Review Fremantle d Adelaide by 11 pts

I don't want to sound like a noob, but "ground ball", isnt that a contested pozzy? Can someone please clarify that for me please.
Contested possessions contain all kinds of contested possessions - contested marks, free kicks, take aways from hitouts (Sandi to Fyfe). A ground ball is a possession from a free ball, either loose in play or within a pack.

In the pressure and ball winning aspects of the game, Adelaide led all night. But they were appalling when they used the ball. Even one of Taylor Walker's few shots at goal came via a shank kick from Dangerfield with zero pressure on him.

Contested possessions contain all kinds of contested possessions - contested marks, free kicks, take aways from hitouts (Sandi to Fyfe). A ground ball is a possession from a free ball, either loose in play or within a pack.

In the pressure and ball winning aspects of the game, Adelaide led all night. But they were appalling when they used the ball. Even Taylor Walker's sole goal came via a shank kick from Dangerfield with zero pressure on him.
Thanks that actually cleared it up well for me

Just got home from an awesome weekend in Adelaide. The Oval is absolutely awesome, get over there if you can. Gotta say it was a great, tough old fashioned game of footy. Fyfe is just incredible. Loved the way we scrapped and fought even though it wasn't our night until probably halfway through the 3rd quarter. Didn't see the Richmond-Essendon game but I assume Richmond played pretty well, definitely a danger game on Friday. Anyway, 9 wins in a row you bloody ripper!

Just wanted to say well done by your team last night and all the loud Freo supporters who made it to the game. I had to smile at a little girl who got on the bus on the way to the ground, in her Freo guernsey and Freo flag and hair that would rival Nathan Fyfe, she was escorted by her parents both in Crows gear! :D

It was an amazingly tense game to witness live, not pretty to watch for the footy purists but that seemed to be an almost finals type pressure. For a while there with the points being scored in the final quarter it was almost as if it might turn into a draw if we could get it past half way. It felt like a game that either side who ended up loosing would feel very hard done by. This was the game I really was looking forward to to see where my team really sits on the ladder and it didn't disappoint. Good luck for the rest of the year.

Just wanted to say well done by your team last night and all the loud Freo supporters who made it to the game. I had to smile at a little girl who got on the bus on the way to the ground, in her Freo guernsey and Freo flag and hair that would rival Nathan Fyfe, she was escorted by her parents both in Crows gear! :D

It was an amazingly tense game to witness live, not pretty to watch for the footy purists but that seemed to be an almost finals type pressure. For a while there with the points being scored in the final quarter it was almost as if it might turn into a draw if we could get it past half way. It felt like a game that either side who ended up loosing would feel very hard done by. This was the game I really was looking forward to to see where my team really sits on the ladder and it didn't disappoint. Good luck for the rest of the year.
Thanks. Really enjoyed watching it live on tv and it was even better on replay. I love the little girl story.

Fine. He's expressed his opinion and I've expressed mine. It was disrespectful and its no good pretending otherwise. It was also an absurd view of the game.

I've no idea how you could not see those comments as disrespectful

I don't agree with them either but he hasn't really disrespected anyone; except to state his view of the opposition team and their players. If he had discriminated against someone or made inappropriate attacks then it might be a different matter.

I don't want to sound like a noob, but "ground ball", isnt that a contested pozzy? Can someone please clarify that for me please.
Im with you there - i've only started hearing this stat this year. Just sounds like a load of rubbish and another meaningless stat.

In any event it was an interesting clash last night. I do hope we can learn how to play the wet conditions again; if we're lucky enough to play in a GF we don't get to decide what the Footy Gods put on show for us. The game reminded me a lot of our clash against Adelaide in 2013. It was a low-scoring affair in the wet as well; we won by a small margin that game but we definitely seemed to adapt to the conditions a lot better then. I wonder if it's possible for us to somehow turn on our old 2013 shutdown/pressure structure and when the time calls for it and switch back to our 2015 attacking/free-flowing style. It would baffle the opposition and be almost impossible to play against.

Some negatives:
- Sutcliffe had a poor game; but he doesn't deserve to be dropped - but there's some damn good fringe players trying to bang the door down into the side.
- Duffield showing his age? Not the 22 touches a week he used to be.
- Clarke needs to lift again.

Positives:
- Everything else.

I think all this talk of Dangerfield single-handedly keeping them in it is nonsense. Fyfe single-handedly kept us in it. Neale, Mundy, Barlow, Pearce, Pearce and Hill (apart from the last quarter) all had quiet games compared to their output this year so far.

That is a big call. I Do not agree with you.

Just watched replay.
I didn't think Sutty was that bad, all in all I thought Duffield was quieter. Hard to rate the clangers effectively in the wet, so I'm willing to give him the benefit.
Sheridan was a great sub, good coaching. Taberner was in the right places but no one was holding many of the overhead marks, so good move.

Also.. I'm a Suban critic normally but he's playing just a bit better these last couple of weeks.

It was an interesting experience watching the replay after following the game on the wireless. I have some slightly controversial thoughts on the game.

I always try to assess whether we were good, or the opposition was poor, or a combination. In this case I reckon we were easily the better side. Basically, I reckon the scoreboard flattered the Crows quite significantly largely due to the umpiring and the fact that wet weather can reduce the margin by preventing high scores. I'm not usually one to complain about the umpiring but watching the game knowing the result I was trying to decipher what influenced the game. The free kick count of 20-13 shows it was quite one-sided but there were some really important ones that effected the scores. Eddie's goal after the free kick against Sutcliffe was an atrocious piece of umpiring and Dangerfield's goal came after a blatantly obvious shove in the back on Johnson. Then you have Mundy's clear goal at the other end which somehow managed to be recorded as a point even after the review showed a space between the footy and the defenders hand after the ball had crossed the line. If you could correct the score for umpiring bias, I reckon you'd have at least a 20 point win. Which in wet weather is a pretty comfortable win for a team as defensively astute as Freo.

I thought the Crows gave really good effort and that kept them in the game but in the end, they really missed the polish of Douglas and Sloane to convert Dangerfield's inside quality into actual score opportunities (as against rushed kicks on goal hoping for a miracle). Whereas Freo just seemed to be able to hit the scoreboard when it mattered.

Thought Fyfe had much more impact on the game than Dangerfield, but wouldn't be surprised if the umps gave Patty the 3 votes as their job is to officiate the game, not to observe the impact of each player. It's about time we give the Brownlow voting job to a panel of experts rather than the umps, IMO.

I thought our defence was tremendous. Lee Spurr was immense, Ibbotson was as well and I must say, I was watching the replay waiting to see why everyone was complaining about Cam Sutcliffe, and I didn't really see him do much wrong. Stephen Hill was also excellent defensively his game saving chase down tackle was awesome. Walters excellent up forward, and hopefully Tayl0r can give "The Duck" a kiss on the delicates for us.

In summary, it was a hard fought away win against a hard working but wasteful team. Bank the 4 points and move on. A 6 day break after a hard win on a wet track could be a tricky one to negotiate, though.

They were poor! You can't go at below 60% kicking efficiency and expect to win a game, and they didn't. We were just as poor but that was mainly due to the inclement weather.

When the weather turned wet and slippery it was the dockers that were the poorer side. Clear cut fact.

I thought it was a great game in dour slippery conditions, both sides gave their all. The biggest single problem for the crows is their set shots. Phil Walsh hit the nail on the head. 2.8 from set shots aint going to win you the game. The opportunity was there. It was not taken.

I know we are not going to win the flag this year but I really hope Pav gets one before he retires. Absolute class human.

If we lose to that rabble Richmond at home, I will be disappointed. Sure its a 6 day break but richmond are a bottom 8 side and at best 7-8th placed team. Furthermore they're not a hard team that likes to get dirty.

It will all depend on recovery. We don't pull up well after a game in the wet. Memories of how Hawthorn slaughtered us at the G after a 6 day break from a slog in the wet vs the Gold Coast makes me worry.

Richmond are coming off back to back 6 day breaks so the 6 day break off a wet game excuse is cancelled out imo.
Have a feeling the game will be closer then people think as Tigers have been our bogey side for 5 or so years, should bank the points though as we are clearly a better side then Richmond.

They usually lift for trips to WA and have their tails up but all things being equal we should win.

Wouldn't want to get the 3 umpires from yesterday's game at Subi though. Fisher, Farmer and Dalgleish. That would make it tough!

When the weather turned wet and slippery it was the dockers that were the poorer side. Clear cut fact.

I thought it was a great game in dour slippery conditions, both sides gave their all. The biggest single problem for the crows is their set shots. Phil Walsh hit the nail on the head. 2.8 from set shots aint going to win you the game. The opportunity was there. It was not taken.

I know we are not going to win the flag this year but I really hope Pav gets one before he retires. Absolute class human.
I thought you played better in the wet, but a point doesn't take the ball back to the middle so I'm not sure the 2.8 is totally relevant.

Richmond are exactly the sort of side we should comfortably handle. They have the same recovery time as us and have to travel while we are already home and settled. Ross is a better coach than Hardwick and will have us ready to play.
Agreed, however no matter how both teams are travelling Richmond have always given us headaches in the past.