Footy Developments in NSW and Queensland

..for anyone not gifted with the narrow aptitude advantaged in that sport.

An Australian Rules Footballer has the most options, the most varied demands placed upon his skills.
An ideal Australian Rules Footballer would have lightning acceleration, run all day, kick long and accurately, take contested marks, read the play, handball proficiently , tackle strongly and bounce the ball proficiently. A super star in Australian Rules Football would have most of those attributes.

A super star in basketball or soccer does all what other professionals in the sport do but better, quicker and more regularly.

Pedantic. Sport requires a skill set to be played otherwise the idea of sport is pointless.

Ha ha ha ha. I'd like to see that.
No. The base level skill required for all sports is zero. Played masters footy, with immigrants who came to footy to check out the `Australian sport`. They had literally never even seen the sport before, and we gave them a run after a few training sessions. They could play. They really really sucked, but they could play.

For all sports, base level skill is zero.

If 10 000 hours practice of the skills of a sports puts you in the top 1%, and there are 1 million participants, your in the top 10 000. If there are 10 million participants, your in the top 100 000, and if there are 100 million, your in the top million.

How hard the basic skills are is irrelevant, because regardless of how hard they are, you play against players struggling with the same skill set.

Before you hijacked discussion about your version of skill we were talking about the growth and demise of certain sports.
We were talking about juniors taking a sport for the first time and the ease or barriers to that.
Australian Rules Football and I believe other sports now have introductory programs to attract and ease juniors into their sports.

Played masters footy, with immigrants who came to footy to check out the `Australian sport`. They had literally never even seen the sport before, and we gave them a run after a few training sessions. They could play.

We weren't talking about the conversion of mature adults to new sports. And even in your example you admit to giving them training sessions.
Adults obviously pick up a lot of skills on the way to being adults. The hardest thing for overseas newcomers to learn is the hand-pass and bouncing the ball because there is no near relative to that. We had to keep telling recruits "punch the ball off the plate" and "don't bounce the ball - just run the 15m".

For all sports, base level skill is zero.

For juniors and that's what we were referencing that is utter rubbish.
Even for adults that is rubbish. Even if the skill requirements were level, which they obviously aren't,
people have different skill levels for the same endeavour.

They could play. They really really sucked, but they could play.

This exactly what I would reply when asked by various overseas coaches/players about my thoughts on their team - "you play football".
Then I would slowly advise them of the ways achieve the next level skillset.

SMH A Proszenko 3.4.21

P. V'landys again mentioning the pressing issue/"problem" for RL to increase its GR contact nos., & spend much more funds to revive contact nos., when he said

"Why is Penrith so successful? Because they look after participation. Look at how much they spend on jnr. development, how much they spend on jnr participation. Look at the initiative to go into country areas & start up their Academies ".

Proszenko said

"Penrith spend just under $2.5m to run all their jnr programs, an investment that begins with its U20's side, & covers every tier down to the youngest registered player...".

"Some critics argue that there aren't enough quality players to be spread evenly across the existing clubs, let alone one or two additional ones".
(All my emphases).

On 12.5, V'landys said "Let's not mince words. The AFL are invading Qld. & that is brilliant management... I'm up for the fight...We will come out fighting". (See post#838 above, where V'landys is very frank re the many issues now confronting RL).
The NRL's public posture was once that it was "king" in its heartlands. Now, however, its concern at AF GR growth is very public now, it no longer presents a public veneer of simply ignoring, or dismissing, the AFL threat.

It will be interesting to see how much the NRL, & its clubs (Penrith is very wealthy, due to its large no. of pokies at its affiliated pokie clubs) are willing- & even financially able?- to spend on GR male contact RL; & to establish Academies in Regional areas. The NRL wants all its clubs to do this.

The gap between the top 5 NRL clubs & bottom 4 is very wide- adding Brisbane 2 will dilute the talent by 1/16th.

A further complication is that, when they introduce Brisbane 2, how much will it cannibalise crowds of the woeful Broncos- who, despite having all of SEQ to themselves, are unable to find sufficient skilled players to be at least competitive in the NRL.
A disaster would occur if Brisbane 2 recruits some of the Broncos' best talent?

SMH A. Webster 30.4.21

Webster says that:-

. jnr RL player weight divisions in NZ allow jnr lightweights there to "survive", enjoy playing RL, & to learn, in safety, how to develop elite skills (not just halves).

. this is the opposite of the system in Australia, where the big, heavy kids dominate jnr RL ranks.
"It's about who can bash & barge over the line".

"...a production line of (skilful light weight) haves starts to dry up at the top level, although weight disparity at jnr level is only part of the story....".

These are structural issues for GR contact RL, re its declining contact nos. Many light & medium weight GR players may decide not to start, or continue with, GR RL, due to fear of injury/actual injury.
Jnr RU & RL weight divisions have always existed in NZ; & it is my understanding they existed in Sydney, for both jnr RU & RL., until c. 1970.

Also, having fewer NRL skilful light weight halves now- with their flair- makes the NRL less exciting & attractive to watch, which negatively affects crowds-& its ratings & MSM coverage, eventually.

B. Walter, on 17.5.21, on nrl.com.au said, re the possibility of NZ2 joining the NRL, "...the NRL has identified NZ as a key market for the game, with 26% of the competition's players coming from across the Tasman".
(These NRL players from NZ are from European, Maori, & Pasifika backgrounds).

NRL CEO A. Abdo has also stated recently that NZ2 would be seriously considered by the NRL to enter the comp.- but Brisbane 2 is the favourite to be introduced first.

SMH A. Webster 30.4.21

Webster says that:-

. jnr RL player weight divisions in NZ have allowed jnr lightweights there to "survive", enjoy playing RL, & to slowly learn to develop elite skills (not just halves).

. this is the opposite of the system in Australia, where the big, heavy kids dominate jnr RL ranks.
"It's about who can bash & barge over the line".

"...a production line of (skilful light weight) haves starts to dry up at the top level, although weight disparity at jnr level is only par of the story....".

These are structural issues for GR contact RL, re its declining contact nos. Many light & medium weight GR players may decide not to start, or continue with, GR RL, due to fear of injury.
Jnr RU weight divisions have always existed in NZ; & it is my understanding they existed in Aust., for both jnr RU & RL., until c. 1970.

Also, having fewer skilful light weight halves now- with their flair- makes the NRL less exciting & attractive to watch, which negatively affects crowds-& its ratings & MSM coverage eventually.

B. Walter, on 17.5.21, on nrl.com.au said, re the possibility of NZ2 joining the NRL, "...the NRL has identified NZ as a key market for the game, with 26% of the competition's players coming from across the Tasman".
(These NRL players from NZ are from European, Maori, & Pasifika backgrounds).

NRL CEO A. Abdo has also stated recently that NZ2 would be seriously considered by the NRL to enter the comp.- but Brisbane 2 is the favourite to be introduced first.
The issue in Australia may be that they may struggle to field full teams if they create weight divisions.

From the Courier Mail interview with P. V'landys on 12.5.21, where he said "The AFL are invading Qld. ...We will come out fighting". V'landys also said the NRL may decide to have 5 NRL teams in Qld. by 2027, to combat the advances of the AFL there.

THE NRL’S IMAGE
Rugby league has copped a series of black eyes in recent days. There was not only the sickening sight of Roosters five-eighth Drew Hutchison suffering a punctured lung after being kneed in the back by Eels rival Dylan Brown last Saturday.
Just 24 hours after that incident, Queensland rugby league was rocked by a melee at an under-13s game between Wynnum Manly and Logan Brothers in which a parent required facial surgery after being kicked in the face.
V’landys said he will put rugby league under the microscope across all levels of the sport to provide a safe environment for parents, coaches and players, both grassroots and professional. “I want to send a message to mums and dads in Queensland and across Australia - they should not be concerned about their kids playing rugby league,” he said.

“But as a Commission, we will make the game safer.”
Of the Brisbane junior brawl, V’landys said: “It’s disgusting. They are acts of cowards. If you want to be a thug, you have no place in our game.

Numerous MSM RL experts, & RL Officials, have stated that GR RL, & the NRL, have an image problem- on a range of on-field & off-field issues- with many people in NSW, ACT, & Qld.

On WWOS on 23.4.21, A Johns suggested NRL players may need minders when they go to night clubs etc., to ensure they don't embarrass RL.

Out-of-contract NRL player Jamil Hopoate was charged & jailed (pending court) yesterday for his part in an importation of 500kgs of cocaine, worth c. $155m- if found guilty, a 20 years, or more, sentence could be imposed.

Jarrad Hayne, a winner of the NRL Dally M Medal, was found guilty of rape last week, & was sentenced to 5 year's jail. He proclaims his innocence, & will appeal.

Whilst the AFL has also had many scandals with player behaviour, these problems occur FAR more frequently in the NRL.

AF GR nos. are FAR greater than the NRL's, & incidents of brawls/bashings etc. at GR AF matches occur much less often, cf GR RL matches.

It can be assumed that these RL "image problems" are contributing to the significant, long term decline in GR male contact RL nos. in NSW, ACT, & Qld.

Again, the decent of rl and the ascent of Australian Rules are two independent mechanisms
but at least one offers a healthy alternative to the other.

1. It appears that the female GR AF boom in Qld., NSW, ACT & around Australia is attracting most, or many, of its players from netball.

2. The Australian 7.5.2021 "Secret Report That Warns Against NRL Expansion"

In Oct. 2019, L. Smith, the expert appointed by the NRL & P. Beattie in late 2018, to investigate the benefits of creating Brisbane 2 (or Perth) as the 17th club in the NRL, delivereded his final report. Smith had strong doubts such a 17th club would benefit the NRL.
Smith raised strong doubts re elite player depth problems, too costly for the NRL, no extra games- thus limited Rights' benefits, many NRL clubs opposed a 17th team. He also suggested 2 teams should merge.

P. V'landys became NRL Chairman at this time, & ordered a further review be done. Until now, the contents of the Oct. 2019 report have never been released- but some NRL clubs have now leaked the report's main findings to The Australian.

Lachlan Smith Oct. 2019 Report to the NRL re a 17 th Club.

"No one can say exactly how many pages were in the report. Some say 150, others suggest 250. Regardless, it is what is on the pages that matters. The devil, as they say, is in the detail.

In October 2019, a year-long study into the game’s footprint was presented to the ARL Commission. The details are sketchy but in an email to club chief executives 12 months earlier, the NRL said it wanted to consider a range of matters on the game’s future.

It talked about where the game would be in 2050. What should the game be doing to optimise its footprint? Was there enough talent to expand? The document was researched and compiled by the NRL’s strategic guru Lachlan Smith, hired by former chief executive Todd Greenberg and charged with surveying the expansionary landscape.

According to those with knowledge of Smith’s report, it indicated expansion was a risk.. One source told the NRL that after reading the report, they believed expansion bordered on insanity [perhaps rivals Broncos or Titans, who fear a local competitor?].

Smith is now at the centre of the expansion debate again. This time, charged by ARL Commission chair Peter V’landys and NRL chief executive Andrew Abdo with determining whether the game should add another team in Brisbane from 2023.

His old report is apparently gathering dust in a drawer somewhere at Rugby League Central, V’landys and Abdo overseeing a fresh dive into expansion.

It seems a fait accompli that the shift to 17 teams will get the green light. The three bidding groups were told to lodge expressions of interest this week, handed a secret code which enabled them to access the criteria and begin the formal process of applying to set up a new club in southeast Queensland.

Less than two years after the ARL Commission was handed a report that some would have you believe expansion was problematic, they are ready to hit the go button. The Gold Coast Titans are among those with deep concerns, having led the charge for clubs to hire their own consultancy firm to conduct their own inquiries expansion.

Up to 12 clubs will share the costs of the Gemba Group’s investigation, which is expected to be finalised in coming weeks. More about that later.

Firstly though, back to Smith’s original report. Sources with knowledge of the report say it talked about putting the kybosh on expansion for three reasons. One, the financial numbers didn’t stack up — the cost was prohibitive.

Two, the playing talent wasn’t there to support another team. And three, no sporting competition in their right mind moves to an odd number of teams, thereby ensuring one side has a bye each week while adding no extra games to each round.

“They were the big things that came out of it,” said a source familiar with the report.

“You need another 40-odd players. The view was you can find jersey fillers. But you are already finding three to five jersey fillers in every club at the moment. That is very subjective, but that’s what the paper said.”

Gold Coast chair Dennis Watt, whose club led the charge to hire the Gemba Group, believes that two-year-old report should play a part in the current decision-making.

He wants the ARL Commission to share it with the clubs so they can make a three-pronged decision on whether they support expansion. They can consider Smith’s original document. They can look at the new report he is preparing for the commission. And they can consider the Gemba Group findings.

“There are three bodies of work that need to be reviewed,” Watt said. “The work being done by the NRL under Lachlan Smith, who was heavily involved in the last expansion work.

“The work the 12 clubs are getting done through Gemba — three-quarters of the clubs are helping fund this independent analysis of expansion in the Brisbane market.

“There is also a 250-page report that was presented to the ARLC in October 2019, which was firmly against the introduction of a 17th team and said there was no case for a 17th team.

“They committed considerable resources to that. It should be available. It may well be that covering the same territory but I think what happened there was they were talking about merging teams [Probably 2 Sydney clubs].

“From what we were told, the overwhelming finding was that the 17th team was not a worthwhile pursuit.

“If it is proven it grows the entire pie and does not diminish it, we will have a look at it. Our feeling is it might be a bit premature for us.

“It is three years under the current ownership and the ownership was forced to pay a significant amount of money for the privilege of taking over the basket case for the NRL.

“But we are still battling to be an NRL team and it is pretty clear there will be competition not just for players, but also for coaches, for staff, for sponsors and for members because it is just up the road.

“There is definitely going to be an inflationary effect right across the industry, but particularly so for us. It is already the case that managers and players are sitting back and waiting to see what offers come in from the 17th team. So it does complicate your roster management even more.”
The sense among some in clubland is that the decision has already been made. That expansion is a fait accompli. V’landys and Abdo insist that is far form the case, a point they have made to clubs during visits in recent weeks.

Next week, they will head to Brisbane for Magic Round and meet the three Queensland clubs. Among them will be the Gold Coast, the club some would say with the most to lose from expansion.

The Broncos are a juggernaut. The Titans are only a few short years removed from teetering on extinction. V’landys and Abdo insist they should have nothing to fear.

Only when Smith presents his latest deep dive into expansion will a call be made. Even then, the broadcasters will have a part to play.

Within weeks, the ARL Commission should have a better idea of the merits of the respective bid teams — the Brisbane Jets, Brisbane Firehawks and Redcliffe have put their hand up to join the competition.

V’landys insists the clubs they have met thus far have dropped any resistance once they have had their club visits and been taken through the plans for expansion,

“We haven’t found that resistance for any of them,” V’landys said.
“Once they understand the strategy they have a different view on it and they have an open mind on it.

“What we said all along was that the business case has to stack up. That is why we have gone out with the expressions of interest.

“As Andrew and I have both said, it is not a fait accompli. It has to add value to the game. The reason we are looking at it is because Queensland is a major market for us and we want to have prominence in the Brisbane market every week, not every second week.
“You have eight teams in Sydney and one in Brisbane. When we go to broadcasters, Origin is important.

“You need to have pathways in various forms in Queensland. Otherwise you are not going to get future Queensland players.

“Like it or not, other sports have made inroads up there and we need to counteract it. We have a duty to make the game the most popular sport in Australia.

“Any board, that should be their objective.”

Abdo added: “We have asked for expressions of interest because some of the questions we have to satisfy the commission with we can only do after we engage the bidders.

“It is also about what your brand will deliver to the game. What is your plan for acquiring new fans? What is your plan for participation and elite player development.

“The answers around whether this is viable to some extent has to come in some way from understanding the strategy, understanding the capabilities and understand the financial security.

“You can’t answer the question on whether or not it works until you engage with the potential bidders and understand whether they have financial security.”

V’landys and Abdo have some powerful figures in their corner. When the pair flew to America early last year, before COVID-19 turned the world on its head, they received the imprimatur of News Corp (publisher of The Weekend Australian) boss Lachlan Murdoch, whose company is the major shareholder of the Broncos.

“We’re certainly not opposed to a second team in Brisbane,” Broncos chair Karl Morris said.

“We’re still to see the report from the NRL. But the Broncos have looked at rivalries not only in Australia, but other places in the world where they have a local derby, and it has always been relatively successful.

“It takes a long time for the second team to get to economic viability — just as long as it isn’t at the serious expense of other teams.”

Sydney Roosters supremo Nick Politis and South Sydney chair Nick Pappas have backed a 17th team in southeast Queensland as has seven-time premiership winner Wayne Bennett, although his support should be balanced against the point that he is on the lookout for a new job at the end of the season and the expansion franchise beckons.

Supporters of expansion use the example of Manchester United and Manchester City. Would Manchester United have supported City being formed? Likewise Adelaide and Port Adelaide in the AFL and West Coast and Fremantle. Those respective rivalries have become integral parts of their respective competitions.

So, they say, will a Brisbane rivalry involving the Broncos and a new team. Things will, however, get interesting if the Gemba investigation comes back with a finding that expansion cannot work".

https://www.theaustralian.com.au/sp...n/news-story/7589862cda76e14fe9a6fbef8a944a71

“Like it or not, other sports have made inroads up there and we need to counteract it. .

This is closing the stable door after the horse has bolted. NRL cannot expect to undo those gains.

We have a duty to make the game the most popular sport in Australia.

Simply weird.

Supporters of expansion use the example of Manchester United and Manchester City. Would Manchester United have supported City being formed? Likewise Adelaide and Port Adelaide in the AFL and West Coast and Fremantle. Those respective rivalries have become integral parts of their respective competitions.

Why is it that NRL people seem to have a logic bypass so often. What's good for the goose is not good for the duck.
The EPL has promotion and relegation. The best teams make their way to the top and are not created.
Port Adelaide is the most successful football club in Australia and had a huge following.
This was both a plus and a minus - big enough to join the AFL but difficult to overcome SANFL rivalries. Brisbane2 has nothing.
Fremantle took a long time to grow and their glass cabinet is empty. Brisbane2 might have the same sentiment and result.

I wish no ill will to the NRL, but the beauty of their conference idea is that at least those AFL fans who constant harp on about it will get to see what a dumb idea it really is.
It's almost impossible to come up with a dumber idea in the Australian sporting context.
Arguable

It does nothing for 50% of the league
While being advantageous to the other 50% of the league

Though, I guess it creates disdain for the former towards the latter.

1. V'landys states that if the NRL does not resolve the head knock issues, & related public & parental concerns in RL, "there will be no game in 15years".

2. A. Abdo states the NRL will only agree to Brisbane 2 if it is convinced it wiil create "new fans, new players, new participants for RL". Titans' owners D. Kelly & R. Frizelle believe it my cannibalise support from them, & the Broncos.

3. P. V'lndys states contact RL nos. are in decline because some parents & players are concerned about the long term effects of head knocks & concussion.
The NRL is determined to eradicate contact above the shoulder in RL- by more 10 minute sin bins & send-offs.

Many MSM RL experts, along with many fans, however, don't want accidental & incidental ("soft" head knocks) to be abolished or punished- because it is unavoidable in RL, & would change the fabric of the game too much

V'landys states that if the NRL does not resolve the head knock issues, & related public & parental concerns in RL, "there will be no game in 15years".

Is that an emotional statement or factual ?

Abdo states the NRL will only agree to Brisbane 2 if it is convinced it wiil create "new fans, new players, new participants for RL". Titans' owners D. Kelly & R. Frizelle believe it may cannibalise support from them, & the Broncos.

No new fans, players or particpants, but NRL in Brisbane every week.

V'lndys states contact RL nos. are in decline because some parents & players are concerned about the long term effects of head knocks & concussion.

Maybe, but it also comes down to choice, having the choice to play a game probably more suitable to the majority.

Many MSM RL experts, along with many fans, however, don't want accidental & incidental ("soft" head knocks) to be abolished or punished- because it is unavoidable in RL, & would change the fabric of the game too much

Then it is a lose/lose situation.

3. P. V'lndys states contact RL nos. are in decline because some parents & players are concerned about the long term effects of head knocks & concussion.
The NRL is determined to eradicate contact above the shoulder in RL- by more 10 minute sin bins & send-offs.

Will never work

I know the studies into CTE in the NFL showed that the players who suffered the most were lineman. You know, the guys who stand 1 foot apart and instantly collide with each other.

Yeah, the WR get outright knocked out with the hits from the safeties, but it's the Lineman who get little hits 50+ times a game + practise etc.

The way Rugby League is, is just this. Guys running into these head on collisions where momentum stops instantly causing the brain to rattle.

Yeah, you can knock out the knockouts, but you'll never be able to stop CTE in this game.

Will never work

I know the studies into CTE in the NFL showed that the players who suffered the most were lineman. You know, the guys who stand 1 foot apart and instantly collide with each other.

Yeah, the WR get outright knocked out with the hits from the safeties, but it's the Lineman who get little hits 50+ times a game + practise etc.

The way Rugby League is, is just this. Guys running into these head on collisions where momentum stops instantly causing the brain to rattle.

Yeah, you can knock out the knockouts, but you'll never be able to stop CTE in this game.

Afl is worse because of 360 nature you can't brace for hit.

Do you even understand CTE?

Outright ugly knockouts, yes, you'll get it in footy more than anything other than boxing/martial arts.

But CTE? It's a greater threat in soccer ffs.

Do you even understand CTE?

Outright ugly knockouts, yes, you'll get it in footy more than anything other than boxing/martial arts.

But CTE? It's a greater threat in soccer ffs.

Ha - you're trying to understate dangers of your favorite sport. Soccer can remove headers, but something like afl will always be a heavy contact sport

You really need to look into CTE more mate.

Big hits are bad optics. And with enough they become an issue.

But 200 small hits in a season vs 5 big hits in a season

I know which one will cause more damage in the long term.

But I guess it's not as bad as 1000 small hits in a season like we see with lineman in NFL or forwards in Rugby.

You really need to look into CTE more mate.

Big hits are bad optics. And with enough they become an issue.

But 200 small hits in a season vs 5 big hits in a season

I know which one will cause more damage in the long term.

But I guess it's not as bad as 1000 small hits in a season like we see with lineman in NFL or forwards in Rugby.

Your sport has heavy contact every possession.

Soccer can remove headers

Soccer could remove headers but it never would and I hate using the word "never".

something like afl will always be a heavy contact sport

The way the game is structured now it is almost illegal to of any heavy contact.
Tackles have to be in a "controlled manner" and not excessive.
It's almost impossible to tackle bump head on without giving away a free.
Bumps have a duty of care and are really restricted to fighting for possession
though Mummy did this front on tackle that would make any rl player proud, but that is aware occurrence these days.
AFL still has problems and that is the players doing self-damage by burying in with their heads and flying for marks.
AFL may be a 360 degree game but that doesn't mean contact is 360 degree.

Your sport has heavy contact every possession.

You should actually watch a game before you make silly comments.
And you should drop all the ambiguous statements.
My sport is Australian Rules Football and the degree of contact varies with the level.
With tackling is always part of the game in rugby league, though when I played rugby union I was surprised by the lack of tackling
but the lack of tackling is replaced with scrumming and rucking.