a fair bit of difference between his good and his worst but that is to be expected from a 17 year old. Rounds will obviously play apprentice to Geelong’s great midfield but I think has the tools to be a very good AFL midfielder further down the track.

Pick 34 Hawthorn- Jayden Post
Post is rising up the charts like a bullet. Everything seemed to click for him late in the year. He is tall, strong, quick enough and has a real dip at the contest. I see him developing into a key position back and he would get a lot out of watching and learning from Trent Croad for the next couple of years. A mature 19 year old who seems a nice fit for the Hawks.

Pick 35 Melbourne- Luke Shuey
Melbourne will add another nice sized midfielder to their list with this pick. Shuey is a good athlete who wins his own ball and had an impressive National carnival this year. He is going to need to work on his kicking a little as he can have the odd bad day but it shouldn’t be enough to stop him going around this selection.

Pick 36 West Coast- Michael Still
Bottom ager from the Northern Knights who improved as the season progressed. Still has an exceptional pair of hands and is a very strong lead. His kicking is improving and I think he is a player who could flourish as he grows into his body. Would form part of a dangerous forward line in a few years with Kennedy, McKinley and Notte. The type of player I think the Eagles will really look at.

Pick 37 Fremantle- Matthew Deboer
The Dockers get a big bodied hard at it midfielder who also has very strong personal qualities by all accounts. His kicking isn’t A1 but I don’t think it is as bad as what some would have you believe and besides he will have plenty of good players to feed the ball to. I think Deboer would be a nice fit at Freo and is the sort of player who Harvey would go for.

Pick 38 Port Adelaide- Paul Cahill
The Power have a strong midfield and I think may look at a key position type here- with Cahill being the best fit here. Cahill is athletic enough and can take a grab. He will have a year or two to learn under Tredrea and will compete with the likes of the Westhoffs.

Pick 39 Geelong- Sam Wright
Super quick half forward/ winger who looks eerily like Dale Thomas. He is a one touch player who has good disposal on both sides of the body and is a goal kicker. A criticism of Wright has been that he doesn’t apply enough defensive pressure and doesn’t always take his turn however it is an area which I think he has improved in. Could provide some real excitement to the Cats fans in upcoming years.

Pick 40 Carlton- Dayne Beams
The tattooed one is a hard at it prolific midfielder who will become immediate friends with Paul Bower! On the football side Beams would add some depth and hardness to their midfield rotations and I could envisage him playing a bit of footy next year. A real goer.

Pick 41 Brisbane- Christopher Hall
Super quick smallish onballer who has pace to burn. I think Brisbane are looking for a bit of zip and they will certainly get it from this young bloke. There a few players of his ilk around at this pick such as Zaharakis but Hall has bit more zip and if he can bulk up would be an exciting player up at the Gabba.

Pick 42 Port Adelaide- Phil Davis
Athletic tall who plays predominantly in the backline. I have only seen Davis play twice on highlighted DVD’s so I am relying on the opinion of others however Port will be looking to stock up on key position types and this kid has some good wraps on him.

Pick 43 North Melbourne- Mitch Brown
This bloke is growing in status for doing the bare minimum- hope he pays his PR blokes a nice earner! In all seriousness Brown has kicked a heap of goals in school footy and can take a contested mark. He will need to work harder at AFL level but I know some clubs have been following him closely and I think the Roos will pounce.

Pick 44 Adelaide- Kade Klemke
The Crows go for some grunt with Kade Klemke. Physically strong and very hard at it, Klemke will not die wondering at the next level. I think Klemke is someone capable of running through the midfield eventually but will begin his career at half back. Klemke had a terrific National carnival for NSW and deserved All Australian honours. Klemke is a strong kick, defensively minded and an outstanding tackler.

Pick 45 Collingwood Zachary Clarke
Outstanding vertical leap from this tall young bloke and his footy especially improved in the second half of the year. Still has a ways to go in building his body and getting enough of the footy to make a dint on the game but I just think there is too much upside for Clarke not to be taken. Would be a good understudy to Fraser and Wood and Collingwood have a knack of developing talented youngsters.

Pick 46 Collingwood Patrick Hayes
Another outstanding athlete who developed nicely as the year progressed. Played representative hockey for Victoria and only decided to play footy this year as a 19 year old for Calder. Hayes tested exceptionally well for speed, agility, beep test and vertical leap at screening. Hayes played one game for Collingwood in the VFL this year where he apparently impressed. Hayes will need to continue to improve his decision making and kicking but is an intriguing AFL prospect.

Pick 47 St Kilda Tom Hill
Bottom aged ruckman who is athletic but very inconsistent and pencil thin. St Kilda have time and I think they will take the punt with this young bloke who looks like he still has some growing in him and is going to get to know the Frankston Gymnasium very well over the next couple of years. The Saints would see Hill as future ruckman which would allow Kosi and possibly even McEvoy to play key position roles.

Pick 48 St Kilda Jarred Blight
I think the Saints will pounce on Blight with this pick. Blight is tall enough and athletic enough to play key position back a little down the track and I think the Saints will take the punt here. He is also athletically capable of playing through the flanks and even on the wings. An exciting player who could be very good value at this pick.

Pick 49 Geelong Steven Gaertner
Super athletic and a very tall, quick key position prospect. Gaertner is the football equivalent to a nightclub tease. He promises a lot, looks great but often doesn’t quite get the job done. After that bizarre analogy I will get sane and state that Gaertner improved this year however his kicking will need to continue to improve as will his hardness at EVERY contest he enters. He is an athletic freak and Milburn, Scarlett and Harley would be outstanding mentors for this enigmatic footballer. I suspect Steve will be a pinch hitting key position/ tall flanker type at AFL level.

Pick 50 Hawthorn Clancee Pearce
Pearce is a hard at it half back type who is physically developed and is always ready for a contest. The Hawks have a few blokes with a bit of aggro and I think Pearce is a nice fit for them here. I am not sold on Pearce’s kicking and decision making but I have not seen him as much as others. He had a good national carnival and looks like he will relish playing against the big boys.

Melbourne Pick 51 Liam Shiels
Bottom aged midfielder who has a heap of potential. Shiels had a super U/16 carnival and backed that up by being very solid in the TAC cup this year. Shiels has a nice frame which will build up well after a few years in the gymnasium. He accumulates possessions very well and predominantly plays as an outside midfielder but takes his turn when required.

West Coast Pick 52 Jamie Sheahan
An exciting midfielder who can run through the midfield and is also a dangerous presence around the half forward line. Sheahan’s main assets are his speed and his ability to win his own footy. Sheahan’s kicking can be a bit hit and miss but the problem isn’t terminal and he played a stack of footy with Nationals, TAC and he also played a stack of school footy captaining Assumption College to a lot of success this year.

Fremantle Pick 53 David Zaharakis
The Dockers will look to boost their midfield with this speedy onballer. Zaharakis has improved his kicking which prevented him from being drafted last year however it is an area which will need to continue to improve. Zaharakis will also need to improve his body strength as I think he gets hit off the ball too easily when he is in a contested situation. However Zaharakis is fast, gets a lot of the footy and works exceptionally hard each and every week.

Port Adelaide Pick 54 Taylor Hunt
A power athlete with very good acceleration and a strong AFL suited body. Hunt has an athletics background and has only recently really taken his footy seriously. Hunt is a strong kick and may start his career down back until he builds up his endurance to run through the midfield.

Essendon Pick 55 Tom Rockliff
Rockliff is a Collingwood six footer who has very good hands for his size and can kick lots of goals. He has some flaws which are his capacity to run- he is unable to run through the midfield at TAC cup level which means he is a LONG way off doing it at AFL level and he needs to create a lot more defensive pressure when playing as a specialist forward. Rockliff does have the X factor though and could become a very handy small forward in the mould of Brett Ebert and Mark Williams. Others will have him significantly higher but to me he is a very good one trick pony at the moment with limitations on his athleticism.

Fremantle Pick 56 Will Young
Athletic tall who plays with plenty of gusto. Probably most suited to 3rd tall role but has the frame which looks like it could develop into a fair size and perhaps Young could eventually become a slightly undersized key position option. Young is the sort of athlete who I could envisage playing well at Subiaco and I think the Dockers will be impressed with his straight ahead style of play.

Brisbane Pick 57 Brad Mangan
Very bottom aged utility type who really came on in the second half of the year. He has very good hands, moves athletically but the thing that really sells him for me is his long penetrating kicking. I would not be surprised if clubs gamble a little earlier on this kid. Plays predominantly half forward but I think could be a Zeibell like player who is dangerous in the midfield because of his kicking.

Richmond Pick 58 Daniel Murray
WA had some other ruckman this year in the National Carnival who gained most of the attention however I really liked what I saw of Murray. Murray is a nice size, covers the ground well, showed some nice ruck work and took a couple of good marks around the ground. There are a few talls around this pick who may be considered including Browne, Stanley, McCulloch, Hill and Smouha but I like Murray best.

North Melbourne Pick 59 Rory Sloane
Hard at it midfielder/ utility who just thrives on the contest. Sloane has got terrific aerobic fitness, is hard at it, is good in the air for his size and has decent skills. However what I really like about him is he just hates to lose a contest. That to me is an underrated quality at AFL level. Sloane is also displays leadership qualities with a real extroverted personality. On the field he reminds a little of Damien Hardwick who ironically played at the same junior footy club off the field there is a touch of Shane Crawford. TAC cup Coaches award winner for this year.

Adelaide Pick 60 Tyson Slattery
Strong bodied utility/midfielder who should develop AFL size and motor. He is an uncompromising sort of player who I think could fulfil a small back/ close checking run with role at AFL level. Slattery just strikes me as a Neil Craig sort of player.

Sydney Pick 61 Riley Milne
A no frills defender who rarely got beaten at TAC level. He does a lot of things well defensively although another player for mine who could work on his kicking. What also impresses me about Milne is he seems a real leader out on the field and was the general of the Bushrangers backline this year. Would be a nice fit with the Swans and could be a nice replacement for Leo Barry further down the track.

Sydney Pick 62 Johnny Rayner
Bottom aged midfielder who only played 5 or so TAC cup games because of a back injury. Rayner is an elite runner who has represented his state in 800m and 1500m. Rayner has an impressive work rate, has decent kicking skills and is clean below his knees. I think this kid could really develop into a better than average AFL midfielder.

St Kilda Pick 63 Tom Allwright
Meat and potatoes midfielder who does a lot of things okay but nothing outstandingly well. However he is better than average at stoppages and Hayes, Ball and Armitage could do with a bit of extra assistance. I reckon the Saints have got another outside midfielder with Farren Ray thus I think they may go for an inside presence with this selection.

Western Bulldogs Pick 64 Zach Sengstock
Tall, athletic 19 year old who still has a lot to learn about the caper. However he has AFL attributes with his height and athleticism and he could develop into a solid AFL kp in time. Zach is the son of basketball legend Larry Sengstock. The Bulldogs will look to develop a couple of talls and others I considered were Joel Smouha, Bart MacCulloch, James Wall and James Krause. The other option with this pick would be for the Bulldogs to consider (again!) James Podsiadly. I think the Bulldogs won’t take the risk on this mature ager but most VFL followers would love to see the unlucky Podsiadly finally get a chance.

Geelong Pick 65 Pass

Hawthorn Pick 66 Mitchell Banner
The Hawks get a reliable, hard working midfielder who is capable of winning a stack of the footy. Banner has done everything asked of him this year both in the Nationals and in the TAC cup. I have a slight concern over Banner’s kicking as he sometimes throws the ball on the boot in a rush and he needs to kicker stronger and flatter in the AFL but they are areas he can work on. Will be a very good VFL footballer- the question is can he cut it in the AFL?

Melbourne Pick 67 Pass

West Coast Pick 68 Pass

Carlton Pick 69 Jake Walsh
Massive kid who is a bottom aged tall. Jake has got very good hands and is a good kick for goal. The question mark on Walsh will be his agility and his athleticism at AFL level. However getting him at 17 would be the best chance to refine his body a little and get him training at an elite level. He just takes a mark every now and then which show extraordinary hands and real potential.

Port Adelaide Pick 70 Danny Meyer
I think the Power may roll the dice on this kid and select him here. Meyer was rarely fit during his run with the Tigers and I thought started to show some pretty good form with Coburg towards the end of the year. There is no doubt Richmond paid over the odds for him as they were drawn to his speed but I think Meyer could flourish in a different environment without the pressure of the high draft pick next to him.

Essendon Pick 71 Pass

Fremantle Pick 72 Andrew Browne
I think Fremantle will take a developing type ruckman who will have time to come on in the WAFL while Aaron Sandilands wins just about every tap that he competes for in the AFL. I think the Dockers may go for Browne because of his size and strength and belief in time that he can develop into a strong bullocking type ruckman. Browne is a fair way off the pace at the moment, doesn’t get a lot of footy around the ground and hasn’t got a big leap. However, he is big, strong, has a dip and has something to work with.

wow this is an awsome effort not only because its really detailed but because its very unique :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

i like richmonds selections - trengrove and Heyne- they both add a lot of versatility to a strongly improving richmond outfit that will be all the better with these 2young guns in the squad.

a few things like redden taken b4 roughhead, and de boer and suban sliding, and mckernan going that high i dont quite agree with but its a great effort anyway:)

Very good effort, your knowledge on the youngsters cannot be questioned.

Strictly from an Essendon POV though, i'd be pretty disappointed with that draft. If we were looking for a more athletic tall at 5, then Trengove is by far the best option. And considering we've shown interest in him, i'd think that we would look at him before Mckernan.

I have seen a fair bit of Daniel Murray at East Perth. He is a great ruck prospect but unfortunately has the brain of a goldfish. I can't see anyone taking him.

Hamish Shepheard from East Perth on the other hand, I am fairly confident he will go top 50.

While I really like the first 2 picks you gave Richmond, I believe that if Hartlett is available with our first pick we would take him and look at getting a tall with pick 26. Just seems that Wallace wants to build an exceptional midfield first and foremost and will make do with 'average' talls to fill the key positions.

Whether thats the right path to take time will tell.

Fantastic Effort and I rate you Quite Highly by Reading you Other Ones From Other Years:thumbsu:

I really value your opinion and it was a good read, but from a Melbourne point of view I would not be satisfied with that at all.
At 17 we are more likely to take a mid than a forwards, as WC are pretty much set for KPP, so if we take a forward at 17 it leaves one less midfielder to pick from at 19.
I would prefer Cornelius over Schoenmakers, but that's not really here nor there...
It's interesting to see that you rate Strauss so highly, especially as you have him being taken ahead of the likes of Swift.
As for Shuey, I don't think he's the type of player Melbourne need, an inside mid with questionable disposable and a little on paced imo, we are more likely to take someone who gathers 15 possessions a game but who can break lines.
I like the choice of Shiels at 51, however after forwards, Melbourne's greatest need is a ruckman, and you don't have us taking one in this draft, you havn't given us a small backman either...
If it's best available it might be close to the mark, but needswise I think it's a fair bit off for Melbourne...

Great work, Foj1, just as expected. Love the detailed reasoning behind each pick, top class stuff.

Love your work.

Great work mate,:thumbsu: like the sound of the 3 mids you've given us, only I'd question whether we'll go with Redden, or any other "pure ruckman" with our 1st 2 picks. Whilst Tippet and Moran look as if they'll be KPPs in the long term, both provide adequate backup to Maric and Griffin (All around 22). At the moment we seem pretty comfortable with our ruck stocks, if we were worried, we'd would have looked at trading one in, as we did Moran last year as a back up KPD/Ruckman. I'd like to see us pick up a development ruckman, but I think it will be with a much later pick, even just a rookie pick. Again a great effort, very enjoyable and enlightening read:)