Review Geelong defeats Sydney by 59 points

How was:
- Z. Guthrie's tackle on Kennedy not holding the ball?...
- Blicavs' tackle on Papley not holding the ball?...
- Lang's tackle on Newman not holding the ball?...

Either way Lang was fantastic! In his first final, found the right balance between midfield/forward time, used it very well, tackled hard, won't be dropped now :thumbsu:

In the Hun today Lang leaving club? How can this be reported now?

That was first reported yesterday - not sure if true, but didn't have a negative impact on his performance

Before the game last night I heard a number of swans supporters excited at the prospect of going to Adel. I thought yep fair enough coz you'll knock us off. Well done Cats. Also loved Scotty's press conference for its brevity and comments around supporters being pis@ed off. Look the cream rises and most likely we lose next week but I hated that certain Crows wanted to the cats to win so they could show Danger that he shouldn't have left. Pretty cocky. Liked Danger saying bring it on!!!!

Does anyone know when tics available?

How was:
- Z. Guthrie's tackle on Kennedy not holding the ball?...
- Blicavs' tackle on Papley not holding the ball?...
- Lang's tackle on Newman not holding the ball?...

Holding the ball frees were consistently let slide all night. It was equal opportunity leniency, so it wasn't like one side derived particular benefit from it over the other. We got away with a few as well.

Just an instance of the "the umpires put their whistles away for finals" trope in action.

When the game began with Reid kicking the first goal, my heart sunk + I thought "Oh no, here we go again". The quick response from Geelong was encouraging, then 'Oh no!' when Dangerfield missed. It was a see-saw of emotions, until Geelong took control of the game. The five point lead after Q1 was encouraging, but still, too close for comfort. The change came for me with Duncan's goal + Dangerfield's three goals! Just couldn't believe it.

Geelong were able to counter Sydney's one on one in defence, preventing them from punishing us on the rebound;

Geelong stopped Sydney from using the corridor to score;

Thrilled with Menzel
5 Marks
1 Tackle
4 I50
2 Goal Assists
2 Goals
80% TOG
How great was his pass to Stanley, who kicked a goal? Such confidence the way he just drilled that massive kick through the goals!

Stewart's gut running, fumbling the ball forward + that massive tackle was superb, the way he kept going + going - three efforts from D50 included negating Buddy; along the wing; + up to the forward flank finishing with THAT crunching tackle on Parker tackle!
blob:https://www.foxsports.com.au/1e79cc1b-f01a-461f-85b1-93ef69e6fef0

Swans were unable to force turnovers from stoppages, Geelong had players around the play who were able to keep possession, or if not, pressured Swans players to turnover.

Q1 Geelong won the contested ball (47-40) + marking dominance (27 - 16)

Tomahawk's goal was icing on the cake!

All week we heard about our bottom six players, well last week's bottom six players were better than Swans top six players (indulge me here)

Duncan - 36 Disposals, 14 Marks, 3 Tackles, 2 Goals - phenomenal

Geez I love Tuohy's 'take no prisoners' attitude - what a machine

Menegola became the Finals Man!

Smith was so strong + dominant again, just love him. Stewart + Mackie to Smith - huge mark + goal!

It was ironic to see Swans players so bewildered, as we've been in previous games. But mostly it was the best experience to see our players so confident, playing as a team + to dominate a team who's been our Nemisis.

Amusement:
Fox Footy game predictions
  • three frees for Buddy - but Buddy two frees against
  • awesome foursome of Kennedy, Parker, Hannebury, Lloyd to get 110 disposals - 80 in total
  • SOS GAJr, Geelong small forwards to be annihilated - Swans unable to make tackles stick - Motlop was phenomenal, Menzel :thumbsu:

Hannnebury trying to rough Joel up before the first bounce, in comes Scooter to push him off, Naismith defends Hannebury + Scooter shoves him, Blitz sees Parker off.

When the game began with Reid kicking the first goal, my heart sunk + I thought "Oh no, here we go again". The quick response from Geelong was encouraging, then 'Oh no!' when Dangerfield missed. It was a see-saw of emotions, until Geelong took control of the game. The five point lead after Q1 was encouraging, but still, too close for comfort. The change came for me with Duncan's goal + Dangerfield's three goals! Just couldn't believe it.

Geelong were able to counter Sydney's one on one in defence, preventing them from punishing us on the rebound;

Geelong stopped Sydney from using the corridor to score;

Thrilled with Menzel
5 Marks
1 Tackle
4 I50
2 Goal Assists
2 Goals
80% TOG
How great was his pass to Stanley, who kicked a goal? Such confidence the way he just drilled that massive kick through the goals!

Stewart's gut running, fumbling the ball forward + that massive tackle was superb, the way he kept going + going - three efforts from D50 included negating Buddy; along the wing; + up to the forward flank finishing with THAT crunching tackle on Parker tackle!
blob:https://www.foxsports.com.au/1e79cc1b-f01a-461f-85b1-93ef69e6fef0

Swans were unable to force turnovers from stoppages, Geelong had players around the play who were able to keep possession, or if not, pressured Swans players to turnover.

Q1 Geelong won the contested ball (47-40) + marking dominance (27 - 16)

Tomahawk's goal was icing on the cake!

All week we heard about our bottom six players, well last week's bottom six players were better than Swans top six players (indulge me here)

Duncan - 36 Disposals, 14 Marks, 3 Tackles, 2 Goals - phenomenal

Geez I love Tuohy's 'take no prisoners' attitude - what a machine

Menegola became the Finals Man!

Smith was so strong + dominant again, just love him. Stewart + Mackie to Smith - huge mark + goal!

It was ironic to see Swans players so bewildered, as we've been in previous games. But mostly it was the best experience to see our players so confident, playing as a team + to dominate a team who's been our Nemisis.

Amusement:
Fox Footy game predictions
  • three frees for Buddy - but Buddy two frees against
  • awesome foursome of Kennedy, Parker, Hannebury, Lloyd to get 110 disposals - 80 in total
  • SOS GAJr, Geelong small forwards to be annihilated - Swans unable to make tackles stick - Motlop was phenomenal, Menzel :thumbsu:

Hannnebury trying to rough Joel up before the first bounce, in comes Scooter to push him off, Naismith defends Hannebury + Scooter shoves him, Blitz sees Parker off.
What a good write up :) Was a great game great win . Made 2 people here very happy :)

John Ralph said in the pregame on Fox that Lang would leave the Geelong, but it was only a prediction. He also said that Motlop + Menzel were leaving + with the retirements of Lonergan + Mackie, the $$$ from Motlop, Menzel + Lang salaries would allow Geelong to get GAJr, Stringer, Smith + that Crameri was also in the mix.

What a good write up :) Was a great game great win . Made 2 people here very happy :)
Thank you so much chugginon, very kind of you to say, I'm so glad you liked it. The best of wins! It made a cranky, crazy, old cat lady very happy too lol

That's interesting, you bet on footy. I just can't imagine doing that. Only on Geelong?

I do bet on footy. Usually on Geelong. I start a season with $150 and when its gone its gone. Thats why I bet peanuts.

The biggest betting I had this year was when my account had 29$ left in it and we were playing at home v GWS I think. I had bled the account to that point backing Menegola (who I have rated from the first time I saw him in the VFL). Possession bets. GFC insisted on playing him up forward. Against GWS I decided to put the whole account remains on Mena one last time, but added goal kicking as well as possessions.

To my delight I saw Sam walk straight in to first middle bounce for the day and by quarter time he had 11 possies! i knew I would have some more to play with the following week (barring injury). As a bonus Sam Kicked a goal (his third) as I was out of my seat ready to walk home and the goal kicking bet paid nicely as well.

The Geelong bets this weekend came about because I was surprisingly flush and Geelong at $3.20 I haven't seen since I started by dabbling( and I wanted to signal my allegiance in a stupid sort of way).
so
Geelong v Sydney
Head to Head
Geelong @ 3.20 15/09/17 3.20 $17.00 to collect $54.40

and because if we were going to win it would blow out (teams give up in knock out finals when they can't win IMO

Geelong v Sydney
Pick Your Line
Geelong (-19.5) @ 7.50 15/09/17 7.50 $3.75 to collect $28.13

So its fun. But as you can see my bets are not very manly. But I can cope with that and so can my other (home ) budget.

Why bet $3.75? I would need another post to explain such things.

Good to read through this thread. Some great comments. And some pretty good Swans folks chipping in with their 'well-played' and 'good luck' messages.
I was too afraid to look at the post-Richmond-game thread last week.

I was guilty of giving Geelong no chance against the Swans. What an amazing win!
Contributions from everyone - but particular kudos to Blicavs, Lang, Kolo, Stewart, Bews, Stanley - i.e. the lesser lights that stood very tall.

Duncan's running power, Scooter's indomitability, Dangerfield's extraordinariness, Joel's ridiculous courage, etc, etc.

I did think it was a real thing that the Swans played poorly. There were a lot of Geelong mistakes that the Swans failed to punish due to their own retaliatory mistakes. Nevertheless, Geelong's work around the ball was superior the whole night - in no way did I expect that.

I'd been hoping that some of Geelong's poor performance against Richmond was owing to a few of the youngsters (and some of the oldies?) suffering a bit of stage-fright on the finals stage. And that they would be better even for that experience behind them. Seems like it might have been the case. Similar to Cats in '89?

I'm still worried that this Cats team is a little too schizophrenic - the superb, pressurising and confident team can be replaced by the anemic and unimaginative version. On the other hand, Geelong has shown their good form can go on for a few weeks. If that happens now....
:)

Go Cats!!

Before the game last night I heard a number of swans supporters excited at the prospect of going to Adel. I thought yep fair enough coz you'll knock us off. Well done Cats. Also loved Scotty's press conference for its brevity and comments around supporters being pis@ed off. Look the cream rises and most likely we lose next week but I hated that certain Crows wanted to the cats to win so they could show Danger that he shouldn't have left. Pretty cocky. Liked Danger saying bring it on!!!!

Does anyone know when tics available?

Against Richmond, Geelong were invisible + were treated like red-headed step-sons by the AFL. Occasionally it's refreshing to rain on oppo team fans parade, isn't it? Just as some of us were resigned to a flogging by Swans, I suppose it's not surprising that Swans fans regarded a win over Geelong as perfunctory + on to Adelaide.
What IS amusing, in an irritating way for me, is how the media automatically forget, or ignore the certainty with which they not only predicted, but expected the Swans to win, + how they wrote off Geelong without a thought. No fleeting backward glance to their week of ideal for Swans this, best team in the AFL that - their confidence that they were right, the way they were utterly adamant that only their going perspective would be the only result. For the second week in Finals, Geelong was invisible.

I reckon the AFL + media had the PF Adelaide -v- Sydney hype all worked out after the Richmond game. City of Churches -v- the Harbour City. Geelong stuffed that all up for them.

This week, the hypocrites of the AFL + media will use Geelong for their advantage, specifically Dangerfield :rolleyes: It's the spin doctors ideal wet dream! Paddy interviews Motlop after the Sydney demolition + asks him about Adelaide. Motlop likes Adelaide, to which Paddy replies, 'No, it's not that good'. Snowflake Crows fans are already melting! "We're a better team without him"

Who's leading the oppotunistic charge of Crows -v- Dangerfield? 'Dangerfield fired-up!" 'Bring it on' says Danger. No ham for Jenkins on Friday, Danger will have another surprise for him! Should we even expect Jenkins to give Lonergan a sausage roll :rolleyes:

This week, Geelong will be in full view, simply because it suits the AFL + media juggernaut + it means $$$.

Done it 100 times. They don't do identity checks.....despite their warnings

Got tickets to the 09 grand final off an AFL member. Walking up to the gate, the guy infront of me was asked for ID.
Thankfully I had read about possible checks and was able to grab my mum and wheel us around
I noticed there was only one person doing checks so jumped in a different line and got in no worries
I was within a bees dick of having a maajor issue though

Re the above.... that is not you, surely?? :D
It is, right down to the bushy, out of control hair lol Eleanor Abernathy, aka Crazy Cat Lady

latest

The utter demolition of Swans made me 'happy crazy' or 'crazy happy'.

With moments like these, who wouldn't be crazily happy?

550555-tlsnewsportrait.jpg

550566_lt.jpg
550574_lt.jpg
550577_lt.jpg
550542_lt.jpg
550568_lt.jpg
550547_lt.jpg

550632_lt.jpg
550636_lt.jpg
550640_lt.jpg
550635_lt.jpg
550715_lt.jpg
550809_lt.jpg

550796_lt.jpg
550681_lt.jpg
550708_lt.jpg
550675_lt.jpg
550676_lt.jpg
550688_lt.jpg

I thoroughly read 'Game Day' of the two teams. The momentums of the two threads from that morning to the end of 2qtr were just like roller coaster, but totally the other way around. I enjoyed the reading so much.

By the way, can't believe many people still want to trade Motlop. Because we're chasing another two?

I can't see many guys have that imagination, vision and creative kicks like him in the league. Apart from Bette, SteveJ, I can't see any more.

I could be unlucky but I haven't seen any mention of Tuohy's play in what I think was the second half. Ball bounced into half back, he was kind of in between two Swans players, pushed one out of the way, grabbed the ball and ran the hell out of there. Made it look easy.

It is, right down to the bushy, out of control hair lol Eleanor Abernathy, aka Crazy Cat Lady

latest

The utter demolition of Swans made me 'happy crazy' or 'crazy happy'.

With moments like these, who wouldn't be crazily happy?

550555-tlsnewsportrait.jpg

550566_lt.jpg
550574_lt.jpg
550577_lt.jpg
550542_lt.jpg
550568_lt.jpg
550547_lt.jpg

550632_lt.jpg
550636_lt.jpg
550640_lt.jpg
550635_lt.jpg
550715_lt.jpg
550809_lt.jpg

550796_lt.jpg
550681_lt.jpg
550708_lt.jpg
550675_lt.jpg
550676_lt.jpg
550688_lt.jpg

Sorry Hell Kitty, do you have a link to these pictures? I would like to observe them in detail :hearteyecat: