foj1 Phantom Draft 2009

• Thread starter Thread starter foj1

Awesome job, mate. I agree with RT and Tigerdan that we would need another tall. Happy with Bastinac at 19 but maybe a key position player instead of Carey.

Again, great work. :thumbsu:

Good work again foj1.
From a Freo point of view I'd rate Brad Sheppard clearly ahead of Mitch Duncan. I know what you mean about Duncan being a solid citizen and I reckon he'll be a good AFL footballer but I think Sheppard is a gun and will get taken about 10-16.
Troy Taylor is interesting but my gut feel is that he's too chancey a selection at 20-ish and will fall to the 3rd round.

I agree with what Ruthless Tiger said: Richmond desperately need talls!

The Tigers drafted two decent talls in last years draft and with the potential lack of depth in this years talls, it might be best to build your team with quality mids.

The first two selections by foj1 were very strong selections.

loved this draft
like the look of all the picks
i would hope tht mitch thorpe goes into the PSD so we can pick him up at pick no. 2 there which would help out our talls in the forward line a little more

A few points:
Daniel talia is a key position player not just a back. He predominantly played forward for Assumption over the past couple of years which had plenty of scouts in attendance.
I have drafted relatively small for the Tigers however their list is at the stage where best player available. Carey at 35 would be a very nice get.
In terms of Vardy I just dont rate him as highly as others. I remember making similar judgements about Tom Bellchambers a couple of years back. No knock on the kid and still second best ruckman in this years draft.
I find it hard seperating Cunnington, Lucas and Melksham. I picked Melksham over Lucas because I think he is more effective as an onballer however Lucas has him covered athletically.
Thank you to kind comments and I enjoy debate very much in what is an unbelievably hard draft.

The Tigers drafted two decent talls in last years draft and with the potential lack of depth in this years talls, it might be best to build your team with quality mids.

The first two selections by foj1 were very strong selections.
While it is correct that we drafted a couple of quality talls last year we also delisted 4 just last week. Our current list of talls, and by talls I mean 192 or above, consists of:
Browne (ruck) 204cm
Graham (ruck) 200cm
Vickery (R/F) 200cm
Simmonds* (ruck) 196cm
Richo* (forward) 195cm
Post (KPP) 194cm
Gourdis (KPF) 193cm
Rance (KPD) 192cm
Riewoldt (KPF) 192cm

Of that list Simmonds and Richo will be gone this time next year, Browne & Graham are rucks rather than KP types and Gourdis is a rookie listed player. That leaves us with effectively 4 genuine KP types to build a list around. While McGuane Thursfield & Moore have played KPD in previous season, I believe they are better suited to being 3rd talls. That is why I believe Richmond will target at least 3 talls in the draft. We really need to address that area of our list if we want to become a genuine challenger for the 8 in the years to come.

No point having a team full of crack midfielders if there is no-one up forward to kick goals and no-one down back to man up the oppositions KPF.

terrific read as always Foj1. i agree with you insomuch as its a very hard draft. be interested where it got tough for you.....for me it was 25. it was pretty needs based after that and am almost scared to see how wrong i am.

was surprised no Hooper albeit history is with you I guess. also interested in your reasons around Ledin, hartigan and the rucks outside Vardy and Gawn.

Fremantle Pick 49 Mitchell Thorp Key Position Hawthorn
Injury riddled tall who has not even touched on the natural ability the good lord gave him. Attitude problems off the field certainly have been well documented however the kid when fit can play footy. The Dockers could be the side who give this kid a second chance and he may well get his act together after the shock of delistment while still contracted. Harvey will need to be at his toughest with this kid but I think it is a high risk high reward pick for the Dockers.quote]

Drum for Thorp...niccee! :D

Thanks mate for all your hard work :thumbsu:

Cats wise, I am glad to see you are not one of the many stupid phantom drafters who has us taking all mids.

Quick question though-considering Mumford's leaving and Otto retiring (at the end of 11' at the latest) we really need a ruckman, and it seems that Craig while great, probably couldn't be one and is more of a KPF (I've heard many ppl suggest that).

What ruckman do you think would be left at 40, 42 or 56 that would be worth looking at?

terrific read as always Foj1. i agree with you insomuch as its a very hard draft. be interested where it got tough for you.....for me it was 25. it was pretty needs based after that and am almost scared to see how wrong i am.

was surprised no Hooper albeit history is with you I guess. also interested in your reasons around Ledin, hartigan and the rucks outside Vardy and Gawn.

I dont rate Hooper highly as an AFL player. Too small to play back pocket/half back at AFL level and isnt anywhere near classy enough to play onball. I hope I am wrong but it is the way I see it - he will be jake King at best for mine. Ledin is there abouts however I have Hunter in front of him due to terrific testing and development over the course of the year.
Kyle Hartigan was really disappointing this year albeit he finished off the year in good style. Kyle has the athleticism to play AFL footy however his decision making, lack of concentration and tendency to be too easily pushed out of the way drives me nuts. I think he is one that I may have judged a tad harsh. I do prefer Sean Tighe to him. Johnny Rayner is another Jet who could get drafted as well. The Jets do themselves no favours in my opinion by the haphazard way they play and the sort of list they shape each and every year.
The ruck depth is bare thin this year- Hannath and Fewster were next two on my board as ruck options. VFL ruckman such as Fanning, Wheeler or even Orren Stephenson at 30 years old could be wildcards I guess though highly unlikely. I reckon there might be a few rookie ruckmen this year with clubs hoping their listed ruckmen stand up.

would be happy with that draft but would prefer carlisle than moore. good stuff though:thumbsu:

I don't think anyone has grasped the Bulldog's list needs as well as foj1 has. Kudos :thumbsu:

Foj, been waiting for a phantom to grab me, and this is it! I really think some of the early draft picks, 5+ I mean, will go that way. Great read!:thumbsu:

I don't think anyone has grasped the Bulldog's list needs as well as foj1 has. Kudos :thumbsu:

I have to claim it wasnt my intuitiveness here. I was at a function that Simon Dalrymple spoke at and he identified speed and a specialist ruckman would be things they aim for especially with Wallis and Libba sign, sealed and delivered and Barry Hall acquired.

Uninspiring draft selections for Adelaide. Adelaide will go for quick midfielders or a crumbing forward not more athletes.